AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Sicily Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Sicily

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 44
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 44
Reviews Accepted: 44
Reviews Rejected: 0
44 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Sicily by Anne, 27 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Trip around Sicily viewing archaeological sites and tasting Sicilian cuisine and wines

Rating for tour operator:

We were looked after extremely well, guided carefully and with great information about all the sites we visited and food we ate.

Exploring Sicily by Steph , 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

A fantastic holiday, the entertaining and knowledgeable guides made the history come alive and did an excellent job in explaining Sicily's complex past. The historical sites were all amazing and beautifully scenic with abundant wild flowers. All the accommodation was very good and the food everywhere was exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent throughout. Everything was organised well and the guides were brilliant .

Exploring Sicily by Lisa, 7 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily was a wonderful adventure

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

We spent two weeks exploring Greek, Roman, Norman, and Byzantine sites and learning about the many layers of culture in Sicily. The experience was fantastic! Our expert guides led us through Sicily's history, beginning with its pre-historic sites and taking us through subsequent layers of culture through Greek, Roman, Norman, Byzantine, and European conquests.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer. com has a great staff. Because it is a small organization, we knew who to contact as we were planning the trip. When Covid reared its ugly head again in the winter and we were contemplating cancelling, Peter himself called to talk to us about the situation. We are so glad we went. Tour guides were fantastic and the whole experience was very enjoyable.

Exploring Sicily by Teri, 26 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

By far the best tour we’ve ever taken

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations ...

Exploring Sicily was beautifully planned for the seriously curios traveler. We enjoyed historical and archeological experiences, enhanced by samplings of local foods and wines. Our lecturer Tony Spawforth was a true scholar who disseminated information with wit and charm. Our Sicilian guide Lucia was professionally organized and attuned to the needs of individual travelers, and as a bonus, was historically very knowledgeable. Our accommodations were lovely and cleverly chosen. We were inspired to continue study of Sicilian history. This was the best tour we’ve ever taken.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Exploring Sicily by Catherine , 22 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

May 26,2019 Exploring Sicily

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware ...

This was my first time to Sicily. The travel experience exceeded my expectations. The guides, one local and one an historian, provided rich, informative and delightful narrative about this wonderful county, it’s people, and its culture. The depth of cultural appreciation and respect for traveler and the travel experience was reflected in the choice of guides and itinerary and accommodations. I have led many a tour group myself. I am aware of what goes into planning and delivering. Peter Sommer obviously has developed professional relationships and partners who share in the commitment to provide the best opportunity for exploring the culture and history of a place. Our group gelled wonderfully from the beginning. I think a reflection of the care we were provided and the level of excellence in all aspects of the trip. And it was fun! Our guides were not only professional and informed they were funny and spirited and caring. I not only gained insight and understanding about Sicily that reflects its character and soul but my experience in general with the guides and fellow travelers is one that is memorable and that I am grateful I did not miss. I will seek out Peter Sommer Travel again. My holiday experience was terrific.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided a rich and thoughtful experience for exploring Sicily. The itinerary and accommodations were chosen with care. Travelers were given a wonderful and in depth introduction to Sicily and its history and excellent accommodations whether in beautiful country settings or urban. Hospitality and love of cultural place and people wove together to provide a travel experience that was educational, pleasurable, and reflected care for the country and care for the travelers. I highly recommend Peter Sommer Travel. You can trust them to design and deliver a travel experience that will be a highlight of a lifetime.

Exploring Sicily by bilbliophile, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Every Peter Sommer holiday we have participated in has been an adventure in learning and gaining first hand experiences which we would have missed out on if we had been on our own or in a larger group. Our Tour Guides provided us with information and temporal experiences not otherwise readily available. We are already looking forward to another Peter Sommer holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Every element of the holiday was well planned. The knowledgeable tour guides, the museums and archeological sites, the well thought through delicious menus and the wonderful accommodation are a testament to thorough organisation .

Exploring Sicily by Heidi, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sicily

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip around Sicilia with Peter Sommer Travel. We had a small group of travelers very interested in the archeology, history, and culture of Sicily. I came home eager to continue my study of this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel provided a small group experience with wonderful lodgings, great food, and two tour guides. One guide is a native Sicilian and the other a professor of GreeK and Roman history. I learned so much from each of them.

Exploring Sicily by Sommerphile, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels Exploring Sicily April 7- April 20 2019

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Our third trip with Peter Sommer Travels again exceeded our very high expectations on every level. Our guides Tony and Lucia were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. We gained so many memorable experiences and can't wait to to go on our next adventure with Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer provides a wonderful informative and knowledgeable experience in a small inclusive group of like minded travellers.

Exploring Sicily by Richard, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sicily with experts

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food ...

Prof Tony Spawforth is very knowledgeable, a scholar, fun to tour with, and sometimes very funny. As a guide his approach and ability exceeded my expectations. His banter with Lucia the local guide was amusing, and she was superb.. The driver of the coach Giancarlo was excellent. (Seats on the bus were a little cramped for 6 footers.) Salvo the vulcanologist on Etna was informative and enthusiastic. The hotels were all excellent, and the food and wine in various restaurants delicious. (It also helped to read some history, e.g. J.J. Norwich's "Sicily", and other books, and watch DVDs in advance of the holiday. Being prepared is important! It was also helpful to read the Insight Guide for the next day's expeditions.)

Rating for tour operator:

We had all the help and advice we needed. The information pack was very helpful, so we could read and learn more about Sicily before we arrived.

Exploring Sicily by Keitha, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A tour that delivered and exceeded expectations

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and ...

We were impressed with everything. Our guides Tony and Lucia were brilliant, Giancarlo a superb bus driver, hotels, food and wine exemplary and the two weeks very well crafted, planned and executed. Every experience was a gem to be revisited and enjoyed for months/years to come. Sicily is a fascinating island with layers of history and we were fortunate to be led through it with such great knowledge and expertise from our tour guides and the guides who joined us in Monreale and Mt Etna.

Rating for tour operator:

Could not have been better. Information pack prior to departure comprehensive and much appreciated. Moving a group and luggage around, providing comfort and great experiences are arts in themselves and our tour operator made the whole trip enchanting, informative and easy. We chose this tour specifically to learn more about the various occupations of Sicily and our expectations were exceeded. We now look forward to a return visit in the future.