AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring the Peloponnese Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring the Peloponnese

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 40
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 40
Reviews Accepted: 40
Reviews Rejected: 0
40 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring the Peloponnese by RK, 3 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

An outstanding two weeks in the Peloponnese! Classical, Byzantine and more modern historical sites plus coastal, mountainous and rural scenery. Wonderful meals in superb company. Guides who not only complemented each other in their different styles and areas of expertise, but who were also thoughtful and entertaining hosts. This was our first Peter Sommer holiday and we have already booked our next one.

An outstanding two weeks in the Peloponnese! Classical, Byzantine and more modern historical sites plus coastal, mountainous and rural scenery. Wonderful meals in superb company. Guides who not only complemented each other in their different styles and areas of expertise, but who were also thoughtful and entertaining hosts. This was our first Peter Sommer holiday and we have already booked our next one.

Rating for tour operator:

Organisation was impeccable: professional and personal at the same time.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Ian, 3 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

History, architecture, landscapes and wine

This was a wonderful introduction to Ancient, Byzantine and modern Greece. Our two knowledgeable and enthusiastic experts (Nota and Heinrich) guided us through a wide range of sites of great historic, architectural and artistic interest (Mystras, Mycenae and Monemvasia were stunning, amongst such jewels as Messene, Olympia and Ancient Corinth). A great deal of care had obviously gone in to planning the tour, building our knowledge site by site...

This was a wonderful introduction to Ancient, Byzantine and modern Greece. Our two knowledgeable and enthusiastic experts (Nota and Heinrich) guided us through a wide range of sites of great historic, architectural and artistic interest (Mystras, Mycenae and Monemvasia were stunning, amongst such jewels as Messene, Olympia and Ancient Corinth). A great deal of care had obviously gone in to planning the tour, building our knowledge site by site. We enjoyed individual, comfortable and welcoming hotels and carefully chosen restaurants serving local cuisine. The vineyard visits provided variety and refreshment, plus a little bit of historical context too! We were looked after as individuals and the whole trip was stimulating and refreshing.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first Peter Sommer trip and it proved to be as excellent as prior reviews had led us to expect. The secret to these holidays, and the ethos of the company, seems to be the exceptional historical and local knowledge of the expert guides and the care they put into both devising and running these tours.

Exploring the Peloponnese by AJA, 1 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Exploration

Well-planned tour covering a wide variety of archaeological and historical sites including Greek, Byzantine and Venetian remains. Our guides were excellent and impressively expert in giving us an in-depth appreciation of what we had come to see, both on sites and in museums. Good company and comfortable hotels added to the enjoyment had by all.

Well-planned tour covering a wide variety of archaeological and historical sites including Greek, Byzantine and Venetian remains. Our guides were excellent and impressively expert in giving us an in-depth appreciation of what we had come to see, both on sites and in museums. Good company and comfortable hotels added to the enjoyment had by all.

Rating for tour operator:

Faultless organisation, plenty of "homework" to whet the appetite before departure, smooth pick-ups to and from the airport. Good personal contacts with the company, PST

Exploring the Peloponnese by twinbren, 28 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Expert Leadership

The leadership of the tour was a vital ingredient in its success. We were blessed with 2 experts who worked together and tirelessly to ensure a seemingly disparate group gelled. All participants were enlightened and informed not only about Ancient Greek history, culture and archaeological intricacies and Byzantine frescoes, but seemlessly about the day-to-day activities and timetables. Their teamwork was complemented by an experienced , charming ...

The leadership of the tour was a vital ingredient in its success. We were blessed with 2 experts who worked together and tirelessly to ensure a seemingly disparate group gelled. All participants were enlightened and informed not only about Ancient Greek history, culture and archaeological intricacies and Byzantine frescoes, but seemlessly about the day-to-day activities and timetables. Their teamwork was complemented by an experienced , charming and caring driver, Panayotis. The hotel and restaurants had been carefully chosen, always giving a variety of location and cuisine, catering to the needs and tastes of the group, whether vegetarian, pescatorian or carnivore. We relished many local specialities, rustic and sophisticated breakfasts and treats. Our fellow travellers were linked by modern technology, i.e. WHISPERS, which enabled those who paused for photos, ornithological and floral interests etc. to be included as we kept up-to-scratch and in touch at all times. A good time was had by all. In summary, the depth of knowledge and the enthusiasm of the guides, and the quality of the experience in general were exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

unparalled in the tour industry, in terms of the profundity of his knowledge, his ability to communicate and the enthusiasm he exuded .

Exploring the Peloponnese by Alexander Grimwade, 25 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful tour of the Peloponnese peninsula

Our 2-week Peter Sommer Travels Tour "Exploring the Peloponnese" was a surprising and wonderful introduction to the history and natural beauty of this area of the Greek mainland. We were accommodated in excellent hotels in beautiful surroundings, introduced to the complexity and variety of Greek history from the Bronze Age to the present day, tasted a huge variety of delicious local food and wine, and were amazed by the gorgeous green and colorful ...

Our 2-week Peter Sommer Travels Tour "Exploring the Peloponnese" was a surprising and wonderful introduction to the history and natural beauty of this area of the Greek mainland. We were accommodated in excellent hotels in beautiful surroundings, introduced to the complexity and variety of Greek history from the Bronze Age to the present day, tasted a huge variety of delicious local food and wine, and were amazed by the gorgeous green and colorful spring scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a meticulous operator that pays great attention to all the details that make a tour enjoyable and trouble free. The quality of their guides is outstanding, and the choice of hotels and restaurants was excellent.

Exploring the Peloponnese by TwinLin, 24 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

A magical trip to learn about Greek culture, history and archaeological treasures

Lovely weather and colorful spring wildflowers enhanced the stunning archaeological sites. The warm and friendly reception at great hotels and restaurants complemented the expertise and deep knowledge of our guides. Our always thoughtful bus driver was exceptional and kept his bus immaculate. Greek food was varied, healthy, colorful and delicious.

Lovely weather and colorful spring wildflowers enhanced the stunning archaeological sites. The warm and friendly reception at great hotels and restaurants complemented the expertise and deep knowledge of our guides. Our always thoughtful bus driver was exceptional and kept his bus immaculate. Greek food was varied, healthy, colorful and delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organized, with flexibility to make appropriate changes where necessary. The pre-trip advice and information provided was useful, comprehensive and up-to-date. Consideration was given to the individual needs and challenges of participants at all times.

Exploring the Peloponnese by MollyVE, 10 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable trip to Greece

Fantastic experience with two warm and extremely knowledgeable guides. Many highlights, great camaraderie amongst group members, and many special experiences.

Fantastic experience with two warm and extremely knowledgeable guides. Many highlights, great camaraderie amongst group members, and many special experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer handled all the details for me seamlessly, after I signed up to come on the tour last minute after my mother was not able to attend. All booking details, transfers, etc. were effortlessly handled and all I had to do was show up. The quality of the entire staff was very high.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Cybele, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Rating for tour operator:

Caring about tour participants wishes and comforts. Well organized down to the last detail.

Exploring the Peloponnese by JIT, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

EXPLORING THE PELOPOPONNESE OCTOBER 2021

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and ...

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and interaction with guests were diligently attended to. Bravo to Nota and Heinrich our Tour archeology leaders.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a family operation and every aspect of our tour was choreographed with the customer in mind. I called Peter (he in the UK, I in the USA) multiple times and he was unfailingly courteous and helpful. There were 12 other guests on our tour and not one had a bad thing to say about the Company or our tour leaders.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Sue , 6 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful tour of the Peloponnese

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

A great tour itinerary and we were constantly impressed with the care given to every detail. Heinrich and Nota are special human beings in addition to their ability to impart their knowledge and excitement. They made every aspect of travel in this time of Covid a pleasure. Well done all.