AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wildlife Trails

Wildlife Trails Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wildlife Trails

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 93
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 93
Reviews Accepted: 93
Reviews Rejected: 0
93 reviews
Sort by:
India wildlife tour to Satpura by SarahM, 11 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding from planning, throughout the whole trip and home again

We had a 13 day tour to India, mostly wildlife as this was what we wanted and a little element of city & culture. Day in Delhi staying at the Imperial, apart from noisy traffic getting to the hotel it was an iconic place to be, so much hitory and staff who had been there 30yrs and proud of what they did. then onto 5 days at Ranthambor - 2 incredible Tiger sightings with so many other species, onto Agra and the Taj mahal and then teh Saptura ...

We had a 13 day tour to India, mostly wildlife as this was what we wanted and a little element of city & culture. Day in Delhi staying at the Imperial, apart from noisy traffic getting to the hotel it was an iconic place to be, so much hitory and staff who had been there 30yrs and proud of what they did. then onto 5 days at Ranthambor - 2 incredible Tiger sightings with so many other species, onto Agra and the Taj mahal and then teh Saptura National Park -

Rating for tour operator:

Great time was taken in the planning, we were given lots of options as to how to make the trip up including time of year and how to maximize wildlife sightings

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2019:

WOW Sarah! We love detailed feedback about our clients special wildlife holidays and this is just perfect.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2019:

It was our great pleasure to organise your first visit to India and share some of the magic of its incredible wildlife and cultural treasures.

Wildlife Trails by Surrey13, 25 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A life changing experience

The main part of the trip was gorilla trekking in Uganda and Wildlife Trails had organised this very well and provided me with a comprehensive list of what to take which was great. The lodges were lovely and seeing the other animals in Queen Elizabeth National Park, brillient

The main part of the trip was gorilla trekking in Uganda and Wildlife Trails had organised this very well and provided me with a comprehensive list of what to take which was great. The lodges were lovely and seeing the other animals in Queen Elizabeth National Park, brillient

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails organised the trip, including my flight very well. They also booked a hotel for me in Entebbe for the first and last night before flying home

Grizzly Bears and Whales Katmai by Jonworld, 18 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Thoroughly bearable

Great itinerary Jeaunau, a good start to be introduced to the quirkiness of Alaska We self-added Barrow and glad we did as it was culturally exotic as well as seeing the ice of the Artic Ocean The Kodiak area had ups and downs due to weather; Alaska needs a weather disclaimer! Highlights were Frazer Lake and Katmai Wildnerness Lodge (when the weather was good) Homer was a great last stop as loved the hippie vibe and the trip to brooks from ...

Great itinerary Jeaunau, a good start to be introduced to the quirkiness of Alaska We self-added Barrow and glad we did as it was culturally exotic as well as seeing the ice of the Artic Ocean The Kodiak area had ups and downs due to weather; Alaska needs a weather disclaimer! Highlights were Frazer Lake and Katmai Wildnerness Lodge (when the weather was good) Homer was a great last stop as loved the hippie vibe and the trip to brooks from there was fantastic The overall theme was bears and each bear experience grew on the previous Brooks was the icing on the cake. A last morning in Anchorage sealed the oddidity of this amazing sate. (really feels like a seperate country)

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent for planning and knowing the best spots as had done the trip himself. He had booked out the katmai wilderness lodge for his clients which was great as we fall a small party for 4 days. The wether disruption caused a lot of stress and Kodiak should katmai Wilderness shpul;d be marked with a high risk stamp We particularly hadn't realised with Katmai Wilderness the limited transpot links and lack of flexibilty to try and pre-empt detriorating weather

Grizzly Bear Safari at Katmai by Pansyjan, 18 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking with Bears

A 7 night stay at Katmai Wilderness Lodge which was amazing both for accommodation, food, very friendly and helpful staff and of course seeing bears in their natural habitat. A 4 night stay in Juneau which included a visit to Pack Creek where we had good sighting of bears and 2 Whale Watching tours where we saw Humpbacks and seals and Stellar Sealions.

A 7 night stay at Katmai Wilderness Lodge which was amazing both for accommodation, food, very friendly and helpful staff and of course seeing bears in their natural habitat. A 4 night stay in Juneau which included a visit to Pack Creek where we had good sighting of bears and 2 Whale Watching tours where we saw Humpbacks and seals and Stellar Sealions.

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails a small family concern run by Allan and Kirsty Blanchard. Very efficient and helpful. Listened to what we wanted and put together a good itinerary.

Wildlife Trails by Foxy Lady, 15 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Africa changes you forever and you will always yearn to return to the bush.

How do you describe being on safari in the African Bush ? That is hard because it is not just about seeing animals in their natural environment ; it is about experiences, feelings , smells and all those things that fill the senses. We stayed in a tented camp and this is the only way to truly experience Africa, hearing the sounds of Hyena and Lion whilst you lay in your bed at night. Making sure you get excellent guides is key to getting the ...

How do you describe being on safari in the African Bush ? That is hard because it is not just about seeing animals in their natural environment ; it is about experiences, feelings , smells and all those things that fill the senses. We stayed in a tented camp and this is the only way to truly experience Africa, hearing the sounds of Hyena and Lion whilst you lay in your bed at night. Making sure you get excellent guides is key to getting the right experience and we were so lucky in this respect. They impart so much of their in - depth knowledge of the wildlife and ensure you get wonderful sightings of some amazing animals and birds but with care and consideration for their environment You just have to go there !

Rating for tour operator:

I have given Wildlife Trails repeat business since I first used them. They are a small company but with a wealth of experience and customer service. They are prepared to give a lot of time in helping to put together a holiday itinerary that will tick all the boxes. In addition their quoted costs are very fair and not over inflated like some operators. I recommended friends to use them , which they did, and they were not disappointed.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 13 Oct 2018:

Glad that you had such a rewarding time at Kicheche!

Wildlife Trails by Andrew Davison, 28 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A truly stunning holiday, wildlife and photography experience

Three weeks in India with the fantastic wildlife photographer and teacher, Trai Anfield, concentrating on finding and photographing tiger and leopard, as well as experiencing all the cultural wonders of this extraordinary country. The trip exceeded all expectations. We stayed in a wonderful selection of safari lodges, tented camps, forts and palaces, experienced the food and customs of the regions, visited and spent time with the local people ...

Three weeks in India with the fantastic wildlife photographer and teacher, Trai Anfield, concentrating on finding and photographing tiger and leopard, as well as experiencing all the cultural wonders of this extraordinary country. The trip exceeded all expectations. We stayed in a wonderful selection of safari lodges, tented camps, forts and palaces, experienced the food and customs of the regions, visited and spent time with the local people and were in Udaipur to celebrate the paint festival, Holi. Out of all the game drives we did over the three weeks, on only two did we return without having seen either tiger or leopard. A truly outstanding experience in every respect, made even more special by the dedication of Trai Anfield to make sure that her clients had the best possible tuition and opportunities to take the photograph of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in every respect. Everything worked perfectly. The booking arrangements, information and assistance before the trip, local guides and local arrangements all worked extremely well and the trip content, compiled in collaboration with Trai Anfield, was outstandingly brilliant.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 26 Aug 2018:

After two hugely successful India photo groups, Trai Anfield is planning a photography trip to Alaska in July 2019 - watch this space!

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 26 Aug 2018:

Our pleasure - especially having seen your fantastic photos from Tadoba!

Diverse India: safari & cities by DC1, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip to India with Wildlife Trails

We have recently returned from a 16-night trip to India, organised by Wildlife Trails. It was a tailored trip, encompassing safari in Kaziranga and Corbett with city breaks in Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi to catch some IPL cricket. Essentially we were on a 16-night, 5 centre itinerary, no more than 3 nights in any one location, involving many and varied transfers by road, rail and air. The chaos which characterises India, and is certainly part ...

We have recently returned from a 16-night trip to India, organised by Wildlife Trails. It was a tailored trip, encompassing safari in Kaziranga and Corbett with city breaks in Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi to catch some IPL cricket. Essentially we were on a 16-night, 5 centre itinerary, no more than 3 nights in any one location, involving many and varied transfers by road, rail and air. The chaos which characterises India, and is certainly part of its charm, can cause frustration for travellers – unless they are travelling with Wildlife Trails, who have partnered with ground agents in India who have the knack of short-circuiting the chaos and arriving everywhere with comfortable punctuality, every time. A thoroughly professional service, enabling our party of 4 to fully enjoy the wonderful experiences India has to offer. We had dedicated wildlife drivers/guides during our stays at both Kaziranga and Corbett – in both cases they were very friendly, we were very well looked after by them, and they greatly enriched our experience of the wildlife. We were blessed with tiger sightings at both Kaziranga (2 different tigers on 2 different days!) and Corbett – where we close enough to the tiger to consider it an encounter rather than a sighting. And Rhino galore (including being amongst a sizeable herd on elephant safari), and wild elephant galore, and deer, and monkeys, and fabulous birds. Accommodation at both National Parks was very good, as were the meals. During our city breaks we had guided tours of each city. Our guides were all punctual, very knowledgeable and friendly – our experience of all 3 cities was certainly enriched by our guides. The agents and drivers who assisted with our transfers to and from airports and railways stations were unfailingly polite and helpful – we were delivered to our seats on the train in Kolkata and met at the carriage door when we arrived 19 hours later in Delhi. Kirsty from Wildlife Trails worked with us over several iterations of our itinerary – always offering positive suggestions and responding promptly and fully to our questions. Putting the trip together with Wildlife Trail was a pleasure in itself – and I’m very happy and impressed to be able to say that everything went according to plan. We would all four have no hesitation in recommending Wildlife Trails to anyone considering a wildlife adventure in India.

Rating for tour operator:

absolutely first-rate in every regard

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 05 Jul 2018:

it was a pleasure putting together something so diverse and different- a 'best of' rhinos, cities and cricket

Indian wildlife tour Bandhavgarh by Picles, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

This was our 7th visit to India, 5 times to Bandhavgarh National Park. Our 1st time to Kipling Camp, amazing holiday

WE had 2 nights in Delhi at Claridges, perfect as always, 3 nights at Kipling Camp,excellent staff, guide, rooms and best of all picnic by the river to bath the beautiful 'Tara' the elephant. Went on to Bandhavgargh 'Bandhav Villas' where we have stayed 5 times, treated like Royalty, the rooms have been upgraded, 6* service and most of all 22 Tiger sightings including mother and 3 cubs, wild dogs and other wild life. What else can one ask for?

WE had 2 nights in Delhi at Claridges, perfect as always, 3 nights at Kipling Camp,excellent staff, guide, rooms and best of all picnic by the river to bath the beautiful 'Tara' the elephant. Went on to Bandhavgargh 'Bandhav Villas' where we have stayed 5 times, treated like Royalty, the rooms have been upgraded, 6* service and most of all 22 Tiger sightings including mother and 3 cubs, wild dogs and other wild life. What else can one ask for?

Rating for tour operator:

We have used 'Wildlife Trails' now for at least 7 times. They are very knowledgeable, flexible, good listeners as to what you want to do/see, have really become our 'travel friends'. They arranged tours to India, Sri Lanka and Tanzania for us. They have give an excellent service and have good 'local partners' to be there for you.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 22 May 2018:

Well we have to confess the tiger sightings were not under our control - just a really great bonus, that's nearly as exciting for us to read about! Thank you to favourite travel freinds.

Wildlife Trails by Julie, 22 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

An excellent way to see iconic & enangered Indian wildlife.

It was a great itinerary that allowed us to see all the iconic and unique wildlife of India in the company of excellent guides, thoughtful drivers and accommodation hosts. In Gujarat we saw wild ass, birdlife including migrating bar headed geese, asiatic lions - which are not as easy to see as you might think and need persistence, Black buck, Indian wolf & jungle cat with leopard, tiger and a very fast moving sloth bear in Madhya Pradesh and ...

It was a great itinerary that allowed us to see all the iconic and unique wildlife of India in the company of excellent guides, thoughtful drivers and accommodation hosts. In Gujarat we saw wild ass, birdlife including migrating bar headed geese, asiatic lions - which are not as easy to see as you might think and need persistence, Black buck, Indian wolf & jungle cat with leopard, tiger and a very fast moving sloth bear in Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. The accomodation was excellent particularly Blackbuck Lodge @ Velavadar and Reni Pani @ Saptura and everywhere had top notch hospitality. Travel was by car, train and plane - travelling in India takes some acclimatisation but the drivers and meet & greet guides were very professional and made it as easy as they could! overall it was a well put together holiday which flowed and allowed us to experience India and Indian wildlife at its best.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and put together a well thought through itinerary.

Wildlife Trails by Buendia, 12 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Central India safari/tiger watching trip

10 days in Pench, Nagzira, and Tadoba NPs, looking for tigers, sloth bears, leopards and more. I can't praise enough the way the whole trip was arranged and run, and the parks are magnificent (Tadoba is where you're most likely to see tigers, and we saw ten different ones, including two mothers with 2 and 4 cubs!, Nagzira is possibly the most beautiful, scenery-wise, but big cats are very hard to see - however, birding is phenomenal and wild ...

10 days in Pench, Nagzira, and Tadoba NPs, looking for tigers, sloth bears, leopards and more. I can't praise enough the way the whole trip was arranged and run, and the parks are magnificent (Tadoba is where you're most likely to see tigers, and we saw ten different ones, including two mothers with 2 and 4 cubs!, Nagzira is possibly the most beautiful, scenery-wise, but big cats are very hard to see - however, birding is phenomenal and wild dogs a real treat, Pench is in-between the two).

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails is a very responsive, responsible and proactive operator, and our trip to India proved great value for our money. We're returning customers and, after an earlier, amazing trip in 2004, we chose Wildlife Trails again for this tiger watching trip with a couple of friends. Hope to have a chance to return to India again in a few years, obviously with Allan & Kirsty!

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2018:

thanks again for your comments - and the superb photos!