AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Orkney & Shetland Self-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by EJH, 5 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

a well organised, trouble free holiday

visited Orkney & Shetland Isles on a self-drive holiday. Wonderful.

visited Orkney & Shetland Isles on a self-drive holiday. Wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley KIdd organised all our accommodation and ferries

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by JC, 13 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stimulating

A fly drive taking in 4 days on Orkney and 4 days on Shetland.

A fly drive taking in 4 days on Orkney and 4 days on Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent customer relations from initial contact to final confirmation.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Holly, 8 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding holiday, boosted by excellent weather!

The organisation and itinerary for our holiday was excellent. Would not change anything.

The organisation and itinerary for our holiday was excellent. Would not change anything.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the first time we had travelled with McKinlay Kidd and we were extremely satisfied with the whole operation.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Mickey, 1 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful

visited Orkney and Shetland . Accomodation on both islands was good .Suggestions for places to see was extremely helpful . We had such a good experience that we would have no hesitation on using this company again

visited Orkney and Shetland . Accomodation on both islands was good .Suggestions for places to see was extremely helpful . We had such a good experience that we would have no hesitation on using this company again

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were so easy to work with .We were sent an app with a summary of our holiday ,hotels, ferry times and even suggestions of places to see which was really useful and informative . They have kept in touch throughout which made this holiday experience so enjoyable .

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by GeoffT, 26 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Orkeney / Shetland heaven

Lovely holiday, all the hassle re travel/ hotel bookings taken from you, plus advice on where to visit.

Lovely holiday, all the hassle re travel/ hotel bookings taken from you, plus advice on where to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

They continue to maintain their high standards of excellence and customer satisfaction

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by JPG, 23 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

A self-drive tour of Orkney and Shetland

It was a most memorable trip, made so by the excellent accommodation and tour schedule recommended by McKinlay Kidd.

It was a most memorable trip, made so by the excellent accommodation and tour schedule recommended by McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd's advice on setting up the tour, and subsequent back-up documentation and support were superb. Our only regret was that we were not able to spend more time on the islands.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Puffin-Person, 17 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland Highlights in Ten Days

A mixture of excellent B&Bs and one hotel gave us a great variety of interesting and beautiful settings. We had a range of experiences, from wonderful wildlife to fascinating pre-historic sites.

A mixture of excellent B&Bs and one hotel gave us a great variety of interesting and beautiful settings. We had a range of experiences, from wonderful wildlife to fascinating pre-historic sites.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd could not do enough for us, from first information to pre-trip details. They even got in touch with us during the holiday to rebook an unmissable boat trip that was in danger of cancellation because of rough weather.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Spotty, 17 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Relaxed self- drive tour to see scenery &wildlife of Shetland and Orkney

A short flight from Edinburgh took us to Sumburgh on the southern tip of Shetland, where our hire car was waiting for us, and half an hour on virtually empty roads took us to our b&b. The warm welcome from Mary, and the beautiful views across fields to the sea and St Ninians isle, made us relax. In four days, we saw fabulous scenery, a knitting museum, seals,puffins, kittiwakes,fulmars, loons, eider ducks ,owls and we puzzled over the local dialect...

A short flight from Edinburgh took us to Sumburgh on the southern tip of Shetland, where our hire car was waiting for us, and half an hour on virtually empty roads took us to our b&b. The warm welcome from Mary, and the beautiful views across fields to the sea and St Ninians isle, made us relax. In four days, we saw fabulous scenery, a knitting museum, seals,puffins, kittiwakes,fulmars, loons, eider ducks ,owls and we puzzled over the local dialect. Another 4 days on Orkney gave us more lovely beaches, and more birds, plus Neolithic villages, and Scapa Flow. Not long enough, we plan to return.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd was excellent, they put together an itinerary at fairly short notice, taking into account our particular needs. When our flight was delayed they responded promptly. It was a great help that we were able to speak to the same person at their office.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by bonfire man, 24 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

self drive Scotland's northern islands

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife and I have used McKinley Kidd in the past and as before everything ran like clockwork, good choice of hotels which were always of a good standard. the whole holiday including ferries just run smoothly without me having any hassle.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by StevieandAnn, 16 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Orkney and Shetland

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Rating for tour operator:

An interactive supportive company