AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 22
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 23
Reviews Accepted: 23
Reviews Rejected: 0
23 reviews
Sort by:
NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Dinosaur from Berkshire, 29 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Grand Driving Tour of Northern Spain

Great Holiday from start to finish. We took our own car via ferry to Santander and back from Bilbao. Then we drove 1500 miles around northern Spain staying at 7 hotels over a period of 18 days on a route recommended by our tour operator, Casas Cantabricas, with tours and attractions around each hotel area, recommended by them. This was from Santander south west via Santillana del Mar, Potes and Leon, to Ponferrada. Then North West to the coast ...

Great Holiday from start to finish. We took our own car via ferry to Santander and back from Bilbao. Then we drove 1500 miles around northern Spain staying at 7 hotels over a period of 18 days on a route recommended by our tour operator, Casas Cantabricas, with tours and attractions around each hotel area, recommended by them. This was from Santander south west via Santillana del Mar, Potes and Leon, to Ponferrada. Then North West to the coast at Puerto de Vega and back via Libardon to Bilbao. They also recommended a choice of restaurants in every place and on every route. We found these, without exception to be very good and great value. Every hotel and ferry was pre-booked to perfection.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas did a great job recommending a route through Northern Spain, which was subsequently refined by suggestions on both sides. They did all the bookings (Ferries and hotels) and subsequent confirmations which worked excellently on every occasion. They suggested alternative detailed routes between port and hotels and to the next hotel either scenic or speedy. They recommended tours and attractions in each location we stopped with great background information on each area. They recommended a choice of restaurants at every location, both near hotels or at likely stops on any tour or travel route. They have a great App with all the information available but for Dinosaurs like us they provided hard copies when requested. On the whole they provided a fabulous service which we would have no hesitation recomending to others

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 31 Aug 2017:

Thanks Alan, that's really made our day! So glad you had such a wonderful time in Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 31 Aug 2017:

Thanks from the whole team for those kind words. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Jim S, 14 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great Holiday

A very enjoyable 2 weeks in Northern Spain. Hotels were good on average. Some very good indeed. Some average quality but they made up for it by being friendly and quirky. Wonderful coastline. Friendly people

A very enjoyable 2 weeks in Northern Spain. Hotels were good on average. Some very good indeed. Some average quality but they made up for it by being friendly and quirky. Wonderful coastline. Friendly people

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, well organized. efficient

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Jul 2017:

Thanks Jim, we're glad you enjoyed your Grand Tour of northern Spain and got the most out of the individuality of our specially selected hotels!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Jul 2017:

Many thanks

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by The Happy Travellers, 11 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

The perfect 14 day tour

There is nothing, repeat nothing but excellence re this holiday. From our initial idea and phone conversation with CASAS Cantabricas to viewing the itinerary....to experiencing the tour, was a totally fantastic trip controlled by ourselves, which was important. The driving distances were just right......the Hotels are little gems.....the restaurants are exceptional (sea food to die for).....the wine (well what can one say).....the hospitality ...

There is nothing, repeat nothing but excellence re this holiday. From our initial idea and phone conversation with CASAS Cantabricas to viewing the itinerary....to experiencing the tour, was a totally fantastic trip controlled by ourselves, which was important. The driving distances were just right......the Hotels are little gems.....the restaurants are exceptional (sea food to die for).....the wine (well what can one say).....the hospitality is generous....the scenery beautiful......I'm now struggling to add anything else!!

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was to much trouble. Our conversations were all positive and they interpenetrated exactly our aspirations and requirements. A genuine company that cares for its clients.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 May 2017:

Well, Ian, what can we say except many, many thanks for those excellent comments! To say that it's made our day would be an understatement. Really most appreciated and we hope to hear from you again sometime in the future.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 12 May 2017:

Thanks - we really do you know...

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Mrs S B 16, 13 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Driving tour in northern Spain.

We spent two wonderful weeks visiting places we had chosen, staying in amazing hotels and sampling authentic Spain away from the crowds.

We spent two wonderful weeks visiting places we had chosen, staying in amazing hotels and sampling authentic Spain away from the crowds.

Rating for tour operator:

Using their website is straightforward. Their directions are clear and the suggestions for places to visit spot on because they had taken the trouble to find out our interests. There was one small issue at the start of the holiday, but the company are readily contactable and cleared the problem almost immediately. We would definitely recommend them.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2016:

Many thanks Sue, great to hear that you had such a fantastic time this year, revisiting old favourites and discovering new territories. Your tour diary has given us all a good laugh and it's so wonderful to see that you share our own enthusiasm for the region!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Mr S F 16, 13 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Never been to Northern Spain before- would definately return. Has everything- scenery, beaches, history and not geared to mass tourism which was lovely

Never been to Northern Spain before- would definately return. Has everything- scenery, beaches, history and not geared to mass tourism which was lovely

Rating for tour operator:

Selection of hotels brilliant with great variety

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 14 Sep 2016:

Thanks Stephen - so glad you first experience of northern Spain was so positive! Hope we'll see you again sometime in the future - we have many more hidden gems which we're sure you would enjoy!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Doctor G, 24 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

A well organised tour planned by Casa C

A self drive/own car tour of North Spain from the French border to the extreme west coast and back to Santander over approx. three weeks staying at nine small select hotels all planned by Andy McCulloch of Casa C.A to meet our quite exacting needs. A very useful personal App gave all the details of our tour with very accurate details on each hotel. A particular incident proved how supportive Casas were during our tour. One of the hotels suffered ...

A self drive/own car tour of North Spain from the French border to the extreme west coast and back to Santander over approx. three weeks staying at nine small select hotels all planned by Andy McCulloch of Casa C.A to meet our quite exacting needs. A very useful personal App gave all the details of our tour with very accurate details on each hotel. A particular incident proved how supportive Casas were during our tour. One of the hotels suffered a serious wildfire as we approached for our three night stop with them. We were turned away by firefighters. We called Andy who immediately found an alternative very nice hotel for two nights. Fortunately the fire affected hotel only suffered smoke damage and we were able to have the third night with them after strenuous efforts by the owner to get everything cleaned up and back to normal. Casa C's detailed pre-planning and support when required whilst on tour certainly encourage to use them for a fourth time to organise Spanish holidays for us.

Rating for tour operator:

Very approachable and listened to our ideas for our bespoke tour. Good communication skills and accurate planning. Very familiar with hotels he selected for us. Wide knowledge of the territory so was able to refine our initial ideas for a tour and provide a smooth running three week tour.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Aug 2016:

Thanks Geoff! So pleased that you had such a good time and glad to have been of help when you had the problem in Galicia.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Deeeemmmm, 26 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely excellent!!

Just completed a fabulous driving tour of northern Spain co-ordinated by Casas Cantabricas. A special thank you to Andy McCulloch who put together our itinerary and was very responsive to our requests for variances to the program. We really enjoyed our overnight stays in the Casas Rurales in the itinerary. They were generally family run and for us, much better than impersonal chain hotels. We will be in touch next year for our proposed trip ...

Just completed a fabulous driving tour of northern Spain co-ordinated by Casas Cantabricas. A special thank you to Andy McCulloch who put together our itinerary and was very responsive to our requests for variances to the program. We really enjoyed our overnight stays in the Casas Rurales in the itinerary. They were generally family run and for us, much better than impersonal chain hotels. We will be in touch next year for our proposed trip through Extremadura. Hasta Luego!!

Rating for tour operator:

Just completed a fabulous driving tour of northern Spain co-ordinated by Casas Cantabricas. A special thank you to Andy McCulloch who put together our itinerary and was very responsive to our requests for variances to the program. We really enjoyed our overnight stays in the Casas Rurales in the itinerary. They were generally family run and for us, much better than impersonal chain hotels. We will be in touch next year for our proposed trip through Extremadura. Hasta Luego!!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jul 2016:

Many thanks Des, great to hear that you had such a good holiday. Look forward to hearing from you again next year!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Yorkies, 27 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Grand tour of northern spain

We toured northern spain for 21 days visiting nine locations; from Rioja, through Castilla y Leon, to Galicia, then Asturias (including the Picos de Europa) and Cantabria and finishing in Bilbao and the Basque Coast. All the properties where we stayed where full of character and welcoming; giving an authentic flavour of each region. We met some lovely people who proactively assisted us in planning the limited time we had in each region to best ...

We toured northern spain for 21 days visiting nine locations; from Rioja, through Castilla y Leon, to Galicia, then Asturias (including the Picos de Europa) and Cantabria and finishing in Bilbao and the Basque Coast. All the properties where we stayed where full of character and welcoming; giving an authentic flavour of each region. We met some lovely people who proactively assisted us in planning the limited time we had in each region to best effect.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation of the holiday was excellent and the Vamoos App provided by Casas Cantabricas proved to be an essential practical partner to the smoothing running of our holiday throughout. We had never travelled to Northern Spain before and from the first telephone conversation we had with Casas Cantabricas we had the confidence that we were talking to people who genuinely loved this area of Spain; were thoroughly knowledgeable about the region and had an established network of small family owned 'hotels' which would suit the type of intimate experience we were looking for. We were confident we were working with a 'safe pair of hands' and this proved to be the case with this thouroughly enjoyable and interesting holiday.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 04 Jul 2016:

Thanks Chris - so glad you had such a nice time!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 04 Jul 2016:

That's wonderful Chris, thanks very much for your kind words and detailed feedback!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Keith and Lucy having fun the Jag!, 22 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic adventure with no dramas

We found out about Asturias in Time on line and having acquired a new car we decided a tour of the region would be best. I found Casas Cantabrias on the web and called him to give the charming owner, Andy, an idea of what we wanted to do and see. Well I was impressed with his knowledge of the region and the itinerary that he sent us was fantastic. Plymouth to Sanatander, 5 stops over 12 days - perfect and that is what it was. The hotels were ...

We found out about Asturias in Time on line and having acquired a new car we decided a tour of the region would be best. I found Casas Cantabrias on the web and called him to give the charming owner, Andy, an idea of what we wanted to do and see. Well I was impressed with his knowledge of the region and the itinerary that he sent us was fantastic. Plymouth to Sanatander, 5 stops over 12 days - perfect and that is what it was. The hotels were authentic, rustic, run by lovely people who were welcoming and charming. The empty roads are a delight to drive on and the extra advice as well as maps and books as well as Vamoos that Andy sent us were second to none! It was a fault free holiday in a region that mostly Spanish is spoken, completely authentic and missing the usual holiday maker you find elsewhere in resorts.

Rating for tour operator:

Thoroughly knowledgeable, absolutely on the pace, really good staff, excellent back up and very well organised. Excellent selection of hotels and a wonderful route

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 22 Jun 2016:

Thanks Keith that's wonderful - seems we really hit the mark!
We do like to think of our holidays as 'real travel' with the benefit of being at the same time short-haul, or even, as in your case 'no-fly' and it seems that would fit with your experience. It's really satisfying when it works out - most appreciated!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by PC, 21 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Tour of north spain

Enjoyable tour of part of northern Spain, staying in some interesting hotels. Autumn is good time of year to go as not too many other sightseers and good weather.

Enjoyable tour of part of northern Spain, staying in some interesting hotels. Autumn is good time of year to go as not too many other sightseers and good weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Heplful and knowledgeable about the north of Spain. Efficient instructions on finding hotels and useful website and restaurant guide.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 21 Oct 2015:

Thanks Pat, we're glad you liked the autumn here we think it's one of the best times to come.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 21 Oct 2015:

Many thanks again!