AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 751
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 773
Reviews Accepted: 773
Reviews Rejected: 0
773 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Elina, 27 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wide skies and roaring waves

I walked from St.Ives to Penzance along the South West Coast Path. Went through villages like Zennor,Pendeen,St,Just,Sennen,Porthcurno Mousehole and Newlyn. The path takes you out on the cliffedges,steep up and downs through gorse and wildflowers. You see a lot of seabirds and sunbathing seals resting on the beaches.

I walked from St.Ives to Penzance along the South West Coast Path. Went through villages like Zennor,Pendeen,St,Just,Sennen,Porthcurno Mousehole and Newlyn. The path takes you out on the cliffedges,steep up and downs through gorse and wildflowers. You see a lot of seabirds and sunbathing seals resting on the beaches.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provides you with everything you need for a stressfree holiday. Guidebook and map and an informationpack with all kinds of usefull information. They book your B&B’s and take care of transporting your luggage to your next destination. The B&B’s have all been of high standard.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk along the fabulous South West Coast Path. Thank you for your great feedback.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Hans, 27 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Easy walking along the Thames.

In 2019 we walked in five days from the Source to Oxford and this year from Oxford to Henley in sunny weather. It is great to walk through the meadows, sometimes woodland, pretty towns, old churches and all those locks with kind volunteers. The accommodations and restaurants were quite good and with the lovely English ambiance.

In 2019 we walked in five days from the Source to Oxford and this year from Oxford to Henley in sunny weather. It is great to walk through the meadows, sometimes woodland, pretty towns, old churches and all those locks with kind volunteers. The accommodations and restaurants were quite good and with the lovely English ambiance.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was well organized and in time. The communication was easy.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that there was a lot to look at along the way.Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Jnet, 27 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Another fantastic holiday thanks to Mickeldore

Our most recent Mickeldore holiday was a walking holiday following the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness. A fantastic route through the Scottish Highlands from the West coast to the East. Mickeldore booked us into various B and Bs, guesthouses and hotels along the way and arranged baggage transfer. This meant we could enjoy our daily walk with a light rucksack, which, most days, contained a delicious packed lunch provided by our hosts...

Our most recent Mickeldore holiday was a walking holiday following the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness. A fantastic route through the Scottish Highlands from the West coast to the East. Mickeldore booked us into various B and Bs, guesthouses and hotels along the way and arranged baggage transfer. This meant we could enjoy our daily walk with a light rucksack, which, most days, contained a delicious packed lunch provided by our hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

Once again we were massively impressed by the standard of accommodation booked for us. The travel pack provided by Mickeldore included not only excellent route information and maps but also all the info we needed about local services at each of our stopovers. We have enjoyed three Mickeldore walking holidays …..so far. We will be back !

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk and the arrangements that we made for you. We would love to arrange another adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Yorkshire walker, 26 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Everything went according to plan

My friend and I walked the Cleveland Way in May. We booked through Mickledore as they offered the best itinerary for us. Everything was booked for us, all we had to do was walk. Almost all of the accommodation was excellent, only one or two little niggles.

My friend and I walked the Cleveland Way in May. We booked through Mickledore as they offered the best itinerary for us. Everything was booked for us, all we had to do was walk. Almost all of the accommodation was excellent, only one or two little niggles.

Rating for tour operator:

The level of service we experienced was excellent. We were given maps and a guide book to the walk. Everything went according to plan, thanks to the staff at Mickledore

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

Thanks for giving us your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your holiday and that the detailed information in your holiday pack was helpful for you.
Sue

Lady Annes Way by Roly, 23 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

An enjoyable and interesting walk.

I walked a route called “Lady Anne’s Way” one of the lesser known long distance paths in England. I walked for 8 days through the Yorkshire dales and the Eden valley. Accommodation and baggage transfer were all perfectly arranged by Mickledore Travel.

I walked a route called “Lady Anne’s Way” one of the lesser known long distance paths in England. I walked for 8 days through the Yorkshire dales and the Eden valley. Accommodation and baggage transfer were all perfectly arranged by Mickledore Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

They are an excellent company who organise walking holidays. They can arrange all aspects of your holiday from guide books and maps, booking accommodation and packed lunches and arranging baggage transfer between stops. They are very flexible in offering as much or as little of these services that you require. This is the fourth time I have used them and the have always been excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the route provided plenty of interest along the way. Thank you for your great feedback and kind comments.
Sue

Northumberland Coast Path by HansCulemborg, 22 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Britain: a pleasant journey.

We had a very good holiday in the UK, june 2022. Walking The Coastal Path between Newcastle and Berwick-upon-Tweed. Beautiful. Dolphins, seals, puffins, arctic sterns. Culture. Very good accomodations. Excellent service.

We had a very good holiday in the UK, june 2022. Walking The Coastal Path between Newcastle and Berwick-upon-Tweed. Beautiful. Dolphins, seals, puffins, arctic sterns. Culture. Very good accomodations. Excellent service.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is very accurate. They provide an excellent service. Their communication is very good. When things change, you hear it immediately. The guesthouses, B&B’s, hotels were very good, The hosts very friendly. Mostly big rooms, very hygienic.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. You saw a lot of wildlife during your walk, how wonderful. Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Sue

Cumbria Way by Marty, 22 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cumbria Way (Ulverston to Carlisle)

Interesting and varied trail in 5 days through some of the best Lake District scenery (except the last half day from Dalston to Carlisle which was rather dreary). Benefit of good weather, and particularly enjoyed days 2 to 4.

Interesting and varied trail in 5 days through some of the best Lake District scenery (except the last half day from Dalston to Carlisle which was rather dreary). Benefit of good weather, and particularly enjoyed days 2 to 4.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised luggage transfer and accommodation faultlessly and provided comprehensive information about the route and facilities along the way.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 29 Jun 2022:

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed the middle part of the trail.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Yukon hiker, 15 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore provided excellent service to our small group from Canada on the Fife Coastal Path in Scotland!

We booked with Mickledore for a 8 day hike on the Fife Coastal Path in Scotland. Everything about it was excellent and we were super impressed with their service to us! It totally exceeded our expectations!

We booked with Mickledore for a 8 day hike on the Fife Coastal Path in Scotland. Everything about it was excellent and we were super impressed with their service to us! It totally exceeded our expectations!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was extremely patient, flexible and professional during the many changes we had to make to our travel plans during the height of the Covid pandemic. The service they provided to our small group from Canada exceeded all expectations. The information they provided was comprehensive and the hiking resources were high quality materials. There was absolutely nothing left out of the information package! Our holiday was good value; we had excellent service, and they were 100% reliable on every front. Our accommodations were charming and represented the best of what we might have booked ourselves. The luggage transfers were very smooth and completely reliable. We had utmost confidence in our tour provider! Kudos to Mickledore! We don't usually book a holiday in this manner, but I would certainly do so in the future!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2022:

Thank you for your great feedback and kind comments. I am delighted that you had a fabulous time on your holiday. We would love to arrange another adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Herriot Way by Bonnie, 13 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Herriott Way

A great walking holiday over 4 days of varied landscape staying in comfortable and friendly accomodation. Weather could have been better but everything else was perfect

A great walking holiday over 4 days of varied landscape staying in comfortable and friendly accomodation. Weather could have been better but everything else was perfect

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were friendly and profesional from start to finish

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Jun 2022:

I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk despite having poor weather. Thanks for your feedback and kind comments about the work of our team.
Sue

South Downs Way by Marty, 13 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

South Downs Way

Completed in 6 walking days, roughly four days of 20 miles and two days of 10 miles. Quite tough, but fortunately weather good/dry. Some sections of path quite rough, but overall good. Plenty of cyclists also using path! Excellent views and good varied scenery along way.

Completed in 6 walking days, roughly four days of 20 miles and two days of 10 miles. Quite tough, but fortunately weather good/dry. Some sections of path quite rough, but overall good. Plenty of cyclists also using path! Excellent views and good varied scenery along way.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organised everything which needed to work faultlessly with a tight walking timetable. Information pack is comprehensive and a good backup if anything unplanned happens.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Jun 2022:

Thanks for your great feedback about the route and the work of our team. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the expansive and varied views along the way.
Sue