AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Orkney & Shetland Self-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by KTG, 11 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Thoroughly enjoyable. Not one anxious moment.

Fly drive to Orkney and Shetland.

Fly drive to Orkney and Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient with good attention to detail.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Macca, 11 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Autumn break in Scotland

Spent 3 nights in the Orkneys and 3 nights in the Shetlands. Both islands were beautiful. We stayed in the Lyynfield and Scalloway hotels and both were excellent in every way

Spent 3 nights in the Orkneys and 3 nights in the Shetlands. Both islands were beautiful. We stayed in the Lyynfield and Scalloway hotels and both were excellent in every way

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and helpful throughout the process. All bookings were straightforward and the instructions they sent us could not have been bettered. We would recommend them to friends and would have no hesitation in using them again.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Mo, 11 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

A Wonderful Adventure

My husband and I spent a week touring Orkney's and Shetland at the end of September. The islands are beautiful and very interesting. Lots to see and do. Amazing countryside with good walks. Interesting historical sights with good visitor information attached to them. The main towns had excellent accommodation, restaurants, museums and shops We also enjoyed taking a side trip to Hoy and walking to "Old Man Hoy. We would return again.

My husband and I spent a week touring Orkney's and Shetland at the end of September. The islands are beautiful and very interesting. Lots to see and do. Amazing countryside with good walks. Interesting historical sights with good visitor information attached to them. The main towns had excellent accommodation, restaurants, museums and shops We also enjoyed taking a side trip to Hoy and walking to "Old Man Hoy. We would return again.

Rating for tour operator:

They planned our trip with very short notice. Tom listened to my wishes and within 2 hours had the trip planned. Planning a trip from Canada was difficult to co-ordinade, ferries, planes, accommodation, car rental etc. McKinlay Kidd Holidays took the pain out of this chore. The information they gave us proved very useful and the trip hints of where to visit, walk and eat were excellent and helpful. We would use them again

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Ex patriate Scots, 26 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Country and Fascinating History

Visiting the major attractions in both island groups over 6 days

Visiting the major attractions in both island groups over 6 days

Rating for tour operator:

Everything worked well. Excellent comfortable hotels with good food and friendly people

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Ellen Mary, 5 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Magical Orkney and Shetland

Just back from a 6 day intensive tour of the wonders and splendours of Orkney and Shetland. Connections made easy by McKinlay Kidd. Exciting ferry trips. Amazing landscape steeped in history but offering splendid creature comforts. Archeology sites absolutely stunning and most have expert local guides.Hotels in Kirkwall and Scalloway were so comfortable and characterful - lovely sea-view rooms and excellent food.Enjoyed every moment - will never ...

Just back from a 6 day intensive tour of the wonders and splendours of Orkney and Shetland. Connections made easy by McKinlay Kidd. Exciting ferry trips. Amazing landscape steeped in history but offering splendid creature comforts. Archeology sites absolutely stunning and most have expert local guides.Hotels in Kirkwall and Scalloway were so comfortable and characterful - lovely sea-view rooms and excellent food.Enjoyed every moment - will never forget the view from Sumburgh Lighthouse, the exquisite Italian Chapel, and the haunting mystery of Stenness Stones and Maes Howe..Nor the discovery of Shetland Gins!

Rating for tour operator:

Provided lots of useful support information and great maps. (We love a proper map) Hotels selected were really special - and near to other places of interest. Overnight ferries organised for us and made it possible to see a lot in a few days. Always helpful in planning the tour and dealing with any questions. The information pack provided was thorough and full of useful suggestions.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Leslie, 11 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Orkney & Shetland Fly-Drive

The trip involved three flights, two car hires and two hotel bookings, all ran like clockwork. I was sent clear instructions well before the trip supported by some very useful maps and hints on what to visit. All flights (by Flybe) were on time and both car hire firms were expecting me. Both (three-star) hotels were of excellent standards with good restaurants. It quickly became clear that the hotels and hire companies were very happy working ...

The trip involved three flights, two car hires and two hotel bookings, all ran like clockwork. I was sent clear instructions well before the trip supported by some very useful maps and hints on what to visit. All flights (by Flybe) were on time and both car hire firms were expecting me. Both (three-star) hotels were of excellent standards with good restaurants. It quickly became clear that the hotels and hire companies were very happy working with McKinlay Kidd whom all regarded as ultra reliable. Nothing I saw led me to dispute this. I was pre-warned about the midges. but when I arrived I learned that they rarely visited Orkney and only came to the Shetlands in late August, an added bonus. I could not fault the trip and anticipate travelling with McKinlay Kidd again.

Rating for tour operator:

Highly professional and clearly respected by the hotels and car hire firms they used (which was a great help in reducing paperwork.) Pre-visit questions e-mailed to them were answered within a day (often on the day), clear and unambiguous paperwork was delivered well before the event. I could not fault McKinlay Kidd and shall very possibly use them again.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Paddy, 2 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great week exploring the Northern Isles (and drinking a little whisky!)

We took a fly-drive package with McKinlay Kidd. They organised the flights from the South of England to Orkney, where we stayed at Lynnfield Hotel, a great high quality hotel that we'd recommend to anyone. The hire car rep met us at the airport, and the car was great for exploring some of the amazing historic sites of Orkney. At the end of the three days, we dropped off our car and flew to Shetland where we again picked up a car and travelled ...

We took a fly-drive package with McKinlay Kidd. They organised the flights from the South of England to Orkney, where we stayed at Lynnfield Hotel, a great high quality hotel that we'd recommend to anyone. The hire car rep met us at the airport, and the car was great for exploring some of the amazing historic sites of Orkney. At the end of the three days, we dropped off our car and flew to Shetland where we again picked up a car and travelled to Busta House Hotel, which was also of a very good standard. We loved how different Shetland and Orkney are from each other, and how independent each is. You saw the Islands' flags flying everywhere - not the Saltire or the Union Jack. People were terrific - universally friendly, welcoming and helpful. 5* holiday, really recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in the planning stage. Our package was individually tailored for us, and we travelled as a couple - at no time were we in a group. Some flight adjustments were necessary at one time and they were attentive to detail and followed through on everything. The pre-departure pack we were sent contained maps, guides, itineraries and very helpful Explorer passes which got us into many attractions at no cost (but not the whisky distillery unfortunately!) - extremely comprehensive. A bonus also pre-organised within the cost, was a fantastic boat trip to see nesting sea birds, puffins and also some underwater life via a submarine camera. All really good.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Sanday Exile, 29 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

A fine historical and geographical experience

A very full and absorbing week

A very full and absorbing week

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient friendly service with a good supply of constructive background information

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Harry O, 19 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

A Visit To Remember

A thoroughly enjoyable & very interesting experience. Well organised from start to finish & information given for suggested visits was most useful & added to the overall experience

A thoroughly enjoyable & very interesting experience. Well organised from start to finish & information given for suggested visits was most useful & added to the overall experience

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful,supportive, & well organised throughout. We would certainly use McKinlay Kidd again

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jill, 13 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Entering another world

Everything was up to our expectations - the empty roads, not many paying car parks. free to roam where ever we wished - history around every corner. goods food in unexpected places - caravan parks, art centres and the Shetland Sunday teas! What a good idea for raising funds and giving locals and visitors a chance to meet up. We are planning to visit again. this time by ferry and in our own car. Just have to decide when!

Everything was up to our expectations - the empty roads, not many paying car parks. free to roam where ever we wished - history around every corner. goods food in unexpected places - caravan parks, art centres and the Shetland Sunday teas! What a good idea for raising funds and giving locals and visitors a chance to meet up. We are planning to visit again. this time by ferry and in our own car. Just have to decide when!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd - were friendly and efficient. Definitely book through them next time.