AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 47
Reviews Accepted: 47
Reviews Rejected: 0
47 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Den, 17 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer - Exploring Sicily

The 'Exploring Sicily' tour took in all the significant archaeological sites in way that was well organised, hassle free, and provided value for money. It was truly the tour of a lifetime.

The 'Exploring Sicily' tour took in all the significant archaeological sites in way that was well organised, hassle free, and provided value for money. It was truly the tour of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

The operator and staff were extremely professional and provided a wonderful experience.

Reviewer's images:
Exploring Sicily by Dicty, 16 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding tour of Sicilian Antiquities

It would be hard to imagine a better combination of fascinating insights into the ancient world of Sicily, excellent guides, luxurious accommodation and gourmet dining. This has been our best tour experience to date.

It would be hard to imagine a better combination of fascinating insights into the ancient world of Sicily, excellent guides, luxurious accommodation and gourmet dining. This has been our best tour experience to date.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels far exceeded our expectations in both the content and organisation of our tour.

Exploring Sicily by Mr A F 18, 27 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

I went from knowing next to nothing about Sicily to falling in love with all that it had to offer. I learned about the contribution on Sicilian life by all of the ancient civilisations and the rich history they left behind. The tour also gave me an opportunity to experience the wide diversity of Sicilian culture and cuisine. I could never have discovered all of this richness on my own.

I went from knowing next to nothing about Sicily to falling in love with all that it had to offer. I learned about the contribution on Sicilian life by all of the ancient civilisations and the rich history they left behind. The tour also gave me an opportunity to experience the wide diversity of Sicilian culture and cuisine. I could never have discovered all of this richness on my own.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels ensured that we had excellent accommodation and food in every city, town and farm we stayed in. Our two expert guides Tony Spawforth and Lucia Iacono were terrific - knowledgeable, helpful and lots of fun, They also created a cohesive and friendly group and I have no doubt helped us to experience a holiday of a lifetime.

Exploring Sicily by Judith Griffin, Western Australia, 27 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Have just returned from "Exploring Sicily 2018' I can thoroughly recomnend this tour. Sicily exceeded my expectations and was a wonderful archaeological and cultural learning experience on this beautiful island. Our expert guides Tony and Lucia, as well as being enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject matter, were attentive to the needs of their guests throughout ensuring a comfortable tour. The accommodation and selected restaurants ...

Have just returned from "Exploring Sicily 2018' I can thoroughly recomnend this tour. Sicily exceeded my expectations and was a wonderful archaeological and cultural learning experience on this beautiful island. Our expert guides Tony and Lucia, as well as being enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their subject matter, were attentive to the needs of their guests throughout ensuring a comfortable tour. The accommodation and selected restaurants were top class. Loved it!!

Rating for tour operator:

Although I live on the opposite side of the world to the tour operator Peter Sommers Travels, this made no difference to making arrangements for the tour. The contact at head office responded immediately to queries and instructions were clear and concise.

Exploring Sicily by Jen, 25 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Our two-week historical and archeological tour around Sicily was absolutely marvellous. It not only informed us but also introduced us to much broader aspects of Sicily - its culture, its lifestyles and especially its wonderful and varied food and wine. We visited all of the significant sites, towns and cities and gained a really comprehensive understanding of ancient and modern Sicily. Our expectations before the tour were already high but ...

Our two-week historical and archeological tour around Sicily was absolutely marvellous. It not only informed us but also introduced us to much broader aspects of Sicily - its culture, its lifestyles and especially its wonderful and varied food and wine. We visited all of the significant sites, towns and cities and gained a really comprehensive understanding of ancient and modern Sicily. Our expectations before the tour were already high but everything we experienced exceeded them entirely. An absolutely fabulous tour.

Rating for tour operator:

We are thrilled to recommend Peter Sommer Travels for this Exploring Sicily tour. The accommodation was of a very high standard, all of the beautiful hotels and ’agriturismo’ chosen perfectly, and the meals and food were consistently excellent, also chosen with great thought for detail and local experience. The group of only 12 people was a perfect size, allowing everyone to interact easily and have fun together. Above all, our two guides, Prof Tony Spawforth and Lucia Iacono were superb, their passion and enthusiasm not only informing us comprehensively, but also creating a wonderful sense of group harmony.

Exploring Sicily by JNeil, 6 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exceed my expectations

A wonderful introduction to Sicily that I did not expect. The scenery and history of the Greeks, Arabs and Romans was much more than anticipated. The Greek Temples that survived to provide such great experience of what it was like in the 5th century B.C had all of thankful that we were there to see it before some calamity or earthquake might take it from us. Our accommodations and food were first class and our expert tour guide and local ...

A wonderful introduction to Sicily that I did not expect. The scenery and history of the Greeks, Arabs and Romans was much more than anticipated. The Greek Temples that survived to provide such great experience of what it was like in the 5th century B.C had all of thankful that we were there to see it before some calamity or earthquake might take it from us. Our accommodations and food were first class and our expert tour guide and local guide were very knowledgeable and helpful at all times. We had a great experience and I do not hesitate to recommend this tour and see more of Sicily than just Palermo on a cruise ship. The site selection provided exposure to the various sections of Sicily and it's ancient history.

Rating for tour operator:

Well planned itinerary and very little for anyone to have to plan for, Peter Sommer's Travel had it all taken care of for us and very little for the travel to think about other than enjoying the travel experience.

Exploring Sicily by Prof W S 17, 4 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant Sicilian experience

The Peter Sommer tour of Sicily was very well planned and executed. The itinerary covered all the major sights as well as some lesser known ones; the lecturer and local guide were wonderful companions, knowledgeable, patient, and funny; the meal stops and menus were chosen with great care, introducing us to places and dishes we would never have experienced on our own. Pace was relaxed most of the time, with only one day requiring an early ...

The Peter Sommer tour of Sicily was very well planned and executed. The itinerary covered all the major sights as well as some lesser known ones; the lecturer and local guide were wonderful companions, knowledgeable, patient, and funny; the meal stops and menus were chosen with great care, introducing us to places and dishes we would never have experienced on our own. Pace was relaxed most of the time, with only one day requiring an early departure and many hours on the road.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional at every stage. Excellent communication before the tour, and support throughout.

Exploring Sicily by Carrie, 15 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful sicily

The tour was well run. We saw a number of Important Greek temple sites and other monuments. A historian's delight. Food was excellent. Small size and a nice group of travelers.

The tour was well run. We saw a number of Important Greek temple sites and other monuments. A historian's delight. Food was excellent. Small size and a nice group of travelers.

Rating for tour operator:

We'll run tour. Our archeologist and tour guide were first rate, as were local guides, especially volcanologist at Mt Etna.

Exploring Sicily by Dono, 23 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Two activity packed weeks that contained a cornucopia of experiences--wonderful historic cities and antique villages,marvelous boutique hotels,intriguing archeological sites,fascinating people,remarkable ancient places of worship,splendid vistas, excellent museums,and great food and wine--all packed into full days with an easy rhythm that was wholly enjoyable.

Two activity packed weeks that contained a cornucopia of experiences--wonderful historic cities and antique villages,marvelous boutique hotels,intriguing archeological sites,fascinating people,remarkable ancient places of worship,splendid vistas, excellent museums,and great food and wine--all packed into full days with an easy rhythm that was wholly enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

The home staff was courtesy personified and generously helpful.The field staff carefully chosen,well informed,accessible and with no hype.They were also excellent managers.The program was thoughtfully planned,and a well orchestrated mix of experiences. The quality of accommodation,transport and food and wine was outstanding.Whether affordable is a personal consideration but,based on experience, the package provided great value for money.

Exploring Sicily by Bill, 12 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Ancient and modern Sicily

This archeological tour of Sicily was well organized, covering sites over the entire expanse of the island, with first class lodging and meals and comfortable transportation. The van driver was expert in reassuringly negotiating all traffic conditions. Unforeseen personal needs of the group's members were quickly accommodated by the guides as if they were routine. The two guides were thorough and knowledgeable in presenting the rich history ...

This archeological tour of Sicily was well organized, covering sites over the entire expanse of the island, with first class lodging and meals and comfortable transportation. The van driver was expert in reassuringly negotiating all traffic conditions. Unforeseen personal needs of the group's members were quickly accommodated by the guides as if they were routine. The two guides were thorough and knowledgeable in presenting the rich history surrounding the beautiful archeology and the early Greek settlements, as well as more recent history of the island. In the end I came away with the memory of beautiful ancient temples, with a historical and cultural enlightenment, and some understanding of and fondness for the present day Sicilian.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator organized excellent coverage of the must-see ancient sites of Sicily, combined with the best accommodations for hotels, food and wine.