AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 41
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Serial Traveler, 27 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Archaeology, Food, Wine & Walking...perfect!

Spring was glorious, Sicily has much more varied food than its reputation has it. Tour guides were great as were their selections of hotels, restaurants, sites & more. The occasional closed museum or missing collection (we experienced 3 to various degrees) were a disappointment, but we're learning this happens on most European tours at least once.

Spring was glorious, Sicily has much more varied food than its reputation has it. Tour guides were great as were their selections of hotels, restaurants, sites & more. The occasional closed museum or missing collection (we experienced 3 to various degrees) were a disappointment, but we're learning this happens on most European tours at least once.

Rating for tour operator:

Thorough and customer-oriented, unlike larger operators with which we've dealt. All personnel in direct contact were polite and attentive, helpful and never misleading.

Exploring Sicily by MC, 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip "Exploring Sicily" April 10-23, 2016

Extremely enjoyable holiday, led by very knowledgeable and engaging guides..

Extremely enjoyable holiday, led by very knowledgeable and engaging guides..

Rating for tour operator:

We have traveled with Peter Sommer Travels on three previous occasions, and have thoroughly enjoyed each experience. . The combination of beautiful and historic venues, extremely knowledgeable and personable guides, and small group size makes for a wonderful experience. We come away from the trips having learned a great deal of the history and archeology of the region, while also experiencing the bountiful local cuisine.

Exploring Sicily by Jim., 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superb tour of Sicily

This was a two week tour that visited almost all of the island. It was both enjoyable & educational: there is so much more to see in Sicily than I had realised, and this trip really showed us beautiful scenery, superb cooking, fine wines, and complicated history, in addition to the famous temples & churches that I'd anticipated. Our guides were excellent - a great combination of local & historical knowledge and careful organisation.

This was a two week tour that visited almost all of the island. It was both enjoyable & educational: there is so much more to see in Sicily than I had realised, and this trip really showed us beautiful scenery, superb cooking, fine wines, and complicated history, in addition to the famous temples & churches that I'd anticipated. Our guides were excellent - a great combination of local & historical knowledge and careful organisation.

Rating for tour operator:

A small operator that provides holidays with great archaeological & historical content, in addition to showcasing the very best of local produce - small scale hotels, visiting wineries, tasting speciality foods & eating at fine restaurants.

Exploring Sicily by Sometime traveller, 28 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Special Interest holiday: Ancient Greek Sicily, but comprehensive of the many other civilisations evident there.

"Exploring Sicily" was an excellent tour in every respect. A small group, expertly guided tour of Sicily's fascinating past and present and its geography. The accommodation was always pleasing and the meals superior. In all a wonderful, stimulating thirteen days.

"Exploring Sicily" was an excellent tour in every respect. A small group, expertly guided tour of Sicily's fascinating past and present and its geography. The accommodation was always pleasing and the meals superior. In all a wonderful, stimulating thirteen days.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels maintained excellent communication with us prior to the tour. We were impressed by the immediate and responsible actions taken when one of our group on a free day was injured in an attempted bag snatch and was hospitalised. The high standard of accommodation and meals said a great deal about the operator.

Exploring Sicily by leejohnfini, 25 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

exploring sicily

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

fantastic trip .great guides covering archeological sites in sicily. peter sommer has the most superb guides.

Rating for tour operator:

professional, superb team and small groups. top class

Exploring Sicily by The Caldy traveller, 24 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Immersed in ancient and modern Sicily

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

This was an introduction to Sicily on a grand scale. By day we were taken back to the Greeks and Carthagenians and could feel them around us and by sunset we could immerse ourselves in the hospitality, the food and the wine of modern Sicily. The guides were of the highest standard and their organisation and planning resulted in an easy and comfortably paced tour.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first contact with Peter Sommer's office to the last farewell to the guides in Sicily the company excelled in everything they did. They do 'what they say on the tin'. Spot on!

Exploring Sicily by Gryph, 23 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sicily-our journey through its past.

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader ...

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommer Travels took us back to the ancient past of the island, its invaders,conquerors and settlers.Every day brought new delights:classical temples, fortresses, sculptures, amphitheatres and medieval towns. While at a site one of our group spotted a Bronze Age arrowhead, where else would you see something so rare? The two weeks were filled with fascinating visits to a wide range of destinations. Our Tour leader Michael's deep well of knowledge and his abiding enthusiasm brought every thing we saw into sharp focus .Michael encouraged us to hypothesise and share our opinions. There was much lively talk along the paths we walked together. Michael's depth and experience in his special field - we were the beneficiaries.His delightful personality was appreciated by all of us. He was friendly and accommodating. Our local Guide Lucia was invaluable, being Sicilian born she gave us many insights into Sicily's past and future.We enjoyed the culinary delights of Sicily, its seafood, the regional dishes and the excellent wine. Every meal was an epicurean treat.Our accommodation was wonderful. We stayed in an olive grove and two wineries sampling the produce. We loved the variety.

Rating for tour operator:

It was our first trip with the company and we were impressed with all aspects of the experience. The Peter Sommer team in the UK were helpful at all stages of the process. Any queries were answered promptly and clearly. We felt we were in good hands from the outset. Travellers can rely on receiving updates and information prior to their trip. Our Discovering Sicily tour was memorable, stimulating and convivial. Our Tour leader Michael fired everyone's imagination with his knowledge and love of the ancient world. Michael has depth,experience and passion for his field of archeology. We were the lucky beneficiaries. He also worked tirelessly on the details that made the logistics of the trip flawless. We hope to travel with Peter Sommer Travel again, we know that all our friends are envious of our holiday! They are also impressed with the high quality brochure that is sent to potential travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Maggie, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily with With People who Love It

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Peter Sommer 's " Exploring Sicily " tour was memorable on many, many levels . Reflecting on this trip since my return home, I think it was not just because of the depth of knowledge & courtesy of the guides, the impeccable organisation, the great accommodation & wonderful meals but also because we were shown Sicily by people who really love it & made us respect & love it too.

Rating for tour operator:

See the comment above

Exploring Sicily by The Granny Traveller, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

This was a very special holiday led by Michael Metcalfe,and we couldn't have had a better leader, because Michael absolutely made the history of Sicily come alive for us with the wonderful stories that he told us about the ruins. But the trip was not just about ruins it encompassed the whole story of Sicily, as well as delicious food & wine & excellent accomodation we saw so much of the country & met such lovely welcoming people

Rating for tour operator:

Michael Metcalfe was without doubt the best tour leader I have ever experienced & I have been travelling with small group operators for a very long time, his enthusiasm & love of the country & it's history made it all come alive for us

Exploring Sicily by Margaret, 18 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

The joys of exploring Sicily in spring when the country is ablaze with fragrant smelling wildflowers and herbs

Our Exploring Sicily trip with Peter Sommer Travel was a sheer delight. The itinerary was well thought out and planned; all aspects of our travel from the breathtaking sites, beautiful accommodation and delicious food and wine were superb. Added to this mix were expert guide Michael Metcalfe's vivid historical re-enactments! Definitely a trip to savour and remember well into the future. I thoroughly recommend this small group tour to anyone ...

Our Exploring Sicily trip with Peter Sommer Travel was a sheer delight. The itinerary was well thought out and planned; all aspects of our travel from the breathtaking sites, beautiful accommodation and delicious food and wine were superb. Added to this mix were expert guide Michael Metcalfe's vivid historical re-enactments! Definitely a trip to savour and remember well into the future. I thoroughly recommend this small group tour to anyone interested in Sicily, it's history, culture, peoples, food and wine. Margaret Melbourne, Australia

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel is an excellent company. Their itineraries are thoughtfully conceived and executed with superb attention to detail and extremely well executed. The company provides excellent support both before and during each trip. The expert and local guides are first class. Each trip we have taken with Peter Sommer have been a totally enjoyable and immersive experience.