AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 661
Good 21
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 682
Reviews Accepted: 682
Reviews Rejected: 0
682 reviews
Sort by:
Herriot Way by Poppy, 28 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Top rate operator

I have just completed a four day walking holiday in Yorkshire with two friends. The organisation and accommodation provided were excellent. Each bed and breakfast was spotlessly clean and comfortable, our luggage was collected and delivered on time, and the route description was detailed and helpful. The whole experience was first class.

I have just completed a four day walking holiday in Yorkshire with two friends. The organisation and accommodation provided were excellent. Each bed and breakfast was spotlessly clean and comfortable, our luggage was collected and delivered on time, and the route description was detailed and helpful. The whole experience was first class.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore we’re top rate - from the moment I first rang them to the follow up at the end of the holiday they were friendly, helpful and flexible. The material they provided was thorough and helpful. A professional operator, dedicated to ensuring its clients have the best experience possible.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your great feedback and kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your walk and your stays at the accommodations we selected for your holiday.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Rutlander, 27 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A superb coastal walk, supported by a wonderful holiday compnay

Two of us walked the southern half of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. Mickledore booked the B&B's (all excellent!), the luggage transfer (faultless service from Walkalongway), taxi transfers and provided maps, guidebook, tide tables, Covid advice, and details of eating places, shops, ATMs and other essentials en route. Our holiday was glorious - helped by good weather and lots of wildlife and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing went wrong, but we ...

Two of us walked the southern half of the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. Mickledore booked the B&B's (all excellent!), the luggage transfer (faultless service from Walkalongway), taxi transfers and provided maps, guidebook, tide tables, Covid advice, and details of eating places, shops, ATMs and other essentials en route. Our holiday was glorious - helped by good weather and lots of wildlife and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing went wrong, but we had confidence that should something happen, we knew that we could ring Mickledore for help. Walking a long distance path, with others transporting our luggage is the sort of holiday we enjoy; the only caveat is that it does not come cheap!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore listened to our holiday request, booked promptly, kept us informed, and sent the information (both as paper copy and as phone App) in plenty of time. They were always a pleasure to talk to. Payment was easy and transparent. This is the second holiday we have booked through them and both times have been great - despite dealing with Covid regulations this time, and very short notice last time.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jul 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you had a fantastic time on your walk. It's great that you found the info in your holiday pack helpful and easy to use. Thanks for your fabulous feedback.
Sue

Dales Way by Pete, 26 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

The Dales Way. A well planed walking holiday in a fantastic area of Britain.

Our second fantastic walking holiday with Mickledore, our first being the Coast to Coast in 2019. Everything including accommodation, baggage transfer and packed lunches ran like clockwork. Accommodation was to a high standard, you could not find fault with any. Mickledore took the pain out of planning a walking holiday ourselves. They are always polite, efficient and professional when communicating, either by e/mail or a direct phone call. ...

Our second fantastic walking holiday with Mickledore, our first being the Coast to Coast in 2019. Everything including accommodation, baggage transfer and packed lunches ran like clockwork. Accommodation was to a high standard, you could not find fault with any. Mickledore took the pain out of planning a walking holiday ourselves. They are always polite, efficient and professional when communicating, either by e/mail or a direct phone call. A professional operator well on top of their game. If you are wavering regards booking a holiday with Mickledore then don’t book straight away, you won’t be disappointed.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are polite, friendly and professional when communicating. I particular like the way they are so helpful on the phone. Quick to help and answer any questions, and will go out of their way to ensure you have a fantastic walking holiday. Our holiday pack of guide book and map etc., complimented by a very good app were more than sufficient. We will be sure to use them again..

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

Thanks for this lovely feedback. It is great to hear that our customer service was professional and friendly, and excellent that you had such a fantastic holiday. We hope to welcome you back for further adventures soon.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Linda, 25 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Great walking the Cleveland Way

Very well organised, reliable bookings in comfortable B&B's /pubs /hotels. Pick ups easy to manage and on time when a little distant from the pathway. Help available if needed -ie left items at B&B! -quickly reunited. Very hospitable landlords re wet weather gear etc.

Very well organised, reliable bookings in comfortable B&B's /pubs /hotels. Pick ups easy to manage and on time when a little distant from the pathway. Help available if needed -ie left items at B&B! -quickly reunited. Very hospitable landlords re wet weather gear etc.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly and helpful. Reliable information given in a timely fashion.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for your great feedback.
Sue

Pembrokeshire Coast Path by Jenworth, 22 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Well organised walking holiday

We walked the Pembrokeshire Coast Path, and Mickledore organised all the accommodation each night, arranging taxis when it was not possible for us to stay where we finished walking. Our luggage was moved from B&B to B&B, and our lunch sandwiches were provided each day. We love walking coast paths, and this one worked very well. Mickledore provided a fully comprehensive service

We walked the Pembrokeshire Coast Path, and Mickledore organised all the accommodation each night, arranging taxis when it was not possible for us to stay where we finished walking. Our luggage was moved from B&B to B&B, and our lunch sandwiches were provided each day. We love walking coast paths, and this one worked very well. Mickledore provided a fully comprehensive service

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore organise holidays for walkers who wish to walk trails independently. The organise accommodation, luggage transfer and taxis as appropriate. High standards.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We want you to have a great time on your holiday and it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk.
Sue

Herriot Way by Dennis & Rosie, 22 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Consistent high quality from Mickledore

I recently completed the Herriot Way walk with my partner. This is the fourth walking holiday I have arranged through Mickeldore and each has been perfect. Consise maps, superb B&B, s and friendly helpful staff. I would definatly reccomend a Mickeldore holiday, it ticks all the boxes and offers excellent value for money. I look forward to our next adventure.

I recently completed the Herriot Way walk with my partner. This is the fourth walking holiday I have arranged through Mickeldore and each has been perfect. Consise maps, superb B&B, s and friendly helpful staff. I would definatly reccomend a Mickeldore holiday, it ticks all the boxes and offers excellent value for money. I look forward to our next adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

As above

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback and kind comments. It am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. We would love to arrange another walking trail adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Ricky, 20 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

ANOTHER FANTASTIC MICKLEDORE EXPERIENCE

Our last walk was along the first section of the Thames Path. A fantastic experience with all the professionalism and care that we have come to expect from Mickledore. Great Information before the walk and excellent places to stay and eat during the holiday.

Our last walk was along the first section of the Thames Path. A fantastic experience with all the professionalism and care that we have come to expect from Mickledore. Great Information before the walk and excellent places to stay and eat during the holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

We have had a number of walking holidays with Mickledore. We keep going back because they are so good. A fantastic range of walks, option within those walks and great people to do business with.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your kind comments about the customer service of our team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your walking holiday along the Thames Path. We hope to welcome you back for further adventures on the trails soon.
Sue

Hadrians Wall by Happy walker, 20 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday

We had a fantastic time walking the full length of Hadrian’s Walk. We stayed at a variety of B&B’s along the way and they were all excellent. The tour operator arranged for our bags to be transferred each day.

We had a fantastic time walking the full length of Hadrian’s Walk. We stayed at a variety of B&B’s along the way and they were all excellent. The tour operator arranged for our bags to be transferred each day.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays did a fantastic job both helping us to find the right holiday and ensuring everything ran smoothly while we were on holiday

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 26 Jul 2021:

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday. Than you for your kind comments.
Sue

Mickledore Travel by Andrew, 19 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Walking Holiday along the Yorkshire Wolds Way in June 2021

A well organised and very pleasant walk along the Yorkshire Wolds Way, staying in great accommodation and ( generally ) ideal walking weather. My fourth holiday with this travel operator, will be returning for more next year.

A well organised and very pleasant walk along the Yorkshire Wolds Way, staying in great accommodation and ( generally ) ideal walking weather. My fourth holiday with this travel operator, will be returning for more next year.

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly, no hidden detail, excellent holiday package sent to me well in advance of departure date. Could not fault them in any way.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Jul 2021:

Thanks for your great feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walk and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back for more adventures.
Sue

Cleveland Way by Carrie, 14 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Stress free walking holiday staying at lovely B&Bs

We walked the Cleveland Way over 9 days staying at different B&Bs each night and our luggage was transferred for us. All was booked through Miclkledore Travel

We walked the Cleveland Way over 9 days staying at different B&Bs each night and our luggage was transferred for us. All was booked through Miclkledore Travel

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very efficient with the booking process and were happy to reschedule our holiday for 2021 when we unable to go in 2020. They were could at keeping us informed of changes to Covid rules and giving us the opportunity to change to booked if needed. the Travel itinerary and pack were both very comprehensive

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Jul 2021:

Such great feedback. Thanks for taking the time to send us your comments. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue