AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The Wilds of Assynt

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 33
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 33
Reviews Accepted: 33
Reviews Rejected: 0
33 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Marisa, 27 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip

I took a hiking trip in Assynt and it was an amazing trip with an excellent guide, accommodations, food, everything was all stat.

I took a hiking trip in Assynt and it was an amazing trip with an excellent guide, accommodations, food, everything was all stat.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland runs a great organization. Highly recommended!

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Slow Hiker , 18 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Stunning scenery

6 day Hiking trip to the Assynt region of Scotland. Hikes were 4 - 8 hours in length and up to 900 meters of elevation gain. Due to fortunate weather, we had Incredible panoramas views of lochs and the sea. Comfortable accommodations near Ullapool overlooking Loch Bloom.

6 day Hiking trip to the Assynt region of Scotland. Hikes were 4 - 8 hours in length and up to 900 meters of elevation gain. Due to fortunate weather, we had Incredible panoramas views of lochs and the sea. Comfortable accommodations near Ullapool overlooking Loch Bloom.

Rating for tour operator:

Guided trip by Wilderness Scotland. Guide was professional, engaging and very knowledgeable about outdoors.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by KMM, 10 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous views and walking in remote Scottish peaks

A week walking in the Wilds of Assynt with an exceptional guide called Billy. We were lucky with the weather and the views were stunning. Billy was brilliant at keeping the group together and seeing to every one's needs. He was funny and knowledgeable and took really good care of us both on the walks and in the evenings. The walking was well paced and challenging. Throughout the food was excellent and we went to several different restaurants ...

A week walking in the Wilds of Assynt with an exceptional guide called Billy. We were lucky with the weather and the views were stunning. Billy was brilliant at keeping the group together and seeing to every one's needs. He was funny and knowledgeable and took really good care of us both on the walks and in the evenings. The walking was well paced and challenging. Throughout the food was excellent and we went to several different restaurants so there was also good variety.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were efficient and keen to give good client experience and satisfaction. A very well organised and smoothly run holiday.

Reviewer's images:
Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by D, 28 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic way to explore the wilds of Assynt.

A great week of walking in the northwest of Scotland, scaling the heights of Suilven, Stac Pollaidh, Cul Mor, and experiencing the beautiful beaches, waterfalls and the Summer Isles.

A great week of walking in the northwest of Scotland, scaling the heights of Suilven, Stac Pollaidh, Cul Mor, and experiencing the beautiful beaches, waterfalls and the Summer Isles.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were organised, professional, and knowledgeable. They put together a highly enjoyable trip.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Karen, 27 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

I went hiking in the beautiful Assynt, Scotland.

I went hiking in the beautiful Assynt, Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

The Wilds of Assynt. WOW! Just go. If you have even the tiniest feeling it might be something for you. Let me tell you, it is! It’s beyond anything my words can describe to you. This was my first hiking trip and my first visit to Scotland and it has kindled a great love for both the hiking and the country. Most likely thanks to the lovely group I was part of and our very capable guide. Wilderness Scotland knows what they are doing, everything from booking accommodation, finding nice places to eat and most importantly choosing which trails to walk. Nothing seems coincidental. Every day is something new, both to see and to feel under the soles of your feet. And don’t worry if it rains a little. The gray sky only enhances the beautiful colours of the scottish flora around you and the flow of water makes the landscape come alive both visibly and audibly. There is so much to see, so don’t let the rain stop you! This was only my first adventure with Wilderness Scotland and I am definitely coming back.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Scotland Addict, 28 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland + their excellent guides = great holidays in a beautiful country

This summer it was a week walking in the Northwest Highlands (Scotland) - being outdoors for several hours a day, coastal walks as well as hill hiking. Excellent accomodation, very good food.

This summer it was a week walking in the Northwest Highlands (Scotland) - being outdoors for several hours a day, coastal walks as well as hill hiking. Excellent accomodation, very good food.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy communication, helpful staff, uncomplicated, very good organization, very appealing philosophy.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Bill, 25 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

"Wilds of Assynt" with Wilderness Scotland is a great opportunity to experience the Northwest Highlands

Wilds of Assynt is six days of "moderate" challenge day hiking run by Wilderness Scotland. We experienced a variety of both mountain and moorland hiking, marveled at the fantastic Highlands scenery from all elevations and also had a chance to explore some of the towns of the Highlands, such as Ullapool and Lochinvar. It was perfect for the hiker who doesn't mind climbing a few hundred meters in the occasional wind and rain to be rewarded with ...

Wilds of Assynt is six days of "moderate" challenge day hiking run by Wilderness Scotland. We experienced a variety of both mountain and moorland hiking, marveled at the fantastic Highlands scenery from all elevations and also had a chance to explore some of the towns of the Highlands, such as Ullapool and Lochinvar. It was perfect for the hiker who doesn't mind climbing a few hundred meters in the occasional wind and rain to be rewarded with fantastic panoramas when reaching the top.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland conducts well-organized tours and our guide was truly stellar. We were booked into a good quality and very functional hotel for the week. The cost was very reasonable and appropriate. I would not hesitate to recommend Wilds of Assynt or any other tours run by Wilderness Scotland.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Unione66, 25 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Really fantastic way to discover Highlands

It was a great experience perfectly managed

It was a great experience perfectly managed

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and always present

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by RM18, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect! Great hikes, food, & friends

Each hike was a unique challenge, and the sights were incredible. Our group was a great size (six people), and the food exceeded all expectations. We also loved our accommodation, which offered a comfortable room with a view.

Each hike was a unique challenge, and the sights were incredible. Our group was a great size (six people), and the food exceeded all expectations. We also loved our accommodation, which offered a comfortable room with a view.

Rating for tour operator:

Our guide was great, and a good fit for our group. He was knowledgeable and quick on his feet, adjusting plans to suit the group’s needs. He really knew the area and shared a great deal of local knowledge and history with us as well.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by Kathy, 18 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Glorious views and a great guide!

Challenging hikes each day to spectacular views. Our guide kept us safe while sharing his obvious love for the countryside through his expert know.edge of geology, flora and fauna, and local history. He is well known and liked in the area based on the congenial greeting received by those hosting our hotel and the restaurants we went to.

Challenging hikes each day to spectacular views. Our guide kept us safe while sharing his obvious love for the countryside through his expert know.edge of geology, flora and fauna, and local history. He is well known and liked in the area based on the congenial greeting received by those hosting our hotel and the restaurants we went to.

Rating for tour operator:

See above