AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 41
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by cathie, 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

unique, enjoyable and memorable

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommers was an enjoyable romp around the island revealing the landscape, its peoples and its truly remarkable history. Our wonderful tour guides with their great knowledge of the area, its politics, history and archeology, their organizational skills and their sense of humour enabled all of us to understand and appreciate the wonder of Sicily. The remarkable hotels that we stayed at from agro tourism locations on ...

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommers was an enjoyable romp around the island revealing the landscape, its peoples and its truly remarkable history. Our wonderful tour guides with their great knowledge of the area, its politics, history and archeology, their organizational skills and their sense of humour enabled all of us to understand and appreciate the wonder of Sicily. The remarkable hotels that we stayed at from agro tourism locations on olive farms and vineyards to beautifully renovated hotels in Palermo and Ortigia made the holiday very special and as usual with all Peter Sommers tours, we tasted the best of wines and foods that Sicily had to offer. The chocolate liqueur at Modica was a stand out memory.

Rating for tour operator:

this is the third tour by Peter Sommers that I have taken and all have been immensely enjoyable, educational, well prepared and organized with knowledgeable tour guides who go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything you need. I would have no hesitation in taking another tour with them and look forward to doing so next year.

Exploring Sicily by Holiday-hopper, 12 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

EXPLORING SICILY perfectly

Nothing to fault: excellent itinerary; great hotels; wonderful sites to visit; a great group of fellow travellers from all around the world; and, finally, excellent local guide and outstanding academic leader. .

Nothing to fault: excellent itinerary; great hotels; wonderful sites to visit; a great group of fellow travellers from all around the world; and, finally, excellent local guide and outstanding academic leader. .

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer. Well organised with good communications before departure and smooth running while we were there. Good value for money.

Exploring Sicily by Sonia, 2 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Twenty-seven hundred years of Mediterranean History on the Island of Sicily

This was a wonderful tour at a perfect time of the year. Well chosen sites, hotels and restaurants with an outstanding local tour guide, Lucia Iocano and ancient history expert Tony Spaworth. We had some special treats including the archaeological museum of Aidone where I learned something about stolen and returned ancient artifacts. Our guide on Mount Etna provided an excellent introduction to volcanoes. A good introduction to the importance ...

This was a wonderful tour at a perfect time of the year. Well chosen sites, hotels and restaurants with an outstanding local tour guide, Lucia Iocano and ancient history expert Tony Spaworth. We had some special treats including the archaeological museum of Aidone where I learned something about stolen and returned ancient artifacts. Our guide on Mount Etna provided an excellent introduction to volcanoes. A good introduction to the importance of history to the politics and culture of today. My fellow travelers were interesting and helpful and i learned something from each of the. The size of the tour - just 12 guests - was helpful in this regard.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organized and excellently staffed including the bus driver and vehicle. The visits were well planned in site and length and the hotels interesting and well located. Our guides were dedicated to providing us with an outstanding introduction to Sicily and to a safe trip for all.

Exploring Sicily by Kay, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of Sicilian Antiquities with much more besides

This outstanding tour gave us an extensive insight into Sicily's ancient world, brought to life for us by our two excellent guides. We were also delighted to see so much of the island's beautiful countryside, with Spring meadows full of wild flowers being an unlooked for bonus. Our accommodation was of a consistent, very high, standard and we enjoyed gourmet eating throughout. This has been our best tour experience to date.

This outstanding tour gave us an extensive insight into Sicily's ancient world, brought to life for us by our two excellent guides. We were also delighted to see so much of the island's beautiful countryside, with Spring meadows full of wild flowers being an unlooked for bonus. Our accommodation was of a consistent, very high, standard and we enjoyed gourmet eating throughout. This has been our best tour experience to date.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels far exceeded our, already high, expectations. The carefully thought-out programme was very well organised, with great attention to detail and, particularly, to the comfort both of the group as a whole and each traveller as a individual.

Exploring Sicily by Den, 17 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer - Exploring Sicily

The 'Exploring Sicily' tour took in all the significant archaeological sites in way that was well organised, hassle free, and provided value for money. It was truly the tour of a lifetime.

The 'Exploring Sicily' tour took in all the significant archaeological sites in way that was well organised, hassle free, and provided value for money. It was truly the tour of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

The operator and staff were extremely professional and provided a wonderful experience.

Reviewer's images:
Exploring Sicily by Dicty, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding tour of Sicilian Antiquities

It would be hard to imagine a better combination of fascinating insights into the ancient world of Sicily, excellent guides, luxurious accommodation and gourmet dining. This has been our best tour experience to date.

It would be hard to imagine a better combination of fascinating insights into the ancient world of Sicily, excellent guides, luxurious accommodation and gourmet dining. This has been our best tour experience to date.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels far exceeded our expectations in both the content and organisation of our tour.

Exploring Sicily by Mr A F 18, 27 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

I went from knowing next to nothing about Sicily to falling in love with all that it had to offer. I learned about the contribution on Sicilian life by all of the ancient civilisations and the rich history they left behind. The tour also gave me an opportunity to experience the wide diversity of Sicilian culture and cuisine. I could never have discovered all of this richness on my own.

I went from knowing next to nothing about Sicily to falling in love with all that it had to offer. I learned about the contribution on Sicilian life by all of the ancient civilisations and the rich history they left behind. The tour also gave me an opportunity to experience the wide diversity of Sicilian culture and cuisine. I could never have discovered all of this richness on my own.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels ensured that we had excellent accommodation and food in every city, town and farm we stayed in. Our two expert guides Tony Spawforth and Lucia Iacono were terrific - knowledgeable, helpful and lots of fun, They also created a cohesive and friendly group and I have no doubt helped us to experience a holiday of a lifetime.

Exploring Sicily by Judith Griffin, Western Australia, 27 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Have just returned from "Exploring Sicily 2018' I can thoroughly recomnend this tour. Sicily exceeded my expectations and was a wonderful archaeological and cultural learning experience on this beautiful island. Our expert guides Tony and Lucia, as well as being enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject matter, were attentive to the needs of their guests throughout ensuring a comfortable tour. The accommodation and selected restaurants ...

Have just returned from "Exploring Sicily 2018' I can thoroughly recomnend this tour. Sicily exceeded my expectations and was a wonderful archaeological and cultural learning experience on this beautiful island. Our expert guides Tony and Lucia, as well as being enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject matter, were attentive to the needs of their guests throughout ensuring a comfortable tour. The accommodation and selected restaurants were top class. Loved it!!

Rating for tour operator:

Although I live on the opposite side of the world to the tour operator Peter Sommers Travels, this made no difference to making arrangements for the tour. The contact at head office responded immediately to queries and instructions were clear and concise.

Exploring Sicily by Jen, 25 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Our two-week historical and archeological tour around Sicily was absolutely marvellous. It not only informed us but also introduced us to much broader aspects of Sicily - its culture, its lifestyles and especially its wonderful and varied food and wine. We visited all of the significant sites, towns and cities and gained a really comprehensive understanding of ancient and modern Sicily. Our expectations before the tour were already high but ...

Our two-week historical and archeological tour around Sicily was absolutely marvellous. It not only informed us but also introduced us to much broader aspects of Sicily - its culture, its lifestyles and especially its wonderful and varied food and wine. We visited all of the significant sites, towns and cities and gained a really comprehensive understanding of ancient and modern Sicily. Our expectations before the tour were already high but everything we experienced exceeded them entirely. An absolutely fabulous tour.

Rating for tour operator:

We are thrilled to recommend Peter Sommer Travels for this Exploring Sicily tour. The accommodation was of a very high standard, all of the beautiful hotels and ’agriturismo’ chosen perfectly, and the meals and food were consistently excellent, also chosen with great thought for detail and local experience. The group of only 12 people was a perfect size, allowing everyone to interact easily and have fun together. Above all, our two guides, Prof Tony Spawforth and Lucia Iacono were superb, their passion and enthusiasm not only informing us comprehensively, but also creating a wonderful sense of group harmony.

Exploring Sicily by JNeil, 6 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exceed my expectations

A wonderful introduction to Sicily that I did not expect. The scenery and history of the Greeks, Arabs and Romans was much more than anticipated. The Greek Temples that survived to provide such great experience of what it was like in the 5th century B.C had all of thankful that we were there to see it before some calamity or earthquake might take it from us. Our accommodations and food were first class and our expert tour guide and local ...

A wonderful introduction to Sicily that I did not expect. The scenery and history of the Greeks, Arabs and Romans was much more than anticipated. The Greek Temples that survived to provide such great experience of what it was like in the 5th century B.C had all of thankful that we were there to see it before some calamity or earthquake might take it from us. Our accommodations and food were first class and our expert tour guide and local guide were very knowledgeable and helpful at all times. We had a great experience and I do not hesitate to recommend this tour and see more of Sicily than just Palermo on a cruise ship. The site selection provided exposure to the various sections of Sicily and it's ancient history.

Rating for tour operator:

Well planned itinerary and very little for anyone to have to plan for, Peter Sommer's Travel had it all taken care of for us and very little for the travel to think about other than enjoying the travel experience.