Eastravel

Reviews of Eastravel

Overall company rating
4 99%
Reviews submitted: 70
Reviews accepted: 70
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
68
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Borneo Wildlife Safari

By Michael on 13 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Borneo Beach and Wildlife Safari >

We went to Sabah, in Malaysian Borneo in eraly May 2017, spending time at Sandakan, Selingan island, Sukau and Borneo Rainforest Lodges, and ending on the coast at Kota Kinabalu. The hotels and Lodges were very good, perhaps surprisingly so at the rather remote Lodges, which were small, intimate and friendly, with excellent service and facilities. There was a full programme of activities, with river trips, jeep 'safaris', and forest walks for wildlife spotting. The guides on these activies were knowledgable and amazingly good at finding the animals, birds, insects and plants. They made sure that we got really good views of all Borneo's 'Big 5', and much more besides - seeing orang utans in the wild, turtles coming ashore, and the bat cave were probably the highlights for us. Overall, the holiday was a real experience that we'll remember for a long time.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The itinerary was prepared by Cathy at East Travel in Ipswich in consultation with us, and adjusted to reflect our preferences. All of the arrangements, including flights, connections, hotels, excursions and activities worked perfectly, so that we didn't have to worry or wait for anything. We couldn't fault it!

Tailor-made Thailand holiday

By KB2 on 26 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had an amazing holiday visiting the River Kwai area, staying in the Jungle Raft Hotel and visiting the River Kwai Bridge and Railway, Allied War Cemetery and Museum and Hellfire Pass. We were met at Bangkok Airport and transported by private car to the Kanchanaburi area and our hotel via long-tail boat along the river. First sight of our hotel lit by kerosene lamps was beautiful. Our driver both to and from the area and then our tour guide the following day were so helpful and friendly. Both spoke excellent English. Despite arriving late in the evening the hotel still provided us with a meal on arrival. No wifi, no electricity but a visit from an elephant also wanting feeding at breakfast time made the day start with a smile. We enjoyed 2 nights here in the jungle before a private transfer back to Bangkok airport for 12 nights on Koh Samui at the Imperial Boathouse. We treated ourselves to a Boathouse Suite nestled within the well attended gardens, close to the pools and beach yet still very quiet, secluded and private. Our only problem was with breakfast - what to actually choose as the selection was so good. You were also very rarely bothered by flies and mosquitos as the hotel sprays the grounds regularly to prevent this. We were visiting Thailand during Songkran and spent a day very wet but happily joining in with the water celebrations with local Thai people of all ages. All good fun and thoroughly recommended. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the beach, having massages and trying out our favourite foods but also explored the island, it's temples, waterfalls and views. We tried out Thai cooking ourselves, visiting the food market to select our ingredients and prepared a 3 course meal - all supervised obviously! We love Thailand and met some lovely people during our stay. I'm not sure that I've been to a friendlier destination.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

From our first enquiry to Eastravel we found both Cathy and Dorothy so helpful and knowledgeable and patient. Having been to Thailand before, we had very specific requests for what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go. Our agenda was not to be found in a 'normal' travel brochure. Eastravel had been recommended to us by friends who had booked flights to Thailand through them for many years.
After several conversations and emails and some very helpful suggestions they tailor made our holiday to suit us. All we had to do was turn up at Heathrow and everything else from then onwards was arranged. All flights, transfers, guides and accommodation perfectly scheduled and organised for us. We have no hesitation in recommending Eastravel to anyone who wants something stress free and a little different.

Very well organised holiday.

By Dev on 4 Apr 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had 3 weeks holiday in South Africa, Victoria Falls(zimbawabe) and Dubai. Whole holiday was put together by Eastravel. It was extremely well organised with particular attention to every detail. We will certainly ask Eastravel to organise our next holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Eastravel were exceptionally good at booking flights, hotels, guides etc. They kept in touch regularly about booking etc. I shall certainly recommend them to anybody who wants a tailor made holiday.

Full-on, fascinating and very memorable.

By Mr J S 17 on 19 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Arrangements worked perfectly and we liked all the places we staid with possible exception of the home stay (as sound between rooms was intrusive and there was a large group). The visit to the fruit farm in Tamil Nadu was very special. We loved the early morning trek through tea plantations above Munar (excellent and fascinating guide). We lreally enjoyed Kerala food. The service at Greenwoods, Periyar was superb and delightful. We loved the water and night on the boat.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Dorothy and her team at Eastravel were excellent. Very efficient and responsive.

Absolutely amazing it exceeded all our expectations.

By The Great Adventure on 18 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The holiday was a surprise for my husbands birthday which was organised in complete secrecy. Our first destination was Singapore for a 3 day stop over but wow it was amazing, from exploring the Botanical Gardens to the Marine Sands Bay Hotel, the Bay Gardens and of course the Long Bay in Raffles it was a perfect start to our 5 week adventure. Next we flew onto Australia landing in Sydney which was spectacular and the start of our journey through Australia. From Sydney we drove to the Blue Mountains to explore the rain forest wow you can't discribe the scale its mind blowing. We then flew to Melbourne staying for 3 days before starting a five day drive along the Great Ocean Road stopping over at some truly amazing locations such as Port Fairy, Cape Otway, The Grampians before traveling up to Adelaide. While in Adelaide we visited the Adelaide Fringe Festival one of the largest festivals in Australia as well as taking in Kangaroo Island. From Adelaide we flew to Alice Springs picking up a 4x4 to travel through the outback to Kings Canyon and onto Ayers Rock which was memorable from the silent supper, star gazing and the field of lights it is an experience that will never be forgotten. Next stop Cairns or Palm Cove to be precise a beautiful location from here we went out to the Great Barrier Reef, explored the coastline up to Port Douglas as well as Cairns absolutely stunning. We also went on the Skyrail over the rainforest which an experience again beyond words and then to return by train down the mountain was awesome. We then flew from Australia to Dubai staying in the Harbour area which was superb the whole experience again magical. Dubai was our last destination before flying home. This brief summary of our experience which only touches the tip of our holiday of a lifetime and we can't express enough our thanks to Dorothy of Eastravel for her help in making this dream possible.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Dorothy Heng of Eastravel what an amazing, knowledgeable, professional and wonderful person who listened to our requirements and then put together an amazing holiday which will we remain a truly wonderful memory.

winter wonderland

By GAZ123 on 14 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent



Dorothy

Just back from Harbin, China...... temperatures ranging from -15 day time to -30 night time

With the correct clothing, a winter wonderland!

We went to the Harbin 31st Annual snow & ice Festivals ( the largest in the world)

Brilliant by day .... spectacular when lit up at night

This has been on my Bucket list for a very, very long time ( and it exceeded all my expectations!)


The pictures just don't do it justice, from the craftsmanship in the smaller sculptures to

the scale of the main structures, truly impressive!

Our tour included other sites on my bucket list, including

Beijing - Forbidden City, summer & winter palaces etc.

The Great Wall

Xi'an - Terra cotta Army & the Muslim street market


However it was Harbin that stole the show for me! *:) happy

It was a trip of a lifetime, that I would recommend to everyone.

We will all remember & talk about it for the rest of our lives

The whole trip (including Visas, Hotels, Guides & Transfers ) was organised by


Dorothy at EASTRAVEL, Ipswich. who listened to what we wanted to do & see, and made it happen.

Thank you





Gary


(plus.... Julie, Kerri, Peter, Paula, Hannah, Jazz, Kevin, Ross & Helen)



Rating for tour operator Excellent

Dorothy at Eastravel listened to our wish list and organised everything from start to finish.(Visas, flights, hotels, guides, entry to attractions, internal transfers & even skiing.)
the holiday Couldn't have been better or better organised.
Thank You Dorothy

Gary

A wonderfully varied experience of Myanmar

By Colin and Jill on 4 Mar 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Best of Burmese days >

Dear Dorothy

I just thought it would be good to get back to you to say how much we enjoyed the holiday and to give you some feedback on Mandalay Travel, the hotels and Burma Boating.

Overall assessment

We had one of our best holidays. We felt that yourselves, Mandalay Travel (ie guides), SY Dalai boat crew were all very attentive to our desires and very flexible even at the last minute. All the arrangements were seamless and professional with the one exception regarding with how Burma Boating dealt with the net pricing issue. Obviously the problems with the SY Jubilaeum was something that happens, however I hear from the skipper of SY Dalai (not to be quoted) that this boat is over-worked and under-maintained and that this problem is not uncommon.

The ballooning, hill trek, Ayerwaddy trip and train trips are definitely worthwhile parts of the itinerary.

All was superb.

Mandalay Travel

Phyu Phyu was a delight to deal with. The guide in Mandalay (Nyeung Thun?) was exceptional and Mo in Yangon very good too. Both had considerably better English than we were expecting. The guide in Inle (Than Zing?) was the weakest. His English was not the best, came across lazy and had an unfortunate smell. Otherwise good.

Hotels

The Governor’s Residence was the best but was probably the most expensive. Inle Heritage was a very special experience (thanks for the recommendation). The Aureum Palace was good but questionable in terms of the morality of the owner. The weakest property was the Mandalay Hills Resort which showed no character in its rooms, public facilities or cuisine. Difficult to believe that there is not a better property in Mandalay. The luxury of the boat was impassable.

Burma Boating

Obviously as you know our heart was set on the classic cruising experience. We have had a fibreglass yacht for 15 years and wanted something different and hence were disappointed with the change. That said the experience with SY Dalai could not have been better. The yacht was such a good sailing machine in light winds meaning that we could go under sail everywhere when the more classic yachts would have been under motor. Bruno, the skipper, was such a nice guy with a great story to tell if you were interested, which we were. The chef was second to none, a fact to which you had alluded. The result was still not quite what we had wanted but the result was fantastic and we could not help but recommend this boat and crew. The experience in the Mergui is obviously expensive but a very good addition to the holiday.


Conclusion

A personal thank you to you for all your hard work. At one point we might have seemed like the clients from hell, particularly when Jill had her operation and then her Aunt seemed on death´s door. Both are recovering well. Thanks for your patience.

All the best

Colin & Jill


Rating for tour operator Excellent

Dear Dorothy

I just thought it would be good to get back to you to say how much we enjoyed the holiday and to give you some feedback on Mandalay Travel, the hotels and Burma Boating.

Overall assessment

We had one of our best holidays. We felt that yourselves, Mandalay Travel (ie guides), SY Dalai boat crew were all very attentive to our desires and very flexible even at the last minute. All the arrangements were seamless and professional with the one exception regarding with how Burma Boating dealt with the net pricing issue. Obviously the problems with the SY Jubilaeum was something that happens, however I hear from the skipper of SY Dalai (not to be quoted) that this boat is over-worked and under-maintained and that this problem is not uncommon.

The ballooning, hill trek, Ayerwaddy trip and train trips are definitely worthwhile parts of the itinerary.

All was superb.

Mandalay Travel

Phyu Phyu was a delight to deal with. The guide in Mandalay (Nyeung Thun?) was exceptional and Mo in Yangon very good too. Both had considerably better English than we were expecting. The guide in Inle (Than Zing?) was the weakest. His English was not the best, came across lazy and had an unfortunate smell. Otherwise good.

Hotels

The Governor’s Residence was the best but was probably the most expensive. Inle Heritage was a very special experience (thanks for the recommendation). The Aureum Palace was good but questionable in terms of the morality of the owner. The weakest property was the Mandalay Hills Resort which showed no character in its rooms, public facilities or cuisine. Difficult to believe that there is not a better property in Mandalay. The luxury of the boat was impassable.

Burma Boating

Obviously as you know our heart was set on the classic cruising experience. We have had a fibreglass yacht for 15 years and wanted something different and hence were disappointed with the change. That said the experience with SY Dalai could not have been better. The yacht was such a good sailing machine in light winds meaning that we could go under sail everywhere when the more classic yachts would have been under motor. Bruno, the skipper, was such a nice guy with a great story to tell if you were interested, which we were. The chef was second to none, a fact to which you had alluded. The result was still not quite what we had wanted but the result was fantastic and we could not help but recommend this boat and crew. The experience in the Mergui is obviously expensive but a very good addition to the holiday.


Conclusion

A personal thank you to you for all your hard work. At one point we might have seemed like the clients from hell, particularly when Jill had her operation and then her Aunt seemed on death´s door. Both are recovering well. Thanks for your patience.

All the best

Colin & Jill


Fantastic holiday in Myanmar

By Happy holiday on 27 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Best of Burmese days >

We really enjoyed it. All the guides were fantastic. The organisation was superb.unfortunately we can find Nothing to complain about! and would recommend the holiday t anyone. Every flight we took and every hotel we took knew we sew vebgetarian. How did they all know this on the other side of the world?

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Cathy was really helpful and put up with changes in our plans

Fantastic

By Rebecca on 23 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

We enjoyed our holiday and we are really pleased with the great advice and service we receivedo I would recommend this to my friends and family.

Rating for tour operator Good

Great service & fantastic knowledge

Good Times

By Good Times on 10 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Enjoyed our holiday , we travelled around Thailand and went to Vietnam, stayed in some great hotels and the travel times and transfers were well organised

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Organised our trip extremely well , flights, internal transfers and accommodation were all sorted and we had a hassle free trip. I would definitely recommend East Coast Travel to anyone.