AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

South Downs Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of South Downs Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 25
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 27
Reviews Accepted: 27
Reviews Rejected: 0
27 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by Geordierambler, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way a great Mickledore walk

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore ...

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore Travel for your walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient, helpful and friendly. You felt they were passionate about delivering a good holiday experience.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and found the information in your holiday pack to be helpful.
Sue

South Downs Way by Stephw, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way Long Distance Path walking holiday

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore Walking Holidays are a fantastic company who always provide excellent service when arranging our walking holidays. We highly recommend them to all walkers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your kind feedback on our holiday arrangements and services. We would be happy to arrange your next walking trail adventure.

South Downs Way by Pixie, 16 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Highly efficient service from start to finish.

This is the third walking holiday that Mickledore has arranged for us. This year we walked the South Downs Way, previously the Cotswolds Way and the Dales Way. Each time we have had the same excellent service. It gives great peace of mind to know they have emergency procedures, even though luckily we haven't needed to use them. We once used a different company and regretted it.

This is the third walking holiday that Mickledore has arranged for us. This year we walked the South Downs Way, previously the Cotswolds Way and the Dales Way. Each time we have had the same excellent service. It gives great peace of mind to know they have emergency procedures, even though luckily we haven't needed to use them. We once used a different company and regretted it.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provide excellent information, keep us well informed of any changes and dealt quickly and without any quibble when we had changes this year. The transfer of our luggage is always done efficiently.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. Customer service is important to us as we want you to enjoy your holiday. We would be happy to arrange your next walking adventure for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Alice, 15 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

lovely and uncomplicated walking tour on the South Downs Way

I made this tour on my own and it was very nice, to have comfortable and friendly accomodations during my walking holiday.

I made this tour on my own and it was very nice, to have comfortable and friendly accomodations during my walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

It felt like a safe and good background not only in the preparation but also during the tour.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your experience and that your walk was a nice adventure for you. Thank you for leaving your feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by lamedoc, 4 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Walk

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

The accommodations were excellent, and the luggage transfer went perfectly. There was a small glitch with a local taxi company, and Mickledore fixed it promptly. We were very pleased with the service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we selected for you. Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments on our services.
Sue

South Downs Way by Walkersx2, 20 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable 2 day walk

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore walking holidays who organised our accommodation, luggage transfers and supplied us with the appropriate walking notes, information and maps.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We do put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations for our holidays and it is lovely that you enjoyed the overnight stays for your walk.
Sue

South Downs Way by CnEP, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Views

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The South Downs Way National Trail was the fourth holiday booked through this company. We keep returning as customers for the service and quality of accommodation booked for us en-route.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your latest walk with us. Thank you for your comments. It is always nice to hear that our accommodation choices and support have helped to make your holiday great. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you when you plan your next adventure.
Sue

South Downs Way by Sheffield walker, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Let someone else take the strain!

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Just comoleted 9 day holiday walking the South Downs Way. Booked accommodation and onward transfer of baggage through Mickledore. Very pleased with the quality of bed and breakfast/pubs with rooms they chose for us and baggage transfer. It was great just concentrating on the walking and not worrying about carrying heavy rucksacks and what accommodation might be waiting for us.

Rating for tour operator:

This is second time we have used Mickledore to book a walking holiday. Very pleased with the standard of accommodation chosen and the organisation of baggage transfers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed another walk with us and we hope to welcome you back for your next adventure. Sue

South Downs Way by Stretchosaurus, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs 100 miles in 10 days

We had an unexpected heat wave, not dressed for that. Also Winchester end of walk has very poor access to water, which was bad on hot days. A lot of it is walking in agri-business on farm tracks, not the best walking surface and always at risk of interruption by huge tractors and spray rigs. We did not feel adequately advised about this. The B&B’s were all very good, the map and guide book were fine and the luggage and taxis were excellent...

We had an unexpected heat wave, not dressed for that. Also Winchester end of walk has very poor access to water, which was bad on hot days. A lot of it is walking in agri-business on farm tracks, not the best walking surface and always at risk of interruption by huge tractors and spray rigs. We did not feel adequately advised about this. The B&B’s were all very good, the map and guide book were fine and the luggage and taxis were excellent. The bag lunches were mostly pretty bad, no provision for vegans and not very good food. We will bring our own next time. We dont blame Mickledore for this, we had forgotten it was like this on previous trip also. B&B’s all provided a great breakfast but not so good at lunch.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Mickledore before. They provide a reliable and honest service. We like the way they present the options. We feel the prices are fair.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Jun 2018:

We do try to ensure that information is available to accommodations for your special dietary requirements so that they can prepare suitable meals for you. Unfortunately when your booking was made we were not told that you are vegan so could not pass this on to them. It is good to know that overall you enjoyed your holiday and the arrangements that we made for your trip. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by Hitchy Hiker, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Efficient and thorough, everything according to plan. Fantastic accomodation and a worry free holiday.

Walking the South Downs Way national trail. What a beautiful walk and I had superb hot weather. Thousands of butterflies and hundreds of skylarks - truly wonderful. The walking is moderate although coming off the back of Devil's Dyke is a bit steep and the path peters out - but that is not part off the trail so it is understandable. A little care and caution was needed. The only negative was in some of the woodland at the Winchester side of ...

Walking the South Downs Way national trail. What a beautiful walk and I had superb hot weather. Thousands of butterflies and hundreds of skylarks - truly wonderful. The walking is moderate although coming off the back of Devil's Dyke is a bit steep and the path peters out - but that is not part off the trail so it is understandable. A little care and caution was needed. The only negative was in some of the woodland at the Winchester side of the trail was horse flies biting but this stopped when using a good insect repellent. Some brilliant villages and places to stay and eat during the walk. Friendly people and such generous portions at all the places to eat. Very pleased with the whole trail.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore had everything organised to the last detail. Third year I have used them and they get better each time. Their itinaries and support information are very comprehensive. The accommodation they choose is superb and most places provide packed lunches as well. Luggage collections and taxi transfers are efficient and friendly and a great source of local knowledge. I would say that everything is well thought out and planned even down to options being available en route. On top of that I trust and rely on them which lets me get on with the walking and enjoying all I see and do on the trail.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Aug 2017:

What lovely feedback, thank you for taking the time to let us know how it went. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this spectacular and diverse walk and all of our arrangements.
We hope to welcome you back for a fourth walk next year.