AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

South Downs Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of South Downs Way

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 23
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 25
Reviews Accepted: 25
Reviews Rejected: 0
25 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by Champ, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Eight days when everything was organised for us and all we had to do was walk and talk

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

This was the fourth walking holiday we have had with this company and again they performed at the highest level.

Rating for tour operator:

The most efficient and friendly tour company we have experienced.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future.
Sue

South Downs Way by Terry W., 28 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel ...

A group of 10 of us from the US booked the South Downs Way walk. We are seasoned travelers from around the country with age range of 55-72. From planning to the final day of the walk everything went perfectly. The responses and communications from Michledore were always prompt and thorough. Once we arrived everything went as planned: B&Bs were very nice, maps and directions kept us from ever going off coarse. We have all had extensive travel experience from guided tours to self directed trips and this trip was a top 10 for all if us!!

Rating for tour operator:

We were self guided once we arrived but Michledore did all the planning and communicating to set up the trip They were available to us for any issues during the trip but we never needed anything.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2019:

It is great to hear that you all had a fabulous time on your walk. Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments.
Sue

South Downs Way by Rob, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very responsive and clear guidance about walk and accommodation

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Great walking holiday on Sough Downs way, 7 days with luggage transfer between a variety of B&B’s along route

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly and knowledgeable. Have a hot line you can call to answer questions who know their product well

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2019:

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your kind comments about our customer service. We do try to make your holiday experience the best it can be.
Sue

South Downs Way by LiBru, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect organisation and very nice B&Bs in various styles. Wonderful walking area and lucky weather conditions

Perfect organisation by Mickledore. We liked the various styles of all the B&Bs. They all have made a good job! The South Downs are a real wonderful walking area and we could visit amazing old-times villages and pubs. We have been very lucky with the weather conditions.

Perfect organisation by Mickledore. We liked the various styles of all the B&Bs. They all have made a good job! The South Downs are a real wonderful walking area and we could visit amazing old-times villages and pubs. We have been very lucky with the weather conditions.

Rating for tour operator:

Serious and professional

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your lovely feedback and the fabulous picture along the sea cliffs. It's great that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements we made for you. I hope you come back for another adventure soon.
Sue

South Downs Way by Dot, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

The South Downs Way - July a stunning time of year to walk this trail

7 days of sunshine, 1 overcast. A great time to walk the trail - the chalkland flowers were stunning; plenty of varied butterflies kept us company and one bonus was to watch a corn bunting singing from the top of a hawthorn bush. Something we do not see at home. Excellent comfortable accommodation with good, tasty breakfasts. Efficient baggage transfers.

7 days of sunshine, 1 overcast. A great time to walk the trail - the chalkland flowers were stunning; plenty of varied butterflies kept us company and one bonus was to watch a corn bunting singing from the top of a hawthorn bush. Something we do not see at home. Excellent comfortable accommodation with good, tasty breakfasts. Efficient baggage transfers.

Rating for tour operator:

Personalised booklet highlighting each day, South downs Way book & Harveys map all provided. Clearly thoroughly researched by Mickledore. Questions answered when I rang before the holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 24 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your great feedback. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and found the summer flowers along the way to be in bloom.
Sue

South Downs Way by smurf, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Rating for tour operator:

The B & Bs are excellent. They are responsive to my enquiries.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your comments. We put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations along our routes and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stays in the places we selected for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Mary, 20 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Princess walking

I have always wanted to do a long distance walk, but did not want the hassle of multiple accommodation booking (let alone camping and carrying loads of kit). Mickledore Travel took all the stress out of the adventure. All I had to do was enjoy walking, through some of the country's most stunning scenery, secure in the knowledge that bags would follow, and I would be staying in some lovely place at the end of my day

I have always wanted to do a long distance walk, but did not want the hassle of multiple accommodation booking (let alone camping and carrying loads of kit). Mickledore Travel took all the stress out of the adventure. All I had to do was enjoy walking, through some of the country's most stunning scenery, secure in the knowledge that bags would follow, and I would be staying in some lovely place at the end of my day

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were efficient, and always helpful. When I had to contact them, staff were friendly, polite and keen to be of assistance. Resources provided for the walk, including individualised itinerary, were detailed and comprehensive. I would be happy to recommend them

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that our arrangements helped you to have a great adventure. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by Beersy, 16 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the South Downs Way

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

Rating for tour operator:

From my initial e mail communication to the end of the walk everything worked like clockwork. They organised the accommodation, baggage transfer, packed lunches and transfer to the accommodation if it was a significant way off the trail. The accommodation was excellent and it was interesting how many of my hosts spoke very highly of Mickledore. In all cases they had sent someone from the company to view the property. A change of accommodation was required for one night and this was communicated to me straight away and a new itinerary was printed out. The maps and information booklets were first rate. I particularly liked their app which I downloaded to my phone. It meant I had all the details of my holiday including my itinerary at my fingertips.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and fulfilled a long held ambition. Thank you for your kind comments about Mickledore and the accommodations that we chose for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Geordierambler, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way a great Mickledore walk

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore ...

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore Travel for your walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient, helpful and friendly. You felt they were passionate about delivering a good holiday experience.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and found the information in your holiday pack to be helpful.
Sue

South Downs Way by Stephw, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way Long Distance Path walking holiday

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore Walking Holidays are a fantastic company who always provide excellent service when arranging our walking holidays. We highly recommend them to all walkers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your kind feedback on our holiday arrangements and services. We would be happy to arrange your next walking trail adventure.