AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 681
Good 21
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 702
Reviews Accepted: 702
Reviews Rejected: 0
702 reviews
Sort by:
Coast to Coast by Pedro, 29 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

St Bees to Kirkby Stephen - a six day walk through the Lakes

Our party of two completed the first part of the Coast to Coast route over six days in September. The route information and the standard of accommodation booked by Mickledore were excellent. The daily mileage was easily manageable and the inclusion of various alternative routes was well thought out.

Our party of two completed the first part of the Coast to Coast route over six days in September. The route information and the standard of accommodation booked by Mickledore were excellent. The daily mileage was easily manageable and the inclusion of various alternative routes was well thought out.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore offered a personal service and did their utmost to meet our requirements. The standard of accommodation they booked was very good and the information provided was comprehensive and was delivered on a timely basis.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk. Thanks for your great feedback. We would love to welcome you back for the second half of your coast to coast adventure.
Sue

West Highland Way by Jules , 24 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Couldn’t fault it

First time we’ve done a walking holiday. Easy to book , quick response to emails etc. Everything went like clockwork. Loved the amount of info we received, the map guidebook etc. Would definitely recommend .

First time we’ve done a walking holiday. Easy to book , quick response to emails etc. Everything went like clockwork. Loved the amount of info we received, the map guidebook etc. Would definitely recommend .

Rating for tour operator:

Great. Friendly helpful prompt service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your first walking holiday. The West Highland Way is a lovely route to follow. We hope to welcome you back for another adventure soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Nigel H, 23 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Went exactly as planned

Mickledore tailored our Cleveland way walking holiday to our requirements. Everything went exactly to plan.

Mickledore tailored our Cleveland way walking holiday to our requirements. Everything went exactly to plan.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore sent us a very comprehensive pack, with all the information we could possibly want, in any circumstance. We also had positive unsolicited feedback on them from several of the hosts in our B&Bs, and had there been any issues, I’m confident Mickledore would have sorted them out.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

Thank you for your great feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and found the information that we sent to be helpful. We would love to welcome you back for your next walking adventure.
Sue

Dales Way by Great walk, fantastic scenery, 22 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Great walk and scenery all the way

Great walking holiday, everything was spot on

Great walking holiday, everything was spot on

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

Thanks for your feedback. It's lovey to hear that the arrangements we made for your holiday helped you to have a great time.
Sue

Dales Way by Chloe, 18 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Great all round

We walked The Dales Way and accommodation, route and luggage transfer was organised by Mickledore.

We walked The Dales Way and accommodation, route and luggage transfer was organised by Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

The holiday was well organised and Mickledore were easy to deal with. The recommendations of places to eat was particularly helpful and all the information they gave us was useful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

Thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you found the information we sent in your holiday pack to be useful and had a lovely time on your walk.
Sue

South Downs Way by PKB, 14 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

The South Downs Way

The level of organisation by Mickledore is second to none. You are provided with Places to Eat in the evening. A comprehensive list of Banks and Cash-points together with a list of Shops, Post Offices, Tourist Information Centres, Cafes and possible lunch stops. Should you need a Hospitals, GP surgery or Pharmacy, they are listed too alongside the location of Public Toilets and all local Taxi Companies in the areas you will be walking. All ...

The level of organisation by Mickledore is second to none. You are provided with Places to Eat in the evening. A comprehensive list of Banks and Cash-points together with a list of Shops, Post Offices, Tourist Information Centres, Cafes and possible lunch stops. Should you need a Hospitals, GP surgery or Pharmacy, they are listed too alongside the location of Public Toilets and all local Taxi Companies in the areas you will be walking. All this information is available via an app so you don't have to carry volumes of paper around with you. They really have taken all the worry out of the planning and as for the views on the SDW - Stunning!

Rating for tour operator:

We used Mickledore for the entire 100 mile walk, but wanted to tailor it to our own needs. They were brilliant in meeting our requirements and went to great lengths organising the holiday and making changes as and when required. COVID stopped us finishing the walk in 2019 but we were offered a refund or allowed them to hold our deposit till we could complete the walk. Successfully completed this September 2021. We are now considering another holiday with them. You feel in safe hands with Mickledore.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

Thanks for your lovely comments about our holidays and the work of our team. We were delighted to arrange for you to complete your walk and it is great to hear how much you enjoyed it.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Human, 6 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Rewarding

Walking Hadrians Wall was a great experience. You feel like you have achieved something and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys walking.

Walking Hadrians Wall was a great experience. You feel like you have achieved something and we would recommend it to anyone who enjoys walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised every aspect of our holiday so we had nothing to worry about. Everything ran like clockwork and the accommodation on each night was of a high standard; all different types of accommodation which added to our holiday experience.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that the arrangements we made allowed you to walk without worry. We would love to welcome you back for further adventures in the future. Thanks for your feedback.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by JulieH, 31 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Amazing experience

We walked the Hadrian's Wall Path trail organised by Mickledore and it was excellent. The whole experience exceeded our expectations. We loved the bonhomie with our fellow walkers, the scenery, the honesty places and arriving at our accommodation for that warm welcome , cold drink and warm shower.

We walked the Hadrian's Wall Path trail organised by Mickledore and it was excellent. The whole experience exceeded our expectations. We loved the bonhomie with our fellow walkers, the scenery, the honesty places and arriving at our accommodation for that warm welcome , cold drink and warm shower.

Rating for tour operator:

The organisation was superb, everything ran like clock work. We booked with relative short notice but this was no problem to Mickledore. The accommodation was good and well situated for the path. The couple of occasions that it wasn't, we used the taxi service recommended by the company. This again was reliable. All interaction was helpful and professional. We met fellow walkers who were also walking with Mickledore and all had the same experience.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is fantastic to hear that your experience exceeded expectations and that you enjoyed chatting with fellow walkers as you went along.
Sue

St Cuthberts Way by Cuddy, 29 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Glorious

Walking the St Cuthbert's Way with very good weather.

Walking the St Cuthbert's Way with very good weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient service. Initial inquiry received a quick response. All the accommodation was booked and information with full details of the walk and available services along the way was very helpful and thorough. Everything worked smoothly including taxi transfers to accommodation that was some distance from the walking route.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you had a glorious experience on your walk and had such good weather for your holiday.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Epidural , 28 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Amazing we had a blast!!

We walked the coastal highlights of the Cleveland way, for our friends 60th birthday & absolutely loved it! Stunning scenery, great walking- really well sign posted. Met lots of interesting and entertaining people along the way! The organisation from mickledore was excellent , all accommodation was of a good standard. Breakfasts in all accommodation amazing catering for different dietary needs. Friendly hosts in all accommodation the welcome ...

We walked the coastal highlights of the Cleveland way, for our friends 60th birthday & absolutely loved it! Stunning scenery, great walking- really well sign posted. Met lots of interesting and entertaining people along the way! The organisation from mickledore was excellent , all accommodation was of a good standard. Breakfasts in all accommodation amazing catering for different dietary needs. Friendly hosts in all accommodation the welcome from all staff at the spa hotel in saltburn to heather at Raven house in robin hoods bay and Jeremy at the sea field guest house who managed to book us into a cocktail bar and restaurant at very short notice .

Rating for tour operator:

Attentive to our requests, flexible with dates, excellent communication throughout booking. Provided detailed information about the walk, friendly and approachable. Can’t fault them in any way and wouldn’t hesitate to book with them again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 30 Aug 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments about your friendly accommodation hosts and the work of our team. It is lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your walk.
Sue