AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Peter Sommer Travels Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Peter Sommer Travels

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 752
Good 4
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 756
Reviews Accepted: 756
Reviews Rejected: 0
756 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring the Peloponnese by Mark, 3 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Two Weeks of Wonder

When I first considered taking the Peter Sommers Tour Exploring the Peloponnese, I wondered whether the Peloponnese had two weeks to offer. How wrong I was. The PS tour guides were thoroughly conversant in the history, culture and cuisine of the Peloponnese, indeed of all the ancient and medieval worlds we touch. They also were patients, welcomed questions, made sure that we were well looked after the entire two weeks, from opening get-acquainted ...

When I first considered taking the Peter Sommers Tour Exploring the Peloponnese, I wondered whether the Peloponnese had two weeks to offer. How wrong I was. The PS tour guides were thoroughly conversant in the history, culture and cuisine of the Peloponnese, indeed of all the ancient and medieval worlds we touch. They also were patients, welcomed questions, made sure that we were well looked after the entire two weeks, from opening get-acquainted party to last dinner. As for the places we visited, everything from the Bronze Age palaces to medieval fortifications to wonderful restaurants and wine tastings. I enjoyed a wide range of cultural experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

The itinerary and guides for Exploring the Peloponnese were top drawer in every way imaginable, from the selection of the historical sites and the delicious restaurant meals. Our tour's guides were scholars i their fields and conversant on every aspect of Peloponnesian history and culture. Further, they bent over backwards to ensure the comfort of every single member of our group. Thoroughly competent, thoroughly professional, thoroughly friendly and kind.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Harrikin, 2 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

A whirlwind of architectural delights

I did a 14 day holiday 'Exploring the Peloponnese'

I did a 14 day holiday 'Exploring the Peloponnese'

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer provided us with 2 truly excellent guides. Their information was so good and their organisational skills, re: food and hotels, beyond praise. Our coach was comfortable and the driver was brilliant

A Turkish Odyssey by Alison, 1 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

Archeology, history, swimming from the boat and wonderful food

This was our 9th holiday with Peter Sommer, which I think says it all. This time we organised a private charter with people we had met on previous trips. We spent two glorious weeks on a Turkish gulet, traditionally built but with all mod cons. We visited archaeological sites, not all open to the public, and were lucky enough to be taken around by archaeologists working on the site. We swam from the boat several times a day, explored the ...

This was our 9th holiday with Peter Sommer, which I think says it all. This time we organised a private charter with people we had met on previous trips. We spent two glorious weeks on a Turkish gulet, traditionally built but with all mod cons. We visited archaeological sites, not all open to the public, and were lucky enough to be taken around by archaeologists working on the site. We swam from the boat several times a day, explored the countryside a little and enjoyed the best food we have ever had on any holiday anywhere. It was a perfect combination.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is an award winning, family-run travel company offering expert-led archaeological and cultural tours for small groups. Countries include; Greece, Turkey, Italy and Croatia, as well as Ireland and the UK. Tours are on land or traditional Turkish sailing boats.

A Turkish Odyssey by Mr S T 23, 31 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Archeology and Gastronomy on the Carian Coast

A gulet trip along the Carian coast of Turkey with stop offs to explore local sites

A gulet trip along the Carian coast of Turkey with stop offs to explore local sites

Rating for tour operator:

As always, everything is well managed

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily by Fred, 31 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A Gastronomic Tour of Sicily

7-day land tour of eastern Sicily. Transportation, food, and lodging locations were all wonderful. Our guide and the people we met at each stop were knowledgeable and interesting. Highly recommend this tour for the perfect blend of food and local history.

7-day land tour of eastern Sicily. Transportation, food, and lodging locations were all wonderful. Our guide and the people we met at each stop were knowledgeable and interesting. Highly recommend this tour for the perfect blend of food and local history.

Rating for tour operator:

Local with vast amount of knowledge regarding history and food of the area. Personable, genuine, and perceptive. She was simply fabulous.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Dinsdale, 30 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

An unforgettable mind and soul enriching experience

Peter Sommer’s Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore had been on my bucket list for the past five years. Covid postponed it for three years but we finally managed to do it in October 2023. And it was every bit as good, if not better, than I’d imagined it would be. Unfortunately Turkey’s autumn proved to be an extended summer and it was a challenge for us to do the hikes Peter had planned when it was 31-32 degrees C. Still it wasn’t a hardship ...

Peter Sommer’s Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore had been on my bucket list for the past five years. Covid postponed it for three years but we finally managed to do it in October 2023. And it was every bit as good, if not better, than I’d imagined it would be. Unfortunately Turkey’s autumn proved to be an extended summer and it was a challenge for us to do the hikes Peter had planned when it was 31-32 degrees C. Still it wasn’t a hardship as our choice to pull out of some of the hikes meant we could stay on our lovely gulet to relax and swim in beautiful waters.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is an enthusiastic and incredibly knowledgeable archaeologist who took us on a journey through Turkey’s marvellous history in engaging style. Cem, the logistics manager proved to be a marvellous host, eager to share his passion for his homeland and to introduce us to Turkey’s delightful cuisine and wines.

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by Neil, 30 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Heavenly week on a gulet on the Adriatic

We had explored Trieste, Slovenia and much of Croatia before embarking on our week's holiday at Slano. We were blessed with excellent weather and fellow travellers we found sympathetic. Our crew were attentive, professional and the catering was first class - they did everything to make our cruise enjoyable. Lots of opportunities to swim from the gulet and our gastronomic excursions were both educational and delicious.

We had explored Trieste, Slovenia and much of Croatia before embarking on our week's holiday at Slano. We were blessed with excellent weather and fellow travellers we found sympathetic. Our crew were attentive, professional and the catering was first class - they did everything to make our cruise enjoyable. Lots of opportunities to swim from the gulet and our gastronomic excursions were both educational and delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

We came across Peter Sommer when we were looking to explore the Lycian coast and have found his tour very well thought through, which led us to tour Northern Greece and Macedonia with his company - another huge success. He helped us find guides for add ons to our Croatian trip - in Athens and this year a substantial top and tail to our organised tour through Robert Bralic's Ventula Travel - both excellent references which worked beautifully

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by ivorries, 30 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

History-based Gulet Tour of Lycian (Southern Turkey) coastline

We recently completed a two-week boat-based historical and archeological tour of Southern Turkey (The Lycian coast) with Peter Sommer Travels. We had an excellent experience and have no hesitation recommending this tour to people who are fit (some long walks) and enjoy learning about historical people and places. The tour was exactly as described in promotional material.

We recently completed a two-week boat-based historical and archeological tour of Southern Turkey (The Lycian coast) with Peter Sommer Travels. We had an excellent experience and have no hesitation recommending this tour to people who are fit (some long walks) and enjoy learning about historical people and places. The tour was exactly as described in promotional material.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers provides a Gulet-based tour of the Turkish coastline. The boat was very professionally managed by a six-man crew who met all our needs. The tour guides (two) were excellent and gave thorough explanations of the history and events that occurred in this part of the world. Logistics were well-managed and food and beverage on the boat exceeded expectations.

From Dubrovnik to Split by Slano, 29 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful gullet cruise from Plano to Split in September

Terrific boat and an even more terrific and thoughtful crew looked after us professionally from the start to finish of our holiday afloat.

Terrific boat and an even more terrific and thoughtful crew looked after us professionally from the start to finish of our holiday afloat.

Rating for tour operator:

Good operator very ably supported by Robert Bralic, the local agent in Split.

Gastronomic Gulet Cruise Croatia by JH, 29 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

This was the best vacation I’ve ever had. Everything was great

This was the best vacation I’ve ever had. Everything was great

Rating for tour operator:

The gullet operator and crew were great. Very proffes