AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 832
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 854
Reviews Accepted: 854
Reviews Rejected: 0
854 reviews
Sort by:
Cotswold Way by Kees, 23 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great walking in the Cotswaldway

Mickledore walking vacation

Mickledore walking vacation

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is great

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your lovely comment about the work of our team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Tracey , 22 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Repeat Customer Thinks Mickledore Travel Does a Great Job!

I have used Mickledore Travel for my 2019 self-guided walking tour on the Thames Path and again in 2022 for a similar trip, 7-days duration, on the Cotswold Round. Mickledore is not a high-tech operation (no apps will guide you on your route) and this was no problem on the Thames Path. The materials they relied on for the Cotswold Round trip were a little more difficult to follow on some days, but overall, these holidays are very enjoyable ...

I have used Mickledore Travel for my 2019 self-guided walking tour on the Thames Path and again in 2022 for a similar trip, 7-days duration, on the Cotswold Round. Mickledore is not a high-tech operation (no apps will guide you on your route) and this was no problem on the Thames Path. The materials they relied on for the Cotswold Round trip were a little more difficult to follow on some days, but overall, these holidays are very enjoyable and I am very satisfied with the services Mickledore Travel has provided me.

Rating for tour operator:

Well, Mickledore Travel offers self-guided walking tours, providing you with the route, lodging, and baggage transfer. I was my own "tour operator".

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your feedback. For a self-guided holiday you do need to follow the guidebook and on some routes use the maps provided in our holiday packs. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and the accommodations that we chose for your overnight stops.
Sue

South Downs Way by Bostdiek, 14 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Walking Holiday

I booked a week-long walking holiday in the English South Downs through Mickledore, and I couldn't have been happier! I will definitely book through them again.

I booked a week-long walking holiday in the English South Downs through Mickledore, and I couldn't have been happier! I will definitely book through them again.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is fantastic.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Nov 2022:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk. Thank you for your kind comments about the work of our team. We would love to arrange another adventure for you in future.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Mickledore Fife Coastal walk, 13 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore excels again

Well organised, a great walk in parts

Well organised, a great walk in parts

Rating for tour operator:

everything worked as planned

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that our customer service was excellent. We would be delighted to arrange another adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by John, 7 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

6 day hike along Hardian's Wall Path

Flawless planning from Mickledore for this trek with transport of luggage, charming housing along the way, dining recommendations, and support for other odds and ends as well as emergency numbers in case anything went wrong (it didn't!).

Flawless planning from Mickledore for this trek with transport of luggage, charming housing along the way, dining recommendations, and support for other odds and ends as well as emergency numbers in case anything went wrong (it didn't!).

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel was spot on in recommendations and making arrangements.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Nov 2022:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad that the information in your holiday pack was helpful for you.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Janek, 1 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore, Hadrian’s Wall Path

All of the accommodation was clean, warm, comfortable, quiet, with hot showers and friendly, flexible and helpful owners. The breakfasts were tasty and varied and the packed lunches were all substantial. My favourite places to eat were Riley’s Fish Shack in Tynemouth, the Black Bull in Corbridge and the Twice Brewed Inn in Once Brewed.

All of the accommodation was clean, warm, comfortable, quiet, with hot showers and friendly, flexible and helpful owners. The breakfasts were tasty and varied and the packed lunches were all substantial. My favourite places to eat were Riley’s Fish Shack in Tynemouth, the Black Bull in Corbridge and the Twice Brewed Inn in Once Brewed.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent: responsive and helpful at every step.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 15 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your great feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk with us.
Sue

Cotswold Way by 2 m.p.h. walker., 1 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Cotswold Way.

Second time walking with Mickeldore with our first time walking Hadrian's Wall a few years ago. All accommodation was booked by them and waiting for our arrival each night, all 3* or better. I would not walk with any other company now. Quality counts. We could not walk before October as this route is now so popular surprisingly by Americans.

Second time walking with Mickeldore with our first time walking Hadrian's Wall a few years ago. All accommodation was booked by them and waiting for our arrival each night, all 3* or better. I would not walk with any other company now. Quality counts. We could not walk before October as this route is now so popular surprisingly by Americans.

Rating for tour operator:

All booked via telephone and e-mail with the credit card being used for payment. We have never met in person.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your feedback. If you are in Keswick feel free to call in at the office, we would love to meet you. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue

Cleveland Way by LWalker, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great walking tour on the Cleveland Way

Mickledore did a terrific job counseling us on which walk would work for our group, sending us all the info we needed (maps, local restaurants, emergency contacts, etc), booking terrific accommodations, and arranging for baggage transfers.

Mickledore did a terrific job counseling us on which walk would work for our group, sending us all the info we needed (maps, local restaurants, emergency contacts, etc), booking terrific accommodations, and arranging for baggage transfers.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and prompt service, excellent information, kind and thoughtful flexibility. They bore with our changes in the planning stage with great patience and helpfulness.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Oct 2022:

I am delighted that you all enjoyed your walk. It is great to receive your feedback and thank you for your kind and helpful comments.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Dan, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding hike along Hadrian's Wall

I booked a 5-day supported hike along Hadrian's Wall with Mickeldore. They booked lodging, arranged luggage transport, and provided itinerary, guidebook, and maps. It was a great experience - amazing scenery and fascinating Roman ruins.

I booked a 5-day supported hike along Hadrian's Wall with Mickeldore. They booked lodging, arranged luggage transport, and provided itinerary, guidebook, and maps. It was a great experience - amazing scenery and fascinating Roman ruins.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was great. Prompt and thorough, all the accommodations were top-notch, and my luggage was transferred reliably and promptly.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Oct 2022:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the historical interest of this trail. Thank you for your great feedback.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Fox, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

beautifully exhausting and inspiring

(With one of my children) I explored the Cotswold started at Cleeve Hill & walked towards Birdlip that was beautiful but exhausting as well, it didn't stop raining and some parts were slippery and steep. Amazing views. A real adventure. Next day to Painswick seeing lots of forest animals hiding in the autumn leaves. Warm welcome, meal and good conversations in Annes b&b, with guests from all over the world. This memory will stay forever.

(With one of my children) I explored the Cotswold started at Cleeve Hill & walked towards Birdlip that was beautiful but exhausting as well, it didn't stop raining and some parts were slippery and steep. Amazing views. A real adventure. Next day to Painswick seeing lots of forest animals hiding in the autumn leaves. Warm welcome, meal and good conversations in Annes b&b, with guests from all over the world. This memory will stay forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Always open to ask any questions and thinking with me.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Oct 2022:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your walk even with the less than perfect weather.
Sue