AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dordogne

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 32
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 32
Reviews Accepted: 32
Reviews Rejected: 0
32 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Steve, 4 Jul 2023
Holiday Rating:

Great itinerary, excellent hotels and meals, and impeccable service from On Foot

On Foot Holidays organized a wonderful and memorable week for the two of us, for our Golden Anniversary trip, in the Dordogne region of France. The hotels they booked were all very comfortable, and the included meals at the hotels were superb. On Foot provided an excellent itinerary, with opportunities to shorten our daily hikes when needed. The route included some of the most beautiful villages imaginable, and, between the villages we walked ...

On Foot Holidays organized a wonderful and memorable week for the two of us, for our Golden Anniversary trip, in the Dordogne region of France. The hotels they booked were all very comfortable, and the included meals at the hotels were superb. On Foot provided an excellent itinerary, with opportunities to shorten our daily hikes when needed. The route included some of the most beautiful villages imaginable, and, between the villages we walked through a variety of landscapes-- fields, woods, meadows, and country roads. The maps, narrative guides, and GPS tracking, provided the assurance that we were on the right route.

Rating for tour operator:

They were efficient and accommodating, responding quickly to any concerns. The advance materials they sent prepared us for our trip with useful tips and excellent personal comments from their local tour organizer. Their service surpassed our expectations.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by JackieB, 4 Jul 2023
Holiday Rating:

Super well planned, well organised, well supported walking holiday in the Dordogne, France

It was a 5-day walking holiday in the Dordogne, visiting some of the most beautiful villages in the area and walking through varied countryside and farms. The walk was supported with my luggage transported each day and all meals provided. The route was varied and interesting, there were plenty of options to adjust the length of the daily walks, the hotel accommodation was top class, with excellent dinners. I received excellent information ...

It was a 5-day walking holiday in the Dordogne, visiting some of the most beautiful villages in the area and walking through varied countryside and farms. The walk was supported with my luggage transported each day and all meals provided. The route was varied and interesting, there were plenty of options to adjust the length of the daily walks, the hotel accommodation was top class, with excellent dinners. I received excellent information and guidance, with a local contact person available if needed.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holiday provided excellent service from my first email request for information. Emails were responded to very quickly, the information provided was comprehensive and clear, the support during the walk was responsive and reliable. On Foot Holidays were proactive, noticing and addressing potential problems (such as needing to book a dinner reservation due to a long weekend). I was a solo walker, but felt completely secure with the information and support that was provided.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Lee, 19 Jun 2023
Holiday Rating:

An active holiday in a beautiful location with a touch of luxury and comfort at the end of every day.

We did a five day self-guided walking tour in the Dordogne, staying at small hotels in historic medieval villages. The scenery and wildflowers were amazing and we enjoyed being in what felt like remote areas, untouched by crowds and modern life. At night, we enjoyed the comfort of some lovely little hotels and the excellent food offerings of the terroirs in rural France.

We did a five day self-guided walking tour in the Dordogne, staying at small hotels in historic medieval villages. The scenery and wildflowers were amazing and we enjoyed being in what felt like remote areas, untouched by crowds and modern life. At night, we enjoyed the comfort of some lovely little hotels and the excellent food offerings of the terroirs in rural France.

Rating for tour operator:

The walk and accommodation details were really well-organised. They were always prompt to answer emails and responded thoughtfully and very clearly to any queries we had about the trip. The local contact person made sure to meet us before we started our walk to ensure everything was ok. They were keen to get our feedback to continue to improve the experience.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Jane VB, 12 Jun 2023
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful walk through the Dordogne

Equipped with maps, instructions and a GPS app, we ambled through the French countryside near and along the Dordogne, encountering vineyards, waterfalls, limestone cliffs, small towns, quiet churches, cows and sheep with the reward of a well-deserved rest following excellent meals at lovely hotels, each with its unique charm.

Equipped with maps, instructions and a GPS app, we ambled through the French countryside near and along the Dordogne, encountering vineyards, waterfalls, limestone cliffs, small towns, quiet churches, cows and sheep with the reward of a well-deserved rest following excellent meals at lovely hotels, each with its unique charm.

Rating for tour operator:

On-Foot prepares its clients well, with maps, directions and even a private tutorial on how to work the GPS app. The hotels chosen by On-Foot served fabulous dinners and breakfasts. More importantly, the operators were friendly, making us feel at home wherever we were. Even after our tour was technically over, On-Foot helped us with an upsetting travel complication that occurred on our final day.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by LPF, 6 Jun 2023
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful countryside and excellent accommodation

We walked for a week in the Dordogne. On Foot planned the route, found beautiful places to stay, tailored everything to our requirements and arranged everything from arriving in France until we left. Hard to beat....

We walked for a week in the Dordogne. On Foot planned the route, found beautiful places to stay, tailored everything to our requirements and arranged everything from arriving in France until we left. Hard to beat....

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot always offer lovely walking holidays in beautiful places - and this was one of their best. The route was very well planned, and we found ourselves in new places we'd never have found in really lovely hotels. On Foot ensured that the whole holiday was tailored to our needs and our guide Emily was always helpful when we needed her. A memorable holiday!

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Hemse, 26 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Well organized, careful choice of hotels and route.

Walking holiday in France through pristine villages and landscapes. Carefully chosen trails and hotels. All accommodations were extremely clean and staff very courteous. Lots of details provided before the start so we knew what to expect.

Walking holiday in France through pristine villages and landscapes. Carefully chosen trails and hotels. All accommodations were extremely clean and staff very courteous. Lots of details provided before the start so we knew what to expect.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator did an excellent job of providing detailed instructions for the walk as this was not a group activity but an individual trek. Their choices of hotels were excellent. The local resource person was easy to join by phone.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Biddenham in Dordogne , 18 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

A dazzling Dordogne Ramble

A beautiful walk though the stunning Dordogne countryside, historic villages, castles, fabulous hotels and magnificent food. The weather was ideal and the route planning and organisation was perfect. Some longer days walking tempered with a shorter day to follow but always ending at a delightful destination with lovely hotels and exquisite food, each evenings location seemed to exceed the previous in elegance and hospitality.

A beautiful walk though the stunning Dordogne countryside, historic villages, castles, fabulous hotels and magnificent food. The weather was ideal and the route planning and organisation was perfect. Some longer days walking tempered with a shorter day to follow but always ending at a delightful destination with lovely hotels and exquisite food, each evenings location seemed to exceed the previous in elegance and hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was planned to perfection with quick responses to questions, not that we had many as the detail was excellent. All transfers, to a ports and the luggage was perfectly timed

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Monique , 14 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Dordogne

My son and I went on a 6 day walk in fry magnificent Dordogne region of France. We had the best experience from beginning to end. Walking everyday from village to village through the most picturesque country and just being together along these ancient pathways was absolutely fabulous.

My son and I went on a 6 day walk in fry magnificent Dordogne region of France. We had the best experience from beginning to end. Walking everyday from village to village through the most picturesque country and just being together along these ancient pathways was absolutely fabulous.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays were so professional from the beginning of our first communication with them about the walk and all the way through to the end of our amazing experience. I can not fault any of their service. The maps and walking packs arrived safely and were so comprehensive, all my email queries about luggage and food and walking equipment was always so promptly responded to. The care taken to ensure we felt fully looked after was truly exceptional.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Linda, 10 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

great holiday with all the work done by On Foot

Excellent walking tour in the Dordogne Valley. Everything was superbly arranged for us by On Foot - all we had to do was enjoy it - and we did!

Excellent walking tour in the Dordogne Valley. Everything was superbly arranged for us by On Foot - all we had to do was enjoy it - and we did!

Rating for tour operator:

Every single communication with On Foot was met with a prompt friendly reply. Nothing was too much trouble - they are just so efficient. This was our third On Foot Holiday but the first time have been in charge of organising. Booking now for #4 . Cannot speak highly enough of On Foot Holidays.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Todd, 26 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

On Foot Holidays - Classic France in the beautiful Dordogne valley

We went on a self-guided walking tour through France's Dordogne valley, with stops at charming B&Bs or small inns each night. The trails were sometimes physically challenging, with some good hills, but they were always beautiful, and we knew that there were options for shortening each day's route if we felt the need to.

We went on a self-guided walking tour through France's Dordogne valley, with stops at charming B&Bs or small inns each night. The trails were sometimes physically challenging, with some good hills, but they were always beautiful, and we knew that there were options for shortening each day's route if we felt the need to.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays provided excellent support, information, directions and response before and during our trip, and they chose superb options for our accommodations. Whenever we had questions before our trip, they got back to us within 24 hours, 7 days a week. Their locally-based contact reached out upon our arrival and was readily available throughout our visit, providing invaluable assistance and suggestions whenever needed.