AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 148
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 151
Reviews Accepted: 151
Reviews Rejected: 0
151 reviews
Sort by:
The Mountain Company by mikehannah4, 4 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Trek with Outstandingly Organised

Tough trek in a remote part of Bhutan - Laya Gasa Trek. Very well organised with absolutely no problems whatsoever.

Tough trek in a remote part of Bhutan - Laya Gasa Trek. Very well organised with absolutely no problems whatsoever.

Rating for tour operator:

Small independent specialising in trekking in Himalayas.

The Mountain Company by Ian Grey, 16 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

TMC provide a high quality and secure holiday package from the moment you make contact to the moment they drop you back at the airport to return home.

We chose a treck that was described on the TMC web site as one that went through remote villages and quiet tracks couple with excellent views. This is exactly what the holiday provided. All staff including porter and guide provided an excellent service. This enabled us to enjoy the heart of Nepal.

We chose a treck that was described on the TMC web site as one that went through remote villages and quiet tracks couple with excellent views. This is exactly what the holiday provided. All staff including porter and guide provided an excellent service. This enabled us to enjoy the heart of Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC is an excellent company that gives the personal touch. They are not a massive well known company which is what we prefer. Nothing is too much for them. They kept us up to date with last minute changes that were beyond their control but ensured interruption to our holiday was at a minimum.

Mera Peak Expedition in Nepal by KG, 26 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company organise excellent treks in the Himalaya

We joined a trek to Mera Peak in Nepal. The trek was for 18 days in the mountains including a summit attempt on Mera Peak, the highest non-technical trekking peak in Nepal. Unfortunately the weather precluded us reaching the summit but the group all had a wonderful time and were awe inspired by the views from our highest camp.

We joined a trek to Mera Peak in Nepal. The trek was for 18 days in the mountains including a summit attempt on Mera Peak, the highest non-technical trekking peak in Nepal. Unfortunately the weather precluded us reaching the summit but the group all had a wonderful time and were awe inspired by the views from our highest camp.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is a highly professional company run by Roland Hunter- a mountaineer himself. From first contact an extremely personal service is offered with abundant information and advice from their informative website and on the phone. Arrangements in Kathmandu are made by a local agent who is also very personable and extremely efficient. The equipment provided on trek such as tents etc is of top quality and far surpasses that of most competing trekking companies, the porters and local crew are paid fairly and not exploited and are properly equipped and insured for high altitude trekking. Details which make all the difference in comfort and morale are taken seriously and the trek food is of high quality. This is the 4th time we have trekked with The Mountain Company as we consider the quality of their trekking arrangements to be superior to most of the industry. I am sure that we will travel with them again and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

The Mountain Company by DaveG , 25 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Kopra Ridge November 15

Having used the Mountain Company in November 13 to trek in Kumbu, we had no hesitation is booking with them again.initially we booked Lantang . Post earthquake this was not possible. Roland and all the staff at MC went out of their way to keep us updated with the latest FCO advice We were offered cancellation with full refund or once FCO cleared travel an alternative trek. Again Roland gave us unlimited time via phone , email to chose a ...

Having used the Mountain Company in November 13 to trek in Kumbu, we had no hesitation is booking with them again.initially we booked Lantang . Post earthquake this was not possible. Roland and all the staff at MC went out of their way to keep us updated with the latest FCO advice We were offered cancellation with full refund or once FCO cleared travel an alternative trek. Again Roland gave us unlimited time via phone , email to chose a suitable trek.... This was Kopra Ridge with a two night extension to their normal route I will return to Nepal and will only ever use the Mountain Company for all arrangements

Rating for tour operator:

From being booking to being picked up at Katmandu airport the whole experience of the Mountain Company is one of consummate professionalism. We were due to fly to Pokhara but due to the fuel blockade at the time we were transported in private taxi. Again all arranged to offer us no inconvineance

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Neil, 6 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Lunana Snowman Trek, Bhutan

In summary an outstanding trek in a beautiful remote part of the world. I know that trekking in Bhutan is more expensive than some areas but this trek led by Almas Khan was exceptional, with stunning scenery, walking in some of the most remote areas of the Himalayas and enjoying so much of the local culture. Crossing so many passes between Drugyel Dzong all the way through to Jakarta / Bumthang provides so many moments as new vistas open up ...

In summary an outstanding trek in a beautiful remote part of the world. I know that trekking in Bhutan is more expensive than some areas but this trek led by Almas Khan was exceptional, with stunning scenery, walking in some of the most remote areas of the Himalayas and enjoying so much of the local culture. Crossing so many passes between Drugyel Dzong all the way through to Jakarta / Bumthang provides so many moments as new vistas open up as you reach each pass, beautiful forests and the opportunity to see so much wildlife including blue sheep. And on this occasion we saw a Takin in the wild. At the end there is also a wonderful sense of achievement having completed such an amazing trek. Very well organised and run flexibility with rest days and acclimatisation days to make sure that everyone remains fit and well and can respond to weather conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

This is now the 4th time I have trekked with The Mountain Company which I think helps to emphasise that I hold them in high regard. The treks are all extremely well planned, led by highly experienced leaders and supported by excellent guides, catering staff etc. As well as providing a wonderful trekking experience, the safety and well being of clients and staff are always a high priority.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Jungle Jill, 27 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Lunana Snowman Trek 2015 - Challenging, Spectacular, Well organised/led

This challenging trip through remote terrain was enhanced by good organisation, sensitive leadership, and well managed local team. We were prepared for the conditions thanks to comprehensive accurate information from The Mountain Company prior, and the need to train well beforehand. Spectacular scenery, stunning campsites, and a gradual acclimatization schedule all made for a trip to be remembered. The downside was the drive back to Paro ...

This challenging trip through remote terrain was enhanced by good organisation, sensitive leadership, and well managed local team. We were prepared for the conditions thanks to comprehensive accurate information from The Mountain Company prior, and the need to train well beforehand. Spectacular scenery, stunning campsites, and a gradual acclimatization schedule all made for a trip to be remembered. The downside was the drive back to Paro from Jakar - 250 kms of roadworks, dust and narrow, winding, hilly meanders. Lets hope the Bhutanese government makes this upgrade a priority.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland from The Mountain Company provided plenty of pre-trip information to enable us to prepare thoroughly for the adventure. Almas Khan, the trip leader, had a wealth of experience, knew the route well, was always organised and informative. Friendly and personable leader who related well to staff and clients alike. We appreciated his sound decision making and ability to allow the group to walk at their own pace, whilst still maintaining an overview of where everyone was at.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by Martin, 6 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company were excellent from start to finish

The Mountain Company were excellent from start to finish. Prior to booking, they provided one-to-one support on the trip to choose, including quickly answering numerous planning questions. We were met and briefed on arrival in Kathmandu, and it was clear that the whole team were of a very high standard -the guiding, the equipment provided and the food were all excellent. The quality, expertise and experience of the guides and crew shone through ...

The Mountain Company were excellent from start to finish. Prior to booking, they provided one-to-one support on the trip to choose, including quickly answering numerous planning questions. We were met and briefed on arrival in Kathmandu, and it was clear that the whole team were of a very high standard -the guiding, the equipment provided and the food were all excellent. The quality, expertise and experience of the guides and crew shone through during and after the earthquakes that occurred during our trip. Their experience ensured that we were in as safe a place as possible at all times, and that we minimised risks on our return to Kathmandu. In addition, the Mountain Company ensured both clients and crew were able to communicate with their families at that time. In addition, I was very keen to go with an operator who were focused on the welfare of porters and was impressed by the Mountain Company's focus on this important issue. I would not hesitate to use the Mountain Company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were excellent from start to finish. Prior to booking, they provided one-to-one support on the trip to choose, including quickly answering numerous planning questions. We were met and briefed on arrival in Kathmandu, and it was clear that the whole team were of a very high standard - the guiding, the equipment provided and the food were all excellent. The quality, expertise and experience of the guides and crew shone through during and after the earthquakes that occurred during our trip. Their experience ensured that we were in as safe a place as possible at all times, and that we minimised risks on our return to Kathmandu. In addition, the Mountain Company ensured both clients and crew were able to communicate with their families at that time. In addition, I was very keen to go with an operator who were focused on the welfare of porters and was impressed by the Mountain Company's focus on this important issue. I would not hesitate to use the Mountain Company again.

The Mountain Company by JCH13, 21 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Trek to Everest Base Camp

Our family of four including our sons ages 8 and 10 visited Nepal from the U.S. We trekked to Mount Everest Base Camp on a private tour with The Mountain Company. Our trek was a modified itinerary in which we added a few more acclimatization days and shortened two of the longer days. In the end, this worked well for us and though hard, we all made it to base camp and back safely. Our basic itinerary was Lukla, Phakding, Jorsale, Namche, ...

Our family of four including our sons ages 8 and 10 visited Nepal from the U.S. We trekked to Mount Everest Base Camp on a private tour with The Mountain Company. Our trek was a modified itinerary in which we added a few more acclimatization days and shortened two of the longer days. In the end, this worked well for us and though hard, we all made it to base camp and back safely. Our basic itinerary was Lukla, Phakding, Jorsale, Namche, Namche, Debuche, Pangboche, Dingboche, Dingboche, Dhugla, Lobuche, Gorak Shep, EBC!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company and specifically Roland and Prem were fantastic. I think if we had chosen any other company or had any other guide we would not have been successful. They were both perfect for our family of four including to sons ages 8 and 10 to make it to Base Camp. Our itinerary was planned in detail, but of course changes happen based on circumstances. The Mountain Company made all of the changes needed on the fly without any problems. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a tour company pick The Mountain Company. We saw a lot of other guides and tours run by other companies. Roland the The Mountain Company are the best!

The Mountain Company by bronnie43, 15 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing scenery!

A very memorable holiday trekking in the majestic Himalayas!

A very memorable holiday trekking in the majestic Himalayas!

Rating for tour operator:

My husband and I had a fantastic trek in Nepal with The Mountain Company and their in-country partner. Rolland was always available to answer any pre-trip questions we had and continued to provide excellent service once we arrived in-country. Everything was well organised and we felt we were in safe hands should anything happen. I would happily recommend The Mountain Company to anyone considering a trekking holiday in Nepal.

The Mountain Company by Carol and Kevin, 24 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Our trek to Everest Base Camp was the adventure of a lifetime!

What a fabulous experience! Not for the faint-hearted, trekking at altitude is challenging but we were well-prepared and the itinerary was well planned to allow time to ascend slowly enough to acclimatise. Our "group" was just the two of us and our guide Gopal Tamang was brilliant, looking after all arrangements, making sure we were eating well, keeping healthy, and having fun. He also gave us great insight into the history and culture of the area...

What a fabulous experience! Not for the faint-hearted, trekking at altitude is challenging but we were well-prepared and the itinerary was well planned to allow time to ascend slowly enough to acclimatise. Our "group" was just the two of us and our guide Gopal Tamang was brilliant, looking after all arrangements, making sure we were eating well, keeping healthy, and having fun. He also gave us great insight into the history and culture of the area. The weather was good for the entire holiday, so the views on the trek were absolutely stunning. We'd chosen the "luxury" option and our hotel in Kathmandu (the Shangri La) was indeed luxurious - an oasis of calm amidst the bustle and dust of the city. On the trek, our accommodation was the best in each location, using Everest Summit Lodges where available. Of course, the higher you get, the further you are from "civilisation" so the more basic the facilities became, but we viewed the lack of mod-cons as part of our adventure. We have no hesitation in recommending The Mountain Company to anybody interested in mountain trekking.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolutely brilliant! The Mountain Company really cared about our satisfaction and well-being. The trek to Everest Base Camp is challenging, especially for us first-timers, but there's loads of helpful info on their website, and Roland Hunter (the company founder) was also very happy to answer any questions we had. The tour was very well organised and our personalised itinerary was extremely detailed so there were few surprises. We cannot thank them enough for a brilliant adventure!