AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Casas Cantabricas

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain Traveller Reviews

Reviews of NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 22
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 23
Reviews Accepted: 23
Reviews Rejected: 0
23 reviews
Sort by:
NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Derek, 9 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain with Casas Cantabricas - first class holiday

Casas Cantabricas put together our itinerary from 3 of their tours. It met every requirement we had. The staff there were so friendly and helpful in organising the tour at the pre booking stage. The holiday itself was marvellous, hotels were great, journeys well planned with lots of excellent suggestions to see along the route. We had good rooms in all the hotels, nice cabins on Brittany Ferries and overall loved the whole trip. Casas Cantabricas ...

Casas Cantabricas put together our itinerary from 3 of their tours. It met every requirement we had. The staff there were so friendly and helpful in organising the tour at the pre booking stage. The holiday itself was marvellous, hotels were great, journeys well planned with lots of excellent suggestions to see along the route. We had good rooms in all the hotels, nice cabins on Brittany Ferries and overall loved the whole trip. Casas Cantabricas Vamoos app is also terrific, really useful.

Rating for tour operator:

I could not praise Casas Cantabricas highly enough. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff,. An absolute pleasure to deal with as they put together a personal itinerary for us and gave us a fantastic holiday

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 09 Jul 2019:

Thank you Derek & Elaine for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday discovering Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 09 Jul 2019:

Thank you again for your kind words, it's really appreciated.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by wing commander, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Incredible attention to dtail, fantastic service and amazing support

Andy McCulloch from Cassa Cantabricas listened well to our requirements and designed a superb driving holiday with beautifully detailed notes for the routes and hotels. we stayed in extraordinary hotels and if ever there were a problem, such as a dopey receptionist his team soon sorted her out.

Andy McCulloch from Cassa Cantabricas listened well to our requirements and designed a superb driving holiday with beautifully detailed notes for the routes and hotels. we stayed in extraordinary hotels and if ever there were a problem, such as a dopey receptionist his team soon sorted her out.

Rating for tour operator:

Amazing. Gave such good service. it was great just to be able to pick up the phone and speak to them.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thank you Gordon, we're glad you enjoyed your touring holiday discovering Northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thank you again for your comments, we're always happy to help!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by MalJon, 25 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Northern Spain - A Revelation - Thanks to Andy at Casa Cantabricas

18 days very easy motoring - just over 1000miles between 6 hotels. Travelled with friends and had a ball. Amazing variety of landscapes, hotels, beautiful sights, good food/wine and hotels ranging from boutique to charmingly rustic. One of our best holidays ever - we will return - soon.

18 days very easy motoring - just over 1000miles between 6 hotels. Travelled with friends and had a ball. Amazing variety of landscapes, hotels, beautiful sights, good food/wine and hotels ranging from boutique to charmingly rustic. One of our best holidays ever - we will return - soon.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy couldn't have done more. An example - arrived in Santander just 3 hours before the Liverpool v Spurs Champions League Final - we are Liverpool fans. Andy arranged for a taxi to be waiting at our hotel when we arrived and we were taken directly to a nearby bar where he had reserved a table right in front of the TV for food and drinks. A perfect evening - especially as Liverpool won! The Vamoos App containing all documents and loads of advice was invaluable.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thank you John, we're glad you enjoyed you Northern Spain holiday and found it a revelation!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thank you John, it's a pleasure to know we helped with the enjoyment of your holiday!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by cabut1, 20 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic tour of Northern Spain

Everything was perfect. The hotels, although all different, were lovely and the food in most was brilliant. Driving was not too tiring and the distances between hotels just about right. The mountain views, countryside and beaches were spectacular. I can't thank Casas Catabricas enough for everything and making our holiday so enjoyable.

Everything was perfect. The hotels, although all different, were lovely and the food in most was brilliant. Driving was not too tiring and the distances between hotels just about right. The mountain views, countryside and beaches were spectacular. I can't thank Casas Catabricas enough for everything and making our holiday so enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas have been brilliant and nothing has been too much trouble. All hotels were really good and the food where offered, was excellent. The route was beautiful and Casas were extremely helpful with our hotel accommodation in the last 3 hotels as I had a problem with my hip and needed ground floor rooms. I cannot recommend them enough and will certainly use them again.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Sep 2018:

Thank you Christine for your feedback, we're really happy you enjoyed the itinerary and enjoyed discovering Northern Spain with its magnificent geography, not to mention its superb food and wine!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 20 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your very kind words, they make all our efforts worthwhile.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Crystal , 16 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A self drive tour of northern Spain

We flew to Asturias airport, hired a car and then did a circular tour, staying at Puerto de Vega, Val de Silencio, Leon, Potes, Santillana de Mar and Libardon. The hotels were all booked for us by Casa Cantabricas and we were given detailed directions for travelling between each destination. It was a perfect mix of coast and mountains and the scenery was amazing. Les Picos de Europa has scenery to rival the Rockies! We particularly liked ...

We flew to Asturias airport, hired a car and then did a circular tour, staying at Puerto de Vega, Val de Silencio, Leon, Potes, Santillana de Mar and Libardon. The hotels were all booked for us by Casa Cantabricas and we were given detailed directions for travelling between each destination. It was a perfect mix of coast and mountains and the scenery was amazing. Les Picos de Europa has scenery to rival the Rockies! We particularly liked the fact that we seemed to be the only English people there.

Rating for tour operator:

The service provided by Casa Cantabricas was excellent. From the first contact, we received prompt and courteous replies to all our queries. Our holiday was tailored to fit all our requests/requirements and the information provided to assist us before and during our trip was detailed, interesting and extremely useful. We would highly recommend this tour operator.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Aug 2018:

Thank you Frances for your feedback, it's most appreciated. We're truly glad you enjoyed discovering the Northern Spanish region with its amazing scenery.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 17 Aug 2018:

Thank you again for your kind words, we're glad to see you found all our information useful. It makes it all worthwhile!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Jem, 17 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Tour of Northern Spain

Driving tour of Northern Spain using the ferry from Portsmouth. Three weeks with 7 hotel stops.

Driving tour of Northern Spain using the ferry from Portsmouth. Three weeks with 7 hotel stops.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organisation of the tour. Really helpful, made changes to their tour to suit us. Excellent information provided. Directions between locations and to hotels excellent also recommendations places to stop at en route. Lots of information on places of interest and restaurants. The Vamoos app was excellent. Our touring holiday couldn't be bettered.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you Jan for your feedback. We're happy to see you enjoyed your 3 weeks of discovering northern Spain.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 19 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your very kind words. It's great to see you've made the most of all the extras we provide and taken advantage of all our years of expertise.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by RoyK, 7 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic touring holiday in Northern Spain

We had a fantastic 3 week trip organised by Casas Cantabricas. Four of us took a car on the ferry from Portsmaouth to Santander to star the tour. We visited Santillana, Puerto de Vega, Betanoz, Santiago, Soutillo,Leon, Burgos and Bilbao. Stunning views of the Picos de Europe, attractive seaside villages and beautiful Cathedrals, monasteries and castles.

We had a fantastic 3 week trip organised by Casas Cantabricas. Four of us took a car on the ferry from Portsmaouth to Santander to star the tour. We visited Santillana, Puerto de Vega, Betanoz, Santiago, Soutillo,Leon, Burgos and Bilbao. Stunning views of the Picos de Europe, attractive seaside villages and beautiful Cathedrals, monasteries and castles.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas were wonderful. The advice, planning, organisation and information provided could not be faulted.The accommodation they booked for us was really outstanding with a variety of hotels, B&Bs farmhouses , monasteries etc. Great people to do business with.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 07 Nov 2017:

Thank you Roy for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed the wonderful region of Northern Spain with all its contrasts.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 07 Nov 2017:

Thank you again for your very kind words. It's always a pleasure to see our work is appreciated.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Jeremy C, 14 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic tour of Northern Spain. So many different experiences!

Three weeks touring Northern Spain from the French border, down to Rioja, then cross country west as far as Leon. Then back to the coast and the mountains working back east. A wonderful variety of experiences - from dramatic coastlines and beautiful beaches, through the mountains and gorges in the Picos and on to historic cities and grand cathedrals. On many occasions following the various Camino routes and at all times enjoying the excellent ...

Three weeks touring Northern Spain from the French border, down to Rioja, then cross country west as far as Leon. Then back to the coast and the mountains working back east. A wonderful variety of experiences - from dramatic coastlines and beautiful beaches, through the mountains and gorges in the Picos and on to historic cities and grand cathedrals. On many occasions following the various Camino routes and at all times enjoying the excellent food and wine of northern Spain.

Rating for tour operator:

Having tried for a number of years to organise a holiday in Northern Spain, I was delighted to come across Casas Cantabricas. My problem has been a lack of knowledge of the best areas to explore and places to base ourselves to take full advantage of what this region has to offer. The Casas Cantabricas website is full of great ideas and when I phoned to discuss what would work best for us, the team were happy to produce a tailored route based on their experience. Great value and included detailed mapping, regional information and advice plus a handy app which proved extremely useful on our journey. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 16 Oct 2017:

Thank you Jeremy, we're glad you had a fantastic time in Northern Spain and that you discovered all the great things the region has to offer.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 16 Oct 2017:

Thank you for your very kind words, we're always happy to help and it's superb to see our work is appreciated.

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Magpie1949, 29 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great Holiday with a Great Company

I picked Cassa Cantabricas at random from the internet and after speaking to them booked a car tour of Northern Spain which turned out to be superb. I explained what I wanted to do and they very promptly sent me a cost and itinerary along with hotel details. We spent 2 weeks touring, spending 2 nights in each hotel which gave time to stop and look at things on the way. First week we travelled along the coast which was a nice way to start and ...

I picked Cassa Cantabricas at random from the internet and after speaking to them booked a car tour of Northern Spain which turned out to be superb. I explained what I wanted to do and they very promptly sent me a cost and itinerary along with hotel details. We spent 2 weeks touring, spending 2 nights in each hotel which gave time to stop and look at things on the way. First week we travelled along the coast which was a nice way to start and visited several small towns along the way and beaches. From there to Santiago,through the mountains to Leon and back to Bilbao. Stayed in small family run 3 star hotels which were all excellent and had a really great holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

I had never used Cassa Cantabricas before but would certainly recommend them after the holiday. The attention to detail was excellent and nothing was a bother while we were planning. They provided maps and an excellent Vamos webb app which had everything from my itinerary to recommended restaurants. If I returned to Spain again I would not hesitate to use them again.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Sep 2017:

Thanks Trevor, that's really made our day!

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 29 Sep 2017:

Thanks for those comments and your call - that's really appreciated! It's so satisfying when people share our enthusiasm for our special small hotels and off-the-beaten track Spain!

NC6 Grand Tour of Northern Spain by Danny, 23 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

The Perfect Tour of Northern Spain

A wonderful trip encompassing the beautiful cities of Burgos, Salamanca and Leon with the second week on the dramatic coasts of Asturias and Cantabria. Staying in charming hotels over 3 and 4 nights giving us time to explore both the cities and the countryside.

A wonderful trip encompassing the beautiful cities of Burgos, Salamanca and Leon with the second week on the dramatic coasts of Asturias and Cantabria. Staying in charming hotels over 3 and 4 nights giving us time to explore both the cities and the countryside.

Rating for tour operator:

Casas Cantabricas arranged the road trip tailored to our specification perfectly. They were always friendly and helpful, their supporting documentation and guides were excellent and everything went exactly as planned.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Sep 2017:

Thanks so much Robert, we're very happy you had such a lovely holiday in Northern Spain and enjoyed all the contrasts the region has to offer.

Casas Cantabricas responded to this review on 25 Sep 2017:

Thank you for your kind words, it's really appreciated.