AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 82
Good 5
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 92
Reviews Accepted: 92
Reviews Rejected: 0
92 reviews
Sort by:
Gentle Walking Sri Lanka by Big Tony, 13 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walking Sri Lanka

The trip was well organised from beginning to end. The content was varied and interesting and we were accompanied by an excellent guide who went to great lengths to ensure that every member of our small group (11) had a good experience.

The trip was well organised from beginning to end. The content was varied and interesting and we were accompanied by an excellent guide who went to great lengths to ensure that every member of our small group (11) had a good experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was Mountain Kingdoms. This is the second time we have travelled with them and on both occasions the holiday has been well organised and fully met our expectations.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Mar 2017:

Excellent!! Many thanks for the review..........

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Mar 2017:

Great, and hope you travel with us again

Golden Trails of Burma by Mr P S 17, 3 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma

A comprehensive experience of life in Myanmar covering it's history and present day challenges. An excellent itinerary giving an opportunity to see sights of major importance along with walking trips allowing us to see villagers engaged in everyday life.

A comprehensive experience of life in Myanmar covering it's history and present day challenges. An excellent itinerary giving an opportunity to see sights of major importance along with walking trips allowing us to see villagers engaged in everyday life.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms provide a well thought out itinerary along with a comprehensive Trip Dossier backed up with good back office support and excellent on the ground guides.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2017:

Yes, many thanks for your comments ......... one of our most popular walking holidays.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2017:

Many thanks for your kind comments

Mountain Kingdoms by Mrs C H 17, 27 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

This trip exceeded our expectations - brilliant.

2 weeks of very varied experiences focusing on the wildlife and unspoilt, rural side of Sri Lanka.

2 weeks of very varied experiences focusing on the wildlife and unspoilt, rural side of Sri Lanka.

Rating for tour operator:

We will definitely look at other trekking trips organised by Mountain Kingdoms.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Great to hear this! Many thanks.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Excellent! That's what I like to hear!!

Golden Trails of Burma by Mazda , 23 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma

13 day fully escorted private trip.Visited all the main sites including Viaduct,cruise on river ,walks on 5 days which we were able to visit local people and villages and see the varied crops grown. An excellent trip and we were well look after by the guide and support staff. Would recommend the trip

13 day fully escorted private trip.Visited all the main sites including Viaduct,cruise on river ,walks on 5 days which we were able to visit local people and villages and see the varied crops grown. An excellent trip and we were well look after by the guide and support staff. Would recommend the trip

Rating for tour operator:

Gave us lots of useful information prior to trip and itinerary was well planned and varied.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Many thanks for these comments. Burma is such a 'dreamy' place. I must go back there myself before too long!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Many thanks for your endorsement

Mountain Kingdoms by A Shropshire Lass, 15 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience trekking around the Annapurna Circuit

After one night in Katmandu, we drove over to start our 17 day trek around the beautiful Annapurnas. Every day brings fresh challenges and different views of the snow-capped peaks as we ascend to the Thorong-La at over 17,000feet. The return journey was equally fascinating as we trekked through a variety of terrains from bleak rocky uplands, alongside a wide expanse of river-bed, through lush forests and cultivated hill farms. We met many friendly ...

After one night in Katmandu, we drove over to start our 17 day trek around the beautiful Annapurnas. Every day brings fresh challenges and different views of the snow-capped peaks as we ascend to the Thorong-La at over 17,000feet. The return journey was equally fascinating as we trekked through a variety of terrains from bleak rocky uplands, alongside a wide expanse of river-bed, through lush forests and cultivated hill farms. We met many friendly Nepalese villagers and felt humbled by their lifestyle making the most of little resources. Back in the bustling city of Katmandu, we relaxed in the aptly named Shangri-La Hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 2nd trek I've chosen Mountain Kingdoms. I have every confidence in the way they provide top quality Reps and Sherpa guides who are most attentive to the welfare of their clients. The itineraries are well-thought out and the administration is very efficient. They make sure that the staff involved with their operations are well protected. They respect the customs & culture of the countries visited. Mountain Kingdoms is expanding its operations but they still seem to provide a personal service. I can empathize with their aims.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Feb 2017:

Excellent!! Another person who has fallen in love with Nepal then! Wonderful.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Feb 2017:

Thank you Mrs Davies - that's how I see it too. Steve Berry.

Gentle Walking Bhutan by Kaytoo, 13 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walking in Bhutan

A great two weeks spent exploring Bhutan with a great guide--Karma.This is my third visit to Bhutan and I was happy to be seeing new places. Everything went to plan and both Guide and Driver could not do enough to ensure we were well cared for.We had some super "spontaneous" experiences----came across the semi-final of an Archery competition; a darts match; and even met and spoke to the King!! Also stumbled upon a Buddhist ceremony involving ...

A great two weeks spent exploring Bhutan with a great guide--Karma.This is my third visit to Bhutan and I was happy to be seeing new places. Everything went to plan and both Guide and Driver could not do enough to ensure we were well cared for.We had some super "spontaneous" experiences----came across the semi-final of an Archery competition; a darts match; and even met and spoke to the King!! Also stumbled upon a Buddhist ceremony involving a bonfire and firecrackers. The walking was challenging, being at altitude, but there was always an alternative if you couldn't or didn't want to walk.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms organisation is first rate. From booking we were given all the information necessary to ensure we were well prepared for the trip. Everything went to plan, we were met and transported with no waiting around. Comfortable hotels and transport and information given at every point.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Jan 2017:

Excellent! So you met the king ........ lucky you!! Karma Tenzing is usually my Guide, so I know you had one of the best. Glad you had a great time

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Jan 2017:

That's what I like to hear. Many thanks for your feedback

Golden Trails of Burma by Mrs T A 16, 5 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma (Myanmar)

Brilliantly organised, fantastic friendly local guide, gorgeous people. A truly wonderful experience.

Brilliantly organised, fantastic friendly local guide, gorgeous people. A truly wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Dec 2016:

Excellent! Yes, this is one of our most popular trips

Mountain Kingdoms by R, 28 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Super trek in Nepal

We had a superb time on the Manaslu circuit. We were well looked after and the arrangements worked brilliantly.

We had a superb time on the Manaslu circuit. We were well looked after and the arrangements worked brilliantly.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain kingdoms organisation is first rate. The companies they use in Nepal were all responsible and attentive to our needs.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2016:

Excellent! I think - sad about the demise of the Annapurna Circuit, long live the Manaslu Circuit

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2016:

Great, thanks for this feedback!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Mr GR, 22 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Three High Passes of Everest

This was my first trek at High Altitude - and it was exactly as they described , as strenuous. But thoroughly enjoyable. The two guides were superb and made sure we were able to get the most out of the three weeks. Their experience, knowledge, skill and care for us all in the party was exceptional,aided by by their lovely sense of humour. It was obvious from the looks on other trekkers' faces in the Tea Houses that they were envious of the way ...

This was my first trek at High Altitude - and it was exactly as they described , as strenuous. But thoroughly enjoyable. The two guides were superb and made sure we were able to get the most out of the three weeks. Their experience, knowledge, skill and care for us all in the party was exceptional,aided by by their lovely sense of humour. It was obvious from the looks on other trekkers' faces in the Tea Houses that they were envious of the way were were looked after. The Shangri-La hotel in Kathmandu was excellent, both staff and facilities.

Rating for tour operator:

First rate! All arrangements went exactly as described in their brochure (to some extent this is in the 'lap of the gods' as weather can play a large part in this, but the guides would have dealt with any difficulties) from being met at the airport at Kathmandu on arrival to (reluctantly!) leaving to come home. Staff excellent. The brochure giving advice on what to take, how to prepare etc was very detailed and helpful. All contact with staff at the office prior to departure was efficient and friendly.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Nov 2016:

Great feedback - thanks Gordon!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Nov 2016:

Again many thanks for this Gordon!!

Definitive Cultural Tour Tibet by Lizw , 15 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Cultural highlights of Bhutan and Tibet

Expensive holiday but worth every penny. 2 bucket list destinations that met all expectations. Very full itineraries with little individual exploration time, but in locations like this you need to see everything in one hit. Great detailed itinerary pack supplied by MK so we knew each day what was happening. If the tour guide missed something one day we saw it the next day. Extremely knowledgeable tour guide in Bhutan who was a storyteller ...

Expensive holiday but worth every penny. 2 bucket list destinations that met all expectations. Very full itineraries with little individual exploration time, but in locations like this you need to see everything in one hit. Great detailed itinerary pack supplied by MK so we knew each day what was happening. If the tour guide missed something one day we saw it the next day. Extremely knowledgeable tour guide in Bhutan who was a storyteller as well as a historian. Beautiful country with amazing temples and the top being The Tiger Nest. I lost 3 pounds in weight due to eating healthy vegetables and rice and walking miles. Tibet was more road travelling and built up areas. The tour was less free as we had to have a security guard who monitored the tour guide. Lots of security checks on the road. The Potala Palace was rushed due to the tour guide only having 1 hour per group to show us around which was disappointing. We did stay in a Tibetan hotel which was fabulous. I would without a doubt use Mountain Kingdoms again and highly recommend them.. Several other members of the tour had been on a few more holidays with them and constantly praised them..

Rating for tour operator:

Organised, informative and approachable

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 15 Nov 2016:

Love this feedback .........many thanks indeed

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 15 Nov 2016:

Again many thanks for your praise!