AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - Dordogne

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 9
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 9
Reviews Accepted: 9
Reviews Rejected: 0
9 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Kimberly , 20 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great Hiking and Food

We had the best hiking—across meadows and fields, up and down mountain paths, through the woods. Bucolic vistas, ancient ruins, so much history. Each day’s hike was not too taxing, but we really didn’t feel like exploring the village when we arrived. So glad we booked an extra night to spend the next day resting and local sight-seeing. And at the end of the day, we were met by gracious hosts and comfortable lodgings and wonderful food. We ...

We had the best hiking—across meadows and fields, up and down mountain paths, through the woods. Bucolic vistas, ancient ruins, so much history. Each day’s hike was not too taxing, but we really didn’t feel like exploring the village when we arrived. So glad we booked an extra night to spend the next day resting and local sight-seeing. And at the end of the day, we were met by gracious hosts and comfortable lodgings and wonderful food. We ate more than we hiked, so we’ll be working it off at home.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays answered all my questions, responded quickly, and were very accommodating, especially with the COVID postponements.

On Foot Holidays responded to this review on 21 Jul 2022:

Kimberley thank you for your lovely review - I think you must have selected the wrong company rating as your review is so glowing generally! Do get in touch with us if we have misinterpreted.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by LongTallTexan, 3 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Authentic France countryside walking

I had a wonderful holiday walking in the upper Dordogne region of France. Using a variety of walking paths and quiet country lanes, I visited many small, yet charming, villages in the region as well as the world-class town of Rocamadour. I used several rest days along the route to just "be a local" and was pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the cuisine at even the smallest of hotels along the way. Walking in late September, I enjoyed ...

I had a wonderful holiday walking in the upper Dordogne region of France. Using a variety of walking paths and quiet country lanes, I visited many small, yet charming, villages in the region as well as the world-class town of Rocamadour. I used several rest days along the route to just "be a local" and was pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the cuisine at even the smallest of hotels along the way. Walking in late September, I enjoyed cooler weather with only one rainy day.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays was excellent throughout. They were quite helpful in arranging extra days along the route, as well as providing top-quality route maps and notes. Their local contact provided last-minute updates to a changed part of the route in addition to the already informative notes. She also made contact during an especially challenging weather day to check whether I needed assistance. All accommodations along the way were friendly and quite comfortable. I always felt the personal touch in all my communications with On Foot.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Stroller, 12 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Very well conceived, planned and organised

Walking from village to village along The Dordogne River

Walking from village to village along The Dordogne River

Rating for tour operator:

All the Staff at On Foot are professional, helpful and extremely well-informed

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Paul S, 11 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superb seven days hiking in the Dordogne

We started in Beaulieu sur Dordogne and hiked through, Port de Gagnac, Loubressac, Carennac, Meyronne and Rocamadour. It was very varied, well planned, with many interesting and different things to see each day. The kilometres to hike varied each day and all were great walking.

We started in Beaulieu sur Dordogne and hiked through, Port de Gagnac, Loubressac, Carennac, Meyronne and Rocamadour. It was very varied, well planned, with many interesting and different things to see each day. The kilometres to hike varied each day and all were great walking.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays. It was exceptionally well orrganised from being met by taxi at the starting railway station to the taxi taking us to the ending railway station. The hotels were very good, Auberge, Logis and Hotels, with different and very good food at everyone. We were always expected at the overnight stop and welcomed by the hotel staff. Everything worked as plannned. Superb.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Vicky, 5 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Trekking Through the Dreamy Dordogne

Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. We rambled down country lanes, through orchards and vineyards, along grassy farm tracks and uphill through forested trails. We certainly stepped back in time, discovering medieval villages and coming across castles, some in ruins and others completely intact and pristine. We spent our nights in lovely country inns where we were warmly welcomed and able to rest and unwind before setting out the following ...

Our holiday was perfect from start to finish. We rambled down country lanes, through orchards and vineyards, along grassy farm tracks and uphill through forested trails. We certainly stepped back in time, discovering medieval villages and coming across castles, some in ruins and others completely intact and pristine. We spent our nights in lovely country inns where we were warmly welcomed and able to rest and unwind before setting out the following day. The holiday certainly provided us with the opportunity to explore a part of France that not many Canadian visitors get to see.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot Holidays really contributed to a fabulous holiday experience. They attended meticulously to every detail of the trip, responded promptly to all of our queries, and made us feel at ease travelling in a foreign country. They took care of all hotel reservations, the transfer of luggage between villages, and many of the meals. They provided us with a comprehensive "Walkers' Kit," which included precise directions, regional maps, local information and contact numbers. We would definitely travel with them again, and, in fact, have already visited their website since returning home to see what other walking holidays they have on offer.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by NL, 3 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great hike, wonderful nature and small town, great food.

The holiday was very nice - it provided us with an opportunity for physical activity and at the same time, to see new places, meet interesting people on the route and to "get away from it all".

The holiday was very nice - it provided us with an opportunity for physical activity and at the same time, to see new places, meet interesting people on the route and to "get away from it all".

Rating for tour operator:

My husband and I did several hikes through On Foot Holidays over last 4-5 years and we were always extremely satisfied with their service; particularly with their attention to detail, fast response to our questions and their courtesy. This trip to Dordogne was no exception. We can only say good things about them.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Wattknott, 24 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walking!

We were walking in the Dordogne - fascinating area, beautiful countryside, a wealth of old footpaths - and we were blessed with perfect autumn weather.

We were walking in the Dordogne - fascinating area, beautiful countryside, a wealth of old footpaths - and we were blessed with perfect autumn weather.

Rating for tour operator:

We have taken a number of holidays with On Foot and have found them an excellent company to deal with. Arrangements run smoothly, choice of accommodation and routes always interesting; and we very much value the friendly and helpful personal service we invariably receive.

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Teni, 2 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great

Walking in the Dordogne area

Walking in the Dordogne area

Rating for tour operator:

Very good

On Foot Holidays - Dordogne by Happy Walker, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Experience!

This was our first walking holiday, and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The scenery was breathtaking, and accommodations were excellent. We also enjoyed the variety of experiences (walking through fields, woods, and towns), and the interesting sights along the way (castles, waterfalls, medieval dwellings). We also liked the challenge of following the detailed instructions.

This was our first walking holiday, and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The scenery was breathtaking, and accommodations were excellent. We also enjoyed the variety of experiences (walking through fields, woods, and towns), and the interesting sights along the way (castles, waterfalls, medieval dwellings). We also liked the challenge of following the detailed instructions.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot representatives were very responsive to our questions and concerns, and provided helpful materials.