AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Orkney & Shetland Self-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 46
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 46
Reviews Accepted: 46
Reviews Rejected: 0
46 reviews
Sort by:
Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by GeoffT, 26 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Orkeney / Shetland heaven

Lovely holiday, all the hassle re travel/ hotel bookings taken from you, plus advice on where to visit.

Lovely holiday, all the hassle re travel/ hotel bookings taken from you, plus advice on where to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

They continue to maintain their high standards of excellence and customer satisfaction

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by JPG, 23 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

A self-drive tour of Orkney and Shetland

It was a most memorable trip, made so by the excellent accommodation and tour schedule recommended by McKinlay Kidd.

It was a most memorable trip, made so by the excellent accommodation and tour schedule recommended by McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd's advice on setting up the tour, and subsequent back-up documentation and support were superb. Our only regret was that we were not able to spend more time on the islands.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Puffin-Person, 17 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland Highlights in Ten Days

A mixture of excellent B&Bs and one hotel gave us a great variety of interesting and beautiful settings. We had a range of experiences, from wonderful wildlife to fascinating pre-historic sites.

A mixture of excellent B&Bs and one hotel gave us a great variety of interesting and beautiful settings. We had a range of experiences, from wonderful wildlife to fascinating pre-historic sites.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd could not do enough for us, from first information to pre-trip details. They even got in touch with us during the holiday to rebook an unmissable boat trip that was in danger of cancellation because of rough weather.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Spotty, 17 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Relaxed self- drive tour to see scenery &wildlife of Shetland and Orkney

A short flight from Edinburgh took us to Sumburgh on the southern tip of Shetland, where our hire car was waiting for us, and half an hour on virtually empty roads took us to our b&b. The warm welcome from Mary, and the beautiful views across fields to the sea and St Ninians isle, made us relax. In four days, we saw fabulous scenery, a knitting museum, seals,puffins, kittiwakes,fulmars, loons, eider ducks ,owls and we puzzled over the local dialect...

A short flight from Edinburgh took us to Sumburgh on the southern tip of Shetland, where our hire car was waiting for us, and half an hour on virtually empty roads took us to our b&b. The warm welcome from Mary, and the beautiful views across fields to the sea and St Ninians isle, made us relax. In four days, we saw fabulous scenery, a knitting museum, seals,puffins, kittiwakes,fulmars, loons, eider ducks ,owls and we puzzled over the local dialect. Another 4 days on Orkney gave us more lovely beaches, and more birds, plus Neolithic villages, and Scapa Flow. Not long enough, we plan to return.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd was excellent, they put together an itinerary at fairly short notice, taking into account our particular needs. When our flight was delayed they responded promptly. It was a great help that we were able to speak to the same person at their office.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by bonfire man, 24 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

self drive Scotland's northern islands

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Travel from south of England to Scrabster for ferry to Orkney, Three days touring and then took the ferry for four days on Shetland. Interesting as have never been to the Shetlands, plenty of walking and visiting ancient sites. Overnight ferry back to Aberdeen which was again a very pleasant experience. Covid 19 did impact what could be done but went with an open mind and prepared to be flexible.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife and I have used McKinley Kidd in the past and as before everything ran like clockwork, good choice of hotels which were always of a good standard. the whole holiday including ferries just run smoothly without me having any hassle.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by StevieandAnn, 16 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Orkney and Shetland

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Staying in hotels, travelling around the islands, experiencing the people there.

Rating for tour operator:

An interactive supportive company

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jinc, 17 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Trip to Orkney & Shetland

We did a two centre holiday to travel around the two Northern Islands.

We did a two centre holiday to travel around the two Northern Islands.

Rating for tour operator:

The care that McKinlay Kidd gave us was excellent. The app from them allowed us to get all our documentation in one place. The documentation also gave us travel tips that gave us extra information.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Tricia, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

An amazing experience combining archaeology, wild-life and more modern history. Comfortable friendly accommodation and tasty local food.

An amazing experience combining archaeology, wild-life and more modern history. Comfortable friendly accommodation and tasty local food.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly telephone interactions, informative emails and efficient arrangements. When a boat trip needed to be rescheduled because of changed weather conditions, we were informed by a phone message to my mobile as well as a phone call to our hotel to ensure we had received the news.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Little Al, 23 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A most wonderful trip to Orkney and Shetland

This was the first time we had visited these islands and we took lots of warm clothing expecting rain and the famous Shetland wind! However, we actually had only one rain shower and sunshine every day. The trip was a delight. Both hotels very welcoming and comfortable with very good food. All the arrangements made by McKinley Kidd went like clockwork and entirely to plan. The boat trip from Lerwick out to the islands was extra special and our ...

This was the first time we had visited these islands and we took lots of warm clothing expecting rain and the famous Shetland wind! However, we actually had only one rain shower and sunshine every day. The trip was a delight. Both hotels very welcoming and comfortable with very good food. All the arrangements made by McKinley Kidd went like clockwork and entirely to plan. The boat trip from Lerwick out to the islands was extra special and our captain and his mate very friendly and informative about the wildlife we encountered. These islands are a delight! We saw them at their very best due to the exceptional weather but the scenery really is spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd gave a very personal service, always eager to answer any questions we had and could not have been more helpful. The arrangements such as flights, car hire and hotel locations were just perfect.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by The Clare's, 14 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Holiday

We had 3 nights in Orkney and 3 in Shetland. All on a B&B basis. Excellent

We had 3 nights in Orkney and 3 in Shetland. All on a B&B basis. Excellent

Rating for tour operator:

So well organised, 1st time I had used a tour company and I was very impressed