AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Orkney & Shetland Self-drive

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Cat, 28 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating and beautiful islands

We spent five nights on Orkney and five on Shetland on a self-drive holiday. The arrangements were smooth and efficient and the recommendations for places to visit were excellent and just what we had hoped for. We stayed in hotels and one B&B all of which exceeded our expectations. The weather in Orkney was not kind (cold, wet and windy) but in Shetland was astonishing - warm and sunny (and of course daylight for almost 24 hours) - we were told ...

We spent five nights on Orkney and five on Shetland on a self-drive holiday. The arrangements were smooth and efficient and the recommendations for places to visit were excellent and just what we had hoped for. We stayed in hotels and one B&B all of which exceeded our expectations. The weather in Orkney was not kind (cold, wet and windy) but in Shetland was astonishing - warm and sunny (and of course daylight for almost 24 hours) - we were told it isn't always warm and sunny however!The islands are beautiful and have fascinating neolithic and Viking history as well as more modern history (e.g the vital role played by both in the Second World War. We are keen to go back and would certainly use McKinlau Kidd again. Friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Rating for tour operator:

We made all arrangements by email and phone - they were friendly and listened to what we wanted and then made it happen. We couldn't ask for more!

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Puffin, 24 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Heaven in the Northern Isles!

We took a fly-drive holiday organised by McKinley Kidd to Orkney and Shetland. All aspects were faultlessly organised, both our hotels were excellent and we had a lot of fun visiting many points of interest in both locations. High spots? Our boat trip on Scapa Flow courtesy of Dawn Star, and our trip to to Unst where we got within sight of Muckle Flugga. But there was so much more, assisted by reasonable weather in Orkney and sunshine in Shetland...

We took a fly-drive holiday organised by McKinley Kidd to Orkney and Shetland. All aspects were faultlessly organised, both our hotels were excellent and we had a lot of fun visiting many points of interest in both locations. High spots? Our boat trip on Scapa Flow courtesy of Dawn Star, and our trip to to Unst where we got within sight of Muckle Flugga. But there was so much more, assisted by reasonable weather in Orkney and sunshine in Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd is a highly professional organisation that clearly knows its holiday destinations very well. All aspects (travel, car hire, accommodation, suggested activities and places to visit) are expertly researched and very enjoyable as a result.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Magic, 22 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland a holiday to remember

Mckinlay Kidd had understood our holiday requirements exceptionally well which meant that we had one of our best holidays ever. The accommodation was very good and the food was excellent in all the places we stayed as well as the recommendations of where to eat on both islands. The ideas of what to do on Orkney and Shetland matched up with the information we had already researched and gave us very interesting places to visit and the organised ...

Mckinlay Kidd had understood our holiday requirements exceptionally well which meant that we had one of our best holidays ever. The accommodation was very good and the food was excellent in all the places we stayed as well as the recommendations of where to eat on both islands. The ideas of what to do on Orkney and Shetland matched up with the information we had already researched and gave us very interesting places to visit and the organised tour of Westray was very enjoyable. But the highlight of the holiday organised by Mckinlay Kidd was the boat tour from Lerwick - seeing the colony of gannets and guillemots as well as puffins, great skuas and other sea birds was just amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Hamish and Robert both provided very good service and all the administration was very efficient. All hotels were expecting us and my gluten free requirements very well catered for. Car hire was very easy and all connecting flights worked very well.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jambomack, 17 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Northern Isles Snapshot

6 nights in Orkney and Shetland with all transportation, accommodation, and car-hire on the islands arranged by McKinlay Kidd Everything worked out exactly as planned and to the highest standards

6 nights in Orkney and Shetland with all transportation, accommodation, and car-hire on the islands arranged by McKinlay Kidd Everything worked out exactly as planned and to the highest standards

Rating for tour operator:

All contacts and documentation first-class - a very personal touch with everything they do We have already recommended MCKinlay Kidd to several friends

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Bon, 28 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

The Northern Isles

It was our first trip to the Northern Isles. The 2 archipelagos are completely contrasting and a haven for archaeology, bird life, history and culture. We visited several islands using the local ferries and we did some good walking. We also visited one garden though there are many to see.

It was our first trip to the Northern Isles. The 2 archipelagos are completely contrasting and a haven for archaeology, bird life, history and culture. We visited several islands using the local ferries and we did some good walking. We also visited one garden though there are many to see.

Rating for tour operator:

We used MaKinlay Kidd' fly drive holiday from Edinburgh to Orkney & Shetland. It was very well organised and made it very easy for us. The information we had before we went and that with the Vamoos app enabled us to enjoy our first visit to these islands to the full. The hotels were, excellent and beautifully located. Cars were booked and the boat trip around Noss was fantastic.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Jean, 28 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fly/drive Shetland & Orkney

MckinlayKidd took their standard Fly/drive holiday to the islands and tailored it to our request by extending our stays in both areas. Flights, hotels and car hire were spot on, even the weather was kind to us.

MckinlayKidd took their standard Fly/drive holiday to the islands and tailored it to our request by extending our stays in both areas. Flights, hotels and car hire were spot on, even the weather was kind to us.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to deal with when arranging our holiday. All queries and questions were answered promptly and fully. Documentation was clear and easy to understand. A pleasure to deal with the company.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by HughJ, 27 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Well organised trip around Orkney & Shetland

Just 8 days, split between Orkney and Shetland with flights and hire cars as part of holiday. Hotels were good - but when there was a problem the operator re-arranged us promptly at no cost. Recommended!

Just 8 days, split between Orkney and Shetland with flights and hire cars as part of holiday. Hotels were good - but when there was a problem the operator re-arranged us promptly at no cost. Recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Good in planning stage, knowledgeable about the islands. Info provided was useful (though another time I would choose the physical rather than app-based info pack). Picked up and handled a problem en route very promptly and without fuss.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by JBL, 22 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Orkney and Shetland - so much to see

One of our best trips. There are so many wonderful sites of neolithic and bronze age history, and with the dramatic scenery and abundant wildlife it all adds up to a must for people who love to get away to wild, remote places.

One of our best trips. There are so many wonderful sites of neolithic and bronze age history, and with the dramatic scenery and abundant wildlife it all adds up to a must for people who love to get away to wild, remote places.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd made our trip easy. They put together a well balanced trip and organised everything efficiently. They were easy to contact with any queries and sent plenty of useful information prior to our trip.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Hugo, 12 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Another marvellous visit to the Northern Isles

This was our fourth visit to Orkney/Shetland and we managed to see several places we hadn't been to before. The highlights perhaps were the West Mainland of Shetland, Northmavine, Lunna, Ninian's Isle and the Bressay/Noss boat trip. In Orkney we had an unforgettable day on the island of Rousay. The chambered cairn at Midhope is not to be missed.

This was our fourth visit to Orkney/Shetland and we managed to see several places we hadn't been to before. The highlights perhaps were the West Mainland of Shetland, Northmavine, Lunna, Ninian's Isle and the Bressay/Noss boat trip. In Orkney we had an unforgettable day on the island of Rousay. The chambered cairn at Midhope is not to be missed.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything about McKinlay Kidd is efficient - all the arrangements and reservations worked perfectly. No support was required, but it was nice to know it was there just in case.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by David, 3 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Well organisec good holiday experience.

Fly drive to Orkney and Shetland. Two excellent hotels with very helpful staff. Will certainly use McKinlay Kidd again

Fly drive to Orkney and Shetland. Two excellent hotels with very helpful staff. Will certainly use McKinlay Kidd again

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised operation. Helpful staff with prompt replies to questions and comments.