AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring the Peloponnese Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring the Peloponnese

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 24
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 24
Reviews Accepted: 24
Reviews Rejected: 0
24 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring the Peloponnese by Marge, 1 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Pleasures of the Peloponnese

From our guides' comprehensive elucidation of ancient times and sites that were visited to current day culture, especially modern Greek cuisine, this tour was a beautifully curated experience.

From our guides' comprehensive elucidation of ancient times and sites that were visited to current day culture, especially modern Greek cuisine, this tour was a beautifully curated experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a distinguished company that has years of extensive experience in the Mediterranean. The sites that were selected were many and varied. One really felt that the guides and the company had a real personal interest in ensuring that we enjoyed and appreciated what we experienced.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Roses & Straw, 19 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Perfect, Perfect, & Perfect!

We knew before we left home that this would be good tour, as we had toured with Heinrich Hall in the past. And, sure enough, he showed us a great many things, in a useful order. The choices of sites were a compromise of too-easy and too-hard, physically, so everyone was happy with the amount of climbing around on the ruins that we did.. Foods available in the offered restaurants were absolutely wonderful; And the hotel choices for the program ...

We knew before we left home that this would be good tour, as we had toured with Heinrich Hall in the past. And, sure enough, he showed us a great many things, in a useful order. The choices of sites were a compromise of too-easy and too-hard, physically, so everyone was happy with the amount of climbing around on the ruins that we did.. Foods available in the offered restaurants were absolutely wonderful; And the hotel choices for the program were incomparable to what we would have found on our own! We have already signed up for another Peter Sommer tour, our sixth(?), for 2020, also in Greece.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Tours, specializing in historically and archaeologically significant sites in what we Americans call "Europe". Tour guides are truly experts in the sites studied, and often the designers of new tours.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Tom, 16 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Most Compelling and Pleasurable Tour

We toured the Peloponnese with 2 excellent guides who made the archaeology and history come alive. Scenery was fantastic including the spring flowers and verdant hills. We were astonished at the variety and high quality and freshness at the selected restaurants.

We toured the Peloponnese with 2 excellent guides who made the archaeology and history come alive. Scenery was fantastic including the spring flowers and verdant hills. We were astonished at the variety and high quality and freshness at the selected restaurants.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel was perfect in their communications, planning, assistance and execution. I cannot imagine how they could have served us better.

Exploring the Peloponnese by DyeHaus, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Group travel at its best - Holiday of interest, good food and company

We had a most enjoyable 2 week tour through the Peloponnese in May this year. The itinerary was well chosen, the commentary from the guides very erudite yet not overwhelming. The trip was well planned and executed, any wish was attended to and our female guide went out of her way to make the experience as pleasant as possible. A lot of attention was paid to give us a taste of the variety of regional Greek food and wine. We followed the two ...

We had a most enjoyable 2 week tour through the Peloponnese in May this year. The itinerary was well chosen, the commentary from the guides very erudite yet not overwhelming. The trip was well planned and executed, any wish was attended to and our female guide went out of her way to make the experience as pleasant as possible. A lot of attention was paid to give us a taste of the variety of regional Greek food and wine. We followed the two weeks with another two week sailing trip through the Cyclades, back to back. Once again the experience was repeated, so it is fair to say that Peter Sommer provides consistently good service. It might be worth mentioning that the Peloponnese was physically quite demanding, as per advice given, the Gulet holiday on the other hand very relaxing with lots of downtime. This was our first experience with group travel and we were positively surprised; both groups had most pleasant travelcompanions (easier than travelling with friends). Highly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and organised, well planned, interesting itinerary, wonderful guides.

Exploring the Peloponnese by M.A, 6 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

All as good as I'd expected

Well organised; caring; all I could have expected

Well organised; caring; all I could have expected

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful in all the organisation

Exploring the Peloponnese by GS, 3 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

Each day traveling with the Peter Sommer's archeologist superb guides, Heinrich and Nota brought new knowledge and joy. The knowledge and fun; a great combination.

Each day traveling with the Peter Sommer's archeologist superb guides, Heinrich and Nota brought new knowledge and joy. The knowledge and fun; a great combination.

Rating for tour operator:

Heinrich and Nota have inspired me to learn more about Greece's people and their history.

Exploring the Peloponnese by al, 25 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Traveling through the Peloponnese with informed archaeologists and guides opened up new vistas for us

2 weeks visiting all of the major and even minor sites in this area of Greece was excellent. Spent 7 weeks in total on 3 different Peter Sommer trips with separate visits to Naxos and Rodas and Thessaloniki. Gave one a comprehensive understanding of this civilization over the past 6-7,000 years.

2 weeks visiting all of the major and even minor sites in this area of Greece was excellent. Spent 7 weeks in total on 3 different Peter Sommer trips with separate visits to Naxos and Rodas and Thessaloniki. Gave one a comprehensive understanding of this civilization over the past 6-7,000 years.

Rating for tour operator:

well organized. concerned for every aspect of the client's experience from lodging to meals to understanding the history and culture of these societies.

Exploring the Peloponnese by mr r n 18, 19 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Greek road less travelled

this was our fourth Peter Sommer holiday, and the third with our excellent archaeological guide Heinrich Hall. The Peloponnese is something of an undiscovered treasure house in a country often overrun with too many visitors. Not so in this region, where there is so much to see both historically and scenically. In early summer the place is particularly beautiful and the temperature perfect for sightseeing. The hotels were all carefully chosen, ...

this was our fourth Peter Sommer holiday, and the third with our excellent archaeological guide Heinrich Hall. The Peloponnese is something of an undiscovered treasure house in a country often overrun with too many visitors. Not so in this region, where there is so much to see both historically and scenically. In early summer the place is particularly beautiful and the temperature perfect for sightseeing. The hotels were all carefully chosen, as were the restaurants, and we felt we had a good impression of local life everywhere we went. Highly recommended

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer has a wide choice of land and gulet holidays in Greece, Turkey, Italy and Croatia, all accompanied by experts and local guides. Perfect for anyone interested in more than lying on a beach or rushing from A to B without bothering to learn anything

Exploring the Peloponnese by Noel, 12 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Extremely interesting

I was interested in visiting Greece geographically and culturally. The Peter Sommer Tour took it to a different level. I found the Peloponnese tour challenging physically and mentally as there was so much to take in but the archaeological information, sights, food and culture related to the various villages/ areas of the Peloponnese was wonderful. Our Tour guides were friendly, flexibly informative, patient and very aware of the needs of the ...

I was interested in visiting Greece geographically and culturally. The Peter Sommer Tour took it to a different level. I found the Peloponnese tour challenging physically and mentally as there was so much to take in but the archaeological information, sights, food and culture related to the various villages/ areas of the Peloponnese was wonderful. Our Tour guides were friendly, flexibly informative, patient and very aware of the needs of the tour group. The scenery was wonderful and the bus driver did a great job getting us to and from various places

Rating for tour operator:

My husband did all booking and correspondence.

Exploring the Peloponnese by K&A, 9 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another great tour with expert guides

Touring the Peloponnese was a deep dive into the archaeology of the region. The guides kept us fascinated as our small group of international travelers toured for 2 weeks. There was lots of opportunity to ask questions on site, on the comfortable bus, and at mealtimes. The hotels were great and daily we had the opportunity to taste a wide variety of regional food specialties. After touring with Peter Sommer in Crete we knew this tour would be ...

Touring the Peloponnese was a deep dive into the archaeology of the region. The guides kept us fascinated as our small group of international travelers toured for 2 weeks. There was lots of opportunity to ask questions on site, on the comfortable bus, and at mealtimes. The hotels were great and daily we had the opportunity to taste a wide variety of regional food specialties. After touring with Peter Sommer in Crete we knew this tour would be equally wonderful. We stayed on in Greece after the tour and the guides were happy to provide information and make suggestions.

Rating for tour operator:

Before the tour we could get questions answered and received a complete package of information. The website was up to date. What was promised was delivered and even more as they were able to fit in other experiences that happened to align with our itinerary.