AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The Orkney Isles Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The Orkney Isles

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 39
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The Orkney Isles by Serjeant, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very special experience

Five days walking in the Orkneys. Wonderful scenery and archeological, historical and artistic sites. Very professionally organised with a delightful and experienced guide. Very comfortable accommodation.

Five days walking in the Orkneys. Wonderful scenery and archeological, historical and artistic sites. Very professionally organised with a delightful and experienced guide. Very comfortable accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland: read about them in a magazine. Excellent website and very good direct communications. We are very pleased with our choice of operator.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Peg, 24 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Orkney hiking holiday

It was a superb 6 days of hiking with an excellent guide and congenial companions - excellent accommodations and food, well-planned and exhilarating days.

It was a superb 6 days of hiking with an excellent guide and congenial companions - excellent accommodations and food, well-planned and exhilarating days.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland is an excellent tour operator - informative, helpful and a thorough pleasure to deal with.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by gyywong, 3 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable places and perfect trip planning

The Orkney Islands walking tour is my first ever walking trip in Scotland, and with a group of strangers which gave me some anxiety beforehand. It has turned out to be one of the best holidays I have ever had and the walking was fantastic.

The Orkney Islands walking tour is my first ever walking trip in Scotland, and with a group of strangers which gave me some anxiety beforehand. It has turned out to be one of the best holidays I have ever had and the walking was fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

Very thoughtful planning, from booking to the actual trip. The guide in our trip was absolutely wonderful in being fun, knowledgeable and having a big heart.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Mike, 1 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

I found my roots in Orkney Islands

A walking tour of the Orkneys. Saw beautiful cliffs, birds, archaeology and found my Granny's old tumble down she left for America in 1901

A walking tour of the Orkneys. Saw beautiful cliffs, birds, archaeology and found my Granny's old tumble down she left for America in 1901

Rating for tour operator:

Mark Cox was completely committed to our enjoyment and safety in this trip

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Therese, 25 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beyond my expectations

The trip was well organized, run by a more than competent guide. He showed us more than I expected and was helpful and caring always.

The trip was well organized, run by a more than competent guide. He showed us more than I expected and was helpful and caring always.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderful

Walking - The Orkney Isles by JoJo, 12 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wildernees Walking in the Orkney Islands

It was a one-week trip. We stayed in one place the whole time (excellent hotel in Kirkwall) and went out by van and ferry to various locations for day hikes of 5 to 10 miles duration. We saw breathtaking scenery, important archaeological sites, and a wide variety of flora and fauna. Our guide was excellent and the trip planning was flawless.

It was a one-week trip. We stayed in one place the whole time (excellent hotel in Kirkwall) and went out by van and ferry to various locations for day hikes of 5 to 10 miles duration. We saw breathtaking scenery, important archaeological sites, and a wide variety of flora and fauna. Our guide was excellent and the trip planning was flawless.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland was excellent (see above).

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Richmond Lass, 6 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness walking in the Orkney Isles

A great balance of archaeology, flora and fauna and walking. The Orkney Islands are a fabulous place to visit and relax.

A great balance of archaeology, flora and fauna and walking. The Orkney Islands are a fabulous place to visit and relax.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland are an excellent company to travel with. Being a small group holiday enables everyone to view the archaeological sites with ease whilst travelling by minibus allows access more secluded places away from the crowds.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Choosy, 2 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Orkney experience

Walking on Orkney

Walking on Orkney

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Ms Happytrails, 27 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

The majesty of the cliffs and with the gods looking after the weather Orkney and her hospitable people became a really positive buzz.

Another great experience in a beautiful location

Another great experience in a beautiful location

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland have proved to be excellent operators of both a kayaking and walking experience. Maybe a more expensive holiday than you would consider in UK but well worth it. You will be looked after.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Orkney Newbie, 21 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Orkney inspiration

This was my first ever group holiday. We spent 6 days on Orkney. Everything about the tour was wonderful, the organisation was great, but not so rigid that it couldn’t be adapted to the groups needs and preferences, there was plenty of time to spend at each place we visited so you never felt like you were being hurried on and off a minivan. The walking was great fun, the group leader spent time with each of us to help improve our technique ...

This was my first ever group holiday. We spent 6 days on Orkney. Everything about the tour was wonderful, the organisation was great, but not so rigid that it couldn’t be adapted to the groups needs and preferences, there was plenty of time to spend at each place we visited so you never felt like you were being hurried on and off a minivan. The walking was great fun, the group leader spent time with each of us to help improve our technique and fitness. Her love of the country was evident and infectious. I will definitely be back for more.

Rating for tour operator:

The Wilderness Scotland team are professional, friendly and efficient. There’s a lot of planning that goes in to making these holidays work and their commitment to continuous improvement is apparent. They exceeded my expectations in every domain. I am also impressed with their commitment to environmental and social issues.