AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 623
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 648
Reviews Accepted: 648
Reviews Rejected: 0
648 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Sian, 7 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Venture to the edge of Europe

A tour over 8 days from Barra to Lewis in the Outer Hebrides, stopping at 4 different places on the way. We went in May, which was good because it was not busy and there were no midges (although the gales helped with that aspect!), but so early in their season, plus the effects of the past year’s lockdowns, meant there was very few places of interest open, and cafes and restaurants were very few and far between. The landscape was still in its ...

A tour over 8 days from Barra to Lewis in the Outer Hebrides, stopping at 4 different places on the way. We went in May, which was good because it was not busy and there were no midges (although the gales helped with that aspect!), but so early in their season, plus the effects of the past year’s lockdowns, meant there was very few places of interest open, and cafes and restaurants were very few and far between. The landscape was still in its winter colours, so detracted from its summer beauty. Beaches were stunning, though, in any light. However, it was very interesting and made us think about life on the edge and what it might be like to live there.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes organised a bespoke holiday tour for us with no fuss and maximum efficiency. They gave us what we asked for.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Jun 2021:

Many thanks for your wonderful review, Sandra. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time on your trip and managed to avoid the midges! If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Fern, 4 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Rob Roy Way

It was organised by Absalute Escapes, in that they booked the B&B we stayed in and had our luggage taken to the next B&B. All the B&B hosts were very welcoming; in that they were helpful in giving us details of places to visit nearby; suggesting alternative places for us to have our evening meal and the last hosts offered to take us to the station so that we would not have to carry our case. Absalute Escapes gave us very good information and ...

It was organised by Absalute Escapes, in that they booked the B&B we stayed in and had our luggage taken to the next B&B. All the B&B hosts were very welcoming; in that they were helpful in giving us details of places to visit nearby; suggesting alternative places for us to have our evening meal and the last hosts offered to take us to the station so that we would not have to carry our case. Absalute Escapes gave us very good information and advised us to book our evening meals before we started our trip. One B&B in Strathyre, provided a 3 course evening meal which was delicious. The house had a beautiful garden where birds were encouraged. For us, our holiday was special, not only was the Scottish weather perfect for walking but the views were lovely and the gorge at Aberfeldy, spectacular. The fauna and flora great; we saw, red squirrels, goats and evidence of beavers. The bluebells were just coming out as were other wild flowers. This holiday will, I'm sure live long in our memories, despite there still being some restrictions due to Covid 19.

Rating for tour operator:

Absalute Escapes had to change one of the B&B's due to it not being open. We were given plenty of notice and the place we stayed for 2 nights was lovely.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Jun 2021:

Thank you for your review Gill, it sounds like you had an excellent time on the Rob Roy Way and the combination of wildlife and scenery was perfect. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Alfred, 1 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

A relaxed adventure with all the planning done for us.

A driving trip on the Scottish North Coast 500 for nine nights All the B&B accommodation booked in advance by Absolute Escapes and all the relevant information sent to us in very good time. Plenty of flexibility during the day to 'do our own thing' but with suggestions to guide us. Good to know there was someone to contact if needed.

A driving trip on the Scottish North Coast 500 for nine nights All the B&B accommodation booked in advance by Absolute Escapes and all the relevant information sent to us in very good time. Plenty of flexibility during the day to 'do our own thing' but with suggestions to guide us. Good to know there was someone to contact if needed.

Rating for tour operator:

They gave us all the relevant information in very good time and checked up on us as soon as the holiday was completed. We have already recommended them to friends and would use them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 02 Jun 2021:

Thank you for your review Maggie and great to hear you enjoyed your time on the NC500. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends, that's the highest recommendation we can hope for. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Michelle and Sud, 1 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful scenery, great food and fantastic accomodations…Miles and smiles!

We had a wonderful time on our vacation! We had a walking holiday along the South West Coast path from Exmouth to Lyme Regis. It was beautiful scenery of 2 days of coast walk and then the last day with the undercliff. We were very thankful that the route was very clearly sign posted (and we only took a wrong turn once!) which allowed us to focus on the scenery over navigation!

We had a wonderful time on our vacation! We had a walking holiday along the South West Coast path from Exmouth to Lyme Regis. It was beautiful scenery of 2 days of coast walk and then the last day with the undercliff. We were very thankful that the route was very clearly sign posted (and we only took a wrong turn once!) which allowed us to focus on the scenery over navigation!

Rating for tour operator:

The logistics organised by Absolute Escapes were executed very well. The luggage transferred every day and all the B&Bs were expecting us on check in. The B&B locations were all easy to find and comfortable. The B&B hosts were all hospitable and cooked up a delicious breakfast each morning! Our favourites were Bay View at Beer (such a great location right on the path and the breakfast set up was like a restaurant!) and Lewesdon at Lyme Regis (the room was gigantic and modern, David and Julia went above and beyond with personal touches such as providing maps in the room, welsh cakes in the room to accompany our tea breaks, a gin night cap, homemade sourdough and jams for breakfast etc...). Working with Absolute Escapes was very easy from start to finish. There were quick response times to my queries and everything was laid out very clearly in terms of timing of payments and release of itineraries etc. As well, the heads up on booking dinner in advance and the recommendations was helpful as well. I would recommend Absolute Escapes to others and book with them again! Thanks to Absolute Escapes for helping to create some great vacation memories - it was much needed after the year that we've had!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 02 Jun 2021:

Thank you very much for your review, Michelle, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time on the South West Coast Path and made such happy memories. If we can help organise another holiday for you in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Mature walkers, 1 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

West highland way

Walked from glasgow to Fort William

Walked from glasgow to Fort William

Rating for tour operator:

They booked (and rebooked due to COVID) all our accommodation and arranged transportation of our luggage to the next point.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 02 Jun 2021:

Thank you for your comments Phillippa. We're so glad you were finally able to walk the West Highland Way and that you enjoyed your time on the trail. Please don't hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist with a future adventure. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by KB, 25 Jan 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking the East Highland Way.

It was a 6 day walk from Fort William to Aviemore. Our travel company, Absolute Escapes, organised our accommodation and local transport where necessary. This was not an easy task given the ever changing Covid regulations.

It was a 6 day walk from Fort William to Aviemore. Our travel company, Absolute Escapes, organised our accommodation and local transport where necessary. This was not an easy task given the ever changing Covid regulations.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes performed very well given the Covid restrictions. We were contacted on a number of occasions regarding the changes being implemented by the Scottish government. The accommodation chosen for us was perfect for our walking needs.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Feb 2021:

Thank you very much for your kind comments Kevin. We are glad you enjoyed your walking holiday last autumn, despite the challenges involved due to Covid-19. I hope we can help you arrange another walking holiday in the future. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Mrs B, 5 Jan 2021
Holiday Rating:

Just as good as last year!

Holiday in Outer Hebrides September 2020 All 5 hotels/guest houses were very clean and comfortable and 'Covid aware' in a variety of different ways.. We would happily recommend all the accommodation providers but would particularly like to thank the Heathbank Hotel (lovely family-run hotel with friendly service) and Ceol na Mara (also lovely people and a lot of thought had gone into the accommodation and breakfast provided

Holiday in Outer Hebrides September 2020 All 5 hotels/guest houses were very clean and comfortable and 'Covid aware' in a variety of different ways.. We would happily recommend all the accommodation providers but would particularly like to thank the Heathbank Hotel (lovely family-run hotel with friendly service) and Ceol na Mara (also lovely people and a lot of thought had gone into the accommodation and breakfast provided

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes provided excellent service in difficult times.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2021:

Thank you for your review Julie, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time around the Hebrides. If we can help plan another adventure in the UK please just let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Wetwetwet, 11 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great escape in difficult times

I walked the hadrians wall path for the second time, this time with a friend. Also this journey in august was a great time. Organisation was perfect again by absolute escapes. They checked all the difficulties for us because no one knew if pubs or restaurants were open because of covid. Everything as just great and we were always informed very well. And actually... it rained the whole two weeks, almost every day, the whole day... we were wet, ...

I walked the hadrians wall path for the second time, this time with a friend. Also this journey in august was a great time. Organisation was perfect again by absolute escapes. They checked all the difficulties for us because no one knew if pubs or restaurants were open because of covid. Everything as just great and we were always informed very well. And actually... it rained the whole two weeks, almost every day, the whole day... we were wet, tired,... but more than happy!

Rating for tour operator:

As expected just great, all of them who organised everything

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Dec 2020:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Christina - it's great to hear that you really enjoyed your walk on Hadrian's Wall Path again despite some rainy weather! Please do not hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Fin, 13 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

The St Cuthbert's Way during Covid

The St Cuthbert’s Way under Covid - October 2020 Having travelled to Spain and Italy over the last few years for walking holidays in October, it has to be said that our St Cuthbert’s Way trip with Absolute Escapes was just as enjoyable and we are already thinking about a similar walk in the future in the UK. The time of year meant less hours of daylight so the relatively short walking distances suited us well. It also meant we did not feel ...

The St Cuthbert’s Way under Covid - October 2020 Having travelled to Spain and Italy over the last few years for walking holidays in October, it has to be said that our St Cuthbert’s Way trip with Absolute Escapes was just as enjoyable and we are already thinking about a similar walk in the future in the UK. The time of year meant less hours of daylight so the relatively short walking distances suited us well. It also meant we did not feel the need to be up and away early but had lovely relaxed breakfasts. We expected rain and indeed our waterproofs were needed on 3 of the 6 walking days but it truly didn’t matter as we just enjoyed the simple pleasure of being outside and away from it all. There was definitely something special about starting in the Borders of Scotland and ending on a little English Island. One of my favourite places ever is Iona and I loved the connection between these 2 wee islands, Lindisfarne and Iona. The walk during Covid restrictions can be summarised by saying we felt safe, really welcomed and loved the varied walking and scenery everywhere we went. The hospitality along the way was fab -good food at all stops to suit both our palates. Day 1 - Travel to Melrose The train from Edinburgh to Tweedbank is a really nice journey and we decided to walk from Tweedbank into Melrose along the Tweed as we didn’t have much baggage. The only regret was not stopping at the Tempest Brewery for a few samples. Melrose was a nice place to wander in the afternoon with its wee independent shops. In the gloaming we strolled round the cathedral and the footbridge over the Tweed that was a nice start to our holiday. Our accommodation (The Dunfermline Guest House) was really cosy and had one of the best breakfasts of the week. We ate dinner in Burt’s Hotel -in an outside, heated marquee. The food was great- best ever arancini and we had wine with our meal (a novelty at that time in Scotland!) Day 2 - Melrose to Jedburgh Highlights: Following the majestic river Tweed and the associated wildlife. A really varied day of walking in sunshine and showers. The first stretch uphill out of Melrose afforded great views over the valley even in the morning mist. The autumn colours were beautiful especially by the river. We arrived at our accommodation in pouring rain but had a warm welcome and a gorgeous, spacious room waiting for us. We were too late to get a restaurant booking (Covid restrictions in place) but our host furnished us with takeaway menus and we were invited to eat in the cozy dining room. However we ended up going to the local Coop for a picnic dinner and bottle of wine that we had in our room that felt quite romantic. Top Tip: Make time to cross the Tweed and soak up the atmosphere at Dryburgh Abby. Accommodation: Allerton House: Lovely hosts, setting and room. Fab breakfast choices (advocado and poached egg on toast for me) and really good coffee. Day 3 - Jedburgh to Morebattle Highlights: We started to head up uphill and were able to look back on our journey from the Eildon hills. My favourite photo of our trip is in this section (tree in a field) - captured the feeling of the light and landscape perfectly. Top Tip: Enjoy the views across rolling hills and farmland. Accommodation: Templehall Hotel: Hazel our hostess was really welcoming and immediately put or boots into the drying room. They were soooo cozy to put on the next morning. Our room had just been refurbished and had a great shower. We had a nice dinner in the dining room and a glass of wine and beer as a night cap in our room. Day 4 - Morebattle to Kirk Yetholm Highlights: It began to feel more remote although we enjoyed the company of inquisitive cows watching us sweat our way uphill- safely separated by a good drystone dyke! This was relatively short day so we just dawdled along- just enjoyed being. Top Tip: We were glad of our gaiters as the ground was heavy and muddy in parts. Accommodation: The Border Hotel: Warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our evening meal in the bar (no alcohol) and for the first time met other walkers. A glass of wine and wee whisky in our room served as a wee night cap. Day 5 - Kirk Yetholm to Wooler (across the border) Highlights: It felt like another world and century as we walked over the hill into England in the drizzling rain. We heard the sound of a horn and saw a pack of hounds on the far hillside hunting with two riders on horseback. Top Tip: It's all about the views -that change all the time depending on what the weather allows you to see. I love that. We got our first glimpse of the sea. Accommodation: The Old Courthouse: We had a huge and very comfortable room and bathroom. The coffee in the morning was especially good. We ate in an Italian restaurant (Milan) that had a nice buzzy atmosphere and had the novelty of wine at the table! Day 6 - Wooler to Fenwick Highlights: Aside from the walk to Lindisfarne this was probably the easiest days walking underfoot- passing lots of tidy livestock farms on the way. St Cuthbert’s Cave looks like a film set and you half expect Fred Flintstone and his family to appear. Top Tip: Stop at the rocky outcrop just past St Cuthbert’s cave for a bite to eat and soak in the views. We stayed there for ages basking in the autumn sun. You can see where you’ve been and where you are going - Lindisfarne! Accommodation: The Black Bull, Lowick. A lovely hotel that was staffed by a relatively young and enthusiastic staff. The friendly bar manager picked us up in Fenwick and returned us there the next day that was great for us. The room was perfect and we had a lovely dinner -in fact Fin’s favourite meal of the trip. Day 7 - Fenwick to The Holy Isle Highlights: The end of our journey. We didn’t walk over the sand bare foot but stuck to the road and it felt no less special. Hardier fellow walkers did follow the pole markers and found themselves up to their knees in estuary mud in some sections. It was lovely to explore the island without the crowds when the day trippers were forced to leave. Top Tip: Visit the castle on The Holy Isle but make sure you go beyond to the stony beach. At tide change the seals are fishing and watching you watching them. Accommodation:The Crown and Anchor: A perfect place to end our holiday. The staff were lovely and we had a nice room with a wee window seat looking out to the ruined Abby. The food, in my view was the best of the trip. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious and the place had a great atmosphere. Day 8 - The Holy Isle to home! Two weeks on and we both reflect that this has been a great experience that has nourished our souls and quietened the nonsense in our brains - giving us lots of good memories to help fuel us through winter.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes Excellent from start to finish. Great accommodation, great tips about where to eat and a high class experience in all ways.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Nov 2020:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Findlay and Morag. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday on St Cuthbert's Way, as well as the accommodation we booked for you. If we can be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by EleyM, 9 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Very wet, very windy, but brilliantly organised!

I did a solo five day walk along the south west coast path at very short notice just before the end of the season.

I did a solo five day walk along the south west coast path at very short notice just before the end of the season.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were an excellent company to deal with: prompt, timely, professional, friendly and reliable. The information provided in advance, the accommodation booked, and the support along the way were all of a very high standard. Sadly, they couldn't fix the weather! I would definitely use them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Nov 2020:

Thank you very much for your kind words, Eley. It was a pleasure to assist with the planning of your trip and I am delighted that you had such a good time on the South West Coast Path (despite the rain..). I hope we can help you arrange your next walking adventure. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo