AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Vacations to America

Vacations to America Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Vacations to America

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 40
Good 7
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 47
Reviews Accepted: 45
Reviews Rejected: 2
45 reviews
Sort by:
New England Romance Fly Drive by britTraveller, 6 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Holiday in New England

Very well organised holiday, great accommodation in inns, all very good. I definitely recommend Vacations to America.

Very well organised holiday, great accommodation in inns, all very good. I definitely recommend Vacations to America.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well and efficiently organised.

New England Towns Fly Drive by Where next?, 3 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wow

Wonderful leaf colours. Fantastic scenery. "Real" USA. All the Inns and hotels were excellent as were the places we stayed. We went 1st to 22nd October 2019 and hit the Fall spot on. Our trip took us from Boston to Jamaica then Stowe in Vermont. Next was Jackson in New Hampshire then Kennebunkport in Maine followed by Chatham, Cape Cod. We then took train to New York and from there train to Niagara (train delayed by an hour 1/2 way because of ...

Wonderful leaf colours. Fantastic scenery. "Real" USA. All the Inns and hotels were excellent as were the places we stayed. We went 1st to 22nd October 2019 and hit the Fall spot on. Our trip took us from Boston to Jamaica then Stowe in Vermont. Next was Jackson in New Hampshire then Kennebunkport in Maine followed by Chatham, Cape Cod. We then took train to New York and from there train to Niagara (train delayed by an hour 1/2 way because of software fault!) All excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to discuss with knowledgeable Nan who matched our needs perfectly. All went smoothly.

New England Towns Fly Drive by OCTOGRIF, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Contentment.

Sheraton Boston Hotel and Hampton Inn and Suites, Springfield provided a good start to our vacation with excellent service by all staff. In the Springfield, Mass. area a visit to The Porter Phelps-Huntington House Museum in Hadley is strongly recommended. Colonial Inn in Concord, Mass. was superb and an excellent location to end a very relaxing vacation with very courteous, friendly and helpful staff.

Sheraton Boston Hotel and Hampton Inn and Suites, Springfield provided a good start to our vacation with excellent service by all staff. In the Springfield, Mass. area a visit to The Porter Phelps-Huntington House Museum in Hadley is strongly recommended. Colonial Inn in Concord, Mass. was superb and an excellent location to end a very relaxing vacation with very courteous, friendly and helpful staff.

Rating for tour operator:

As usual Vacations to America arranged our vacation as we intended including rearranging the whole schedule after cancellation of flights by Virgin Atlantic. We have used Vacations to America for many years and have always received excellent service including ensuring suitability of bed heights and bathing facilities due to slight mobility problems.

New England Romance Fly Drive by Dee, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

New England fly drive

It as very good accommodation and good areas. The only thing that wasn't great was the journey planner, we would have liked help with options for scenic roads to our destinations as sat navigation just took us on motorways and the signs in New England were not good.

It as very good accommodation and good areas. The only thing that wasn't great was the journey planner, we would have liked help with options for scenic roads to our destinations as sat navigation just took us on motorways and the signs in New England were not good.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful.

Classic California Fly Drive by Dave & Sue, 15 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

West Coast Road Trip

Fly Drive, start/finish San Francisco for a three week 2400 mile road trip around major sights. San Fran, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, Death Valley, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, back along Route 66 to Santa Barbara then up the Pacific Coast to San Francisco again.

Fly Drive, start/finish San Francisco for a three week 2400 mile road trip around major sights. San Fran, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite, Death Valley, Las Vegas, Grand Canyon, back along Route 66 to Santa Barbara then up the Pacific Coast to San Francisco again.

Rating for tour operator:

We went to them with a basic idea of what we wanted to do. With their background knowledge they were able to suggested a few changes to make the route more workable and some ( very nice) additions that we hadn't thought of. That wasnt final, we had a constructive dialogue with them over a few weeks before the final plan was decided upon. A handy booklet detailing the accomodation and suggestions of things to do was provided. A variety of differing accomodations ranging from luxury hotels to a charming cabin in the woods were booked generally to a standard requested by us. Overall there was a diversity to to the places we stayed and visited making for a very wnjoyable experience.

America's National Parks by Snapdragon, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing experience

Fly drive for 16 days, covering Yellowstone National Park then a flight to Monterey travelling down the California coast to Santa Barbara, then a drive to Kings Canyon to finish for four days to see the Sequoia Forest and Kings Canyon finishing up with the drive to San Jose to see the Winchester Mystery House before flying home from San Fransisco. A whistlestop tour spending two days in each resort. Lucky enough to see Brown Bears twice within ...

Fly drive for 16 days, covering Yellowstone National Park then a flight to Monterey travelling down the California coast to Santa Barbara, then a drive to Kings Canyon to finish for four days to see the Sequoia Forest and Kings Canyon finishing up with the drive to San Jose to see the Winchester Mystery House before flying home from San Fransisco. A whistlestop tour spending two days in each resort. Lucky enough to see Brown Bears twice within shouting distance, a black bear, wolves in the distance. Bison up close and personal as he walked past our car, Bald eagle and lots of turkey vultures. We were VERY lucky to say the least. The mammoth hot springs in Yellowstone were mind blowing as well as the geysers and Old Faithful. Carmel was a beautiful calm place to visit as was Santa Barbara. All in all a perfectly balanced holiday - just not long enough.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked through Travellers World in Salisbury who in turn booked the holiday through Vacations to America. Both were very helpful and informative.

The Pacific Northwest Fly Drive by Hebe One, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Turned this holiday around for us in half a day

We were due to travel on a cruise (with another tour company) but this was cancelled at the last minute. Rather than lose the holiday completely we kept the flights. Vacations to America came up with a driving holiday for us in half a day at very short notice, ensuring we did not miss out on a good holiday. The hotels and distances were all ideal and we saw some lovely sites along the way.

We were due to travel on a cruise (with another tour company) but this was cancelled at the last minute. Rather than lose the holiday completely we kept the flights. Vacations to America came up with a driving holiday for us in half a day at very short notice, ensuring we did not miss out on a good holiday. The hotels and distances were all ideal and we saw some lovely sites along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

We met Vacations to America at the Destinations Show this year. We did not realise how soon we would need their help.

Florida Villa Twin Centre by Orlando Magic, 11 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Florida Fun

2 weeks in Orlando visiting the theme parks and relaxing at the house

2 weeks in Orlando visiting the theme parks and relaxing at the house

Rating for tour operator:

Vacations to America always provide accommodation in convenient locations

New York, New England & Montreal by GrahamH, 7 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great 2 centre holiday in Las Vegas and New York

Great hotels in las Vegas (Encore) and New York (50 Bowery). 5 nights in LV and then 4 nights in NY with internal flight by United. Virgin for transatlantic flight was great, United a bit cramped - limited carry on luggage room.

Great hotels in las Vegas (Encore) and New York (50 Bowery). 5 nights in LV and then 4 nights in NY with internal flight by United. Virgin for transatlantic flight was great, United a bit cramped - limited carry on luggage room.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator really worked to find the right holiday for us. when American Airlines made a 10 hour change to flight schedule for the internal flight the operator really did their best to find alternatives at very short notice.

Virginia, Carolinas & Georgia by Rog, 27 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very Enjoyable and Informative Couple of Weeks

After a three night stay in Washington DC we picked up a hire car and drove through Virginia, North and South Carolina ending in Savannah in Georgia. In most places we were again able to stay in fabulous inns in the Select Registry group that were uniformly excellent. We were also able to fly back to Heathrow from Charleston thanks to the recently introduced BA service, which was most convenient

After a three night stay in Washington DC we picked up a hire car and drove through Virginia, North and South Carolina ending in Savannah in Georgia. In most places we were again able to stay in fabulous inns in the Select Registry group that were uniformly excellent. We were also able to fly back to Heathrow from Charleston thanks to the recently introduced BA service, which was most convenient

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third US Fly Drive holiday with Vacations to America and we were again very happy with the service provided. With the help of our consultant Nan we were able to select top quality accomodation, car hire and flights to and from the US. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to others.