AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Classic Round Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Classic Round Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 41
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 41
Reviews Accepted: 41
Reviews Rejected: 0
41 reviews
Sort by:
Classic Round Scotland by Train by Judy M, 7 Jul 2022
Holiday Rating:

Very special holiday in Scotland, including Skye.

This holiday was our 30th anniversary celebration and was beautifully arranged by McKinlay Kidd. Travelled by train from inn to inn, with lots of special excursions along the way. Full day guided tour of Skye with a knowledgeable Scot in a kilt. Good food. Lots of interesting places to walk. Gondola ride to the top of Aonach Mor with spectacular views.

This holiday was our 30th anniversary celebration and was beautifully arranged by McKinlay Kidd. Travelled by train from inn to inn, with lots of special excursions along the way. Full day guided tour of Skye with a knowledgeable Scot in a kilt. Good food. Lots of interesting places to walk. Gondola ride to the top of Aonach Mor with spectacular views.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd arranged the perfect trip for us. Beautiful inns, all with full breakfast. Train trips from town to town. MKK responded quickly to any questions we had before we left and we on call 24/7 if we needed anything while travelling.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Susie, 29 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A fascinating and well organised holiday

We very much enjoyed the range of locations and experiences on our tour of the Highlands. The organisation was superb and, despite moving on every couple of days, it was very relaxing. We learnt a great deal about our shared history and were treated to local knowledge and hospitality everywhere we went.

We very much enjoyed the range of locations and experiences on our tour of the Highlands. The organisation was superb and, despite moving on every couple of days, it was very relaxing. We learnt a great deal about our shared history and were treated to local knowledge and hospitality everywhere we went.

Rating for tour operator:

Great organisation from beginning to end. Always at the end of a phone or computer to answer queries or sort out problems.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Huck, 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A wonderfor way to experience the Scotish Highlands

We experienced Scotland with fantastic rail travel, hospitality and spectacular highland scenery. All of our hosts provided excellent friendly, welcomes and the accommodation and food added to our enjoyment.

We experienced Scotland with fantastic rail travel, hospitality and spectacular highland scenery. All of our hosts provided excellent friendly, welcomes and the accommodation and food added to our enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

Having arranged the tour through Tom Hamilton at McKinley Kidd Glasgow, from our home in Australia we were always well informed and couldn't have wished for better communication and service.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Westcity, 1 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Overall Excellence

We did a seven day rail holiday in Scotland which included , apart from rail , accommodation in delightful hotels, daily breakfasts and transfers to and from the accommodation

We did a seven day rail holiday in Scotland which included , apart from rail , accommodation in delightful hotels, daily breakfasts and transfers to and from the accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and prompt with all queries

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Dini, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great choice of itinerary. We loved the hotels that were part of the tour. Everything was well organized

We did the Classic Scotland by train your which covered the Highlands. The train rides were lovely - great scenery. Each hotel/inn was lovely including excellent breakfasts. In some cases, dinner was also included. The compnay also included a lot of great information about each destination.

We did the Classic Scotland by train your which covered the Highlands. The train rides were lovely - great scenery. Each hotel/inn was lovely including excellent breakfasts. In some cases, dinner was also included. The compnay also included a lot of great information about each destination.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organized and communicative.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by NP, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well-planned train trip

Booked a one-week rail trip in Scotland that combined independent travel with planned transportation and accommodation. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and saw a good cross-section of Scotland.

Booked a one-week rail trip in Scotland that combined independent travel with planned transportation and accommodation. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and saw a good cross-section of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd does a fabulous job. Very impressed with the quality of the accommodation,

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Super Scotland 2019, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Super Scotland 2019

Wonderful train trip around Scotland! Starting in Edinburgh, on to Pitlochry, (our favorite town), then on to Inverness, Skye, Spean Bridge, ending in Glasgow. Nice guest houses and accomodations at every stop. Fabulous food everywhere! and no midges anywhere!! Weather was perfect!

Wonderful train trip around Scotland! Starting in Edinburgh, on to Pitlochry, (our favorite town), then on to Inverness, Skye, Spean Bridge, ending in Glasgow. Nice guest houses and accomodations at every stop. Fabulous food everywhere! and no midges anywhere!! Weather was perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Good details on itinerary and promptly answered all correspondences. Very helpful with before and after travel plans in Dublin and Glasgow.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Recycled Teenager, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

An amazing classic tour of Scotland, where all the arrangements went smoothly.

We went on a classic tour of Scotland, organised by McKinlay Kidd, which was from Glasgow to Spean Bridge, then over to Skye and on to Inverness, Pitlochry and Edinburgh. We travelled by train, except for cars and a ferry crossing and journeyed for over 800 miles and stayed in six hotels, all organised from start to finish by McKinlay Kidd. All the arrangements went without any problems, the hotels we stayed in were all of high standards and ...

We went on a classic tour of Scotland, organised by McKinlay Kidd, which was from Glasgow to Spean Bridge, then over to Skye and on to Inverness, Pitlochry and Edinburgh. We travelled by train, except for cars and a ferry crossing and journeyed for over 800 miles and stayed in six hotels, all organised from start to finish by McKinlay Kidd. All the arrangements went without any problems, the hotels we stayed in were all of high standards and the places we saw were very interesting. We had time between getting trains to make our own arrangements for looking around the various places we stayed in, which was also very good. It was a very scenic tour and the views from the trains were amazing. When we arrived at any station, a driver in a very nice car, was always there to meet us. The car always returned well before time when we had to get the next train. We were delighted with all the arrangements and have nothing but praise for the tour.

Rating for tour operator:

The advisor I spoke to tweaked the arrangements to accommodate the chronic back pain which I suffer from, as I needed to have comfortable accommodation. We were sent all the details and how to get the tickets in plenty of time before we set out and all the hotels, trains, cars and ferry journeys were booked ahead of time. As we do not know Scotland at all, this was ideal and would have taken ages if we had to book train tickets ourselves.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by KPW, 21 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful McKinlay Kidd Highlands train tour

We took the McKinlay Kidd Classic Round Scotland by train trip in early May, and loved it! The tour takes you to Spean Bridge (Ft. William area), Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry over the course of a week. The Highlands are spectacular, and the train rides let you see and enjoy them in a fun and relaxing way. Skye is a particular standout, but every stop had beautiful scenery, historical sites to explore, and wonderful walking options. The ...

We took the McKinlay Kidd Classic Round Scotland by train trip in early May, and loved it! The tour takes you to Spean Bridge (Ft. William area), Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry over the course of a week. The Highlands are spectacular, and the train rides let you see and enjoy them in a fun and relaxing way. Skye is a particular standout, but every stop had beautiful scenery, historical sites to explore, and wonderful walking options. The McKinlay Kidd tour handles all the logistical arrangements, while allowing you to travel on your own (without a tour group), which was perfect for us.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd provided flawless travel arrangements and wonderful accommodations, efficient and attentive customer support, and an excellent app with tour information (including recommendations, maps and weather). It's clear McKinlay Kidd partners closely with the hotels, which was evident in the quality of accommodations and food along the way, as well as the coordinated support when we needed minor adjustments to the travel plan. We heartily recommend the tour and McKinlay Kidd!

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Black Watch, 15 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Rail tour from Glasgow to Edinburgh

Really good, interesting holiday. Useful as a Scotland “taster” with short stays in a number of places. We know where we’d like to return for a longer stay

Really good, interesting holiday. Useful as a Scotland “taster” with short stays in a number of places. We know where we’d like to return for a longer stay

Rating for tour operator:

Made good choices for us and was very responsive