AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

South Downs Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of South Downs Way

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 21
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 23
Reviews Accepted: 23
Reviews Rejected: 0
23 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by lamedoc, 4 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Walk

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

The accommodations were excellent, and the luggage transfer went perfectly. There was a small glitch with a local taxi company, and Mickledore fixed it promptly. We were very pleased with the service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we selected for you. Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments on our services.
Sue

South Downs Way by Walkersx2, 20 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable 2 day walk

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore walking holidays who organised our accommodation, luggage transfers and supplied us with the appropriate walking notes, information and maps.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We do put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations for our holidays and it is lovely that you enjoyed the overnight stays for your walk.
Sue

South Downs Way by CnEP, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Views

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The South Downs Way National Trail was the fourth holiday booked through this company. We keep returning as customers for the service and quality of accommodation booked for us en-route.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your latest walk with us. Thank you for your comments. It is always nice to hear that our accommodation choices and support have helped to make your holiday great. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you when you plan your next adventure.
Sue

South Downs Way by Sheffield walker, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Let someone else take the strain!

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Rating for tour operator:

This is second time we have used Mickledore to book a walking holiday. Very pleased with the standard of accommodation chosen and the organisation of baggage transfers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed another walk with us and we hope to welcome you back for your next adventure. Sue

South Downs Way by Stretchosaurus, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs 100 miles in 10 days

We had an unexpected heat wave, not dressed for that. Also Winchester end of walk has very poor access to water, which was bad on hot days. A lot of it is walking in agri-business on farm tracks, not the best walking surface and always at risk of interruption by huge tractors and spray rigs. We did not feel adequately advised about this. The B&B’s were all very good, the map and guide book were fine and the luggage and taxis were excellent...

We had an unexpected heat wave, not dressed for that. Also Winchester end of walk has very poor access to water, which was bad on hot days. A lot of it is walking in agri-business on farm tracks, not the best walking surface and always at risk of interruption by huge tractors and spray rigs. We did not feel adequately advised about this. The B&B’s were all very good, the map and guide book were fine and the luggage and taxis were excellent. The bag lunches were mostly pretty bad, no provision for vegans and not very good food. We will bring our own next time. We dont blame Mickledore for this, we had forgotten it was like this on previous trip also. B&B’s all provided a great breakfast but not so good at lunch.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Mickledore before. They provide a reliable and honest service. We like the way they present the options. We feel the prices are fair.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

We do try to ensure that information is available to accommodations for your special dietary requirements so that they can prepare suitable meals for you. Unfortunately when your booking was made we were not told that you are vegan so could not pass this on to them. It is good to know that overall you enjoyed your holiday and the arrangements that we made for your trip. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by Hitchy Hiker, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Efficient and thorough, everything according to plan. Fantastic accomodation and a worry free holiday.

Walking the South Downs Way national trail. What a beautiful walk and I had superb hot weather. Thousands of butterflies and hundreds of skylarks - truly wonderful. The walking is moderate although coming off the back of Devil's Dyke is a bit steep and the path peters out - but that is not part off the trail so it is understandable. A little care and caution was needed. The only negative was in some of the woodland at the Winchester side of ...

Walking the South Downs Way national trail. What a beautiful walk and I had superb hot weather. Thousands of butterflies and hundreds of skylarks - truly wonderful. The walking is moderate although coming off the back of Devil's Dyke is a bit steep and the path peters out - but that is not part off the trail so it is understandable. A little care and caution was needed. The only negative was in some of the woodland at the Winchester side of the trail was horse flies biting but this stopped when using a good insect repellent. Some brilliant villages and places to stay and eat during the walk. Friendly people and such generous portions at all the places to eat. Very pleased with the whole trail.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore had everything organised to the last detail. Third year I have used them and they get better each time. Their itinaries and support information are very comprehensive. The accommodation they choose is superb and most places provide packed lunches as well. Luggage collections and taxi transfers are efficient and friendly and a great source of local knowledge. I would say that everything is well thought out and planned even down to options being available en route. On top of that I trust and rely on them which lets me get on with the walking and enjoying all I see and do on the trail.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Aug 2017:

What lovely feedback, thank you for taking the time to let us know how it went. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this spectacular and diverse walk and all of our arrangements.
We hope to welcome you back for a fourth walk next year.

South Downs Way by Walkingfan, 23 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Brilliantly organised walking holiday

Everything worked perfectly. Wonderful walk with accommodation relatively close to the South Downs Way. Bag transfer perfect. Great packed lunches! Comprehensive information provided in very good time to allow us to plan our evening meals/extra trips etc. Thank you Mickledore for a great holiday.

Everything worked perfectly. Wonderful walk with accommodation relatively close to the South Downs Way. Bag transfer perfect. Great packed lunches! Comprehensive information provided in very good time to allow us to plan our evening meals/extra trips etc. Thank you Mickledore for a great holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very impressed with everything from when we were thinking about booking, to actually booking, and organisation of the whole holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Jul 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We love to know that our customers have had a great holiday. We hope that we can arrange another holiday for you very soon.
Tara

South Downs Way by Sydneylolly , 22 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing, well organised SDW walk

I walked the SDW for 6 days and 7 nights. I had Mickledore organise my whole trip including accommodation and luggage transfers and the 6 day 7 night itinerary. My trip was a last minute booking and they were able to get everything organised in time for my trip. Very impressed.

I walked the SDW for 6 days and 7 nights. I had Mickledore organise my whole trip including accommodation and luggage transfers and the 6 day 7 night itinerary. My trip was a last minute booking and they were able to get everything organised in time for my trip. Very impressed.

Rating for tour operator:

I walked the SDW for 6 days and 7 nights as organised by Mickledore. The holiday was organised quickly with great communication as I was travelling from Singapore last minute and amendments made where needed. The accommodation was well thought out and everything was easy to find with clear instructions and phone numbers in case of emergencies. Maps, guides books and information was excellent with good spots for lunch and water recommended. Luggage was transported by the luggage service and worked very well. I had a very easy well planned holiday and would recommend Mickledore to my friends and family. A very friendly helpful company! Thank you!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Jul 2017:

Its great to hear that your last minute trip worked out so well for you , thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. I hope that you will be back for another walk in the future.
Tara

South Downs Way by Tone, 6 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday - South downs way

A fantastic walk through english countryside with many impressions and nice people. We started the walk in Winchester heading for Eastbourne. A seven days walk through beautiful english counstryside. We stayed each night at a new B&B along the way.We met and talked to many nice people alomg the way, some of them were walkers like us, and of course people who lived along the route. An eduacasional journey.

A fantastic walk through english countryside with many impressions and nice people. We started the walk in Winchester heading for Eastbourne. A seven days walk through beautiful english counstryside. We stayed each night at a new B&B along the way.We met and talked to many nice people alomg the way, some of them were walkers like us, and of course people who lived along the route. An eduacasional journey.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Mickledore every time we have done walks in the UK. We are very pleased with them. Very helpfull and qiuck in responding to every question we had.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Jul 2017:

We are pleased to hear that you had another great walk. Your continued support really is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Tara

South Downs Way by Jonni, 5 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way

My wife and I walked the South Downs Way from Amberley to Eastbourne, about 60 miles, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The views all along the Downs were magnificent, but the section over the Seven Sisters is exceptionally stunning. Highly recommended.

My wife and I walked the South Downs Way from Amberley to Eastbourne, about 60 miles, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The views all along the Downs were magnificent, but the section over the Seven Sisters is exceptionally stunning. Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife and I used Mickledore Travel of Keswick to book our walking holiday, we have now used them three times, and as usual their arrangements were perfect. We would advise anyone planning a walking, or cycling, holiday to look no further than the Mickledore website.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Jul 2017:

Thank you so much for your generous review, we are happy to have been of help for your third holiday and we look forward to organising the next adventure soon
Tara