AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

South Downs Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of South Downs Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 28
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 30
Reviews Accepted: 30
Reviews Rejected: 0
30 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by PKB, 14 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

The South Downs Way

The level of organisation by Mickledore is second to none. You are provided with Places to Eat in the evening. A comprehensive list of Banks and Cash-points together with a list of Shops, Post Offices, Tourist Information Centres, Cafes and possible lunch stops. Should you need a Hospitals, GP surgery or Pharmacy, they are listed too alongside the location of Public Toilets and all local Taxi Companies in the areas you will be walking. All ...

The level of organisation by Mickledore is second to none. You are provided with Places to Eat in the evening. A comprehensive list of Banks and Cash-points together with a list of Shops, Post Offices, Tourist Information Centres, Cafes and possible lunch stops. Should you need a Hospitals, GP surgery or Pharmacy, they are listed too alongside the location of Public Toilets and all local Taxi Companies in the areas you will be walking. All this information is available via an app so you don't have to carry volumes of paper around with you. They really have taken all the worry out of the planning and as for the views on the SDW - Stunning!

Rating for tour operator:

We used Mickledore for the entire 100 mile walk, but wanted to tailor it to our own needs. They were brilliant in meeting our requirements and went to great lengths organising the holiday and making changes as and when required. COVID stopped us finishing the walk in 2019 but we were offered a refund or allowed them to hold our deposit till we could complete the walk. Successfully completed this September 2021. We are now considering another holiday with them. You feel in safe hands with Mickledore.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

Thanks for your lovely comments about our holidays and the work of our team. We were delighted to arrange for you to complete your walk and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed it.
Sue

South Downs Way by Louisebswim, 23 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfect South Downs Way walk

My partner and I took 8 daya, 9 nights to walk tbus beautiful, peaceful, unspoilt part of tbe UK in June 2021. Mickledore took tbe hassle out of looking for accommodation. We stayed mainly in B &Bs with a couple of pu s too. All were very good. So.e of the hosts were so knowledgeable and interesting. All our route was planned for us, we were able to say how many miles we wanted to walk so it was sorted for us. Our holiday pack contained ...

My partner and I took 8 daya, 9 nights to walk tbus beautiful, peaceful, unspoilt part of tbe UK in June 2021. Mickledore took tbe hassle out of looking for accommodation. We stayed mainly in B &Bs with a couple of pu s too. All were very good. So.e of the hosts were so knowledgeable and interesting. All our route was planned for us, we were able to say how many miles we wanted to walk so it was sorted for us. Our holiday pack contained so much useful information. We felt very safe, looked after and confident that should anything happen Mickledore would be at end of phone.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication s throughout from enquiry to booking. Indeed one of our b and b hosts fell ill duddenly, but with no hassle Mickledore sorted everything and we had replacement accommodation/transfers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Jun 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy your walk. Thanks for leaving us such great feedback.

South Downs Way by Happy trekker, 14 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Self guided walking holiday with luggage transfer along the South Downs Way

We started at Winchester and walked east following the South Downs Way. We spent 4 days walking approx 12 miles a day, finishing at Amberley which is the halfway point. Mickledore had booked our bed & breakfast accommodation each day and arranged luggage transfer between them so we only had to carry a daypack. Packed lunches were provided by our hosts. The walk was relatively easy, we were given excellent maps and a guidebook, the scenery was ...

We started at Winchester and walked east following the South Downs Way. We spent 4 days walking approx 12 miles a day, finishing at Amberley which is the halfway point. Mickledore had booked our bed & breakfast accommodation each day and arranged luggage transfer between them so we only had to carry a daypack. Packed lunches were provided by our hosts. The walk was relatively easy, we were given excellent maps and a guidebook, the scenery was stunning and it was a very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very professional and easy to deal with by phone or online. Despite relatively short notice and the covid pandemic, they arranged high standard accommodation with taxi transfers from the route if they were not within walking distance. They gave advice about places to eat out at night and provided very good map and guidebook. The organisation was excellent, all ran like clockwork.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Nov 2020:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and your stays at the accommodations we chose for you. We hope to welcome you back for further adventures soon.
Sue

South Downs Way by Griff, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk along the South Downs Way, with beautiful country views into the far distance, and ending with the dramatic Seven Sisters and Beachy Head

Mibkledore arranged a series of very good bed and breakfast accommodations for each night of the walk, and also arranged for our baggage to be forwarded, which took the weight off our backs both literally and metaphorically.

Mibkledore arranged a series of very good bed and breakfast accommodations for each night of the walk, and also arranged for our baggage to be forwarded, which took the weight off our backs both literally and metaphorically.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's staff are extremely helpful and give a genuinely personal service, tailored to your individual preferences and dates. They are a pleasure to deal with, and are most efficient. This was our second time of using them for a walking trip, and we will continue to do so.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk, the views are stunning with the Seven Sisters being a great way to finish. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.
Sue

South Downs Way by George, 17 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very professional, friendly and sensitive

Very impressed with the care Mickledore take especially when changing unscheduled arrangements .

Very impressed with the care Mickledore take especially when changing unscheduled arrangements .

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, go out of their way to give the best service

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you found our team helpful and that we were able to make the small changes that made your holiday work well for you. We hope to welcome you back for further walks with us soon.
Sue

South Downs Way by Champ, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Eight days when everything was organised for us and all we had to do was walk and talk

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

Rating for tour operator:

The most efficient and friendly tour company we have experienced.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future.
Sue

South Downs Way by Terry W., 28 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel ...

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel experience from guided tours to self directed trips and this trip was a top 10 for all if us!!

Rating for tour operator:

We were self guided once we arrived but Michledore did all the planning and communicating to set up the trip They were available to us for any issues during the trip but we never needed anything.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you all had a fabulous time on your walk. Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments.
Sue

South Downs Way by Rob, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very responsive and clear guidance about walk and accommodation

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and knowledgeable. Have a hot line you can call to answer questions who know their product well

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your kind comments about our customer service. We do try to make your holiday experience the best it can be.
Sue

South Downs Way by LiBru, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect organisation and very nice B&Bs in various styles. Wonderful walking area and lucky weather conditions

Perfect organisation by Mickledore. We liked the various styles of all the B&Bs. They all have made a good job! The South Downs are a real wonderful walking area and we could visit amazing old-times villages and pubs. We have been very lucky with the weather conditions.

Perfect organisation by Mickledore. We liked the various styles of all the B&Bs. They all have made a good job! The South Downs are a real wonderful walking area and we could visit amazing old-times villages and pubs. We have been very lucky with the weather conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

Serious and professional

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your lovely feedback and the fabulous picture along the sea cliffs. It's great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements we made for you. I hope you come back for another adventure soon.
Sue

South Downs Way by Dot, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

The South Downs Way - July a stunning time of year to walk this trail

7 days of sunshine, 1 overcast. A great time to walk the trail - the chalkland flowers were stunning; plenty of varied butterflies kept us company and one bonus was to watch a corn bunting singing from the top of a hawthorn bush. Something we do not see at home. Excellent comfortable accommodation with good, tasty breakfasts. Efficient baggage transfers.

7 days of sunshine, 1 overcast. A great time to walk the trail - the chalkland flowers were stunning; plenty of varied butterflies kept us company and one bonus was to watch a corn bunting singing from the top of a hawthorn bush. Something we do not see at home. Excellent comfortable accommodation with good, tasty breakfasts. Efficient baggage transfers.

Rating for tour operator:

Personalised booklet highlighting each day, South downs Way book & Harveys map all provided. Clearly thoroughly researched by Mickledore. Questions answered when I rang before the holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 24 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and found the summer flowers along the way to be in bloom.
Sue