Orkney & Shetland Self-drive reviews

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive reviews

Overall holiday rating

5 100%
Reviews submitted: 37
Reviews accepted: 37
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
37
Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Wonderful Holiday

By The Clare's on 14 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

We had 3 nights in Orkney and 3 in Shetland. All on a B&B basis. Excellent

A Trip to Britain's Northern Islands

By Chris on 6 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

Rail travel from Inverness to Thurso/Scrabster, ferry and overnight in Orkney. Guided small tour of archaeological sites on Orkney and then overnight ferry to Shetland. Self-drive tour around Shetland Mainland, Yell and Unst. Overnight ferry Shetland to Aberdeen.

Neolithic history and stunning island scenery !

By Bj on 17 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

Three nights each on Orkney and Shetland. Not nearly enough timeto discover all these islands had to offer. Well located in very hospitable and comfortable accommodation we drove out each day to explore the many historic sites on Orkney and beautiful coastline of Shetland. Driving on both islands was easy with the polite locals and good roads. Recommendations from the tour company were very helpful. We sampled plenty of local food and drinks which we enjoyed.

Wonderful opportunity to see Orkney and Shetland at a leisurely pace

By Ms H P 17 on 20 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

The accommodation and the itinerary provided by MacKinlay-Kidd were ideal, allowing us to see the outstanding scenery of the islands, take in many of the historical sites and pursue our main interest in bird watching.

Orkney and Shetland Self-Drive Holiday Experience

By Hugh/Dimi on 19 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

We have just completed a self dive holiday to the Orkney and Shetland Islands which also included a short stay in Edinburgh. We had not been to Scotland and we wanted to experience Scottish Islands. We wanted to go to Orkney because we heard about Skara Brae but there was so much more to see and experience. What we loved most was wandering around and walking around the Island. We did not know what to expect in Shetland and we were overwhelmed by the natural beauty of the place. The Shetland Museum and Archives is a must to learn how the Island developed over time. Again we enjoyed walking around the Island and drinking in the magnificent and dramatic scenery. Anyone travelling to Shetland must stay at the Scalloway hotel. The owners are lovely and we ate at the bar each night as the food was great and served local produce. The mussels are a must. Be prepared for the weather. We took appropriate clothing and we were lucky that there were enough sunny days to enjoy our excursions. The Orkney and Shetland Islands are must for anyone who enjoys nature walks, bird watching ( yes we saw puffins) and archaeological sites.

A wonderful sampler of Orkney and Shetland.

By Borderer on 16 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

If you have never been to the Northern Isles, this is an excellent way to experience the attractions of these islands knowing that your trip has been well planned, high quality and hassle free.

I am recommending Mckinlay Kidd to several friends and relations who wish to visit Shetland and Orkney, We had a really good experience

By Jane of Devon on 29 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

We flew from Exeter to Orknew via Glasgow then on to Shetland and returned via Aberdeen and Manchester to Exeter....all on time! Our holiday fulfilled our expectations and we had no problems, everything was sorted in advance by Mckinlay Kidd. I think a return trip might be on the cards to see all the things we didn't have time to visit.

Fascinating and beautiful islands

By Cat on 28 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

We spent five nights on Orkney and five on Shetland on a self-drive holiday. The arrangements were smooth and efficient and the recommendations for places to visit were excellent and just what we had hoped for. We stayed in hotels and one B&B all of which exceeded our expectations. The weather in Orkney was not kind (cold, wet and windy) but in Shetland was astonishing - warm and sunny (and of course daylight for almost 24 hours) - we were told it isn't always warm and sunny however!The islands are beautiful and have fascinating neolithic and Viking history as well as more modern history (e.g the vital role played by both in the Second World War. We are keen to go back and would certainly use McKinlau Kidd again. Friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Heaven in the Northern Isles!

By Puffin on 24 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

We took a fly-drive holiday organised by McKinley Kidd to Orkney and Shetland. All aspects were faultlessly organised, both our hotels were excellent and we had a lot of fun visiting many points of interest in both locations. High spots? Our boat trip on Scapa Flow courtesy of Dawn Star, and our trip to to Unst where we got within sight of Muckle Flugga. But there was so much more, assisted by reasonable weather in Orkney and sunshine in Shetland.

Orkney and Shetland a holiday to remember

By Magic on 22 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday 5

Mckinlay Kidd had understood our holiday requirements exceptionally well which meant that we had one of our best holidays ever. The accommodation was very good and the food was excellent in all the places we stayed as well as the recommendations of where to eat on both islands. The ideas of what to do on Orkney and Shetland matched up with the information we had already researched and gave us very interesting places to visit and the organised tour of Westray was very enjoyable. But the highlight of the holiday organised by Mckinlay Kidd was the boat tour from Lerwick - seeing the colony of gannets and guillemots as well as puffins, great skuas and other sea birds was just amazing.