AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 286
Good 5
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 291
Reviews Accepted: 291
Reviews Rejected: 0
291 reviews
Sort by:
Lunana Snowman by Richard , 2 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable trek

I embarked on the Lunana Snowman trek with the Mountain Company in October 2022. I had already been converted to trekking with the Mountain Company and had wanted to do Snowman for some time. The trip was exceptional on every way. It is an amazing trek but my appreciation of it was enhanced in so many ways by the planning and care of the Mountain Company before and throughout the trek. Through their years of experience they had put together ...

I embarked on the Lunana Snowman trek with the Mountain Company in October 2022. I had already been converted to trekking with the Mountain Company and had wanted to do Snowman for some time. The trip was exceptional on every way. It is an amazing trek but my appreciation of it was enhanced in so many ways by the planning and care of the Mountain Company before and throughout the trek. Through their years of experience they had put together a wonderful team who, together with our great leader Nat, looked after us every inch of the way so all we had to do was push ourselves to get over the passes, wonder at the scenery and eat incredibly well in the remotest of locations. My thanks to all of TMC for this.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organisation and attention to detail which gives you a feeling of complete confidence. So important when you are approaching something both unique and challenging. Roland the MD is great in providing all necessary pretrip information and keeping one informed to the moment of departure

Manaslu Circuit by FMG, 1 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

High quality trekking company

Having recently returned from a wonderful trip round the Manaslu Circuit, I found The Mountain Company to be extremely well organised with great communication from from first contact right through til we got home. Feedback was sought and taken into consideration using each client to improve for the next. The guides and porters used were of the highest quality with each having proper equipment and were all extremely attentive. The guide spoke ...

Having recently returned from a wonderful trip round the Manaslu Circuit, I found The Mountain Company to be extremely well organised with great communication from from first contact right through til we got home. Feedback was sought and taken into consideration using each client to improve for the next. The guides and porters used were of the highest quality with each having proper equipment and were all extremely attentive. The guide spoke excellent English making communication easy and we had a lot of fun as a group. It was also very reassuring to have an assistant guide too despite being a small group and is something that sets The Mountain Company apart from other outfits which take much bigger groups with only one guide. Having two meant that we could all walk at our pace safely. We appreciated that the porters were well kitted out, included at meal times and came (voluntarily!) on acclimation walks with us. Again, many groups kept their porters separate which made us feel very uncomfortable so it was nice to be able to share a drink altogether every day. Due to inclement weather and many landslides just before we started, the trail was considerably changed from the itinerary but this just demonstrates the unpredictable nature of trekking and couldn’t be helped. The trip was pretty well paced with ample time for acclimatisation. We saw many other groups struggling over the landslides and coming down from the high pass and we were grateful to always feel safe and comfortable with our guide who we all trusted. I would say that microspikes as a minimum are absolutely crucial on this trek. We saw some nasty accidents and falls of people who didn’t have the proper equipment so make sure to read the kit list properly and utilise Roland who is always willing to help with kit advice - take it!! As this was a tea house trek, the lodges were basic but safe and food was plentiful if a little repetitive. Taking some snacks from home was welcomed along the daily trail! The Manaslu trek is a real treat, moving through many different cultural areas and giving opportunity to interact with local people. The scenery changes every day from the lowland gorge, the to highland villages up to the Tibetan plateau and finally the high pass. The views each day of the big peaks are spectacular! I would say that it is a physically challenging trek with the unpredictability of the trail. I appreciated having a high level of fitness level and a lot of walking experience on this trek. Definitely use all your kit before you go so that you know it’s comfortable and that includes being used to carrying a daypack! Overall I would recommend the Manaslu circuit to anyone looking for a varied and spectacular trek. I am already looking forward to my next Himalayan trek which will be with The Mountain Company as I’m not sure how they could be bettered.

Rating for tour operator:

I would highly recommend The Mountain Company to anyone looking for a well organised and high quality trekking trip. Their repeat clients are a testament to the quality they offer and having been recommended them I was not disappointed.

Luxury Ama Dablam Base Camp by Warren, 1 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

I loved the trek up to Ama Dablam

My friends and I went on an 11 day trek up to Ama Dablam. It was my 1st trek to Nepal. All I can say is I was blown away and can't wait to get back. The people were so kind and respectful. The trek itself left me speechless. The mountains just leave you going WOW!!!

My friends and I went on an 11 day trek up to Ama Dablam. It was my 1st trek to Nepal. All I can say is I was blown away and can't wait to get back. The people were so kind and respectful. The trek itself left me speechless. The mountains just leave you going WOW!!!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was awesome. From the discussions prior to the trip right up to the end they made seamless. The guides and porters we super friendly and accommodating.

Luxury Ama Dablam Base Camp by GaryK, 31 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

mr

We did the Everest Luxury Lodge trek to Ama Dablam Base Camp. This was my 2nd trek with TMC and did not disappoint. I requested the same guide as 2018 and he along with the asst guide and porters were great.

We did the Everest Luxury Lodge trek to Ama Dablam Base Camp. This was my 2nd trek with TMC and did not disappoint. I requested the same guide as 2018 and he along with the asst guide and porters were great.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC & Roland were there every step of the way. Always promptly answering questions beforedepartute. Meetings in person pre and post trek and available to handlke any uissues along the way.

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by Misha, 30 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Everything and more!

Trekking in Himalayas - ABC After Covid delays, I finally got the chance to go to Nepal and complete the ABC trek. We had very nice guide and a porter. They were very accommodating and helpful. The weather was fabulous, the views even better and I had the time of my life. Enjoyed the whole experience - the walking, different culture, food (started to drink ginger & lemon tea ;)

Trekking in Himalayas - ABC After Covid delays, I finally got the chance to go to Nepal and complete the ABC trek. We had very nice guide and a porter. They were very accommodating and helpful. The weather was fabulous, the views even better and I had the time of my life. Enjoyed the whole experience - the walking, different culture, food (started to drink ginger & lemon tea ;)

Rating for tour operator:

We were always informed about any changes due to the pandemic. Once we got going, everything went smoothly - all the transfers, various meetings at the airports/hotels, guided tour around Katmandu.

Annapurna Luxury Lodges in Nepal by Tom , 30 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Nepal trek

I spent time in Kathmandu and treking in the Annapurna region of Nepal. The trip was a repeat of a similar trip I had made 30 years earlier. The trek was guided and we stayed at luxury lodges.

I spent time in Kathmandu and treking in the Annapurna region of Nepal. The trip was a repeat of a similar trip I had made 30 years earlier. The trek was guided and we stayed at luxury lodges.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company and Roland Hunter its leader were outstanding. Roland was generous with his time as we planned the trip and offered excellent advice. He was always accessible as I planned. On the ground Roland and team provided fantastic support. The trip was delivered as advertised with no negative surprises and the overall experience exceeded my expectations.

Lunana Snowman by GrahamMac, 17 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Challenging Snowman Trek in Bhutan

Bhutan is a special country and we had the privilege to explore beautiful and remote regions. From friendly villages to isolated valleys with no-one there except an occasional nomadic yak herder. This was a long trek of 27 nights camping and every day brought new highlights: the mountains (Jonolhari, Jichu Drake, Gangkhar Puensum, Table Mountain), the passes (Gophu La, Saga La, all 14 of them), the villages of Laya and Thanza, the hot springs ...

Bhutan is a special country and we had the privilege to explore beautiful and remote regions. From friendly villages to isolated valleys with no-one there except an occasional nomadic yak herder. This was a long trek of 27 nights camping and every day brought new highlights: the mountains (Jonolhari, Jichu Drake, Gangkhar Puensum, Table Mountain), the passes (Gophu La, Saga La, all 14 of them), the villages of Laya and Thanza, the hot springs at Dur Tsachu. A spectacular trip.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is superb in every respect. Roland and Natalie are supremely professional and very experienced. The crew was exceptional from the senior local guide right through the last horseman. The chef was amazing and produced fantastic food from the first day to the last. I felt guiltily pampered throughout. This was my second trip with TMC and I'm sure I'll be back. I have no hesitation in recommending them.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by bri78, 9 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Incredible experience

The Kanchenjunga circuit is just absolutely incredible, the surroundings are always changing. Definitely a harder trek, but worth every bit of the hardships. The forests in the lower elevations are so rich in different greens, still with lots of flowers blooming along the way. Then as you climb to the higher elevations the landscape changes to this almost other planet kind of feel. The views in Lhonak are just incredible. The lower village of ...

The Kanchenjunga circuit is just absolutely incredible, the surroundings are always changing. Definitely a harder trek, but worth every bit of the hardships. The forests in the lower elevations are so rich in different greens, still with lots of flowers blooming along the way. Then as you climb to the higher elevations the landscape changes to this almost other planet kind of feel. The views in Lhonak are just incredible. The lower village of Ghunsa is a great little spot to really see the culture of the people that live in these surroundings. Not a lot of other trekkers were out there while we were hiking, there was 12 other people doing the circuit. So it is definitely not as crowded as some of the other treks in Nepal. It will be changing a lot over the upcoming years with all the roads and hydropower being put in. I am interested to see how it changes when I go back. Definitely worth all the hard work.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company did such an incredible job putting this trip together. The experience that Roland Hunter brings is just outstanding. Along with the knowledge of the leaders that he uses on the trek. Roland is always there to answer any questions that come up during the prep and planning phase. Then to always be able to contact him during the trek is an added assurance along the way. He hires very highly trained and knowledgeable local guides and staff to ensure that you have the best experience while in Nepal and on the trek. I can't wait to get out on another one of their trips.

Lunana Snowman by Kate, 9 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Superb Trekking in Bhutan

Our trekking holiday with The Mountain Company though the remote Snowman Trek in Bhutan was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Pre-trip information, communication, and logistics were well organized and the entire expedition in Bhutan was exceptional. All trekking guides, kitchen crew, and support staff were excellent, kind, and generous - providing top-notch service throughout the 28 trek, including excellent meals throughout. The Snowman ...

Our trekking holiday with The Mountain Company though the remote Snowman Trek in Bhutan was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Pre-trip information, communication, and logistics were well organized and the entire expedition in Bhutan was exceptional. All trekking guides, kitchen crew, and support staff were excellent, kind, and generous - providing top-notch service throughout the 28 trek, including excellent meals throughout. The Snowman Trek itself was fantastic, trekking through amazing Himalayan vistas, remote villages, pristine forests, and other spectacular landscapes. We also enjoyed the acclimatization days in the Haa Valley and cultural visits before and after the trek. A top-notch expedition to a remote corner of the world with some of the best international and local guides and crew. Thank you!

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator, The Mountain Company, was absolutely fantastic. Pre-trip information and communication are beyond expectation - prompt and thorough. Our international guide was absolutely fantastic - extremely experienced and professional. All trek logistics were provided without a flaw. I would highly recommend The Mountain Company. This is my second trip with them and I'm sure we will be back for additional treks in the future.

Lunana Snowman by ShawnB, 9 Jan 2023
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Snowman Trek with TMC!

Had an amazing time trekking The Snowman Trek with The Mountain Company and team. Would highly recommend them for anyone considering this beautiful trek in Bhutan.

Had an amazing time trekking The Snowman Trek with The Mountain Company and team. Would highly recommend them for anyone considering this beautiful trek in Bhutan.

Rating for tour operator:

Had an amazing time trekking The Snowman Trek with The Mountain Company and team. Would highly recommend them for anyone considering this beautiful trek in Bhutan.