AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The West Highland Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The West Highland Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 30
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 31
Reviews Accepted: 31
Reviews Rejected: 0
31 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The West Highland Way by Greg, 24 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way with Wilderness Scotland 13 August - 20 August 2018

Our holiday was outstanding in every way: preparation by Wilderness Scotland, our guide, our accommodations along the way, and the most welcome food and drink. The experience far exceeded our already high expectations.

Our holiday was outstanding in every way: preparation by Wilderness Scotland, our guide, our accommodations along the way, and the most welcome food and drink. The experience far exceeded our already high expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland is the epitome of professionalism and friendliness. They are, in a word, amazing.

Reviewer's images:
Walking - The West Highland Way by Gail, 21 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the West Highland Way

We worked with Wilderness Scotland to plan a 7-day self-guided hike of the West Highland Way. Wilderness Scotland arranged all of our lodgings and transport of our luggage, and also provided maps, route guides, and other useful information about each leg of the hike, our accommodations, dining options, etc. The booking process was easy and straightforward, and the trip itself went off without a hitch. We had a wonderful time on our hike, and ...

We worked with Wilderness Scotland to plan a 7-day self-guided hike of the West Highland Way. Wilderness Scotland arranged all of our lodgings and transport of our luggage, and also provided maps, route guides, and other useful information about each leg of the hike, our accommodations, dining options, etc. The booking process was easy and straightforward, and the trip itself went off without a hitch. We had a wonderful time on our hike, and we thoroughly enjoyed our lodgings en route. It was truly a fantastic experience!

Rating for tour operator:

We had a great experience with Wilderness Scotland. I would not hesitate to recommend their services to family and friends.

Walking - The West Highland Way by DAB, 29 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous West Highland Way holiday

Joined a group with Wilderness Scotland and guide to walk the West Highland Way. Had a brilliant holiday with good company, stunning scenery and everything well catered for by the tour company.

Joined a group with Wilderness Scotland and guide to walk the West Highland Way. Had a brilliant holiday with good company, stunning scenery and everything well catered for by the tour company.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland - their guide (Tim) looked after everyone very well, was knowledgeable and good fun.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Coline131, 28 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

West Highlang Way : challenging, funny, exhilarating - a once-in-a-lifetime thing

Excellent organisation and guiding throughout the tour.

Excellent organisation and guiding throughout the tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland are very efficient, kind and professional people, from the first contact before booking to the end of the trip.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Dunkling , 29 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Challenging and fulfilling

West Highland Way. First walk. Great group and Duncan Greene was a fantastic guide.

West Highland Way. First walk. Great group and Duncan Greene was a fantastic guide.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Murray, 20 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness. Scotland made our hike a wonderful experience.

We had a wonderful time -- weather notwithstanding -- on the West Highland Way.

We had a wonderful time -- weather notwithstanding -- on the West Highland Way.

Rating for tour operator:

The Wilderness Scotland team were superb.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Mrs J G 16, 4 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Vision fulfilled.

I took an 8-day guided walk through the West Highlands of Scotland.

I took an 8-day guided walk through the West Highlands of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

He was very conscious of safety, weather, daily logistics, but casual about where we stopped, hiking order, dinner times, etc. This is the way I like to operate, so I appreciated his style.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Gian, 2 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

A WALK IN SCOTLAND

This year we would have liked to walk the West Highland Way. It is just long, without any technical difficulty. The way is marked, not always, but you cannot get lost, should you try to. Better splitting the longest distances in two parts. You do not need any special gear, it is just a walk. The scenery is fantastic and somehow magical, all the accommodations are chosen with great care. The only problem was the weather. Wind and rain made impossible ...

This year we would have liked to walk the West Highland Way. It is just long, without any technical difficulty. The way is marked, not always, but you cannot get lost, should you try to. Better splitting the longest distances in two parts. You do not need any special gear, it is just a walk. The scenery is fantastic and somehow magical, all the accommodations are chosen with great care. The only problem was the weather. Wind and rain made impossible walking on the exposed tracts, compelling us to retreat. I sure will be back with the same operator next year, but in a different month

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland offers a wide range of choices for travelling in Scotland. This is the second time I book with them a holiday and I surely will be back in Scotland with them again. This year July was very rainy and windy, and we could not complete the trail. The accommodations chosen by Wilderness this year, as the last, let us very satisfied, always clean, friendly and welcoming. You cannot find a better tour operator for walking in Scotland, which I know for sure, but, probably, even in England and Ireland

Walking - The West Highland Way by Bob, 28 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

great planning and execution.

West Highland way walk. It was more of a hike than a walk but very enjoyable.

West Highland way walk. It was more of a hike than a walk but very enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Wildnerness Scotland. Great job.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Angus, 31 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Very good holiday.

Very good holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good.