AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

West Highland Line to Skye Traveller Reviews

Reviews of West Highland Line to Skye

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 33
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 33
Reviews Accepted: 33
Reviews Rejected: 0
33 reviews
Sort by:
West Highland Line to Skye by Sisters trip to Skye, 11 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Superbly planned trip to the Isle of Skye by train

The holiday was to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday and the companies knowledge and expertise produced a wonderful and very memorable trip.

The holiday was to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday and the companies knowledge and expertise produced a wonderful and very memorable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

I can’t actually remember the brief I gave to McKinlay Kiidd, but the results way exceeded my expectations!

West Highland Line to Skye by tommy g, 25 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

jacobite express holiday

really enjoyable break through scotland on the jacobite express

really enjoyable break through scotland on the jacobite express

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd organised our holiday and it was excellent. The whole thing ran like clockwork and we had a great time

West Highland Line to Skye by Annie, 10 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent arrangements by McKinley Kidd meant we didn't have to worry about details and could relax and enjoy the beautiful west coast of Scotland.

We enjoyed reaxing, scenic train journeys, including a trip on the Jacobite steam train. 3 nights in two well-chosen hotels were arranged as part of the trip.

We enjoyed reaxing, scenic train journeys, including a trip on the Jacobite steam train. 3 nights in two well-chosen hotels were arranged as part of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd were extremely helpful before our trip - we were delighted with our 'holiday information' packs - they even included 'real' paper maps! There was also a very useful (and easy to use)app.

West Highland Line to Skye by Margot, 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

unusual and great

Our first night was in Fort William, with a view of Ben Nevis out the hotel window and haggis in the mash at supper. Then we took the Jacobite stream train, seeing dozens of trainspotters as we crossed the famous gully from the Harry Potter movies. People on Skye extremely friendly and trip was very well organized.

Our first night was in Fort William, with a view of Ben Nevis out the hotel window and haggis in the mash at supper. Then we took the Jacobite stream train, seeing dozens of trainspotters as we crossed the famous gully from the Harry Potter movies. People on Skye extremely friendly and trip was very well organized.

Rating for tour operator:

McKInlay Kidd. Would travel with them again in a heartbeat -- and I've always avoided organized tours.

West Highland Line to Skye by CAB, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful holiday in every detail!

My friend and I booked the West Highland Line to Skye trip with McKinlay Kidd. We couldn't have asked for a more helpful, caring company to work with. Our experience with McKinlay Kidd from initial inquiry to their kindness and attention when we stopped in their Glasgow office to retrieve our travel packet, and through the trip itself, was more than we would have expected or hoped for! Every detail was taken care of as if we were the only ...

My friend and I booked the West Highland Line to Skye trip with McKinlay Kidd. We couldn't have asked for a more helpful, caring company to work with. Our experience with McKinlay Kidd from initial inquiry to their kindness and attention when we stopped in their Glasgow office to retrieve our travel packet, and through the trip itself, was more than we would have expected or hoped for! Every detail was taken care of as if we were the only people and the only holiday they were organizing! Every accommodation was lovely and comfortable, every person we had contact with was exceptionally kind and friendly. We loved the train ride, especially the Jacobite Steam Train portion, and we had our own private tour guide (Peggy) on Skye who asked, "Where do you want to go?" She was a delight, and Skye was magical. The McKinlay people offered for one of their guides to meet us at our Glasgow accommodation and accompany us to the train station, which was under construction. This gave us peace of mind since we were not understanding that the holiday was not a group event and that we were not being met at the train by a tour guide and others taking the same trip (our misunderstanding, but something to be sure to clear up if it makes a difference). We were just as happy to be on our own since every detail was taken care of and spelled out, and we were met at our various destinations and whisked away in comfort! We highly recommend the McKinlay Kidd organization as well as this particular holiday. Our only regret is that we did not book more excursions with McKinlay Kidd while in Scotland! We will be sure to do so when we look at future travels.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd owners and staff are wonderful to work with. They indeed went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable and well taken care of in every aspect of our trip, from quickly responding to our initial online inquiries, to booking the holiday itself, to ensuring we were comfortable getting to our train when we apparently appeared nervous about finding our way through the maze of the Glasgow station construction! Though so much goes into the detail of such holidays, it all went so exceedingly smoothly due to the excellent planning and preparation by the McKinlay staff and each associate they work with out in the field. They seamlessly handled such things as informing us quickly of changes in the train and ferry schedules due to construction and weather, making sure we received the messages and that all was well. In other words, they don't just book us into the trip and send us on our way, they are there in the background throughout the journey. My friend and I have each traveled extensively over the years and agree that McKinlay Kidd proved to be a most exceptional tour company.

West Highland Line to Skye by Ms N F 19, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Trains, Whisky, Gorgeous Scenery

I chose the West Highlands and Skye itinerary. Maps, brochures, all the details and most important my train and ferry tickets were delivered to my hotel the night before. The McKinlay-Kidd folks acted as a skilled concierge, arranging everything, so that this novice solo traveler had no problem with taxis ferries, trains, hotels and the lovely tour of Skye! And the highlands by train was spectacular! I enjoyed great food and drink, friendly hosts...

I chose the West Highlands and Skye itinerary. Maps, brochures, all the details and most important my train and ferry tickets were delivered to my hotel the night before. The McKinlay-Kidd folks acted as a skilled concierge, arranging everything, so that this novice solo traveler had no problem with taxis ferries, trains, hotels and the lovely tour of Skye! And the highlands by train was spectacular! I enjoyed great food and drink, friendly hosts. I ;loved being so carefree in such lovely settings.

Rating for tour operator:

James, the driver on the Isle of Skye was had a real sense of what life in that part of Scotland is all about, We enjoyed not only the scenery, but also personal stories, history, landscape, lifestyles.

West Highland Line to Skye by LADY JANE , 27 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Highlands and Isle of Skye Quick tour

Our short break to the Highlands of Scotland and the Isle of Skye was well organised from the moment we booked. We were taken care of every step of the way. The tour took us first to a beautiful location in the Highlands overlooking Ben Nevis. We travelled on the Jacobite steam train through the Highlands and then took the ferry to Skye where we stayed in a wonderful hotel. We had an amazing tour of Skye with the legendary Donald. We were ...

Our short break to the Highlands of Scotland and the Isle of Skye was well organised from the moment we booked. We were taken care of every step of the way. The tour took us first to a beautiful location in the Highlands overlooking Ben Nevis. We travelled on the Jacobite steam train through the Highlands and then took the ferry to Skye where we stayed in a wonderful hotel. We had an amazing tour of Skye with the legendary Donald. We were looked after all the way and checked on regularly by our tour operator to make sure all was as it should be. Overall a very enjoyable short break.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd Ltd were great from the start. The app they provided was really great and was very helpful and useful to use when out and about and also in the lead up to the short break. They phoned us and emailed us with information regarding trains and to check we had made our connections. We were impressed with McKinlay Kidd and would definitely use them again when considering any future holiday.

West Highland Line to Skye by Abby, 22 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Line to Skye by train with 2 days in Edinburgh

Tour by train from Glasgow through the highlands to the isle of Skye. Rode on the Jacobite Steam Train, Tour of Skye by car and 2 days in Edinburgh at the end.

Tour by train from Glasgow through the highlands to the isle of Skye. Rode on the Jacobite Steam Train, Tour of Skye by car and 2 days in Edinburgh at the end.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was the tour operator. The service was excellent. The hotels were wonderful and interesting, not places that we would have found on our own. There was a problem with one of the trains because of extreme weather and flooding, our tour operator did everything they could to mitigate that circumstance.

Reviewer's images:
West Highland Line to Skye by Pete, 19 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

MacKinlay Kidd West Highland Line to Skye

My wife and I traveled with another couple and all had a wonderful time. Accommodations were clean and comfortable and the food was great. Our tour guide for our day excursion was terrific; knowledgeable, flexible, and had a great sense of humor.

My wife and I traveled with another couple and all had a wonderful time. Accommodations were clean and comfortable and the food was great. Our tour guide for our day excursion was terrific; knowledgeable, flexible, and had a great sense of humor.

Rating for tour operator:

MacKinlay Kidd was great...easy to work with, communicative and did everything they promised.

West Highland Line to Skye by Chris, 15 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Scottish highlands and Skye

Delightful scenery and well organised rail itinerary.. Tour of Skye was made interesting by the taxi driver in spite of the poor weather.

Delightful scenery and well organised rail itinerary.. Tour of Skye was made interesting by the taxi driver in spite of the poor weather.

Rating for tour operator:

We had numerous discussions with them - they were always very helpful and made requested changes without any difficulty