AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The Orkney Isles Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The Orkney Isles

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 39
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The Orkney Isles by Splash, 9 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Orkney walking tour

A week’s walking holiday in the Orkneys - expertly organised and delivered by Wilderness Scotland. I am very impressed with their customer service and the way every detail of the trip has been thought of by them.

A week’s walking holiday in the Orkneys - expertly organised and delivered by Wilderness Scotland. I am very impressed with their customer service and the way every detail of the trip has been thought of by them.

Rating for tour operator:

From the very beginning their communication to me before the trip was very clear and they were quick and helpful in answering any questions I had.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by MikeN, 27 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfect introduction to Orkney

A guided walking holiday taking-in the history, wildlife and beauty of the Orkney Isles.

A guided walking holiday taking-in the history, wildlife and beauty of the Orkney Isles.

Rating for tour operator:

We've travelled with Wilderness Scotland for a number of activity holidays including walking, canoeing, kayaking and cycling. They continue to impress, especially in their management of a group holiday in this particular reopening phase of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Holiday lady, 6 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant trip to Orkney

A week exploring some of the Orkney islands with lovely clifftop walks, birdwatching, archaeology and second world war history

A week exploring some of the Orkney islands with lovely clifftop walks, birdwatching, archaeology and second world war history

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland escort small groups with very experienced leaders and excellent accommodation

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Walking Lady, 5 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Best way to discover Orkney

A walking holiday in a small group which was well planned to get the best of walking, birding and cultural history of Orkney. Well planned busy days which also us on ferry trips to smaller islands got us back in time for a relaxed evening. Lovely hotel with great food at an all inclusive price meant that once we met in Inverness our only decisions were about which drinks and souvenirs to buy :)

A walking holiday in a small group which was well planned to get the best of walking, birding and cultural history of Orkney. Well planned busy days which also us on ferry trips to smaller islands got us back in time for a relaxed evening. Lovely hotel with great food at an all inclusive price meant that once we met in Inverness our only decisions were about which drinks and souvenirs to buy :)

Rating for tour operator:

Experts in their field

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Richard, 5 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful experience

A good introduction to the Orkneys which are a simply astounding area of natural beauty.

A good introduction to the Orkneys which are a simply astounding area of natural beauty.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland - experts in their field.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by CJ, 4 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

5 days walking in the Orkneys.

5 days walking in the Orkneys.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Lady of Lewes, 3 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Antidote to lockdown blues

A wonderful well organised walking holiday in the beautiful and historical Orkney Islands with superb guides and excellent food and accommodation

A wonderful well organised walking holiday in the beautiful and historical Orkney Islands with superb guides and excellent food and accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

Attention to detail

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 10 Sep 2020:

Ha ha, yes I think we all need a little Orkney to blow away the lockdown blues. Thanks for your kind feedback :)

Walking - The Orkney Isles by YVR to INV, 31 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Breath taking hikes on ancient Isles of Scotland

This thoughtfully curated hiking excursion was an inspired blend of ancient landscapes, nordic ruins and Pictish culture found in remote vistas. I am grateful to have been introduced to Scotland's outstanding visual landscape with Wildness Scotland's intimate group tour. Rarely seeing other tourism groups provided a unique experience to learn about Scottish history and landscape at a organic and personalized pace.

This thoughtfully curated hiking excursion was an inspired blend of ancient landscapes, nordic ruins and Pictish culture found in remote vistas. I am grateful to have been introduced to Scotland's outstanding visual landscape with Wildness Scotland's intimate group tour. Rarely seeing other tourism groups provided a unique experience to learn about Scottish history and landscape at a organic and personalized pace.

Rating for tour operator:

Gordon Anderson is an exceptional tour guide. His thoughtful insights and wisdom about Scotland provided an inclusive group experience where each persons needs were met, if not exceeded. From Latin names for flora/ fauna and sea birds to his customized impromptu whiskey tasting, Gordon is a delight. No matter the weather Gordon is optimistic. His genuine pleasure being outdoors and sharing his country with visitors is inspiring.

Reviewer's images:
Walking - The Orkney Isles by Tommy, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect

Walking tour Orkney followed by walking tour Shetland with Wilderness Scotland in June 2019.

Walking tour Orkney followed by walking tour Shetland with Wilderness Scotland in June 2019.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. Great guides and itineraries.

Walking - The Orkney Isles by Pastamaker, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Orkney walking trip

As a group of friends travelling from Australia we took a week long walking trip with Wilderness Scotland to the Orkney Islands. The entire trip was fabulous. A relaxing mix of walking, sightseeing and eating. We enjoyed every minute.

As a group of friends travelling from Australia we took a week long walking trip with Wilderness Scotland to the Orkney Islands. The entire trip was fabulous. A relaxing mix of walking, sightseeing and eating. We enjoyed every minute.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland were excellent. Office support was efficient and our guide was outstanding.