AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Eastravel

Eastravel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Eastravel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 108
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 111
Reviews Accepted: 111
Reviews Rejected: 0
111 reviews
Sort by:
Northern Sri Lanka Tour by Fenland Travellers, 31 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

For those wanting to experience a bit of culture and see something different.

Northern Sri Lanka was an interesting experience particularly seeing this part of the country 10 years after the end of the civil war. This is a genuine off the tourist trail trip with many interesting sights and stories to discover. The roads are much improved but be prepared for some long journeys. Our holiday also included a Singapore extension also arranged by the operator.

Northern Sri Lanka was an interesting experience particularly seeing this part of the country 10 years after the end of the civil war. This is a genuine off the tourist trail trip with many interesting sights and stories to discover. The roads are much improved but be prepared for some long journeys. Our holiday also included a Singapore extension also arranged by the operator.

Rating for tour operator:

We got very swift responses right from our initial enquiries to the departure day. Nothing was too much trouble and we even got answers to questions which we sent out of normal office hours.

Eastravel responded to this review on 31 May 2018:

Thank you for booking your special trip with us. We look forward to arranging your future holidays.

North to South Vietnam tour by Memorable Vietnam, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Memorable Vietnam

Travelled to Hanoi, Mai Chau, Cuc Phuong National Park, Ninh Binh, Hue and Hoi An. It was a wonderful experience full of delightful people, great food and many different things to do and see.

Travelled to Hanoi, Mai Chau, Cuc Phuong National Park, Ninh Binh, Hue and Hoi An. It was a wonderful experience full of delightful people, great food and many different things to do and see.

Rating for tour operator:

Our guide Huan Nguyen Duc was very knowledgeable, pleasant and professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and would request him if we were to return. Our transfer guide from Hoi An to Danang Airport was very good, as we left some luggage behind in the car and we went and checked in. We then realised we had something missing. We were sure we would never see it again, but within half an hour he had returned to the airport and got our missing luggage back to us. We are extremely grateful to him and were really impressed with this level of service.

Eastravel responded to this review on 03 May 2018:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed Vietnam so much and we are pleased to hear that the level of service exceeded your expectations! We look forward to helping you again soon with your next trip abroad.

Island Hopping in Thailand by Albrin, 2 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Yet another amazing holiday with Eastravel

Our holiday to Thailand was great from the word go!!! As soon as we arrived at Heathrow our holiday began. The whole family was excited, although Thailand is a long flight its well worth it, the planes are a different league to Thailand from your average package holiday company (Thomas Cook). Our hotel in Bangkok “The Majestic Grand” was bang in the heart of all the night life, restaurants bars shopping centres - you name it we had it. Our ...

Our holiday to Thailand was great from the word go!!! As soon as we arrived at Heathrow our holiday began. The whole family was excited, although Thailand is a long flight its well worth it, the planes are a different league to Thailand from your average package holiday company (Thomas Cook). Our hotel in Bangkok “The Majestic Grand” was bang in the heart of all the night life, restaurants bars shopping centres - you name it we had it. Our next place we stayed at was “The Royal Lanta” in Kho Lanta for three nights, meaning we had to take an internal flight, we stayed in a luxurious beach hut & the beach was unbelievable - I really recommend this place to anyone that wants to get away from it all. We then caught a ferry to Phi Phi stay at “The Cabbana” for three nights, The View from our room just blew you away with sea on both sides of the hotel, in my opinion this is the best hotel in Phi Phi (the location, the food, the scenery, the hotel staff) again we were only a few minutes walk from all the restaurants bars clubs. We then caught another ferry to Phuket staying at the “Novotel Patong” for six nights - again this was an outstanding hotel recommend by Eastravel with views to die for, now the staff at this hotel really made our holiday special, always smiling & very helpful, the only let down was the hotel was a little too far from anything although the hotel ran a free shuttle bus into town every hour it only held twelve people so you had no chance of getting on but we enjoy a walk anyway so this wasn’t really a problem. All in all this has to be one of our best ever holidays with really great memories & experiences, I could write so much more about our adventures, none of us wanted to come home & we’ all looking forward to returning again very soon.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing is too much for the guys at Eastravel - that’s why we booked another amazing holiday with an amazing experience. Everything went to plan just as we were told, ever our itinerary was spot on, this company really does fill you with confidence. The hotels & suggested places that Eastravel recommended for us to visit really had the “WOW” factor. Thailand is an amazing place in every aspect & we as a family thought Thailand would be a once in a lifetime holiday but Eastravel has changed this for us!!!!! Because Eastravel made it so simple & affordable it’s now become our favourite holiday destination, we’ve been twice in the last year & cant wait to go back next year.

Eastravel by Rick, 18 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

Very beautiful place fantastic hotel

Very beautiful place fantastic hotel

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and nothing was too much trouble

Sri Lanka Wildlife Tour by Col, 16 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

The holiday rates amongst our top 10

Dorothy and her team provided a thorough knowledge of Sri Lanka and gave us a good overview of the island. Only two small alterations I would make: spend only two nights in Kandy and an extra night at the tea plantation 98acres; secondly I would chose a better hotel on was to Yala as the hotel used was a bit run down

Dorothy and her team provided a thorough knowledge of Sri Lanka and gave us a good overview of the island. Only two small alterations I would make: spend only two nights in Kandy and an extra night at the tea plantation 98acres; secondly I would chose a better hotel on was to Yala as the hotel used was a bit run down

Rating for tour operator:

he tour operator on ground was knowledgeable and attentive to detail. The tour operator in UK gave us what we asked for - pretty faultless.

North to South Vietnam tour by Tracy H, 8 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing and even better than we imagined

From the time we arrived in Hanoi until the time we had to return home the holiday was amazing. The quality of the hotels was first class and all the staff treated us like royalty.We were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday while we were away and a birthday cake was arranged for him in both Vietnam & Thailand which was a lovely gesture. I can't rate the tour guides highly enough and we didn't realise that we would have our own private transport ...

From the time we arrived in Hanoi until the time we had to return home the holiday was amazing. The quality of the hotels was first class and all the staff treated us like royalty.We were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday while we were away and a birthday cake was arranged for him in both Vietnam & Thailand which was a lovely gesture. I can't rate the tour guides highly enough and we didn't realise that we would have our own private transport and guide for all of our sightseeing during the holiday. it was fab and I even felt a little emotional when we had to say goodbye to Mi in Vietnam as we had spent the longest time with her. Having private guides allowed us to avoid the crowds and gave us a really good understanding of the history and the culture from the people that lived there. Our 3 week holiday certainly exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be returning to visit other countries in Asia.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything organised by the tour operator was spot on, from the time we booked until returning home. We did and saw everything we wanted to and everything was in fact better than we expected. I usually organise my own trips away myself but it was so nice to have everything done for us without the worry of things perhaps not quite going according to plan.

Sri Lanka Wildlife Tour by Holly, 30 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Just what we hoped for

Just what we hoped for

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and knowledgeable

North to South Vietnam tour by Mo in Málaga, 25 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Vietnam/Istanbul starting from Spain

We began our experience through friends from England who recommended Eastravel for a holiday in Vietnam with a guide at each port of call. It worked out incredibly well and we were so lucky to have our wonderful guide Tuy when I had a minor stroke and had to be hospitalised in Halong for 24 hours. Tuy took us to a very well appointed international hospital with an excellent doctor who spoke English, and he stayed in the area and took care of ...

We began our experience through friends from England who recommended Eastravel for a holiday in Vietnam with a guide at each port of call. It worked out incredibly well and we were so lucky to have our wonderful guide Tuy when I had a minor stroke and had to be hospitalised in Halong for 24 hours. Tuy took us to a very well appointed international hospital with an excellent doctor who spoke English, and he stayed in the area and took care of our ongoing travel. Once back on the road the next day the holiday had to be slightly rearranged but it was very ralaxed and we didn't miss anything so we were delighted. Since we travelled from Málaga with Turkish Airlines we stopped over for 3 days in Istanbul on our way back, this time without a guide but also a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Dorothy Heng from Eastravel dealt with our requirements extremely well at all stages of the journey and without any pressure beforehand even when we made some important readjustments, for example deciding a month before not to visit Laos and Cambodia as originally planned, but to stop over in Istanbul. We were very happy with the very little extra cost involved as a result of the changes to our itinerary after my hospital stay. We were also very happy with the local operator ICS who provided 4 excellent guides at the different stages of our time in Vietnam. Two in particular, Tuy in the north and Vinh in the south, went to considerable personal trouble and expense for us. Further general comments:- 1. No decent maps provided, nor easily obtained, even in Tourist Information offices. Our Saigon guide Vinh kindly brought us one and would not accept payment for it. 2. No Botanic Gardens anywhere apparently! Tourist Information people looked totally perplexed when asked! 3. Personal security: we never felt the least bit threatened anywhere. 4. Tips: always a traveller's nightmare - I believe the Tour Operator should take care of this entirely (guides, drivers and hotel staff) and include it in the tour price, to save the very uncomfortable problem of scrabbling around for suitable bank notes all the time, a real pain. 5. Currency exchange: travellers to Vietnam should be warned they cannot change their remaining dongs once they start their return trip.

Eastravel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2018:

Dear Maureen,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
Tipping is voluntary and is entirely up to the individual based on the service you have received. We are very glad that you were able to continue and enjoy your holiday as planned. Thank you from Dorothy.

Sri Lanka Wildlife Tour by rogerr, 12 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lankan Sun , Sea, Parks and Temples- Excellent

Our holiday was excellent. Sri Lanka Airline looked after us very well and we were met on arrival by a Red Dot Tours rep who showed us to our vehicle and introduced us to our chauffeur/guide Wipul. He turned out to be very knowledgeable on all aspects of Sri Lanka and a good driver. The vehicle was spotless every morning. All of the hotels were very good indeed with a good choice of food. Lots of curry but we did decline it for breakfast! The ...

Our holiday was excellent. Sri Lanka Airline looked after us very well and we were met on arrival by a Red Dot Tours rep who showed us to our vehicle and introduced us to our chauffeur/guide Wipul. He turned out to be very knowledgeable on all aspects of Sri Lanka and a good driver. The vehicle was spotless every morning. All of the hotels were very good indeed with a good choice of food. Lots of curry but we did decline it for breakfast! The temples were fascinating and the national parks very interesting although the density of the vegetation does mean that sightings of both birds and mammals are quite difficult. Over 100 species of birds were seen, however, as well as leopards and crocodiles. Millions of white butterflies wafted around us in the parks. Galle was very colonial inside the fort but rather more touristy than I think we had expected. A great holiday with lovely memories.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour was booked through East Travel in Ipswich but operated by Red Dot Tours. We could not fault either company. Any queries before we left were promptly and accurately dealt with and we were well looked after as soon as we arrived. The vehicle was an almost new 9 seater mini bus which was just for us. The driver was very punctual, helpful and considerate and told us as much as he could about the country he is clearly very proud of. We had no problems at any of the hotels or venues which we visited.

Best of Burmese days by BevLM, 12 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Travelling in Myanmar

Fabulous holiday organised beautifully by Eastravel. 2 weeks travelling around by air, hot air balloon, A/C mini buses, bicycles, e-bikes, trekking with very friendly informative and knowledgeable guides seeing and experiencing so much around Myanmar. All plans suggested, advised and discussed before finalising an itinerary.

Fabulous holiday organised beautifully by Eastravel. 2 weeks travelling around by air, hot air balloon, A/C mini buses, bicycles, e-bikes, trekking with very friendly informative and knowledgeable guides seeing and experiencing so much around Myanmar. All plans suggested, advised and discussed before finalising an itinerary.

Rating for tour operator:

Eastravel advised, suggested, talked through and put together an itinerary specifically for our party (6 friends) until we were all happy with it. As we went through the process they were happy to change things for different interests or budgets. Helpful, friendly and efficient.