AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 47
Reviews Accepted: 47
Reviews Rejected: 0
47 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Suisse Voyager, 30 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

An outstanding experience in Exploring Sicily- history, culture and a meticulously planned vacation experience.

The tour exceeded all my expectations. The logistics were beautifully arranged. We never worried about a bag or a connection or an arrival time. The site selections were fantastic- we were treated to comprehensive tour of the most important sites of Grecian, Roman and early Christian Sicily. Our guide, Professor Olivier Henry delivered unmatched lectures. His lectures were thoughtful, challenging and very entertaining. Moreover, I discovered ...

The tour exceeded all my expectations. The logistics were beautifully arranged. We never worried about a bag or a connection or an arrival time. The site selections were fantastic- we were treated to comprehensive tour of the most important sites of Grecian, Roman and early Christian Sicily. Our guide, Professor Olivier Henry delivered unmatched lectures. His lectures were thoughtful, challenging and very entertaining. Moreover, I discovered something else about Peter Sommers tours. They are a lot of fun. Our ground man Andrea Giardini loves Sicily and this shinned with the choices or restaurants and bistros at which we ate. Lunch and dinner were always wonderful and the addition to the tour of wine tastings, olive oil tasting and a chocolate tasting was inspired. Finally, on a Peter Sommers tour you travel with others who have a profound love of history. A day on a Peter Sommers tour ends with a beautiful dinner, good wine and rich conversation of the treasures viewed during the day.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was outstanding. We begin from the fact that Mr. Sommer and his team love history. The itinerary for the Sicily tour reflects this passion. The professionalism of the Sommer team was unmatched, from managing my booking through the pandemic lockdown to handling all the unexpected travel events that confront us in this post pandemic year. The choice of our guides also reflected the passion and professionalism of Mr. Sommer. Professor Henry (professor archeology) is brilliant and engaging scholar, or groundman Andrea Giardini, was knowledgeable with wide ranging interests ranging from the natural wonders of Sicily, to food and wine, to local customs and traditions. I felt secure on my tour. Our team was very well trained and very safety conscious. I will take another Peter Sommer tour.

Exploring Sicily by Anne, 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Rating for tour operator:

We were looked after extremely well, guided carefully and with great information about all the sites we visited and food we ate.

Exploring Sicily by Peter, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great Sicily

Comprehensive small group archeological and gourmet tour of Sicily

Comprehensive small group archeological and gourmet tour of Sicily

Rating for tour operator:

Looked after all details of the tour extremely well, including going out of their way to help with a medical issue.

Exploring Sicily by Steph , 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent throughout. Everything was organised well and the guides were brilliant .

Exploring Sicily by Culture vulture, 24 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic cultural experience

A wonderful opportunity to visit ancient archaeological sites with well informed guides who took us through over 2000 years of history, along with staying in amazing places and eating amazing food

A wonderful opportunity to visit ancient archaeological sites with well informed guides who took us through over 2000 years of history, along with staying in amazing places and eating amazing food

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and easy to deal with. The organisation was impressive with great attention to detail. The standard in everything was very high.

Exploring Sicily by Lisa, 7 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily was a wonderful adventure

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer. com has a great staff. Because it is a small organization, we knew who to contact as we were planning the trip. When Covid reared its ugly head again in the winter and we were contemplating cancelling, Peter himself called to talk to us about the situation. We are so glad we went. Tour guides were fantastic and the whole experience was very enjoyable.

Exploring Sicily by Teri, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

By far the best tour we’ve ever taken

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations ...

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations were lovely and cleverly chosen. We were inspired to continue study of Sicilian history. This was the best tour we’ve ever taken.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Exploring Sicily by Catherine , 22 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

May 26,2019 Exploring Sicily

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware ...

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware of what goes into planning and delivering. Peter Sommer obviously has developed professional relationships and partners who share in the commitment to provide the best opportunity for exploring the culture and history of a place. Our group gelled wonderfully from the beginning. I think a reflection of the care we were provided and the level of excellence in all aspects of the trip. And it was fun! Our guides were not only professional and informed they were funny and spirited and caring. I not only gained insight and understanding about Sicily that reflects its character and soul but my experience in general with the guides and fellow travelers is one that is memorable and that I am grateful I did not miss. I will seek out Peter Sommer Travel again. My holiday experience was terrific.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided a rich and thoughtful experience for exploring Sicily. The itinerary and accommodations were chosen with care. Travelers were given a wonderful and in depth introduction to Sicily and its history and excellent accommodations whether in beautiful country settings or urban. Hospitality and love of cultural place and people wove together to provide a travel experience that was educational, pleasurable, and reflected care for the country and care for the travelers. I highly recommend Peter Sommer Travel. You can trust them to design and deliver a travel experience that will be a highlight of a lifetime.

Exploring Sicily by bilbliophile, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Every element of the holiday was well planned. The knowledgeable tour guides, the museums and archeological sites, the well thought through delicious menus and the wonderful accommodation are a testament to thorough organisation .

Exploring Sicily by Heidi, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel provided a small group experience with wonderful lodgings, great food, and two tour guides. One guide is a native Sicilian and the other a professor of GreeK and Roman history. I learned so much from each of them.