AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The West Highland Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The West Highland Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 42
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 44
Reviews Accepted: 44
Reviews Rejected: 0
44 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The West Highland Way by Hikes4Fun, 28 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Hiking the West Highland Way, with a knowledgeable guide, and accommodations fitting for a comfortable, memorable, and 1st class experience.

I met with my small group and we all seemed to hit it off right away. I knew walking 96 miles in 7 days was going to be a challenge, but it was a wonderful experience and I would do it again!

I met with my small group and we all seemed to hit it off right away. I knew walking 96 miles in 7 days was going to be a challenge, but it was a wonderful experience and I would do it again!

Rating for tour operator:

Alistair Jeffs was very knowledgeable about the landscape, wildlife, and history along the WHW. Great guide for this trip!

Walking - The West Highland Way by Paul, 27 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Hiking in Scotland

Hiked the West Highland Way and Great Glen Way back to back

Hiked the West Highland Way and Great Glen Way back to back

Rating for tour operator:

Very impressed with Wilderness Scotland. Their communication is proactive and prompt. The information they provide is very helpful for trip preparation and daily planning. What you read is pretty much what you experience.

Walking - The West Highland Way by CTTWIN , 24 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Challenging & Rewarding

7 days, 96 miles, mountains & valleys, rain & sun, laughter & exhaustion, streams & water falls, good food & not so good, new friends & old friends, sore feet & blisters, mist & clouds and most of all a joyful sense of accomplishment!!

7 days, 96 miles, mountains & valleys, rain & sun, laughter & exhaustion, streams & water falls, good food & not so good, new friends & old friends, sore feet & blisters, mist & clouds and most of all a joyful sense of accomplishment!!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland provided great guides & managed all the details

Walking - The West Highland Way by Ms. E S 22, 22 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way in Scotland

The trip was phenomenal and very well organized, and our guides were the best!

The trip was phenomenal and very well organized, and our guides were the best!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was excellent, and I will definitely keep them in mind for future trips.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Aquadite, 13 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

An excellent experience

We hiked the West Highland Way, 8 days of hiking with one day of rest. We did a self-guided tour with Wilderness Scotland that allowed us to travel at our own pace each day to reach our pre-arranged destination. It was an excellent experience from the pre-trip interactions with them to the accommodation and luggage transportation aspects of the trip. Each destination provided excellent accommodation, generous and friendly hosts and great food...

We hiked the West Highland Way, 8 days of hiking with one day of rest. We did a self-guided tour with Wilderness Scotland that allowed us to travel at our own pace each day to reach our pre-arranged destination. It was an excellent experience from the pre-trip interactions with them to the accommodation and luggage transportation aspects of the trip. Each destination provided excellent accommodation, generous and friendly hosts and great food. We booked two years before our trip which had to be rearranged twice due to Covid restrictions. The company was very accommodating around rebooking as needed. The service was excellent and the trail information provided really helped us along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Same info as above in the 'about your holiday' section. All in all it was an excellent trip made better by excellent service. I have already started recommending the company to friends who are interested in the same trip.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Chris, 9 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking the West Highland Way.

Walking every day, hotel nights.

Walking every day, hotel nights.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised, friendly , no complaints.

Walking - The West Highland Way by NicL, 17 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Lochs, moors and munros

Trekked West Highland Way in group tour of 16 with 2 guides and Great Glen Way in self-guided tour. Unbelievably sunny skies and cool breeze in mid-to-late-April. Trees just budding out and too early for midges. Hikes that followed the lochs were stunning.

Trekked West Highland Way in group tour of 16 with 2 guides and Great Glen Way in self-guided tour. Unbelievably sunny skies and cool breeze in mid-to-late-April. Trees just budding out and too early for midges. Hikes that followed the lochs were stunning.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, patient, informative & LOCAL! If you're going to book with a tour operator, whether group tour or self-guided, go with a local company that knows the terrain, weather, and local "customs." Wilderness Scotland is the real deal. Highly recommend them.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Ms M F 22, 12 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Group hike of the West Highland Way

A group of 16 plus guides hiked the West Highland Way in 7 days. It was an amazing experience, especially so because I never had to worry about anything the whole trip.

A group of 16 plus guides hiked the West Highland Way in 7 days. It was an amazing experience, especially so because I never had to worry about anything the whole trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland. The whole experience working with various people representing Wilderness Scotland from booking to post-trip conclusion was professional, kind, personable, and competent.

Walking - The West Highland Way by Mags, 5 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

West highland way

Great trek

Great trek

Rating for tour operator:

Organized

Walking - The West Highland Way by Radial, 4 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

fantastic experience

WEst Highland WAY: Over 9 days.No rain in April!!; no midges!! Arduous in places but able to meet all sections and overnight stops. Real sense of community amongst fellow hikes of all ages. Everyone very supportive of each other. Enjoyed meeting up with in the evening a exchanging experiences. fabulous scenery. Totally enjoyable would recommend it to anyone - probably should not wait until age 75 as we were!!

WEst Highland WAY: Over 9 days.No rain in April!!; no midges!! Arduous in places but able to meet all sections and overnight stops. Real sense of community amongst fellow hikes of all ages. Everyone very supportive of each other. Enjoyed meeting up with in the evening a exchanging experiences. fabulous scenery. Totally enjoyable would recommend it to anyone - probably should not wait until age 75 as we were!!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland: excellent communication, prompt responses. Baggage transfer excellent. Upgrades well explained and fabulous! Maintained contact over and through the COVID difficulties; planned trip for 2020, realised in 2022 at no extra cost! Would recommend to anyone