AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Orkney & Shetland Self-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Island Hopper, 5 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

We went to Orkney and Shetland organised by McKinlay Kidd who did a great job. the hotels were very comfortable and the food of a high standard. The explorer pass which was included in the holiday price gave us access to all of the important historical sites and the trip to Papa Westray via the shortest scheduled flight in the world was amazing.

We went to Orkney and Shetland organised by McKinlay Kidd who did a great job. the hotels were very comfortable and the food of a high standard. The explorer pass which was included in the holiday price gave us access to all of the important historical sites and the trip to Papa Westray via the shortest scheduled flight in the world was amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were very helpful in planning our trip, suggesting changes to their published itinerary to suit our requirements. They kept us informed at all times as the holiday time approached. Their information pack which they sent to us was very complete and allowed us to plan which of the many sites we wanted to visit, in the short time we had on each island.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jennie, 4 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland Revealed

I was keen to see what Orkney and Shetland were like and I feel I gained a very good impression of the islands in a short time. I wanted to go as far north as I could go and made it to about three miles from the most northerly point. I was also keen to experience the 'simmer dim' which thanks to good weather I did. My other main aim was to see the sea birds and at Sumburgh Head I saw more than I could have hoped for. The puffins were an absolute ...

I was keen to see what Orkney and Shetland were like and I feel I gained a very good impression of the islands in a short time. I wanted to go as far north as I could go and made it to about three miles from the most northerly point. I was also keen to experience the 'simmer dim' which thanks to good weather I did. My other main aim was to see the sea birds and at Sumburgh Head I saw more than I could have hoped for. The puffins were an absolute delight and the gannets were amazing. My hotels were comfortable and welcoming; the food delicious. The weather was OK too.

Rating for tour operator:

It was so good to have so many of the details arranged for me and everything ran smoothly. It was very useful to receive a full package of guidance some weeks before so that I could plan exactly what I wanted to do. The help of the company enabled me to undertake a journey I might other wise not have taken. I am grateful for the help given and would consider another holiday with the company in the future.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Janie, 20 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Shetland and Orkney Fly-Drive

McKinlay-Kidd organized flights from Glasgow to Shetland, then to Orkney, then back to Glasgow. They arranged car hire and hotel accommodation. They provided maps and travel suggestions. All were absolutely perfect, and I will absolutely use this polite, accommodating, detail oriented agency any time I travel in an area they serve. The hotels were conveniently located, with high quality service, food, and rooms. It was one of the best trips ever...

McKinlay-Kidd organized flights from Glasgow to Shetland, then to Orkney, then back to Glasgow. They arranged car hire and hotel accommodation. They provided maps and travel suggestions. All were absolutely perfect, and I will absolutely use this polite, accommodating, detail oriented agency any time I travel in an area they serve. The hotels were conveniently located, with high quality service, food, and rooms. It was one of the best trips ever. This was a Mother-Daughter adventure, and we had so much worry-free fun because of McKinley-Kidd!

Rating for tour operator:

They were perfect. They were friendly, helpful, and they responded quickly to any query. The information they provided was clearly presented, complete, on time, and exactly responsive to our needs.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 29 Jun 2016:

Thank you Jane, for your very kind comments.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Racy Revs, 13 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Birds,beaches and blue skies!

Orkney and Shetland provide fantastic scenery bird life and ancient monuments.Our McKinley Kidd tour gave us ample opportunity to see it all.It was a joy to have all the ferry and hotel bookings done for us and the suggestions of where to go and what to see made all the difference..

Orkney and Shetland provide fantastic scenery bird life and ancient monuments.Our McKinley Kidd tour gave us ample opportunity to see it all.It was a joy to have all the ferry and hotel bookings done for us and the suggestions of where to go and what to see made all the difference..

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd is a company which specialises in arranging holiday in Scotland and Ireland. Our tour to Orkney and Shetland was arranged with our own car and all arrangement were made for us by McKinley Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Bill W, 28 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland - a delightful taster

4 days on Orkney, 4 days on Sheltland, with fascinating archaeology, great scenery, abundant birdlife and two charming, high quality hotels.

4 days on Orkney, 4 days on Sheltland, with fascinating archaeology, great scenery, abundant birdlife and two charming, high quality hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Most helpful, taking trouble to create a bespoke package for us. The accommodaion was well chosen, all the flight and car-hire dove-tailed nicely, and we had agreat time.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 May 2016:

Thank you very much for your feedback. These are indeed two very different, but equally special parts of the British Isles, and we are delighted your holiday there was such a success

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Scotland Experience, 28 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A visit to Glasgow and the Orkney and Shetland Islands

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Rating for tour operator:

A professional, efficient company with excellent staff who dealt with our questions expeditiously. Cannot speak to highly of the service we received

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you very much for your kind comments. These are special islands and we are very peased to hear that you enjoyed exploring them.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by aussie wanderers, 19 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Scotland by trainand ferry, including Orkney and Shetland

We had a wonderful time, a worry free trip with excellent arrangements and back up service from McKinlay Kidd

We had a wonderful time, a worry free trip with excellent arrangements and back up service from McKinlay Kidd

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd know Scotland inside out! They worked with us to arrange an individual itinerary that met our needs, provided excellent accommodation and smooth travel arrangements. When ferries were cancelled due to the weather they rapidly re-arranged our itnerary and then when we missed the first ferry that ran, re-arranged it again, without us having to do a thing. We recommend them to anyone who wants to see Scotland Differently!!!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thank you for your kind comments Elaine. Its been a rather challenging year for inter-island ferry travel, which has kept us on our toes. I am delighted that the changed arrangements had no impact on your overall enjoyment of these special places.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jane, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Interesting and varied holiday, well planned and organised from start to finish.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stays in Shetland and Orkney and the guides from Mckinlay Kidd enable us to make the most of our stay and visit all the highlights. Shetland is wild and wonderful, Orkney has so much to see and explore, it was amazing

We thoroughly enjoyed our stays in Shetland and Orkney and the guides from Mckinlay Kidd enable us to make the most of our stay and visit all the highlights. Shetland is wild and wonderful, Orkney has so much to see and explore, it was amazing

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd were efficient and offered a very personal service. Everything they were responsible for ran to plan and it worked well. Unfortunately the travel arrangements of Flybe were not so good. They bounced us off our flight to Shetland telling us that there were other passengers who had paid more who had more luggage so we would not be able to travel! We are complaining about that . Our return flight was cancelled owing to fog and we were given a place on the overnight ferry. In fact this was well organised, but our problem was we were meeting our daughter at Edinburgh airport to spend a few days in Edinburgh. As our daughter has mild learning difficulties we were concerned if she would cope with us not arriving. We were really grateful to McKinlay Kidd who in response to our phone call out of hours arranged for our daughter to be collected from the airport and taken to our Guest house where we were staying. Our daughter was not their customer but they were happy to provide this service to assist us and this sorted a difficult situation for us

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thanks very much for your review, Teresa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to these unique and special islands, and that your holiday was not spoilt by the flight disruptions.
As you know we have taken up your complaints directly with the airline, who have apologised and offered compensation for the flight issues, so I hope this has now been resolved.
It was no problem at all to help your daughter – the least we could do, given the delay.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Ian M, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Holiday Excellent but Flybe need to consider their customers

5 night hotel/car holiday on Orkney including a flight to and tour of Papa Westray Everything was first class, hotel, tours and general experience. Only tainted by our experience at Glasgow Airport. We checked in at 9.30am for an 11.00 departure. We eventually left the ground at 7.30pm having been given no explanation as why we were being delayed. We were eventually told by staff that the flight would leave at 5.30 but learned later from a ...

5 night hotel/car holiday on Orkney including a flight to and tour of Papa Westray Everything was first class, hotel, tours and general experience. Only tainted by our experience at Glasgow Airport. We checked in at 9.30am for an 11.00 departure. We eventually left the ground at 7.30pm having been given no explanation as why we were being delayed. We were eventually told by staff that the flight would leave at 5.30 but learned later from a fellow passenger that the plane hadn't even left Kirkwall at that time!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thanks very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday overall, despite the disrupted start. As you are aware we have taken up your complaint directly with the airline and you have been offered compensation for the severe delay suffered. We have also urged Flybe to improve their communication to passengers in such circumstances.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Sara, 26 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfect Independent Tour

We journeyed to Orkney for the Ultimate Orkney Experience with McKinley Kidd. The details provided were spot on and very thorough. The car hire excellent and car very comfortable. The hotel chosen was as advertised and in a great central location for both driving the island and walking in Kirkwall. Papa Westray is a must addition to a stay in Orkney. The ancient site of Knap Howe is one of the best sites we visited. The nature walk with the ...

We journeyed to Orkney for the Ultimate Orkney Experience with McKinley Kidd. The details provided were spot on and very thorough. The car hire excellent and car very comfortable. The hotel chosen was as advertised and in a great central location for both driving the island and walking in Kirkwall. Papa Westray is a must addition to a stay in Orkney. The ancient site of Knap Howe is one of the best sites we visited. The nature walk with the ranger was both educational and fun. Flying on the shortest commercial flight to get there (2 minutes) was a kick. Orkney is a magical place and one I wish to return.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and very thorough details for an independent journey. I will use McKinley Kidd again for travels to this part of the world.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 30 Jun 2015:

Many thanks for your kind comments. These are indeed really special islands. We would be delighted of course to assist with a return trip.