AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Expert Africa

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 43
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 43
Reviews Accepted: 43
Reviews Rejected: 0
43 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Mr. N from Canterbury, 6 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Safari in Tanzania

We had 5 nights in the Selous, 5 nights in Ruaha and ended with 3 nights at Mafia Island. All locations were excellent, small and generally intimate with other likeminded safari lovers. All arrangements were perfect.

We had 5 nights in the Selous, 5 nights in Ruaha and ended with 3 nights at Mafia Island. All locations were excellent, small and generally intimate with other likeminded safari lovers. All arrangements were perfect.

Rating for tour operator:

Have used Expert Africa three times now and have found them excellent through the whole experience. Their brochure is second to none.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Mrs E from Gloucestershire , 17 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic safari in Southern Tanzania

12 nights on safari in Ruaha and Selous. Great accommodation, fantastic wildlife and lovely people. So much to see and do, but peaceful and uncrowded.

12 nights on safari in Ruaha and Selous. Great accommodation, fantastic wildlife and lovely people. So much to see and do, but peaceful and uncrowded.

Rating for tour operator:

The service from Expert Africa was first class. Their pricing is clear and transparent. They really listened to what we wanted at the outset, and the holiday they put together exceeded all expectations. As the name suggests they really are experts on Africa.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by J J, 13 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Safari in Southern Tanzania

We had a wonderfully varied trip staying in excellent camps. We started at Greystoke in Mahale where we had amazing views of Chimpanzees, then, on to Jongomero at one end of Ruaha and after that,at the other end, Kigelia. We finished at Impala camp in Selous. The landscapes were fantastic and we were rewarded with good animal and bird sightings, most of which we had to ourselves.

We had a wonderfully varied trip staying in excellent camps. We started at Greystoke in Mahale where we had amazing views of Chimpanzees, then, on to Jongomero at one end of Ruaha and after that,at the other end, Kigelia. We finished at Impala camp in Selous. The landscapes were fantastic and we were rewarded with good animal and bird sightings, most of which we had to ourselves.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator, Expert Africa, is very knowledgeable and is good at listening and then making suggestions for the sort of trip we might like. We always feel they will come up with a plan that will suit us and are good at tweaking all the component parts. We have never been disappointed in any trip we have done with them.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by mklarden, 18 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding safari

We stayed in 2 camps in Tanzania for my 70th birthday and had the most magical experience - everything we could have hoped for. Expert Africa were true to their name and we are truly grateful

We stayed in 2 camps in Tanzania for my 70th birthday and had the most magical experience - everything we could have hoped for. Expert Africa were true to their name and we are truly grateful

Rating for tour operator:

They were incredibly helpful - we cant thank them enough

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Matt, 11 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Safari Holiday to Southern Tanzania

We travelled to Ruaha NP and stayed at Jongamero Camp where we had some exciting encounters with lions and leopards. The camp was very pretty and we were well looked after. We then went to the Selous GR where we stayed at Beho Beho . This was our third visit to this lodge but never at this time of year. Beho Beho is run like a family home . Everyone...,staff and guests.. eat together and it makes for a very relaxed and happy atmosphere. The ...

We travelled to Ruaha NP and stayed at Jongamero Camp where we had some exciting encounters with lions and leopards. The camp was very pretty and we were well looked after. We then went to the Selous GR where we stayed at Beho Beho . This was our third visit to this lodge but never at this time of year. Beho Beho is run like a family home . Everyone...,staff and guests.. eat together and it makes for a very relaxed and happy atmosphere. The guiding is first class. As it had been raining and there was water everywhere we didn`t expect to see much game but we had some wonderful encounters with lion hippo buffalo and the icing on the cake for us...Wild Dogs . Beho Beho is a beautiful camp situated on a ridge so it is cooled by a breeze. The accomodation is very comfortable and the food and service is excellent. Our third stay was at Ras Kutani on the coast below Dar. A great place to relax after busy days on Safari. Very comfortable and excellent food

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa have arranged many trips to Africa for us over the years and we are very happy with their friendly personal service. They take a lot of care to tailor the holiday to your needs and expectations and always give helpful sound advice. Their agents have all travelled to Africa and have first hand experience of most of the camps.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Livingstone-based birder, 2 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Amboseli

Amboseli is, of course, best known (and rightly so) for its iconic vistas and wonderful elephants. But it should also be highly rated for its birdlife, the primary aim of our trip. We opted for six nights (more than the norm based on what we saw of other guests while we were there) in part because of the frequency of Kenya Airways flights from Livingstone (where we live) and in part because we wanted to have a decent break and really explore ...

Amboseli is, of course, best known (and rightly so) for its iconic vistas and wonderful elephants. But it should also be highly rated for its birdlife, the primary aim of our trip. We opted for six nights (more than the norm based on what we saw of other guests while we were there) in part because of the frequency of Kenya Airways flights from Livingstone (where we live) and in part because we wanted to have a decent break and really explore Amboseli and the Selenkay Conservation Area where Porini is based. We are also very interested in camps which are owned and (largely) run by the local community. this being the fourth at which we have stayed in Kenya. Six nights was not too long. This is not a high end camp. But it is comfortable and offers good standards of service. Acting Manager Daniel did an excellent job while we were there, keeping everything running smoothly. In the mess tent, John ensured that drinks and meals were well provided in a timely manner. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The Conservation Area is a very worthy and well run project. From next to nothing two decades ago the community has created a hub for a whole range of animals - including four of the 'big five'. The game is plentiful and habituated, attracted by permanent water. It lives alongside the Masai cattle which are protected by the lion guardians whose job it is not only to protect the lions but also to keep distance between the two prides and the cattle herds, thereby avoiding clashes between the people and the cats. The area offers several micro-environments which means that there is a great range of birds there. Add to this Amboseli NP itself, less than an hour drive away, and it isn't surprising that we logged 214 species in our six-night stay, despite being out of peak (ie inward migration) season. All in all, strongly recommended both in its own right and as a base for exploring the NP. Principally on Expert Africa's recommendation we paid for private guiding by Wilson for the five full days of our six night stay. As it was we had the benefit of his expertise for seven days, ie from when we landed at Amboseli at 0830 on Day 1 until our flight back to Nairobi departed at 1530 after our final night. We also did some 'homework' before our departure and discovered. among other positives, in the process that Conde Nast named Wilson as one of the five best of the 'next generation' of guides in 2013; based on our experience on safari over the past 11 years this accolade was well deserved. Other than our two days in Amboseli itself, we spent a good deal of the time walking with him in the Selenkay conservation area where Porini Amboseli is situated. After a phenomenally successful first birding day (112 in total including 80-odd in Amboseli NP) we set ourselves a target of 200 species for the totality of our stay, a challenge which Wilson was more than happy to take on and which we hit on the morning of our final full day (we finished at 214 including 17 lifers). Wilson deserves much of the credit for this; indeed, I don't recall a single bird we set out to find which he didn't manage to track down except a Brown Snake Eagle (a species which is plentiful where we live in any case). He has a phenomenal ear as well as outstanding vision, skills which are enhanced by his familiarity with all corners of his 'back yard'. When we were on the truck, Wilson was aided by our excellent driver Malita. They are a well-established and formidable team and we greatly enjoyed our time with them both. In between birding, the two of them also put us in front of a good range of mammals - 30 species in all including close encounters with lions, hyenas and, of course, the wonderful elephants.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife, Clare, and I first traveled with Expert Africa in 2006 when we returned to live in London from New York. It was Clare's first visit to Africa and I really wanted it to make a good impression on her so spent some time researching agents before plumping for EA. We went to Ruaha and Selous in southern Tanzania and Clare fell in love with Africa. By late 2009 and our fourth trip with EA she had decided that she wanted to live here and we finally relocated to Livingstone Zambia in mid-2015. We have now made 20 trips with EA (with a 21st coming up in August) and have never had anything other than 24 carat service and great vacations We have also recommended EA to friends on many occasions and those who have followed up have not been disappointed.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by Memories of Africa, 21 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Holiday of three Parts

Our Holiday consisted of Safari at Beho Beho, Tanzania - then a beach holiday in an eco-lodge in Zanzibar and then a few days in Stone Town enjoying both the atmosphere and its fascinating heritage. All totally different experiences but together giving us a very real understanding of Africa.

Our Holiday consisted of Safari at Beho Beho, Tanzania - then a beach holiday in an eco-lodge in Zanzibar and then a few days in Stone Town enjoying both the atmosphere and its fascinating heritage. All totally different experiences but together giving us a very real understanding of Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa. Cannot praise this operator high them enough. Listened to what we wanted and delivered a holiday that was both high quality,spectacular and memorable.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by L & M from Sweden, 14 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Southwest Tanzania in the Green Season

For a long time on the bucket list we decided to go to Ruaha, Katavi and Mahale National Parks in Southwest Tanzania. We travelled end February early March thus in the green season. Game viewing in Ruaha was also excellent with the elusive leopards and close contact to wild dogs plus numerous lion sightings. Also Katavi offered its best side with mostly sunny weather despite the time of the year, nice groups of elephants and many herbivores ...

For a long time on the bucket list we decided to go to Ruaha, Katavi and Mahale National Parks in Southwest Tanzania. We travelled end February early March thus in the green season. Game viewing in Ruaha was also excellent with the elusive leopards and close contact to wild dogs plus numerous lion sightings. Also Katavi offered its best side with mostly sunny weather despite the time of the year, nice groups of elephants and many herbivores (eland, topi, reedbuck, kudu, etc.) plus even a leopard nicely in a tree close to the Katsunga plains. Otherwise the bird experience in Katavi was next to none at least for beginners like ourselves. Finally Mahale was magic, with lake Tanganyika at your footstep and chimps less than one hour hiking away. Apart from chimp trekking, swimming in crystal clear water - 25 degrees - fishing or for those who like snorkelling among hundreds of cichlid species give the visitor a complete and exclusive holiday experience. Having travelled Southern - Eastern Africa for 20 years, this trip was for sure one of our highlights.

Rating for tour operator:

We asked various operators for quotations including itinerary proposal and Expert Africa provided the best and most comprehensive proposal. Whenever we had questions the response came back very quickly and as lodge availability was constrained, Expert Africa communicated quickly and offered good alternatives. The material we got as pre reading was very informative and on top a Guidebook for Tanzania. They also followed up with us to ensure we provided needed pre information like travel insurance.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by a traveller, 14 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Green safari

Wonderful lodge, good viewing and guiding,and food and drink. Lovely scenery, wildlife. Excellently and competitively organised.

Wonderful lodge, good viewing and guiding,and food and drink. Lovely scenery, wildlife. Excellently and competitively organised.

Rating for tour operator:

Profesional, competitive, helpful and friendly.

Tailor-made S. Tanzania Safari by RG, Chiddingfold, 22 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Expert Africa were, as usual, excellent in their advice, general efficiency and friendliness.

The holiday involved visiting two game parks (Ruaha and Selous) and a visit to Zanzibar. Total length of the trip was just short of three weeks.

The holiday involved visiting two game parks (Ruaha and Selous) and a visit to Zanzibar. Total length of the trip was just short of three weeks.

Rating for tour operator:

As already indicated, Expert Africa were knowledgeable, helpful and efficient.