AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring the Peloponnese Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring the Peloponnese

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 34
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 34
Reviews Accepted: 34
Reviews Rejected: 0
34 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring the Peloponnese by MollyVE, 10 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable trip to Greece

Fantastic experience with two warm and extremely knowledgeable guides. Many highlights, great camaraderie amongst group members, and many special experiences.

Fantastic experience with two warm and extremely knowledgeable guides. Many highlights, great camaraderie amongst group members, and many special experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer handled all the details for me seamlessly, after I signed up to come on the tour last minute after my mother was not able to attend. All booking details, transfers, etc. were effortlessly handled and all I had to do was show up. The quality of the entire staff was very high.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Cybele, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Leaders eager to give us interesting and memorable experiences, good meals, and in-depth explanations about historical sites from ancient to post World Wars

Rating for tour operator:

Caring about tour participants wishes and comforts. Well organized down to the last detail.

Exploring the Peloponnese by JIT, 15 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

EXPLORING THE PELOPOPONNESE OCTOBER 2021

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and ...

The idea was to explore the ancient archeological sites of this historic part of Greece and educate the guests about the spread of Civilisation, Ideas and Culture dating back to 2000 BCE. The Tour leaders traveled pre-trip to all the sites to select the "best" and then proceed to seamlessly "connect the dots" and provide insight into ancient Greece. I learnt an enormous amount. Further, all aspects of the tour : bus, food, accomodation and interaction with guests were diligently attended to. Bravo to Nota and Heinrich our Tour archeology leaders.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer is a family operation and every aspect of our tour was choreographed with the customer in mind. I called Peter (he in the UK, I in the USA) multiple times and he was unfailingly courteous and helpful. There were 12 other guests on our tour and not one had a bad thing to say about the Company or our tour leaders.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Sue , 6 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

A beautiful tour of the Peloponnese

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

A wonderful trip! We feel so lucky to have traveled with our two excellent guides to fantastic and varied sites, and, with our small touring group size, it all made for a terrific experience. Great food and wine and companionship in addition to learning from our knowledgeable guides about this fascinating area.

Rating for tour operator:

A great tour itinerary and we were constantly impressed with the care given to every detail. Heinrich and Nota are special human beings in addition to their ability to impart their knowledge and excitement. They made every aspect of travel in this time of Covid a pleasure. Well done all.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Dave, 5 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Marvelous trip around the Peloponnese

During an extensive exploration of the peninsula we were treated to Bronze Age and Classical ruins, Byzantine churches, Frankish forts, still-functioning monasteries, highlights at a number of museums, and beautiful scenery, all in the company of excellent guides. Heinrich and Nota were super-knowledgeable and fun; it is hard to imagine a better way to experience the Peloponnese, or Greece for that matter. Very highly recommended!

During an extensive exploration of the peninsula we were treated to Bronze Age and Classical ruins, Byzantine churches, Frankish forts, still-functioning monasteries, highlights at a number of museums, and beautiful scenery, all in the company of excellent guides. Heinrich and Nota were super-knowledgeable and fun; it is hard to imagine a better way to experience the Peloponnese, or Greece for that matter. Very highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

The folks at Peter Sommer Travels were excellent-attentive and great at communicating during these stressful times. Every aspect of the tour was executed flawlessly. We look forward to traveling with PST again...and again!

Exploring the Peloponnese by RoLo, 5 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wandering Through History and Prehistory in the Peloponnese

Twelve travelers and two expert guides spent two weeks visiting the Peloponnese peninsula seeing such legendary sites as Mycenae, Olympia, and Pylos. The itinerary was well-planned, little time was wasted, food was fine and plentiful. The guides were knowledgeable, attentive, flexible, and funny. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in Greek history.

Twelve travelers and two expert guides spent two weeks visiting the Peloponnese peninsula seeing such legendary sites as Mycenae, Olympia, and Pylos. The itinerary was well-planned, little time was wasted, food was fine and plentiful. The guides were knowledgeable, attentive, flexible, and funny. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in Greek history.

Rating for tour operator:

The Peter Sommer company did an excellent job. We had signed up to take this tour in spring of 2020 but Covid cancelled that. They were very helpful in arranging for us to revise our plans. There were no surprises in terms of cost; we paid what we had agreed, no add-ons or extras. Everyone from office staff to guides to the driver performed their parts impeccably.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Terri, 4 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

The trip was fantastic- well planned, fascinating, and fun. The focus was archaeology, our obsession, but there was time for natural beauty, great food and a little wandering.

The trip was fantastic- well planned, fascinating, and fun. The focus was archaeology, our obsession, but there was time for natural beauty, great food and a little wandering.

Rating for tour operator:

Heinrich and Nota are both archaeologists, so they could help us understand what we were seeing. And they are both fun, organized and have a great sense of humor.

Exploring the Peloponnese by Kai, 3 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

A14 day mini-bus tour of the archaeological & historic sites of the Peloponnese led by 2 archaeologists/historians. Very well planned and organised with good choice of hotels and restaurants. Tour was made by the excellence in every respect of the two guides, one German archaeologist who has lived and worked in Greece for many years, and one Greek historian specialising in the Byzantine period. Very nice and able people

A14 day mini-bus tour of the archaeological & historic sites of the Peloponnese led by 2 archaeologists/historians. Very well planned and organised with good choice of hotels and restaurants. Tour was made by the excellence in every respect of the two guides, one German archaeologist who has lived and worked in Greece for many years, and one Greek historian specialising in the Byzantine period. Very nice and able people

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a small UK firm that specialises in cultural tours in the Eastern Mediterranean

Exploring the Peloponnese by Peter, 2 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Extraordinary Peloponnese

Fabulous trip around the Peloponnese with high qualified guides

Fabulous trip around the Peloponnese with high qualified guides

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect was perfect from planning, communication, hotels, meals and expertise of the guides

Exploring the Peloponnese by Nick, 2 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exploring the Peloponnese

2 week miniI-bus tour of the Peloponnese historic sites led by 2 excellent archeologist/historian guides. Good choice of hotels & restaurants & great attention to detail to make the trip the obvious success that it was

2 week miniI-bus tour of the Peloponnese historic sites led by 2 excellent archeologist/historian guides. Good choice of hotels & restaurants & great attention to detail to make the trip the obvious success that it was

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel is a small UK travel company specilaisingin cultural historic tours in the eastern Mediterranean