AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 148
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 151
Reviews Accepted: 151
Reviews Rejected: 0
151 reviews
Sort by:
Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Pod 51, 21 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An outstanding experience

A trek through the remote areas of Ladakh, Zanskar and Changthang in Northern India. Principally camping, visiting monasteries, trekking through a spectacular gorge (with numerous river crossings) and going over 6 5000m plus passes.

A trek through the remote areas of Ladakh, Zanskar and Changthang in Northern India. Principally camping, visiting monasteries, trekking through a spectacular gorge (with numerous river crossings) and going over 6 5000m plus passes.

Rating for tour operator:

A have booked treks with The Mountain Company many times and they have always organised excellent treks in remote areas, first class guides, cooks and porters. The routes are well put together. The booked process and pre trip preparation material is extremely thorough.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Himalaya junkie!, 20 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well Organised and Managed 3 week trek to Concordia and K2 Base Camp

A 3 week trek in the Gilgit Baltistan Region of Pakistan to Concordia and K2 Base Camp, reaching an altitude of c. 5200m. This was a ‘self sufficient ‘ 3 week trek with no settlements , using tents and camp sites , with all equipment and food portered. The arduous trek included c. 75 miles walking/camping on glaciers. The trip went well, largely due to the excellent pre trek planning, trek leadership, in country organisation and management ...

A 3 week trek in the Gilgit Baltistan Region of Pakistan to Concordia and K2 Base Camp, reaching an altitude of c. 5200m. This was a ‘self sufficient ‘ 3 week trek with no settlements , using tents and camp sites , with all equipment and food portered. The arduous trek included c. 75 miles walking/camping on glaciers. The trip went well, largely due to the excellent pre trek planning, trek leadership, in country organisation and management by The Mountain Company. Their attention to detail , particularly in respect of safety and well being was exemplary. The trek was the experience of a life time!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were an excellent trekking tour company, differentiatied by their attention to detail and providing an experienced UK trek leader, ably supported by the leading in country operator ( Hunza Guides)

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by highfield, 20 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Walking in the Annapurna Foothills

We had a 6 day guided trek in the Modi Khola valley, visiting many delightful Nepalese villages, and seeing splendid mountain scenery from every lodge. Each day was around 5-6 hours at a leisurely pace with lots of opportunity to stop and take in the surroundings. Our guide, who is from the valley, was outstanding and made sure we got to see as much as possible of village life. We also spent a couple of days at either end in Kathmandu and Pokhara, ...

We had a 6 day guided trek in the Modi Khola valley, visiting many delightful Nepalese villages, and seeing splendid mountain scenery from every lodge. Each day was around 5-6 hours at a leisurely pace with lots of opportunity to stop and take in the surroundings. Our guide, who is from the valley, was outstanding and made sure we got to see as much as possible of village life. We also spent a couple of days at either end in Kathmandu and Pokhara, but for us there was no question it was the trek that made the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked through The Mountain Company who maintained excellent communications throughout - very quick to provide answers to the many questions we raised before we travelled, and also there to meet us in Kathmandu for a pre-trek chat and a post-trek debrief. We did have one or two minor glitches with the airport transfers but these were resolved quickly.

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Tina , 19 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Luxury lodge Trek Nepal -Fantastic

Trekking itineray very well designed. Accommodation and food of a high standard and met the trip description. The guide and porter assigned to us were absolutely fantastic, incredibly professional yet friendly with wonderful warm spirits.They gave us a personalised insight to the people and culture of the mountain villages. Trekking arrangements i.e. flights, taxi transfers, permits, initial greeting pre trek from the guide were all exceptionally ...

Trekking itineray very well designed. Accommodation and food of a high standard and met the trip description. The guide and porter assigned to us were absolutely fantastic, incredibly professional yet friendly with wonderful warm spirits.They gave us a personalised insight to the people and culture of the mountain villages. Trekking arrangements i.e. flights, taxi transfers, permits, initial greeting pre trek from the guide were all exceptionally well planned. The Nepalese people are are very welcoming. I will definitely return to Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company totally professional but pre trip, during the trip and post trip. Absolutely no hic- ups, everything went to plan with incredible precision. Would recommend to anyone wishing to go trekking.

Manaslu Circuit with Tsum Valley by Richard, 7 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enchanting Himalayan Tsum valley and the dramatic Manaslu trek

A 21d trekking trip in the Himalaya preceded by a day sightseeing in Kathmandu where we managed to visit most of the major sights. The needs of the differently paced trekkers were taken into account with plenty of time to rest and soak in the scenery. This trip was essentially two treks - one along the enchanting Tsum valley staying in Mu Gompa monastery at the head of the valley and then trekking back down the valley to re-join the popular ...

A 21d trekking trip in the Himalaya preceded by a day sightseeing in Kathmandu where we managed to visit most of the major sights. The needs of the differently paced trekkers were taken into account with plenty of time to rest and soak in the scenery. This trip was essentially two treks - one along the enchanting Tsum valley staying in Mu Gompa monastery at the head of the valley and then trekking back down the valley to re-join the popular Manaslu trek. There were days of heavier exertion on both treks through forests and dipping down to rivers as we got ever closer to some very big mountains including Manaslu, the eight highest mountain in the world. A comfortable night's sleep could be obtained at all the teahouses along the way after a filling meal. The highest point was the Larkya La pass at 5135 metres tackled after an early start and where we were lucky enough to be able to soak up the sunshine before the steep descent.. On the last part of our Manaslu trek we met the waves of trekkers walking in the opposite direction on the Annapurna circuit.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland Hunter at the Mountain Company answered all my questions in a phone call and I was able to book both the trip and flights around a month before the start of the trip. The trekking team was very well organised and there was a good team spirit with attention to the individual needs of each trekker. We never felt rushed and despite the physical exertion integral to a trek of this kind the word relaxing could be used in connection with it. On some days we collected rubbish from the trail and delivered framed posters to the hotels about Going Green. The team had two satellite phones if difficulties occurred and a two very well stocked medical bags. I have no hesitation in recommending the Mountain Company - others in the trek group had used them before - and would choose them again if I have the opportunity to visit the Himalaya again in the future.

Naar to Upper Mustang GHT Nepal by CT, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Naar to Upper Mustang 2018

This camping trek is a stunning trek through the different landscapes of Nepal. It really is a trek that keeps on giving. Many treks can lose interest after the high pass crossing however with this trek the interest stayed right until the final day walking - significant scenery and cultural changes every few days: deep river gorges, then glacial valleys, the wind eroded and arid landscapes of Mustang, then views of big mountains, and the ...

This camping trek is a stunning trek through the different landscapes of Nepal. It really is a trek that keeps on giving. Many treks can lose interest after the high pass crossing however with this trek the interest stayed right until the final day walking - significant scenery and cultural changes every few days: deep river gorges, then glacial valleys, the wind eroded and arid landscapes of Mustang, then views of big mountains, and the rolling plains of the plateau.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled on a number of occasions with the Mountain Company and even as they have grown the personal level of service and the attention to detail has been maintained.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by P.M., 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trek to Everest Base Camp

This trip was an amazing adventure from start to finish. It's something I had wanted to do for a long time and it certainly did not disappoint!

This trip was an amazing adventure from start to finish. It's something I had wanted to do for a long time and it certainly did not disappoint!

Rating for tour operator:

I was delighted with the service from this tour operator all the way through from my initial enquiry to the trip itself. The attention to detail and response times to questions were excellent. The itinerary for the trip appealed more to me than what competitors were offering and I liked the smaller group sizes with excellent guide to trekker ratio. I was very well looked after!

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Laughing Buddha, 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Unrelenting undulations through the Himalayan Mountains

Wonderful 14 days trek from Lukla to Everest Base Camp, taking in Namche Bazaar, Thame, Ama Dablam Base Camp, EBC and of course Kala Pattar. Great Lodges, food stops and it goes without saying - viewnery.

Wonderful 14 days trek from Lukla to Everest Base Camp, taking in Namche Bazaar, Thame, Ama Dablam Base Camp, EBC and of course Kala Pattar. Great Lodges, food stops and it goes without saying - viewnery.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company nailed the acclimatisation itinerary with plenty of days to get the body in tune and make the key destinations of Everest and Ama Dablam based camps a pleasure as well as the climbs of Nangkartshang and Kala Pattar. Our guides were superb.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Kelly, 30 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Successful Snowman trek in Bhutan

A challenging trek (approx 400km) in remote parts of Bhutan.

A challenging trek (approx 400km) in remote parts of Bhutan.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised with great attention to detail, pre, during and post trek. The crew were top notch. A month of trekking in remote parts - no one got sick or injured, everyone completed the trek. The Mountain Company were efficient and thorough, operating with integrity and responsibility.

Reviewer's images:
Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Jungle Jill, 26 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great organisation and stunning scenery

Ladakh Sky Trail proved to be a varied and interesting destination. The itinerary provided for excellent acclimatization, and visits to some interesting monasteries before setting off on the trail. The scenery was outstanding, and the itinerary all flowed nicely.

Ladakh Sky Trail proved to be a varied and interesting destination. The itinerary provided for excellent acclimatization, and visits to some interesting monasteries before setting off on the trail. The scenery was outstanding, and the itinerary all flowed nicely.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company continues to deliver quality products from the organisation of camp crew, experienced leaders, clear communication and realistic prices. Roland was most helpful when we encountered a few problems along the way, all of which were resolved effectively. His on-site support in Ladakh is so helpful too.