AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 252
Good 28
Average 3
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 284
Reviews Accepted: 284
Reviews Rejected: 0
284 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Davewp, 30 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Tour

Good combination of rail travel and city sightseeing.

Good combination of rail travel and city sightseeing.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and flexible

Ffestiniog Travel by Ken, 30 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Interesting

Well planned and interesting journey from Chur to Vienna with enjoyable narrow gauge mountain railway trips as well.

Well planned and interesting journey from Chur to Vienna with enjoyable narrow gauge mountain railway trips as well.

Rating for tour operator:

Reliable and easy to deal with. Their Brochure 'does what it says'.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mick, 26 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular scenery, superb excursions

Staying at a superbly situated hotel in the lovely town of Luzern, the holiday provided superb excursions, by a variety of means of transport, amidst some spectacular scenery, The cogwheel railway ride to the summit of Rigi and the descent from the top of Mount Pilatus via the Dragon Ride and the Panoramic Gondolas are particularly worthy of a mention

Staying at a superbly situated hotel in the lovely town of Luzern, the holiday provided superb excursions, by a variety of means of transport, amidst some spectacular scenery, The cogwheel railway ride to the summit of Rigi and the descent from the top of Mount Pilatus via the Dragon Ride and the Panoramic Gondolas are particularly worthy of a mention

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel Excellent pre-visit communication and organisation. Provided excellent accommodation and excursions with a very good tour manager. It's also great to be able to "do your own thing" if you so wish. Will certainly book with these again. Five Star!

Reviewer's images:
Ffestiniog Travel by Jay, 26 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous lake and mountains week in Lucerne

We travelled by Eurostar from St Pancras to Paris the TGV to Basel and finally train to Lucerne. We stayed at the marvellous hotel Seeburg right on the lake withe unbeatable views of the lake and mountains including Lucerne's own mountain, Pilatus. We used our Tell pass to make the most of the paddle steamers, other boats and several mountain rail and cable car trips. This is a holiday we have had several times and each time it's great!

We travelled by Eurostar from St Pancras to Paris the TGV to Basel and finally train to Lucerne. We stayed at the marvellous hotel Seeburg right on the lake withe unbeatable views of the lake and mountains including Lucerne's own mountain, Pilatus. We used our Tell pass to make the most of the paddle steamers, other boats and several mountain rail and cable car trips. This is a holiday we have had several times and each time it's great!

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel are a small company but we have found superbly helpful with a lovely human touch. We have been on an escorted tour and several independent holidays with them and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Ffestiniog Travel by Davyth, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best of Switzerland

My wife and I took a tailor-made tour of Switzerland using railways. The hotels were well chosen and reasonably priced. The connections worked well. Enough time was given for us to visit museums etc and enjoy trips on boats and cable cars etc.

My wife and I took a tailor-made tour of Switzerland using railways. The hotels were well chosen and reasonably priced. The connections worked well. Enough time was given for us to visit museums etc and enjoy trips on boats and cable cars etc.

Rating for tour operator:

We were able to visit the travel agent and discuss personally where to go and how much time to allocate to each resort. Their knowledge and experience enabled us to adapt our original ideas and arrive at exactly what we wanted.

Ffestiniog Travel by Holly , 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lake Lucerne

We saw countryside and mountains, went on trips and saw things we wouldn’t have otherwise seen if we were on our own

We saw countryside and mountains, went on trips and saw things we wouldn’t have otherwise seen if we were on our own

Rating for tour operator:

She went out of her way to make everything was as planned

Ffestiniog Travel by Neil, 23 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Nicely organised weekend outing to the Ffestiniog Railway

A lovely hotel at Portmerrion (food recommended), linked to a twice per year special train on the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway

A lovely hotel at Portmerrion (food recommended), linked to a twice per year special train on the Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railway

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, friendly staff. Great to deal direct

Ffestiniog Travel by AndrewT, 21 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Round Europe by Rail

We asked Ffestiniog Travel to design an itinerary enabling us to spend a week in Croatia, travelling out and back by rail by different routes. No overnight travel was involved to enable us to view the scenery. We stayed overnight in Cologne, Munich, Zagreb, Innsbruck and Paris, spending a week in Split. The whole trip took 14 days. All connections worked smoothly and the booked hotels were excellent. Disabled assistance was first rate, with ...

We asked Ffestiniog Travel to design an itinerary enabling us to spend a week in Croatia, travelling out and back by rail by different routes. No overnight travel was involved to enable us to view the scenery. We stayed overnight in Cologne, Munich, Zagreb, Innsbruck and Paris, spending a week in Split. The whole trip took 14 days. All connections worked smoothly and the booked hotels were excellent. Disabled assistance was first rate, with wheelchair assistance was waiting alongside our carriage as the trains arrived in the stations. A very relaxing and satisfying holiday arranged by a top-rate tour organiser. We will certainly use them again and would recommend them to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent personal service from our agent who drew up an initial itinerary and modified it to suit our requirements perfectly. Tickets, hotel booking and other information was well presented and easy to understand. Very professional.

Ffestiniog Travel by andy1007, 19 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great day out on the little trains of Wales.

Travelling on the Snowdonian train of the Ffestiniog/Welsh Highland Railway was a great day out. Everything was very well organised. The lunch of a Hog Roast was very plentiful and along with an organised tea later we went home very satisfied.

Travelling on the Snowdonian train of the Ffestiniog/Welsh Highland Railway was a great day out. Everything was very well organised. The lunch of a Hog Roast was very plentiful and along with an organised tea later we went home very satisfied.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication prior to the trip. It was let down by the hotel we stayed at not being advised of a credit towards an evening meal. This led to an awkward situation at checkout.

Ffestiniog Travel by Gordon, 10 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A lot of experience in a short space of time

Travel across Europe by train plus the chance to explore the Harz Mountains in Germany

Travel across Europe by train plus the chance to explore the Harz Mountains in Germany

Rating for tour operator:

Very knowledgeable about train travel