AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 153
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 156
Reviews Accepted: 156
Reviews Rejected: 0
156 reviews
Sort by:
The Mountain Company by Zoran, 4 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

70th birthday in the Himalayas

Celebrated my father's 70th birthday by trekking together to Annapurna Basecamp. A very special 2 weeks we'll cherish for years to come.

Celebrated my father's 70th birthday by trekking together to Annapurna Basecamp. A very special 2 weeks we'll cherish for years to come.

Rating for tour operator:

Meticulously thought out and prepared. Great pre-trip advice and responsiveness, organization on the ground, and most importantly on the trek itself. We always felt taken care of, and under experienced guidance. The trek crew even threw a surprise birthday party for us, hauling a freshly baked cake into a remote lodge on the way to ABC!

Classic Tour of Burma by Marmar, 21 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company Luxury Tour of Myanmar

Very well organised tour which went like clockwork. Very good guides who were knowlegeable, pleasant and helpful.The drivers were all very safe and careful and steady, even on any bad roads. The tour was varied and very interesting, and the hotels all very comfortable and in good locations, many with lovely views and grounds. Everything on the tour was worth seeing, and the highlights were of course many amazing pagodas, but also the train journey ...

Very well organised tour which went like clockwork. Very good guides who were knowlegeable, pleasant and helpful.The drivers were all very safe and careful and steady, even on any bad roads. The tour was varied and very interesting, and the hotels all very comfortable and in good locations, many with lovely views and grounds. Everything on the tour was worth seeing, and the highlights were of course many amazing pagodas, but also the train journey from Pyin Oo Lwin to Hsipaw over the Goktek Gorge, the 2 day cruise on R.V.Paukan from Mandlay to Bagan. Also Bagan itself and the balloon flight, and Inle Lake, where we went to the far south of the lake in a local boat to Sagar.The markets and craft workshops were fascinating too. I would recommend this tour,with a well run itinerary, taking in the sights, culture and crafts of the country .

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company organised the Myanmar Luxury Tour, but also specialises in trekking in Nepal and Bhutan, and recently, Pakistan. The company organised our Myanmar tour very efficiently and with great care and attention to detail, and it went like clockwork

Luxury Classic Tour of Burma by Mrs Contented, 17 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

The most fascinating holiday, impeccably organised and very interesting itinerary. Lovely people despite their extreme poverty and problems.

We found Myanamar a fascinating place and the people very friendly despite all their problems.We managed to do a wide variety of different things, including 2 night Irrawaddy cruise, balloon trip at Bagan, 3 hour little local train where we travelled through villages, and many locals got on and off the train with all the fruit and vegetables to sell in the market. Another highlight, which again, was arranged by the Mountain Company was a long ...

We found Myanamar a fascinating place and the people very friendly despite all their problems.We managed to do a wide variety of different things, including 2 night Irrawaddy cruise, balloon trip at Bagan, 3 hour little local train where we travelled through villages, and many locals got on and off the train with all the fruit and vegetables to sell in the market. Another highlight, which again, was arranged by the Mountain Company was a long boat ride up Inla Lake right up beyond the touristy area to see one of the original kingdoms of the old Shan state king. We only saw one other tourist boat doing this. In general we had a very varied holiday from Pagodas to birds, local people, and much else arranged by the Mountain Company. It was a fairly exhausting timetable to fit everything in but we then had a few days to relax at Ngpali beach. All the hotels recommended by The Mountain Company were excellent and we were very well looked after by the friendly staff.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was extremely professional from first enquiry to after we returned. All questions were answered quickly and efficiently and we were well briefed as to what to expect. They were very flexible on discussion for our travel plan and included a few things which we particularly wanted to do. The whole 3 week holiday was very efficiently organised and all went according to plan. The guides were excellent and both they and the drivers couldn't have been more helpful. I would highly recommend The Mountain Company.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by SnoMo, 12 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga, Nepal

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Rolland, owner of The Mountain Company, was very responsive to all enquires. Provided all the necessary info (trekking gear, what to expect and etc) right from the start. He is a hands-on guy and goes to Kathmandu frequently to ensure things are in place for the treks. The crew was very friendly, professional and looked after all our needs. Trek leader, Almas Khan, looked after all the details while we were trekking. He looked after not only the trekkers but also ensure the rest of the crew are doing well. This is good to see. I believe it is the operating philosophy of The Mountain Company to ensure everyone's well being is looked after.

The Mountain Company by Marshalls, 5 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Everest Base Camp trek Nov/Dec 2015

The trek started in Lukla and it took 10 days to get to our destination of Everest Base Camp. This was perfect as we did lots of acclimatisation walks which were essential from our point of view, and as no one in the group had any altitude issues it was obviously the right way to do it. The trek was hard and strenuous and not for the faint hearted (but we were prepared!), our Sherpa, Tensing was THE BEST, and with his guidance and support we ...

The trek started in Lukla and it took 10 days to get to our destination of Everest Base Camp. This was perfect as we did lots of acclimatisation walks which were essential from our point of view, and as no one in the group had any altitude issues it was obviously the right way to do it. The trek was hard and strenuous and not for the faint hearted (but we were prepared!), our Sherpa, Tensing was THE BEST, and with his guidance and support we made it to EBC. What a fabulous trip of a lifetime - very emotional walking into EBC where so many historic climbs had started from. Would we recommend this trip - absolutely! Thank you Roland and the team - hopefully we will be back for another experience another year.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first time we found the Mountain Company online we noticed that they were head and shoulders above other trekking companies. The information on their website is fantastic and Roland was very very helpful and was always willing to spend time explaining things and answering any questions we had. They have so much information available to download as well as links to other relevant websites. Our Sherpa had worked with Roland for 10 years and he was just amazing and we have treasured memories of our time with him. The trek was well organised and well thought out, the lodges were basic but clean and the food was wonderful (so much choice!). Thank you and keep up the good work.

The Mountain Company by mikehannah4, 4 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding Trek with Outstandingly Organised

Tough trek in a remote part of Bhutan - Laya Gasa Trek. Very well organised with absolutely no problems whatsoever.

Tough trek in a remote part of Bhutan - Laya Gasa Trek. Very well organised with absolutely no problems whatsoever.

Rating for tour operator:

Small independent specialising in trekking in Himalayas.

The Mountain Company by Ian Grey, 16 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

TMC provide a high quality and secure holiday package from the moment you make contact to the moment they drop you back at the airport to return home.

We chose a treck that was described on the TMC web site as one that went through remote villages and quiet tracks couple with excellent views. This is exactly what the holiday provided. All staff including porter and guide provided an excellent service. This enabled us to enjoy the heart of Nepal.

We chose a treck that was described on the TMC web site as one that went through remote villages and quiet tracks couple with excellent views. This is exactly what the holiday provided. All staff including porter and guide provided an excellent service. This enabled us to enjoy the heart of Nepal.

Rating for tour operator:

TMC is an excellent company that gives the personal touch. They are not a massive well known company which is what we prefer. Nothing is too much for them. They kept us up to date with last minute changes that were beyond their control but ensured interruption to our holiday was at a minimum.

Mera Peak Expedition in Nepal by KG, 26 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company organise excellent treks in the Himalaya

We joined a trek to Mera Peak in Nepal. The trek was for 18 days in the mountains including a summit attempt on Mera Peak, the highest non-technical trekking peak in Nepal. Unfortunately the weather precluded us reaching the summit but the group all had a wonderful time and were awe inspired by the views from our highest camp.

We joined a trek to Mera Peak in Nepal. The trek was for 18 days in the mountains including a summit attempt on Mera Peak, the highest non-technical trekking peak in Nepal. Unfortunately the weather precluded us reaching the summit but the group all had a wonderful time and were awe inspired by the views from our highest camp.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is a highly professional company run by Roland Hunter- a mountaineer himself. From first contact an extremely personal service is offered with abundant information and advice from their informative website and on the phone. Arrangements in Kathmandu are made by a local agent who is also very personable and extremely efficient. The equipment provided on trek such as tents etc is of top quality and far surpasses that of most competing trekking companies, the porters and local crew are paid fairly and not exploited and are properly equipped and insured for high altitude trekking. Details which make all the difference in comfort and morale are taken seriously and the trek food is of high quality. This is the 4th time we have trekked with The Mountain Company as we consider the quality of their trekking arrangements to be superior to most of the industry. I am sure that we will travel with them again and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

The Mountain Company by DaveG , 25 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Kopra Ridge November 15

Having used the Mountain Company in November 13 to trek in Kumbu, we had no hesitation is booking with them again.initially we booked Lantang . Post earthquake this was not possible. Roland and all the staff at MC went out of their way to keep us updated with the latest FCO advice We were offered cancellation with full refund or once FCO cleared travel an alternative trek. Again Roland gave us unlimited time via phone , email to chose a ...

Having used the Mountain Company in November 13 to trek in Kumbu, we had no hesitation is booking with them again.initially we booked Lantang . Post earthquake this was not possible. Roland and all the staff at MC went out of their way to keep us updated with the latest FCO advice We were offered cancellation with full refund or once FCO cleared travel an alternative trek. Again Roland gave us unlimited time via phone , email to chose a suitable trek.... This was Kopra Ridge with a two night extension to their normal route I will return to Nepal and will only ever use the Mountain Company for all arrangements

Rating for tour operator:

From being booking to being picked up at Katmandu airport the whole experience of the Mountain Company is one of consummate professionalism. We were due to fly to Pokhara but due to the fuel blockade at the time we were transported in private taxi. Again all arranged to offer us no inconvineance

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Neil, 6 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

The Lunana Snowman Trek, Bhutan

In summary an outstanding trek in a beautiful remote part of the world. I know that trekking in Bhutan is more expensive than some areas but this trek led by Almas Khan was exceptional, with stunning scenery, walking in some of the most remote areas of the Himalayas and enjoying so much of the local culture. Crossing so many passes between Drugyel Dzong all the way through to Jakarta / Bumthang provides so many moments as new vistas open up ...

In summary an outstanding trek in a beautiful remote part of the world. I know that trekking in Bhutan is more expensive than some areas but this trek led by Almas Khan was exceptional, with stunning scenery, walking in some of the most remote areas of the Himalayas and enjoying so much of the local culture. Crossing so many passes between Drugyel Dzong all the way through to Jakarta / Bumthang provides so many moments as new vistas open up as you reach each pass, beautiful forests and the opportunity to see so much wildlife including blue sheep. And on this occasion we saw a Takin in the wild. At the end there is also a wonderful sense of achievement having completed such an amazing trek. Very well organised and run flexibility with rest days and acclimatisation days to make sure that everyone remains fit and well and can respond to weather conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

This is now the 4th time I have trekked with The Mountain Company which I think helps to emphasise that I hold them in high regard. The treks are all extremely well planned, led by highly experienced leaders and supported by excellent guides, catering staff etc. As well as providing a wonderful trekking experience, the safety and well being of clients and staff are always a high priority.