AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

South Downs Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of South Downs Way

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 18
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 20
Reviews Accepted: 20
Reviews Rejected: 0
20 reviews
Sort by:
South Downs Way by smurf, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Warm hosts, good food, perfect weather

Rating for tour operator:

The B & Bs are excellent. They are responsive to my enquiries.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your comments. We put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations along our routes and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stays in the places we selected for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Mary, 20 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Princess walking

I have always wanted to do a long distance walk, but did not want the hassle of multiple accommodation booking (let alone camping and carrying loads of kit). Mickledore Travel took all the stress out of the adventure. All I had to do was enjoy walking, through some of the country's most stunning scenery, secure in the knowledge that bags would follow, and I would be staying in some lovely place at the end of my day

I have always wanted to do a long distance walk, but did not want the hassle of multiple accommodation booking (let alone camping and carrying loads of kit). Mickledore Travel took all the stress out of the adventure. All I had to do was enjoy walking, through some of the country's most stunning scenery, secure in the knowledge that bags would follow, and I would be staying in some lovely place at the end of my day

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were efficient, and always helpful. When I had to contact them, staff were friendly, polite and keen to be of assistance. Resources provided for the walk, including individualised itinerary, were detailed and comprehensive. I would be happy to recommend them

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that our arrangements helped you to have a great adventure. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by Beersy, 16 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the South Downs Way

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

To celebrate my retirement I booked a walking holiday. I live in Eastbourne and it had always been my intention to walk the whole of the South Downs Way starting in Winchester and finishing in Eastbourne. I wanted to walk at a fairly leisurely rate to enable me to take in the scenery and wildlife as well as visiting a few historic churches. Therefore I opted for the 9 days walking option.

Rating for tour operator:

From my initial e mail communication to the end of the walk everything worked like clockwork. They organised the accommodation, baggage transfer, packed lunches and transfer to the accommodation if it was a significant way off the trail. The accommodation was excellent and it was interesting how many of my hosts spoke very highly of Mickledore. In all cases they had sent someone from the company to view the property. A change of accommodation was required for one night and this was communicated to me straight away and a new itinerary was printed out. The maps and information booklets were first rate. I particularly liked their app which I downloaded to my phone. It meant I had all the details of my holiday including my itinerary at my fingertips.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Sep 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and fulfilled a long held ambition. Thank you for your kind comments about Mickledore and the accommodations that we chose for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Geordierambler, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way a great Mickledore walk

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore ...

I walked the entire 100 miles of the South Downs Way from Winchester to Eastbourne. Mickledore organised all the accommodation and baggage transfers and made it all very easy. The Harvey’s walking map, Trailblazer book and the personalised A5 booklet containing all holiday details were very good and made planning each day a simple task. Accommodation in inns and B&B’s was clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would recommend Mickledore Travel for your walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient, helpful and friendly. You felt they were passionate about delivering a good holiday experience.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and found the information in your holiday pack to be helpful.
Sue

South Downs Way by Stephw, 3 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way Long Distance Path walking holiday

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

We used Mickledore Walking Holidays to provide us with the South Downs Way holiday arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickeldore Walking Holidays are a fantastic company who always provide excellent service when arranging our walking holidays. We highly recommend them to all walkers.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your kind feedback on our holiday arrangements and services. We would be happy to arrange your next walking trail adventure.

South Downs Way by Pixie, 16 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Highly efficient service from start to finish.

This is the third walking holiday that Mickledore has arranged for us. This year we walked the South Downs Way, previously the Cotswolds Way and the Dales Way. Each time we have had the same excellent service. It gives great peace of mind to know they have emergency procedures, even though luckily we haven't needed to use them. We once used a different company and regretted it.

This is the third walking holiday that Mickledore has arranged for us. This year we walked the South Downs Way, previously the Cotswolds Way and the Dales Way. Each time we have had the same excellent service. It gives great peace of mind to know they have emergency procedures, even though luckily we haven't needed to use them. We once used a different company and regretted it.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provide excellent information, keep us well informed of any changes and dealt quickly and without any quibble when we had changes this year. The transfer of our luggage is always done efficiently.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. Customer service is important to us as we want you to enjoy your holiday. We would be happy to arrange your next walking adventure for you.
Sue

South Downs Way by Alice, 15 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

lovely and uncomplicated walking tour on the South Downs Way

I made this tour on my own and it was very nice, to have comfortable and friendly accomodations during my walking holiday.

I made this tour on my own and it was very nice, to have comfortable and friendly accomodations during my walking holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

It felt like a safe and good background not only in the preparation but also during the tour.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your experience and that your walk was a nice adventure for you. Thank you for leaving your feedback.
Sue

South Downs Way by lamedoc, 4 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Walk

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

We walked from Winchester to Eastbourne along the South Downs Way. The scenery was fantastic, and we enjoyed the people we met along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

The accommodations were excellent, and the luggage transfer went perfectly. There was a small glitch with a local taxi company, and Mickledore fixed it promptly. We were very pleased with the service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we selected for you. Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments on our services.
Sue

South Downs Way by Walkersx2, 20 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable 2 day walk

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Mum and I walked part of the South Down Way from Alfriston to Eastbourne along the inland route and from Eastbourne to Alfriston on the costal path. The Seven Sisters were particularly challenging! We stayed in very comfortable accommodation over 3 nights with excellent breakfasts.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore walking holidays who organised our accommodation, luggage transfers and supplied us with the appropriate walking notes, information and maps.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We do put a lot of effort into choosing accommodations for our holidays and it is lovely that you enjoyed the overnight stays for your walk.
Sue

South Downs Way by CnEP, 7 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Views

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Walking the South Downs Way National Trail, a 100 mile linear route from Winchester to Eastbourne was made a pleasurable experience with the excellent accommodation selected by the company, faultless baggage courier service, comprehensive local information and Trailblazer / Harvey map forwarded by Mickledore to allow a trouble free, enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The South Downs Way National Trail was the fourth holiday booked through this company. We keep returning as customers for the service and quality of accommodation booked for us en-route.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your latest walk with us. Thank you for your comments. It is always nice to hear that our accommodation choices and support have helped to make your holiday great. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you when you plan your next adventure.
Sue