AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 363
Good 41
Average 10
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 416
Reviews Accepted: 416
Reviews Rejected: 0
416 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by Liz, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Poland by rail

We had a 4 city holiday flying into Warsaw and then by train to Gdansk onto Poznan and finishing in Krakow flying back home to Birmingham. We had roughly a day and half in the first three cities and a couple of days in Krakow. We greatly enjoyed the trip - people extremely helpful and the standard of the hotels and the cuisine much above expectation. We travelled unescorted which meant we didn't feel quite so touristy. Highly recommended.

We had a 4 city holiday flying into Warsaw and then by train to Gdansk onto Poznan and finishing in Krakow flying back home to Birmingham. We had roughly a day and half in the first three cities and a couple of days in Krakow. We greatly enjoyed the trip - people extremely helpful and the standard of the hotels and the cuisine much above expectation. We travelled unescorted which meant we didn't feel quite so touristy. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organised the whole trip booking our flights, accommodation and train tickets plus transfers to and from the airport. We chose the cities we wanted to visit and they did the rest.

Ffestiniog Travel by William Tell, 18 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

A journey to Luzern, Switzerland and back

This was a holiday arranged by Ffestiniog Travel to Luzern travelling by Eurostar to Paris, TGV/Lyria to Basel and IR train to Luzern. The actual holiday time was 6 days and much was achieved in those days thanks to the Swiss Rail Pass. The travel arrangements by Ffestiniog Travel were particularly good (and meticulous!) Having mostly travelled by air in the past, it was refreshing to watch the world go by and quite astonishing to accomplish ...

This was a holiday arranged by Ffestiniog Travel to Luzern travelling by Eurostar to Paris, TGV/Lyria to Basel and IR train to Luzern. The actual holiday time was 6 days and much was achieved in those days thanks to the Swiss Rail Pass. The travel arrangements by Ffestiniog Travel were particularly good (and meticulous!) Having mostly travelled by air in the past, it was refreshing to watch the world go by and quite astonishing to accomplish St Pancras to Luzern in one day! We were blessed with good weather and stayed in a very good hotel thanks to Ffestiniog Travel. We would definitely contemplate another holiday by rail in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel organizes trips by rail around the world and operates from Machynlleth in Wales.I have known of the company for some years now but my wife and I have usually taken holidays by air. This was the first time we used rail exclusively and clearly Ffestiniog Travel know their business. We would recommend the company wholeheartedly.

Ffestiniog Travel responded to this review on 18 Sep 2015:

Dear Mr Francis, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, it really is appreciated. Please note Machynlleth is a branch office and the head office is based in Penrhyndeudraeth, North Wales. You may also like to know that whilst we are rail specialists, we can also provide holidays by air. I hope we can be of service to you in the future. Best regards, Maria Cook, General Manager

Ffestiniog Travel by Hetty, 2 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Independent train travel over 3 weeks to and in Germany

Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Rating for tour operator:

We gave them an outline itinerary with suggestions and alternatives and they came up with a very well planned timetable plus two very good and convenient hotels. They were very helpful when we had dialogues about the best routes and timings. They were very courteous and came up with the answers pretty quickly given the complexity. Using trains for environmental reasons we travelled from York to Germany and back with a week's self-planned excursion into Alsace. Within Germany we stayed in hotels and with friends and did a mixture of forest hiking and city sightseeing, with one of us also attending a conference. We had major journeys on 9 of our 24 days away.

Ffestiniog Travel by Train fan of Paignton, 24 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Grand Austrian Tramways

We travelled by rail from London to Austria with a party of 18 in total. We visited the principal tramway systems and mountain railways in Austria. The travel arrangements and excursions were excellent. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and quietly efficient. The party of like minded enthusiasts gelled well together. Unfortunately we were badly let down by german railways on the return journey from Frankfurt to Brussels with an unscheduled ...

We travelled by rail from London to Austria with a party of 18 in total. We visited the principal tramway systems and mountain railways in Austria. The travel arrangements and excursions were excellent. The tour leader was knowledgeable, and quietly efficient. The party of like minded enthusiasts gelled well together. Unfortunately we were badly let down by german railways on the return journey from Frankfurt to Brussels with an unscheduled change of trains, together with the train terminating one station short of its destination in Brussels, making it a panic to catch our Eurostar train home. We understand this is a fairly common occurrence.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third holiday we have undertaken with Ffestiniog Travel who offer something that little bit different. We have enjoyed all three holidays without reservation, and hope to travel with them again soon. We would not hesitate to recommend them to our friends.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D K 15, 21 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

From initial booking to the completion of the tour Ffestiniog Travel were exemplary. A very detailed itinerary was sent prior to departure and was very carefully thought out and planned. All travel arrangements and pre bookings throughout went withou

The holiday was entitled the Hebridean and Orcadian Odyssey and began in Glasgow and included tours of the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Skye, railway excursions and transfers on the Scottish mainland and a tour of the mainland of Orkney. Included were visits to places of historical and geographical interest and of course Whisky Distilleries.

The holiday was entitled the Hebridean and Orcadian Odyssey and began in Glasgow and included tours of the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Skye, railway excursions and transfers on the Scottish mainland and a tour of the mainland of Orkney. Included were visits to places of historical and geographical interest and of course Whisky Distilleries.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second organised tour i have taken with Ffestiniog Travel, which speaks for itself. See also, sbove comments.

Ffestiniog Travel by D&J, 8 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A good introduction to USA

A very good tour of USA canyons but one that could have been excellent with some tweaks to the itinerary.

A very good tour of USA canyons but one that could have been excellent with some tweaks to the itinerary.

Rating for tour operator:

Good operator. Main Coach operator very good but others not so. More information during tour would have been welcomed to enable us to make better use of our free days at San Francisco, Grand Canyon, Yosemite & Bryce.

Ffestiniog Travel by oneespanola, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Bespoke family European rail trip adventure

We enjoyed an 8 day rail trip travelling to some amazing European cities and staying in some wonderful smaller accommodations carefully chosen by Ffestiniog Travel. This meant we really immersed ourselves in the country and stretched our language skills to the limit, instead of staying in a chain hotel where everyone speaks English! We visited Brussels, Cologne, Munster and Bruges bringing back with us some fantastic memories.

We enjoyed an 8 day rail trip travelling to some amazing European cities and staying in some wonderful smaller accommodations carefully chosen by Ffestiniog Travel. This meant we really immersed ourselves in the country and stretched our language skills to the limit, instead of staying in a chain hotel where everyone speaks English! We visited Brussels, Cologne, Munster and Bruges bringing back with us some fantastic memories.

Rating for tour operator:

In the past I have self-planned our family holidays, but I was very daunted having to plan a rail trip. I gave Dan at Ffestiniog Travel an outline of what I was trying to do and he very quickly put an itinerary together. I changed it a few times when I realised we were trying to fit too much in and also to suit our budget, but nothing was too much trouble. I specifically asked for non-corporate accommodation and Dan got that just right!

Ffestiniog Travel by David L, 24 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Summer in the Alps - Railway Holiday

Very well organised, with helpful documentation and an experienced and helpful tour leader. Two bases in Switzerland, enabling exploration of impressive and scenic railways. Excellent hotels and travel arrangements.

Very well organised, with helpful documentation and an experienced and helpful tour leader. Two bases in Switzerland, enabling exploration of impressive and scenic railways. Excellent hotels and travel arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

Ffestiniog Travel caters very well for mainly rail-based holidays, and organises all travel and hotel bookings. we have used them on many occasions.

Ffestiniog Travel by Ally, 23 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Rail Tour of Scandinavia

This holiday was for a party of 7 Seniors. Travel by Eurostar to Brussels and onward by train to Cologne to Hamburg. After an overnight stay onwards to Copenhagen for three nights. Train to Stockholm for 3 nights. Train from Stockholm to Lulea ( Northern Sweden) One night stay then bus to Finnish border and then bus to Kemi (Finland). One night stay then train to Helsinki for 2 nights. Ferry to Stockholm, train to Copenhagen Airport and Easy ...

This holiday was for a party of 7 Seniors. Travel by Eurostar to Brussels and onward by train to Cologne to Hamburg. After an overnight stay onwards to Copenhagen for three nights. Train to Stockholm for 3 nights. Train from Stockholm to Lulea ( Northern Sweden) One night stay then bus to Finnish border and then bus to Kemi (Finland). One night stay then train to Helsinki for 2 nights. Ferry to Stockholm, train to Copenhagen Airport and Easy Jet flight to Edinburgh

Rating for tour operator:

All rail tickets seat reservations and hotel rooms chosen for their proximity to stations were booked Over a number of months during the planning period there were numerous e-mails which were always answered immediately and in a friendly way. I cannot praise highly enough the quality of service from the company and from Mrs Liz Turner especially

Ffestiniog Travel by seat61, 15 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A pleasant, relaxing experience.

A 16 day tour of Germany by rail, taking in a number of preserved steam and diesel railways.

A 16 day tour of Germany by rail, taking in a number of preserved steam and diesel railways.

Rating for tour operator:

The booking was handled very effectively, the only problem was that the tour manager did not speak German, something that would have been very useful when there were a few problems on the tour.