AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dordogne

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 32
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 32
Reviews Accepted: 32
Reviews Rejected: 0
32 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Helen, 14 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding attention to detail.

Fabulous walking holiday in an unspoilt part of France. Delicious food, wonderful walking and pretty villages.

Fabulous walking holiday in an unspoilt part of France. Delicious food, wonderful walking and pretty villages.

Rating for tour operator:

Unrivalled. We have used this company almost every year for 20 years now and we totally trust their choices of walks and accommodation. While we can still walk we want to all the routes and we would not take a holiday with any other company. Long my they continue to offer this for our benefit!

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Anne, 1 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A challenging but beautiful and varied walk through the Dordogne countryside

Four retired girlfriends left their husbands at home to walk six days through the Dordogne. From the first communication with On Foot staff through the detailed narrative of the walk and accompanying GPS, we felt secure in knowing that everything would be just as they said. The hosts at each of our small hotels were especially gracious knowing that we were On Foot walkers. The menus were delicious and exemplified local home-style cuisine...

Four retired girlfriends left their husbands at home to walk six days through the Dordogne. From the first communication with On Foot staff through the detailed narrative of the walk and accompanying GPS, we felt secure in knowing that everything would be just as they said. The hosts at each of our small hotels were especially gracious knowing that we were On Foot walkers. The menus were delicious and exemplified local home-style cuisine. The September weather was perfect for our walks through varied countryside, oak forests, vineyards, farmland, woodlands with destinations being among the most beautiful villages in France. Exactly what we were looking for.

Rating for tour operator:

The On Foot team was responsive and answered all our questions, even the one about "Are there chiggers on the route?" Emily even went to the local pharmacy to find out what to do about chigger bites. And luckily chiggers were out of season on our walk! Emily met us the first day at our hotel, gave us additional information and helped alleviate any anxieties we had about a self-guided tour.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Oregon Walker, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

A self-guided walking trip in the Dordogne valley

I had a magical 6 days with a friend walking through the charming Dordogne valley. We hiked about 10 miles each day and loved the variety of scenery, the peace and quiet, the historic villages along the route. We walked in mid-September when the weather was perfect and there were few other hikers on our route. We enjoyed the small hotels and wonderful food along the way.

I had a magical 6 days with a friend walking through the charming Dordogne valley. We hiked about 10 miles each day and loved the variety of scenery, the peace and quiet, the historic villages along the route. We walked in mid-September when the weather was perfect and there were few other hikers on our route. We enjoyed the small hotels and wonderful food along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

I have been on two other self-guided walks with On Foot Holidays and will use them again. I love their route choices and the comfortable, not-too-fancy lodgings. They are very responsive and flexible when planning a trip. The materials supplied in advance were just what we needed and the routes were well designed and easy to follow. When traveling with On Food Holidays I never worry about anything going wrong and I'm impressed with the value for the money. I have recommended them to several friends.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Kimberly , 20 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great Hiking and Food

We had the best hiking—across meadows and fields, up and down mountain paths, through the woods. Bucolic vistas, ancient ruins, so much history. Each day’s hike was not too taxing, but we really didn’t feel like exploring the village when we arrived. So glad we booked an extra night to spend the next day resting and local sight-seeing. And at the end of the day, we were met by gracious hosts and comfortable lodgings and wonderful food. We ...

We had the best hiking—across meadows and fields, up and down mountain paths, through the woods. Bucolic vistas, ancient ruins, so much history. Each day’s hike was not too taxing, but we really didn’t feel like exploring the village when we arrived. So glad we booked an extra night to spend the next day resting and local sight-seeing. And at the end of the day, we were met by gracious hosts and comfortable lodgings and wonderful food. We ate more than we hiked, so we’ll be working it off at home.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays answered all my questions, responded quickly, and were very accommodating, especially with the COVID postponements.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 21 Jul 2022:

Kimberley thank you for your lovely review - I think you must have selected the wrong company rating as your review is so glowing generally! Do get in touch with us if we have misinterpreted.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by LongTallTexan, 3 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Authentic France countryside walking

I had a wonderful holiday walking in the upper Dordogne region of France. Using a variety of walking paths and quiet country lanes, I visited many small, yet charming, villages in the region as well as the world-class town of Rocamadour. I used several rest days along the route to just "be a local" and was pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the cuisine at even the smallest of hotels along the way. Walking in late September, I enjoyed ...

I had a wonderful holiday walking in the upper Dordogne region of France. Using a variety of walking paths and quiet country lanes, I visited many small, yet charming, villages in the region as well as the world-class town of Rocamadour. I used several rest days along the route to just "be a local" and was pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the cuisine at even the smallest of hotels along the way. Walking in late September, I enjoyed cooler weather with only one rainy day.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was excellent throughout. They were quite helpful in arranging extra days along the route, as well as providing top-quality route maps and notes. Their local contact provided last-minute updates to a changed part of the route in addition to the already informative notes. She also made contact during an especially challenging weather day to check whether I needed assistance. All accommodations along the way were friendly and quite comfortable. I always felt the personal touch in all my communications with On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Stroller, 12 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Very well conceived, planned and organised

Walking from village to village along The Dordogne River

Walking from village to village along The Dordogne River

Rating for tour operator:

All the Staff at On Foot are professional, helpful and extremely well-informed

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Paul S, 11 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superb seven days hiking in the Dordogne

We started in Beaulieu sur Dordogne and hiked through, Port de Gagnac, Loubressac, Carennac, Meyronne and Rocamadour. It was very varied, well planned, with many interesting and different things to see each day. The kilometres to hike varied each day and all were great walking.

We started in Beaulieu sur Dordogne and hiked through, Port de Gagnac, Loubressac, Carennac, Meyronne and Rocamadour. It was very varied, well planned, with many interesting and different things to see each day. The kilometres to hike varied each day and all were great walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays. It was exceptionally well orrganised from being met by taxi at the starting railway station to the taxi taking us to the ending railway station. The hotels were very good, Auberge, Logis and Hotels, with different and very good food at everyone. We were always expected at the overnight stop and welcomed by the hotel staff. Everything worked as plannned. Superb.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Vicky, 5 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Trekking Through the Dreamy Dordogne

Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. We rambled down country lanes, through orchards and vineyards, along grassy farm tracks and uphill through forested trails. We certainly stepped back in time, discovering medieval villages and coming across castles, some in ruins and others completely intact and pristine. We spent our nights in lovely country inns where we were warmly welcomed and able to rest and unwind before setting out the following ...

Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. We rambled down country lanes, through orchards and vineyards, along grassy farm tracks and uphill through forested trails. We certainly stepped back in time, discovering medieval villages and coming across castles, some in ruins and others completely intact and pristine. We spent our nights in lovely country inns where we were warmly welcomed and able to rest and unwind before setting out the following day. The holiday certainly provided us with the opportunity to explore a part of France that not many Canadian visitors get to see.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays really contributed to a fabulous holiday experience. They attended meticulously to every detail of the trip, responded promptly to all of our queries, and made us feel at ease travelling in a foreign country. They took care of all hotel reservations, the transfer of luggage between villages, and many of the meals. They provided us with a comprehensive "Walkers' Kit," which included precise directions, regional maps, local information and contact numbers. We would definitely travel with them again, and, in fact, have already visited their website since returning home to see what other walking holidays they have on offer.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by NL, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great hike, wonderful nature and small town, great food.

The holiday was very nice - it provided us with an opportunity for physical activity and at the same time, to see new places, meet interesting people on the route and to "get away from it all".

The holiday was very nice - it provided us with an opportunity for physical activity and at the same time, to see new places, meet interesting people on the route and to "get away from it all".

Rating for tour operator:

My husband and I did several hikes through On Foot Holidays over last 4-5 years and we were always extremely satisfied with their service; particularly with their attention to detail, fast response to our questions and their courtesy. This trip to Dordogne was no exception. We can only say good things about them.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Wattknott, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking!

We were walking in the Dordogne - fascinating area, beautiful countryside, a wealth of old footpaths - and we were blessed with perfect autumn weather.

We were walking in the Dordogne - fascinating area, beautiful countryside, a wealth of old footpaths - and we were blessed with perfect autumn weather.

Rating for tour operator:

We have taken a number of holidays with On Foot and have found them an excellent company to deal with. Arrangements run smoothly, choice of accommodation and routes always interesting; and we very much value the friendly and helpful personal service we invariably receive.