AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wildlife Trails

Wildlife Trails Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wildlife Trails

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 87
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 87
Reviews Accepted: 87
Reviews Rejected: 0
87 reviews
Sort by:
Diverse India: safari & cities by DC1, 23 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip to India with Wildlife Trails

We have recently returned from a 16-night trip to India, organised by Wildlife Trails. It was a tailored trip, encompassing safari in Kaziranga and Corbett with city breaks in Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi to catch some IPL cricket. Essentially we were on a 16-night, 5 centre itinerary, no more than 3 nights in any one location, involving many and varied transfers by road, rail and air. The chaos which characterises India, and is certainly part ...

We have recently returned from a 16-night trip to India, organised by Wildlife Trails. It was a tailored trip, encompassing safari in Kaziranga and Corbett with city breaks in Mumbai, Kolkata and Delhi to catch some IPL cricket. Essentially we were on a 16-night, 5 centre itinerary, no more than 3 nights in any one location, involving many and varied transfers by road, rail and air. The chaos which characterises India, and is certainly part of its charm, can cause frustration for travellers – unless they are travelling with Wildlife Trails, who have partnered with ground agents in India who have the knack of short-circuiting the chaos and arriving everywhere with comfortable punctuality, every time. A thoroughly professional service, enabling our party of 4 to fully enjoy the wonderful experiences India has to offer. We had dedicated wildlife drivers/guides during our stays at both Kaziranga and Corbett – in both cases they were very friendly, we were very well looked after by them, and they greatly enriched our experience of the wildlife. We were blessed with tiger sightings at both Kaziranga (2 different tigers on 2 different days!) and Corbett – where we close enough to the tiger to consider it an encounter rather than a sighting. And Rhino galore (including being amongst a sizeable herd on elephant safari), and wild elephant galore, and deer, and monkeys, and fabulous birds. Accommodation at both National Parks was very good, as were the meals. During our city breaks we had guided tours of each city. Our guides were all punctual, very knowledgeable and friendly – our experience of all 3 cities was certainly enriched by our guides. The agents and drivers who assisted with our transfers to and from airports and railways stations were unfailingly polite and helpful – we were delivered to our seats on the train in Kolkata and met at the carriage door when we arrived 19 hours later in Delhi. Kirsty from Wildlife Trails worked with us over several iterations of our itinerary – always offering positive suggestions and responding promptly and fully to our questions. Putting the trip together with Wildlife Trail was a pleasure in itself – and I’m very happy and impressed to be able to say that everything went according to plan. We would all four have no hesitation in recommending Wildlife Trails to anyone considering a wildlife adventure in India.

Rating for tour operator:

absolutely first-rate in every regard

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 05 Jul 2018:

it was a pleasure putting together something so diverse and different- a 'best of' rhinos, cities and cricket

Indian wildlife tour Bandhavgarh by Picles, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

This was our 7th visit to India, 5 times to Bandhavgarh National Park. Our 1st time to Kipling Camp, amazing holiday

WE had 2 nights in Delhi at Claridges, perfect as always, 3 nights at Kipling Camp,excellent staff, guide, rooms and best of all picnic by the river to bath the beautiful 'Tara' the elephant. Went on to Bandhavgargh 'Bandhav Villas' where we have stayed 5 times, treated like Royalty, the rooms have been upgraded, 6* service and most of all 22 Tiger sightings including mother and 3 cubs, wild dogs and other wild life. What else can one ask for?

WE had 2 nights in Delhi at Claridges, perfect as always, 3 nights at Kipling Camp,excellent staff, guide, rooms and best of all picnic by the river to bath the beautiful 'Tara' the elephant. Went on to Bandhavgargh 'Bandhav Villas' where we have stayed 5 times, treated like Royalty, the rooms have been upgraded, 6* service and most of all 22 Tiger sightings including mother and 3 cubs, wild dogs and other wild life. What else can one ask for?

Rating for tour operator:

We have used 'Wildlife Trails' now for at least 7 times. They are very knowledgeable, flexible, good listeners as to what you want to do/see, have really become our 'travel friends'. They arranged tours to India, Sri Lanka and Tanzania for us. They have give an excellent service and have good 'local partners' to be there for you.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 22 May 2018:

Well we have to confess the tiger sightings were not under our control - just a really great bonus, that's nearly as exciting for us to read about! Thank you to favourite travel freinds.

Wildlife Trails by Julie, 22 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

An excellent way to see iconic & enangered Indian wildlife.

It was a great itinerary that allowed us to see all the iconic and unique wildlife of India in the company of excellent guides, thoughtful drivers and accommodation hosts. In Gujarat we saw wild ass, birdlife including migrating bar headed geese, asiatic lions - which are not as easy to see as you might think and need persistence, Black buck, Indian wolf & jungle cat with leopard, tiger and a very fast moving sloth bear in Madhya Pradesh and ...

It was a great itinerary that allowed us to see all the iconic and unique wildlife of India in the company of excellent guides, thoughtful drivers and accommodation hosts. In Gujarat we saw wild ass, birdlife including migrating bar headed geese, asiatic lions - which are not as easy to see as you might think and need persistence, Black buck, Indian wolf & jungle cat with leopard, tiger and a very fast moving sloth bear in Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. The accomodation was excellent particularly Blackbuck Lodge @ Velavadar and Reni Pani @ Saptura and everywhere had top notch hospitality. Travel was by car, train and plane - travelling in India takes some acclimatisation but the drivers and meet & greet guides were very professional and made it as easy as they could! overall it was a well put together holiday which flowed and allowed us to experience India and Indian wildlife at its best.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and put together a well thought through itinerary.

Wildlife Trails by Buendia, 12 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Central India safari/tiger watching trip

10 days in Pench, Nagzira, and Tadoba NPs, looking for tigers, sloth bears, leopards and more. I can't praise enough the way the whole trip was arranged and run, and the parks are magnificent (Tadoba is where you're most likely to see tigers, and we saw ten different ones, including two mothers with 2 and 4 cubs!, Nagzira is possibly the most beautiful, scenery-wise, but big cats are very hard to see - however, birding is phenomenal and wild ...

10 days in Pench, Nagzira, and Tadoba NPs, looking for tigers, sloth bears, leopards and more. I can't praise enough the way the whole trip was arranged and run, and the parks are magnificent (Tadoba is where you're most likely to see tigers, and we saw ten different ones, including two mothers with 2 and 4 cubs!, Nagzira is possibly the most beautiful, scenery-wise, but big cats are very hard to see - however, birding is phenomenal and wild dogs a real treat, Pench is in-between the two).

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails is a very responsive, responsible and proactive operator, and our trip to India proved great value for our money. We're returning customers and, after an earlier, amazing trip in 2004, we chose Wildlife Trails again for this tiger watching trip with a couple of friends. Hope to have a chance to return to India again in a few years, obviously with Allan & Kirsty!

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2018:

thanks again for your comments - and the superb photos!

Wildlife Trails by pickpickles, 8 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Our trip came up to all our expectations, Alan at wildlife trails listened to all our concerns and made us the perfect itinerary

We focused on wildlife and quiet destinations. We tried not to do too much internal travel so we could relax in fewer places and get to understand the local areas. My husband did not want to go to India, he came back saying how wonderful it was and what a fabulous experience it had been. I cannot praise Wildlife trails enough for creating a trip that gave us such a good insight into the real India.

We focused on wildlife and quiet destinations. We tried not to do too much internal travel so we could relax in fewer places and get to understand the local areas. My husband did not want to go to India, he came back saying how wonderful it was and what a fabulous experience it had been. I cannot praise Wildlife trails enough for creating a trip that gave us such a good insight into the real India.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, prompt and very friendly. Good at sending out information and links so that you can do further research into the holidays. Aslo sends out holiday hints which is very useful

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2018:

delighted that Geoff was 'won over' by India, and that his lucky streak continued and helped you find an incredible 6 tigers in Kanha, as well leopard and sloth bear in Satpura.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 12 Feb 2018:

It was a pleasure to help you work out the balance for you!

Pench and Kanha Wildlife by rail by AvJH, 1 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beloved India

In November 2017 we re-visited India - Pench & Kanha National Parks. We have been many times before though each drive in these parks provides a new experience. The terrain may be familiar but every visit is different as, when wildlife watching, every moment is different from the last. Evocative sounds promise surprises around every bend. This time there was the added bonus of seeing everything so green when we are mostly used to more parched ...

In November 2017 we re-visited India - Pench & Kanha National Parks. We have been many times before though each drive in these parks provides a new experience. The terrain may be familiar but every visit is different as, when wildlife watching, every moment is different from the last. Evocative sounds promise surprises around every bend. This time there was the added bonus of seeing everything so green when we are mostly used to more parched summer scenery. This just adds to the thrill of seeing an almost unrecognisable view - almost different parks. We were lucky enough to see a tiger family in Pench & two beautiful tigresses in Kanha. Add to this wild dogs, leopard, all the prey animals and birds, much water in the lakes & rivers and we had a feast of wild life watching to add to our memories.

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife Trails have been our preferred tour operator since 2003. Allan & Kirsty Blanchard feel like friends as we have spoken so often to them that they understand what we want from our holidays. And they deliver every time. Their operation is small & personal yet with a wealth of experience. Each time we discuss a planned trip it is a partnership of ideas so we feel very involved in the process.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 02 Feb 2018:

always an absolute pleasure!

Brazil wildlife tour Pantanal by IMP, 20 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Experience

We travelled through the Pantanal in Brazil. Our guide was fantastic. He met us at our hotel and accompanied us throughout. Transportation (4x4) with a driver was very comfortable, particularly as it was mainly mud roads! The first few days we spent at Pousada Alegre, Bird sightings were great, but also fox, monkey and tapir to name but a few. Majority of our trip was spent looking for Jaguar o the river. And we definitely were lucky! ...

We travelled through the Pantanal in Brazil. Our guide was fantastic. He met us at our hotel and accompanied us throughout. Transportation (4x4) with a driver was very comfortable, particularly as it was mainly mud roads! The first few days we spent at Pousada Alegre, Bird sightings were great, but also fox, monkey and tapir to name but a few. Majority of our trip was spent looking for Jaguar o the river. And we definitely were lucky! We had some amazing sightings, including a number of mum and cubs.

Rating for tour operator:

Allan's organisation of the trip was spot on. Everything worked like clockwork and the guide he chose spoke perfect English and went out of his way to ensure that we were always in the best places / positions to photograph the wildlife. We have used Allan on on several wildlife trips in the past and this one was up to his usual high standards. Allan takes the time to get to know you, your preferences and understand exactly what you wish to do / see and works with you to achieve the type of holiday you wish. Thanks again Allan - looking forward to Tanzania in February!

Zambia Safari Shenton Safaris by Honey Badger, 11 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Zambia Safari

We visited two camps in South Luangwa, Mwamba Bush camp & Kaingo camp.Both brilliant for the wildlife and the photographic hides. Guides first rate, accommodation top class, camp staff helpful and friendly. We then moved down to the Lower Zambezi to Baines River Camp. Excellent accommodation,again staff friendly, only draw back was the forty minute boat trip to reach the national park. Again good wildlife sightings.

We visited two camps in South Luangwa, Mwamba Bush camp & Kaingo camp.Both brilliant for the wildlife and the photographic hides. Guides first rate, accommodation top class, camp staff helpful and friendly. We then moved down to the Lower Zambezi to Baines River Camp. Excellent accommodation,again staff friendly, only draw back was the forty minute boat trip to reach the national park. Again good wildlife sightings.

Rating for tour operator:

Allan at Wildlife Trails was very helpful, promptly answered any questions we had, everything went smoothly while in Zambia. The itinerary he suggested was perfect for our trip.

Gorilla Safari Uganda Murchison by Zoltan, 5 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gorilla trekking in Rwanda and Uganda

Very pleasant and tailormade tour in Africa.

Very pleasant and tailormade tour in Africa.

Rating for tour operator:

Quick, friendly and professional.

Big Cat Photo safari in the Mara by Louise, 1 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Amazing safari in the Massai Mara

We travelled to Nairobi in October 2017 and spent 5 nights at Entim camp in the Massai Mara. This was a fantastic trip. The camp is exceptional and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff. Entim is in a great position and we had outstanding wildlife sightings, helped by knowledgeable, and enthusiastic guides. This trip far exceeded our expectations.

We travelled to Nairobi in October 2017 and spent 5 nights at Entim camp in the Massai Mara. This was a fantastic trip. The camp is exceptional and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff. Entim is in a great position and we had outstanding wildlife sightings, helped by knowledgeable, and enthusiastic guides. This trip far exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

Kirsty and Allan again made sure that we had an amazing holiday. The itinerary was perfect, the camp was better than we every imagined, and we can't wait for them to plan our next trip.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 01 Nov 2017:

We are huge fans of Entim Camp, but even we didn't expect you to have so many amazing wildlife encounters in the Mara - including incredible river crossings - in the middle of October. So happy for you both!