AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 202
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 206
Reviews Accepted: 206
Reviews Rejected: 0
206 reviews
Sort by:
Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Longtime Trekking , 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Ladakh Sky Trail

This was a trekking holiday in the Indian Himalaya visiting three of the main trekking areas of Ladakh, each with its own unique character and with only a short portage portion by van between the 2nd and 3rd area ie mostly trekking. We crossed 5 passes of around 5000m elevation and the scenery in each area was spectacular. The crew were extremely experienced and professional with the guide having trekked in the area for 30 years. Highly recommended...

This was a trekking holiday in the Indian Himalaya visiting three of the main trekking areas of Ladakh, each with its own unique character and with only a short portage portion by van between the 2nd and 3rd area ie mostly trekking. We crossed 5 passes of around 5000m elevation and the scenery in each area was spectacular. The crew were extremely experienced and professional with the guide having trekked in the area for 30 years. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company has run this trek for over nine years and their experience showed in the level of knowledge about the area, the equipment provided was above standard and the meals some of the best I have had in 24 treks in the Himalayas over 30 years of trekking.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by wild squirrel, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Awesome Snowman Trek

I took part in the 33-day Snowman Trek in Bhutan w a group through the Mountain Company. it was amazing experience: the food was excellent, the local crew was amazing, not to mention the awesome nature and sceneys. Bhutan is an incredible country w deep Buddhist culture, would not hesitate to do it all over again.

I took part in the 33-day Snowman Trek in Bhutan w a group through the Mountain Company. it was amazing experience: the food was excellent, the local crew was amazing, not to mention the awesome nature and sceneys. Bhutan is an incredible country w deep Buddhist culture, would not hesitate to do it all over again.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC gave us very detailed and organized info before hand to help prepare and train for the trip, and during the trek has very experienced TMC as well as local guides to help us trek through high altitude terrain with extended camping (28 days) w/o complications. The local crew was simply superb, food wonderful - the food on the trek and the fun and caring local staff really separated TMC from other operators!

Snow Lake Hispar La in Pakistan by Piotr Zycki, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular Snow Lake trek in Pakistan Karakorum

The Snow Lake is one of the most amazing mountain journeys in the world. The route begins at Askole (Baltistan), together with the better known Baltoro-Gondogoro-K2 base camp trek, but it soon forks off, turning west and enters glacial wilderness. The route goes gradually up the Biafo glacier, then climbs more steeply to Hispar La (mountain pass at c.a. 5100 m) and then goes down along the Hispar glacier toward Hispar village in the Hunza region...

The Snow Lake is one of the most amazing mountain journeys in the world. The route begins at Askole (Baltistan), together with the better known Baltoro-Gondogoro-K2 base camp trek, but it soon forks off, turning west and enters glacial wilderness. The route goes gradually up the Biafo glacier, then climbs more steeply to Hispar La (mountain pass at c.a. 5100 m) and then goes down along the Hispar glacier toward Hispar village in the Hunza region. Crossing Hispar La is never guaranteed and there are years when this is not possible because of huge crevasses blocking the way. We were lucky to have good weather and snow conditions and we managed to complete this spectracular trek.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC guides are certainly experienced and very well prepared to handle even the most challenging trekking conditions. The Snow Lake trek has an exploratory character as the route is not simply marked on the glacier and so even finding the way is a challenge. There are decisions to be made about the camping places and details of the itinerary as these may need to be adjusted on a daily basis. As this trek follows two glaciers, safety of both the trekking members and the crew is of utmost importance. Taking care of all these elements requires constant attention and effort on the part of the trekking leader. Our TMC leader (Jo) did her job perfectly.

Ladakh Sky Trail GHT in India by Sam, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A well organised trek through an outstanding himalayan landscape

A well-guided trek with excellent food and equipment and a friendly and helpful crew.

A well-guided trek with excellent food and equipment and a friendly and helpful crew.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre-trek information is excellent. Roland Hunter is always available to provide helpful advice. For a previous trek, my Indian Visa had been delayed, so Roland kindly collected it from the embassy and brought it to the airport!

Lamjung Himal trek in Nepal by Dzo, 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great mountain views away from the crowds

This was a challenging but enjoyable trek that took us away from all the other tourists for a wonderful 10 days. Camping is the way to go for those of us who want to escape the crowds and don't mind the discomfort!

This was a challenging but enjoyable trek that took us away from all the other tourists for a wonderful 10 days. Camping is the way to go for those of us who want to escape the crowds and don't mind the discomfort!

Rating for tour operator:

Roland is a serious operator who takes care not to accept clients who are unfit for his treks. I know other operators who are not so careful.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Great Northern Trekker , 25 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Pakistan

Our trip to K2 Base Camp was everything that we had hoped and more. It was extremely well organized, the people were lovely and the sights spectacular!

Our trip to K2 Base Camp was everything that we had hoped and more. It was extremely well organized, the people were lovely and the sights spectacular!

Rating for tour operator:

Exceptional communication before and during the trip. We really appreciated the step by step instructions to help us prepare for the trip as well as assist us in obtaining specific travel insurance and our VISAs. Our team leader as well as our local guide a were exceptional. The food was delicious and plentiful.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Swamo , 24 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

K2 trip of s lifetime

A fabulous trip to k2 in Pakistan Perfect weather great group and flawless execution by the mountain company

A fabulous trip to k2 in Pakistan Perfect weather great group and flawless execution by the mountain company

Rating for tour operator:

Great organization and wonderful local support and staff Every detail was accounted for and personal accommodations were handled without any hesitation

Mardi Himal in Nepal by Bruce, 24 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Mardi HImal Trek Experience

We had a great time on our Mardi Himal trek. Everything was well organized and went smoothly. Besides the actual trek we got to spend a few days in Pokhara and Kathmandu. That really helped introduce us to Nepal culture and people.

We had a great time on our Mardi Himal trek. Everything was well organized and went smoothly. Besides the actual trek we got to spend a few days in Pokhara and Kathmandu. That really helped introduce us to Nepal culture and people.

Rating for tour operator:

The were very responsive during our planning and making our reservations. They had a company representative meet us before and after our trek which was very helpful. They were very responsive to any issues and questions we had.

Lamjung Himal trek in Nepal by Tess, 24 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience exceeding expectations

We trekked and camped on the Lamjung Himal trek for 10 days. Totally away from all the trappings of civilisation, simply surrounded by majestic mountains. Very well looked after by the Nepalese crew and guides

We trekked and camped on the Lamjung Himal trek for 10 days. Totally away from all the trappings of civilisation, simply surrounded by majestic mountains. Very well looked after by the Nepalese crew and guides

Rating for tour operator:

Meticulous pre-trip information, was able to ask any questions. All possibilities covered. Personal attention at all times. Met by the director at the start and end of the trek. Care taken to test our oxygen levels and heart rate daily.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Base Camp Trekker, 19 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Holiday of a lifetime - trek to Everest base camp

We did The Mountain Company, Luxury Everest base camp trip. The scenery was tremendous and the route through the Kumbhu Valley was extremely interesting and varied and the local people very friendly. It was very well planned and organised by The Mountain Company. The itinerary allowed 3 - 4 days for acclimatisation, with really interesting side trips to Thame and Amadablam base camp, we didn't experience any altitude sickness. Hiking uphill ...

We did The Mountain Company, Luxury Everest base camp trip. The scenery was tremendous and the route through the Kumbhu Valley was extremely interesting and varied and the local people very friendly. It was very well planned and organised by The Mountain Company. The itinerary allowed 3 - 4 days for acclimatisation, with really interesting side trips to Thame and Amadablam base camp, we didn't experience any altitude sickness. Hiking uphill was, however, very tough at altitude. The pre trip information was very informative. The accommodation was the best available, the food was good and the beds comfortable, but it was cold in the bedrooms (warm in bed with the hot water bottle provided). We went from 28th Oct to 14th Nov 2019, the weather was excellent and the trail wasn't very busy. I could recommend this trip to intrepid travellers who like hiking and don't mind doing without some home comforts - it is Nepal and everything is carried up the valley by porters, yaks or mules, electricity might be unreliable and hot water unavailable especially at the higher elevations. It was fabulous experience, I'm so glad we went.

Rating for tour operator:

We felt well looked after. The main point of contact with the company was the trekking guide who was friendly and helpful and inspired great confidence. All arrangements went very smoothly.