AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 41
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Teri, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

By far the best tour we’ve ever taken

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations ...

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations were lovely and cleverly chosen. We were inspired to continue study of Sicilian history. This was the best tour we’ve ever taken.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Exploring Sicily by Catherine , 22 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

May 26,2019 Exploring Sicily

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware ...

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware of what goes into planning and delivering. Peter Sommer obviously has developed professional relationships and partners who share in the commitment to provide the best opportunity for exploring the culture and history of a place. Our group gelled wonderfully from the beginning. I think a reflection of the care we were provided and the level of excellence in all aspects of the trip. And it was fun! Our guides were not only professional and informed they were funny and spirited and caring. I not only gained insight and understanding about Sicily that reflects its character and soul but my experience in general with the guides and fellow travelers is one that is memorable and that I am grateful I did not miss. I will seek out Peter Sommer Travel again. My holiday experience was terrific.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided a rich and thoughtful experience for exploring Sicily. The itinerary and accommodations were chosen with care. Travelers were given a wonderful and in depth introduction to Sicily and its history and excellent accommodations whether in beautiful country settings or urban. Hospitality and love of cultural place and people wove together to provide a travel experience that was educational, pleasurable, and reflected care for the country and care for the travelers. I highly recommend Peter Sommer Travel. You can trust them to design and deliver a travel experience that will be a highlight of a lifetime.

Exploring Sicily by bilbliophile, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Every element of the holiday was well planned. The knowledgeable tour guides, the museums and archeological sites, the well thought through delicious menus and the wonderful accommodation are a testament to thorough organisation .

Exploring Sicily by Heidi, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel provided a small group experience with wonderful lodgings, great food, and two tour guides. One guide is a native Sicilian and the other a professor of GreeK and Roman history. I learned so much from each of them.

Exploring Sicily by Sommerphile, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels Exploring Sicily April 7- April 20 2019

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer provides a wonderful informative and knowledgeable experience in a small inclusive group of like minded travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Richard, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sicily with experts

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food ...

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food and wine in various restaurants delicious. (It also helped to read some history, e.g. J.J. Norwich's "Sicily", and other books, and watch DVDs in advance of the holiday. Being prepared is important! It was also helpful to read the Insight Guide for the next day's expeditions.)

Rating for tour operator:

We had all the help and advice we needed. The information pack was very helpful, so we could read and learn more about Sicily before we arrived.

Exploring Sicily by Keitha, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A tour that delivered and exceeded expectations

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and ...

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and the guides who joined us in Monreale and Mt Etna.

Rating for tour operator:

Could not have been better. Information pack prior to departure comprehensive and much appreciated. Moving a group and luggage around, providing comfort and great experiences are arts in themselves and our tour operator made the whole trip enchanting, informative and easy. We chose this tour specifically to learn more about the various occupations of Sicily and our expectations were exceeded. We now look forward to a return visit in the future.

Exploring Sicily by Irvyndog, 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Food, history and fun.

The best guides, both academic and local that I have ever had. I do a lot of travelling and this was the most enjoyable trip I have taken.

The best guides, both academic and local that I have ever had. I do a lot of travelling and this was the most enjoyable trip I have taken.

Rating for tour operator:

A seamless flow of excellent organisation.

Exploring Sicily by ColinMacca, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

First time in Sicily, tour experience intellectually stimulating and exceptionally delivered. Top guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

An stimulating intellectual experience delivered by our two excellent guides Tony and Lucia. Learned extensively of the historical, archeological and antiquity of ancient Sicily. First class accommodation, seamless venue transfers, wonderful group and heaps of fun with our very personable guides.

Rating for tour operator:

A highly efficient organisational operation, administratively, prompt courteous communications on all matters. Attention to operational detail including transport management, quality venue locations and exceptional teamwork also Informative detailed technical handouts were invaluable complementing our travel experience.

Exploring Sicily by Rikili, 19 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Education, exploration, eating and imbibing...the whole package!

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all ...

This long-awaited holiday could not have been better. My knowledge of ancient history increased with the discussions and teaching of a renowned history expert, and the other leader was also extremely well-qualified, with local facts, history, dates, stories and details at her fingertips. Both were personable, animated guides with senses of humour. Others in the group were interested in the field, with varying degrees of knowledge, and we all had strong motivation to be there. Our small group got on well, and enjoyed many a delicious Sicilian meal together with fine wines. The accommodation was always comfortable, in either stunning rural locations, or convenient to a city's attractions. Quite a few special occasions punctuated our days, eg, chocolate-making in an historic town, free time to wander lanes of a hilltop village, rambling up Mt Etna with a vulcanologist, and becoming acquainted with olive oil production.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels gives evidence of being an outstanding travel provider. It was easy to appreciate the care and consideration given to the needs of the group in the organisation that must have taken place behind the scenes. You could see the thought that went into designing a holiday for history buffs at the same time as providing treats for all the senses.