AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wildlife Trails

Wildlife Trails Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wildlife Trails

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 105
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 105
Reviews Accepted: 105
Reviews Rejected: 0
105 reviews
Sort by:
Costa Rica wildlife tour Osa by Derek, 25 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Costa Rican experience

This was our fifth trip organised by Allan & Kirsty at Wildlife Trails and once again exceeded our expectations. They put together a tailor made trip to Costa Rica from the cloud forests in the north to the pacific coast in the south which suited us down to the ground. Mayer our guide and Naturalist was with us every step of the way. His knowledge about the flora, fauna, social and political history of his country was second to none. He taught ...

This was our fifth trip organised by Allan & Kirsty at Wildlife Trails and once again exceeded our expectations. They put together a tailor made trip to Costa Rica from the cloud forests in the north to the pacific coast in the south which suited us down to the ground. Mayer our guide and Naturalist was with us every step of the way. His knowledge about the flora, fauna, social and political history of his country was second to none. He taught us so much and we know without him the holiday would not have been such a success. We count ourselves lucky to have had him as our guide. The organisation of the whole trip was excellent. Most of the lodges had their own USP, some were up in the cool cloud forest and some on the hot steamy coast. This meant we were able to see a whole range of birds, mammals, amphibians, lizards and insects etc. Everyone we met was friendly, kind and helpful. Costa Ricans are proud of their country and certainly know how to make visitors feel at home.

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails once again excelled in organising our trip. They were always there to answer questions and went the extra mile to make sure everything went smoothly. One of the keys to their success is that they listen to what you want and organise a trip that suits you not them. They also ensure all their ground agents and guides are first rate which means your holiday goes without a hitch. We can't recommend them highly enough. We're looking forward to our next adventure with them.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 25 Apr 2022:

Derek and Sandra have travelled with Wildlife Trails 3 times in the 10 months since the 'end' of the travel restrictions to some of our key destinations and we always enjoy the planning and trip design which comes with their bespoke or small group tours. We are so happy that their latest safari to Costa Rica was such a big hit. Our thanks as well to the excellence of Mayer their wonderful guide. Next stop, Tanzania :-)

Wildlife Trails by Lynne, 26 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Amazing, well planned Conservation Safari

Every detail about the Mara Predator Conservation Programme trip was well thought out and executed. The camps were beautiful and very comfortable, and the food delicious. Our tour leaders, Trai Anfield-photographer, and Niels Mogensen-research scientist were very knowledable and helpful. I learned so much about photography, the wildlife, and conservation efforts in the Mara region.

Every detail about the Mara Predator Conservation Programme trip was well thought out and executed. The camps were beautiful and very comfortable, and the food delicious. Our tour leaders, Trai Anfield-photographer, and Niels Mogensen-research scientist were very knowledable and helpful. I learned so much about photography, the wildlife, and conservation efforts in the Mara region.

Rating for tour operator:

I would book another trip with Wildlife Trails. I received quick feedback to my inquiries and help in organizing days pre and post trip. I felt well prepared for my trip, with every detail worked out.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 21 Jan 2022:

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. We can’t wait to organise your next wildlife adventure.

Budget Polar bear tour Churchill by Derek, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic polar bear viewing

This was our fourth trip organised by Allan at Wildlife Trails and once again didn't disappoint. We had a great start to the trip with a visit to Ridings Mountain National Park. Whilst late in the season our group still managed great viewings of Bison, Black Bear and Beaver. Then onto Churchill for the highlight of the trip. We had fantastic sightings of the Polar Bears coming down to the ice with over 90 bears spotted in the six days, many ...

This was our fourth trip organised by Allan at Wildlife Trails and once again didn't disappoint. We had a great start to the trip with a visit to Ridings Mountain National Park. Whilst late in the season our group still managed great viewings of Bison, Black Bear and Beaver. Then onto Churchill for the highlight of the trip. We had fantastic sightings of the Polar Bears coming down to the ice with over 90 bears spotted in the six days, many very close to the vehicles including mothers with cubs. We were also treated to amazing views of sparring polar bears. Wildlife Trails also organised some Road & Trails excursions for us and again a fantastic experience. Our guide, Gerald, with his indigenous heritage was brilliant. His love and appreciation of the countryside and wildlife was exceptional as was his ability to spot wildlife. He enabled us to have great opportunities to see not just polar bears but also ptarmigan, cross and red foxes and snowy owl. All in all this trip exceeded our expectations and we'd recommend it to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Allan & his staff at Wildlife Trails once again proved they can organise a memorable holiday. Everything went smoothly and we particularly like the fact that they support for the local community as much as they can. We're looking forward to our next wildlfe adventure with them.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 24 Nov 2021:

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback Derek and Sandra, I look forward to organising many more amazing wildlife adventures for you.

Wildlife Trails by Jenny T, 27 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent wildlife watching on beautiful Mull and Skye

We spent 8 lovely days watching wildlife on the Isles of Skye and Mull. The local guides were excellent, very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and the best locations to see things. As always with British wildlife it took some perseverance, but we had some wonderful sightings of otters, short-eared owls and sea eagles. The weather was hit and miss, but you have to expect that in Scotland and we tried to minimise it's impact. The accommod...

We spent 8 lovely days watching wildlife on the Isles of Skye and Mull. The local guides were excellent, very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and the best locations to see things. As always with British wildlife it took some perseverance, but we had some wonderful sightings of otters, short-eared owls and sea eagles. The weather was hit and miss, but you have to expect that in Scotland and we tried to minimise it's impact. The accommodation in both locations was comfortable and staff friendly with good food every night. We appreciated supporting local businesses. And all well overseen by or tour leader Allan!

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Wildlife Trails on a number of trips now, normally somewhere more exotic than Scotland! Their service is always excellent, with good advise on activities, locations and making the most of our time, while keeping our trip responsible and supporting the local communities. The guides they book are always first rate, which is what really makes a trip for us as that really effects the quality of your wildlife sightings.

Wildlife Trails by Curley, 26 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excelent visit to Scotland with Wildlife Trails

A great visit in August to the isles of Skye and Mull in Scotland organised by Wildlife Trails. The two local guides were superb and knew their subjects well and just where to find them. Had good sightings of Sea Eagles, Otters, Buzzards, Short Eared Owls and much more. Thank you Allan for the great organization.

A great visit in August to the isles of Skye and Mull in Scotland organised by Wildlife Trails. The two local guides were superb and knew their subjects well and just where to find them. Had good sightings of Sea Eagles, Otters, Buzzards, Short Eared Owls and much more. Thank you Allan for the great organization.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organization from beginning to end. Would certainly use again.

Costa Rica wildlife tour Osa by Bigcatfan, 24 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trip to Costa Rica

We had an excellent three week holiday touring Costa Rica in January/February 2020. We planned and booked our trip with Allan from Wildlife Trails. We spent our time exploring the various national parks photographing the wildlife and the amazing scenery. We had a private tour which included visits to Manuel Antonio, Corcovado, San Gerardo do Dota, Monteverde and St Elena. We saw lots of amazing wildlife including Tapirs and various Monkeys and ...

We had an excellent three week holiday touring Costa Rica in January/February 2020. We planned and booked our trip with Allan from Wildlife Trails. We spent our time exploring the various national parks photographing the wildlife and the amazing scenery. We had a private tour which included visits to Manuel Antonio, Corcovado, San Gerardo do Dota, Monteverde and St Elena. We saw lots of amazing wildlife including Tapirs and various Monkeys and the stunning birds. The accommodation was all of a good standard in some great locations. All the transfers worked like clockwork, we travelled by road and saw a large part of this wonderful country. This was our seventh holiday booked with Wildlife Trails and they are always a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Wildlife Trails since 2008 when we first visited India for our first Tiger safari. They are now our first stop for all our long haul holidays. They are a small family run company who have taken great care of us during the whole process of initial thoughts and plans through to the actual holiday and beyond. We are looking forward to our next trip to Canada in September 2022, third time lucky due to the impact of COVID-19 on international travel. We have a long bucket list of future holidays and look forward to discussing and planning them with Allan and Kirsty. We regularly recommend them to other travellers on our holidays when we say where we’ve been and what we’ve experienced.

Wildlife Trails by Derek, 18 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded expectations

The holiday exceeded expectations. The hotels used were ideal for the trip. The Portree Hotel was in a good location in the centre of town with easy access to shops restaurants etc. The hotel was bustling and busy most of the time. The staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient. Pennygael Hotel was in a great location set in nice gardens overlooking the loch. It has a homely feel with a bar with a nice lounge area with leather sofas. ...

The holiday exceeded expectations. The hotels used were ideal for the trip. The Portree Hotel was in a good location in the centre of town with easy access to shops restaurants etc. The hotel was bustling and busy most of the time. The staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient. Pennygael Hotel was in a great location set in nice gardens overlooking the loch. It has a homely feel with a bar with a nice lounge area with leather sofas. Joy the owner is a real character and an excellent host. The guides were two very different characters but were equally passionate and very knowledgable about the range of wildlife on the islands. They worked very hard to find the best locations to view birds and mammals, never giving up till the last minute of the day. They were willing to answer questions no matter how obscure and appeared to be as disappointed as we were if things didn't turn out as expected. The length of the itinerary was about right and as it turned out it was advantageous to have longer on Mull than Skye as the wildlife viewing was more successful. However this could easily change as we learnt a lot of luck is also involved and the weather also plays a part. Full days out with the guide worked well as this enabled us to be flexible we could spend longer at a site if the viewing was going well or move on if not. The boat trips were were a good opportunity to see sea eagles up close. Overall, an excellent, well organised and very enjoyable holiday we'd happily recommend to anyone

Rating for tour operator:

Allan from Wildlife Trails accompanied us on the tour and ensured everything went smoothly. His knowledge and enthusiasm rubbed off on us all. This is the third holiday we have been on with Wildlife Trails and once again showed what a good company they are. To still be able to organise such a successful trip during the pandemic proves we are right to have faith in their abilities. Cannot recommend Wildlife Trails highly enough.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 18 Aug 2021:

Thank you so much for your kind words Derek and putting your faith in Wildlife Trails to book three of your wildlife holidays; which have been very different in both locations and content and a real joy to organise. It was great to finally meet you both in Scotland and share our passion for nature, travel and photography together. We look forward to organising the next one for you in the near future.

Wildlife Trails by rhino37, 5 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife viewing on Skye and Mull, Scotland

Excellent break with local wildlife guides and boat trips organized. Tour leader with us at all times and drove the minibus. Pick up and return to Glasgow. Mid range hotels in excellent locations. Small group of 6 guests. Daily wild life trips with guide and one free day to visit Iona.

Excellent break with local wildlife guides and boat trips organized. Tour leader with us at all times and drove the minibus. Pick up and return to Glasgow. Mid range hotels in excellent locations. Small group of 6 guests. Daily wild life trips with guide and one free day to visit Iona.

Rating for tour operator:

Small family owned company who take excellent care of their customers and specialize in bespoke holidays or small groups . Even drove us to Troon after the holiday had ended.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 15 Aug 2021:

Thank you Liz for this beautiful and much appreciated feedback. We were blessed with a great group of people, amazing weather (apart from the last day!) and some very special wildlife sightings. Looking forward to returning to Scotland in 2022.

Botswana Photographic Safari by scotty, 17 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

mobile camping safari to Botswana

Our holiday was a great experience from the word go. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us good animal sightings. Our camp staff did a fantastic job looking after us

Our holiday was a great experience from the word go. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us good animal sightings. Our camp staff did a fantastic job looking after us

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife trails were always there for us if we had any questions we had to ask. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Allan and his staff

Wildlife Trails by Derek, 7 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic exprience

We chose Zambia for our safari as the national parks offered range of diverse habitats with a real chance of superb game viewing. The lodges and camps we stayed in were all different in terms of the style of the building and the facilities available but what was not different was the standard of service and the care taken to make our stay as memorable as it could be. Every member of staff was friendly helpful and always willing to go the extra ...

We chose Zambia for our safari as the national parks offered range of diverse habitats with a real chance of superb game viewing. The lodges and camps we stayed in were all different in terms of the style of the building and the facilities available but what was not different was the standard of service and the care taken to make our stay as memorable as it could be. Every member of staff was friendly helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure our needs were met. The guides and drivers who took us out on the early morning and afternoon game drives were superb. Their knowledge of the animals large and small was exemplary and their determination to find the best spots for viewing game was remarkable. From us landing at Lusaka to us leaving at the end of our fabulous holiday everything ran like clockwork. Our pick-ups were on time and the vehicles we travelled in were appropriate for the journey. One never goes hungry on safari, the standard of the food and drink was excellent and there was always plenty of it. This trip provided us with many fabulous memories of the people we met and the privilege of seeing the animals in their natural environment cannot be underestimated.

Rating for tour operator:

We chose Wildlife Trails to plan and organise our safari to Zambia as we had been with them to India and that holiday was fantastic so it was really a no brainer. Allan listened to what we wanted from our trip and gave us several options before we settled on the one that seemed to suit us best. Africa gets into your blood and it is constantly pulling you back, we will be going again in the future and Wildlife Trails will be the first port of call to organise our next African Safari.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 07 Sep 2020:

We are incredibly lucky to have Derek and Sandra as regular clients and not only do we enjoy organising their safaris; they also provide superb feedback and photographs about their wildlife experiences. We very much look forward to putting together their next African adventure!