AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 47
Reviews Accepted: 47
Reviews Rejected: 0
47 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Sommerphile, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels Exploring Sicily April 7- April 20 2019

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer provides a wonderful informative and knowledgeable experience in a small inclusive group of like minded travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Richard, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sicily with experts

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food ...

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food and wine in various restaurants delicious. (It also helped to read some history, e.g. J.J. Norwich's "Sicily", and other books, and watch DVDs in advance of the holiday. Being prepared is important! It was also helpful to read the Insight Guide for the next day's expeditions.)

Rating for tour operator:

We had all the help and advice we needed. The information pack was very helpful, so we could read and learn more about Sicily before we arrived.

Exploring Sicily by Keitha, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A tour that delivered and exceeded expectations

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and ...

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and the guides who joined us in Monreale and Mt Etna.

Rating for tour operator:

Could not have been better. Information pack prior to departure comprehensive and much appreciated. Moving a group and luggage around, providing comfort and great experiences are arts in themselves and our tour operator made the whole trip enchanting, informative and easy. We chose this tour specifically to learn more about the various occupations of Sicily and our expectations were exceeded. We now look forward to a return visit in the future.

Exploring Sicily by Irvyndog, 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Food, history and fun.

The best guides, both academic and local that I have ever had. I do a lot of travelling and this was the most enjoyable trip I have taken.

The best guides, both academic and local that I have ever had. I do a lot of travelling and this was the most enjoyable trip I have taken.

Rating for tour operator:

A seamless flow of excellent organisation.

Exploring Sicily by ColinMacca, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

First time in Sicily, tour experience intellectually stimulating and exceptionally delivered. Top guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

A highly efficient organisational operation, administratively, prompt courteous communications on all matters. Attention to operational detail including transport management, quality venue locations and exceptional teamwork also Informative detailed technical handouts were invaluable complementing our travel experience.

Exploring Sicily by Rikili, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Education, exploration, eating and imbibing...the whole package!

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all ...

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all had strong motivation to be there. Our small group got on well, and enjoyed many a delicious Sicilian meal together with fine wines. The accommodation was always comfortable, in either stunning rural locations, or convenient to a city's attractions. Quite a few special occasions punctuated our days, eg, chocolate-making in an historic town, free time to wander lanes of a hilltop village, rambling up Mt Etna with a vulcanologist, and becoming acquainted with olive oil production.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels gives evidence of being an outstanding travel provider. It was easy to appreciate the care and consideration given to the needs of the group in the organisation that must have taken place behind the scenes. You could see the thought that went into designing a holiday for history buffs at the same time as providing treats for all the senses.

Exploring Sicily by cathie, 13 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

unique, enjoyable and memorable

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommers was an enjoyable romp around the island revealing the landscape, its peoples and its truly remarkable history. Our wonderful tour guides with their great knowledge of the area, its politics, history and archeology, their organizational skills and their sense of humour enabled all of us to understand and appreciate the wonder of Sicily. The remarkable hotels that we stayed at from agro tourism locations on ...

Exploring Sicily with Peter Sommers was an enjoyable romp around the island revealing the landscape, its peoples and its truly remarkable history. Our wonderful tour guides with their great knowledge of the area, its politics, history and archeology, their organizational skills and their sense of humour enabled all of us to understand and appreciate the wonder of Sicily. The remarkable hotels that we stayed at from agro tourism locations on olive farms and vineyards to beautifully renovated hotels in Palermo and Ortigia made the holiday very special and as usual with all Peter Sommers tours, we tasted the best of wines and foods that Sicily had to offer. The chocolate liqueur at Modica was a stand out memory.

Rating for tour operator:

this is the third tour by Peter Sommers that I have taken and all have been immensely enjoyable, educational, well prepared and organized with knowledgeable tour guides who go the extra mile to make sure that you have everything you need. I would have no hesitation in taking another tour with them and look forward to doing so next year.

Exploring Sicily by Holiday-hopper, 12 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

EXPLORING SICILY perfectly

Nothing to fault: excellent itinerary; great hotels; wonderful sites to visit; a great group of fellow travellers from all around the world; and, finally, excellent local guide and outstanding academic leader. .

Nothing to fault: excellent itinerary; great hotels; wonderful sites to visit; a great group of fellow travellers from all around the world; and, finally, excellent local guide and outstanding academic leader. .

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer. Well organised with good communications before departure and smooth running while we were there. Good value for money.

Exploring Sicily by Sonia, 2 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Twenty-seven hundred years of Mediterranean History on the Island of Sicily

This was a wonderful tour at a perfect time of the year. Well chosen sites, hotels and restaurants with an outstanding local tour guide, Lucia Iocano and ancient history expert Tony Spaworth. We had some special treats including the archaeological museum of Aidone where I learned something about stolen and returned ancient artifacts. Our guide on Mount Etna provided an excellent introduction to volcanoes. A good introduction to the importance ...

This was a wonderful tour at a perfect time of the year. Well chosen sites, hotels and restaurants with an outstanding local tour guide, Lucia Iocano and ancient history expert Tony Spaworth. We had some special treats including the archaeological museum of Aidone where I learned something about stolen and returned ancient artifacts. Our guide on Mount Etna provided an excellent introduction to volcanoes. A good introduction to the importance of history to the politics and culture of today. My fellow travelers were interesting and helpful and i learned something from each of the. The size of the tour - just 12 guests - was helpful in this regard.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was very well organized and excellently staffed including the bus driver and vehicle. The visits were well planned in site and length and the hotels interesting and well located. Our guides were dedicated to providing us with an outstanding introduction to Sicily and to a safe trip for all.

Exploring Sicily by Kay, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of Sicilian Antiquities with much more besides

This outstanding tour gave us an extensive insight into Sicily's ancient world, brought to life for us by our two excellent guides. We were also delighted to see so much of the island's beautiful countryside, with Spring meadows full of wild flowers being an unlooked for bonus. Our accommodation was of a consistent, very high, standard and we enjoyed gourmet eating throughout. This has been our best tour experience to date.

This outstanding tour gave us an extensive insight into Sicily's ancient world, brought to life for us by our two excellent guides. We were also delighted to see so much of the island's beautiful countryside, with Spring meadows full of wild flowers being an unlooked for bonus. Our accommodation was of a consistent, very high, standard and we enjoyed gourmet eating throughout. This has been our best tour experience to date.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels far exceeded our, already high, expectations. The carefully thought-out programme was very well organised, with great attention to detail and, particularly, to the comfort both of the group as a whole and each traveller as a individual.