AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wildlife Trails

Wildlife Trails Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wildlife Trails

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 103
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 103
Reviews Accepted: 103
Reviews Rejected: 0
103 reviews
Sort by:
Budget Polar bear tour Churchill by Derek, 24 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic polar bear viewing

This was our fourth trip organised by Allan at Wildlife Trails and once again didn't disappoint. We had a great start to the trip with a visit to Ridings Mountain National Park. Whilst late in the season our group still managed great viewings of Bison, Black Bear and Beaver. Then onto Churchill for the highlight of the trip. We had fantastic sightings of the Polar Bears coming down to the ice with over 90 bears spotted in the six days, many ...

This was our fourth trip organised by Allan at Wildlife Trails and once again didn't disappoint. We had a great start to the trip with a visit to Ridings Mountain National Park. Whilst late in the season our group still managed great viewings of Bison, Black Bear and Beaver. Then onto Churchill for the highlight of the trip. We had fantastic sightings of the Polar Bears coming down to the ice with over 90 bears spotted in the six days, many very close to the vehicles including mothers with cubs. We were also treated to amazing views of sparring polar bears. Wildlife Trails also organised some Road & Trails excursions for us and again a fantastic experience. Our guide, Gerald, with his indigenous heritage was brilliant. His love and appreciation of the countryside and wildlife was exceptional as was his ability to spot wildlife. He enabled us to have great opportunities to see not just polar bears but also ptarmigan, cross and red foxes and snowy owl. All in all this trip exceeded our expectations and we'd recommend it to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Allan & his staff at Wildlife Trails once again proved they can organise a memorable holiday. Everything went smoothly and we particularly like the fact that they support for the local community as much as they can. We're looking forward to our next wildlfe adventure with them.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 24 Nov 2021:

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback Derek and Sandra, I look forward to organising many more amazing wildlife adventures for you.

Wildlife Trails by Jenny T, 27 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent wildlife watching on beautiful Mull and Skye

We spent 8 lovely days watching wildlife on the Isles of Skye and Mull. The local guides were excellent, very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and the best locations to see things. As always with British wildlife it took some perseverance, but we had some wonderful sightings of otters, short-eared owls and sea eagles. The weather was hit and miss, but you have to expect that in Scotland and we tried to minimise it's impact. The accommod...

We spent 8 lovely days watching wildlife on the Isles of Skye and Mull. The local guides were excellent, very knowledgeable about the local wildlife and the best locations to see things. As always with British wildlife it took some perseverance, but we had some wonderful sightings of otters, short-eared owls and sea eagles. The weather was hit and miss, but you have to expect that in Scotland and we tried to minimise it's impact. The accommodation in both locations was comfortable and staff friendly with good food every night. We appreciated supporting local businesses. And all well overseen by or tour leader Allan!

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with Wildlife Trails on a number of trips now, normally somewhere more exotic than Scotland! Their service is always excellent, with good advise on activities, locations and making the most of our time, while keeping our trip responsible and supporting the local communities. The guides they book are always first rate, which is what really makes a trip for us as that really effects the quality of your wildlife sightings.

Wildlife Trails by Curley, 26 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excelent visit to Scotland with Wildlife Trails

A great visit in August to the isles of Skye and Mull in Scotland organised by Wildlife Trails. The two local guides were superb and knew their subjects well and just where to find them. Had good sightings of Sea Eagles, Otters, Buzzards, Short Eared Owls and much more. Thank you Allan for the great organization.

A great visit in August to the isles of Skye and Mull in Scotland organised by Wildlife Trails. The two local guides were superb and knew their subjects well and just where to find them. Had good sightings of Sea Eagles, Otters, Buzzards, Short Eared Owls and much more. Thank you Allan for the great organization.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organization from beginning to end. Would certainly use again.

Costa Rica wildlife tour Osa by Bigcatfan, 24 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trip to Costa Rica

We had an excellent three week holiday touring Costa Rica in January/February 2020. We planned and booked our trip with Allan from Wildlife Trails. We spent our time exploring the various national parks photographing the wildlife and the amazing scenery. We had a private tour which included visits to Manuel Antonio, Corcovado, San Gerardo do Dota, Monteverde and St Elena. We saw lots of amazing wildlife including Tapirs and various Monkeys and ...

We had an excellent three week holiday touring Costa Rica in January/February 2020. We planned and booked our trip with Allan from Wildlife Trails. We spent our time exploring the various national parks photographing the wildlife and the amazing scenery. We had a private tour which included visits to Manuel Antonio, Corcovado, San Gerardo do Dota, Monteverde and St Elena. We saw lots of amazing wildlife including Tapirs and various Monkeys and the stunning birds. The accommodation was all of a good standard in some great locations. All the transfers worked like clockwork, we travelled by road and saw a large part of this wonderful country. This was our seventh holiday booked with Wildlife Trails and they are always a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Wildlife Trails since 2008 when we first visited India for our first Tiger safari. They are now our first stop for all our long haul holidays. They are a small family run company who have taken great care of us during the whole process of initial thoughts and plans through to the actual holiday and beyond. We are looking forward to our next trip to Canada in September 2022, third time lucky due to the impact of COVID-19 on international travel. We have a long bucket list of future holidays and look forward to discussing and planning them with Allan and Kirsty. We regularly recommend them to other travellers on our holidays when we say where we’ve been and what we’ve experienced.

Wildlife Trails by Derek, 18 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded expectations

The holiday exceeded expectations. The hotels used were ideal for the trip. The Portree Hotel was in a good location in the centre of town with easy access to shops restaurants etc. The hotel was bustling and busy most of the time. The staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient. Pennygael Hotel was in a great location set in nice gardens overlooking the loch. It has a homely feel with a bar with a nice lounge area with leather sofas. ...

The holiday exceeded expectations. The hotels used were ideal for the trip. The Portree Hotel was in a good location in the centre of town with easy access to shops restaurants etc. The hotel was bustling and busy most of the time. The staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient. Pennygael Hotel was in a great location set in nice gardens overlooking the loch. It has a homely feel with a bar with a nice lounge area with leather sofas. Joy the owner is a real character and an excellent host. The guides were two very different characters but were equally passionate and very knowledgable about the range of wildlife on the islands. They worked very hard to find the best locations to view birds and mammals, never giving up till the last minute of the day. They were willing to answer questions no matter how obscure and appeared to be as disappointed as we were if things didn't turn out as expected. The length of the itinerary was about right and as it turned out it was advantageous to have longer on Mull than Skye as the wildlife viewing was more successful. However this could easily change as we learnt a lot of luck is also involved and the weather also plays a part. Full days out with the guide worked well as this enabled us to be flexible we could spend longer at a site if the viewing was going well or move on if not. The boat trips were were a good opportunity to see sea eagles up close. Overall, an excellent, well organised and very enjoyable holiday we'd happily recommend to anyone

Rating for tour operator:

Allan from Wildlife Trails accompanied us on the tour and ensured everything went smoothly. His knowledge and enthusiasm rubbed off on us all. This is the third holiday we have been on with Wildlife Trails and once again showed what a good company they are. To still be able to organise such a successful trip during the pandemic proves we are right to have faith in their abilities. Cannot recommend Wildlife Trails highly enough.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 18 Aug 2021:

Thank you so much for your kind words Derek and putting your faith in Wildlife Trails to book three of your wildlife holidays; which have been very different in both locations and content and a real joy to organise. It was great to finally meet you both in Scotland and share our passion for nature, travel and photography together. We look forward to organising the next one for you in the near future.

Wildlife Trails by rhino37, 5 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wildlife viewing on Skye and Mull, Scotland

Excellent break with local wildlife guides and boat trips organized. Tour leader with us at all times and drove the minibus. Pick up and return to Glasgow. Mid range hotels in excellent locations. Small group of 6 guests. Daily wild life trips with guide and one free day to visit Iona.

Excellent break with local wildlife guides and boat trips organized. Tour leader with us at all times and drove the minibus. Pick up and return to Glasgow. Mid range hotels in excellent locations. Small group of 6 guests. Daily wild life trips with guide and one free day to visit Iona.

Rating for tour operator:

Small family owned company who take excellent care of their customers and specialize in bespoke holidays or small groups . Even drove us to Troon after the holiday had ended.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 15 Aug 2021:

Thank you Liz for this beautiful and much appreciated feedback. We were blessed with a great group of people, amazing weather (apart from the last day!) and some very special wildlife sightings. Looking forward to returning to Scotland in 2022.

Botswana Photographic Safari by scotty, 17 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

mobile camping safari to Botswana

Our holiday was a great experience from the word go. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us good animal sightings. Our camp staff did a fantastic job looking after us

Our holiday was a great experience from the word go. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and gave us good animal sightings. Our camp staff did a fantastic job looking after us

Rating for tour operator:

Wildlife trails were always there for us if we had any questions we had to ask. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Allan and his staff

Wildlife Trails by Derek, 7 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic exprience

We chose Zambia for our safari as the national parks offered range of diverse habitats with a real chance of superb game viewing. The lodges and camps we stayed in were all different in terms of the style of the building and the facilities available but what was not different was the standard of service and the care taken to make our stay as memorable as it could be. Every member of staff was friendly helpful and always willing to go the extra ...

We chose Zambia for our safari as the national parks offered range of diverse habitats with a real chance of superb game viewing. The lodges and camps we stayed in were all different in terms of the style of the building and the facilities available but what was not different was the standard of service and the care taken to make our stay as memorable as it could be. Every member of staff was friendly helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure our needs were met. The guides and drivers who took us out on the early morning and afternoon game drives were superb. Their knowledge of the animals large and small was exemplary and their determination to find the best spots for viewing game was remarkable. From us landing at Lusaka to us leaving at the end of our fabulous holiday everything ran like clockwork. Our pick-ups were on time and the vehicles we travelled in were appropriate for the journey. One never goes hungry on safari, the standard of the food and drink was excellent and there was always plenty of it. This trip provided us with many fabulous memories of the people we met and the privilege of seeing the animals in their natural environment cannot be underestimated.

Rating for tour operator:

We chose Wildlife Trails to plan and organise our safari to Zambia as we had been with them to India and that holiday was fantastic so it was really a no brainer. Allan listened to what we wanted from our trip and gave us several options before we settled on the one that seemed to suit us best. Africa gets into your blood and it is constantly pulling you back, we will be going again in the future and Wildlife Trails will be the first port of call to organise our next African Safari.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 07 Sep 2020:

We are incredibly lucky to have Derek and Sandra as regular clients and not only do we enjoy organising their safaris; they also provide superb feedback and photographs about their wildlife experiences. We very much look forward to putting together their next African adventure!

Grizzly Bear Safari at Katmai by Dawn, 10 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

We went to Alaska, which Wildlife Trails sorted out for us. I chose Wildlife Trails because Allan was more knowledgeable than others I emailed, and more helpful. We went to Anchorage, Seward, Homer, Nikiski, Kodiak and Katmai. At Nikiski we stayed at Daniels Lake Lodge B&B in a log cabin by the lake. It was an amazing place and was the wildest and most remote of our journey. We saw a black bear and 3 coyote on the road. Had a great day ...

We went to Alaska, which Wildlife Trails sorted out for us. I chose Wildlife Trails because Allan was more knowledgeable than others I emailed, and more helpful. We went to Anchorage, Seward, Homer, Nikiski, Kodiak and Katmai. At Nikiski we stayed at Daniels Lake Lodge B&B in a log cabin by the lake. It was an amazing place and was the wildest and most remote of our journey. We saw a black bear and 3 coyote on the road. Had a great day out with Alaska West Air near there. We had bears right beside our boat at Big River Lakes near Wolverine Creek, saw bald eagles and plenty of salmon in the river. They gave us a scenic flight on the way back flying right over double glacier and its ice field - so close we almost landed on it. Really breath-taking. We booked up Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Ice Adventure Tour ourselves through Alaska Shore Excursions - local tour operator was Liquid Alaska Tours. This was excellent. We did canoeing, went in an ice cave under the glacier and used crampons to climb on top of it. A fantastic day out. Would recommend these. Also had a great day out at Brooks Falls watching the bears catching the salmon that were jumping up the waterfall. Well worth the trip. Wouldn't recommend Jayleen's Alaska whale watching trip. We didn't see anything but a lighthouse for most of the morning. Cost us a fortune for 6 hours when we saw more on the 2 hour cruise with Alaska Tales for a fraction of the cost. These are a new company. We didn't have many on the boat so didn't have to fight the crowds to see the whales and they took us straight to them so didn't waste any of our time. To see black bears close up we went to AnAn Bear observatory. A mother and cub came very close to where we were standing on a platform. At the other places we saw brown bears. A great trip all in all.

Rating for tour operator:

As I stated above Wildlife Trails are very knowledgeable and helpful. They always replied quickly to any emails I sent asking them a lot of questions (some I should have been able to work out myself). When we had problems they were always contactable to help us sort them out. The ferry they booked for us went on strike but Wildlife Trails had sorted us out a flight in its place before we even knew there was a problem, so the holiday ran very smoothly. I would recommend Wildlife Trails to anyone and I have already booked another trip with them next year.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

What an incredible months wildlife viewing you experienced in Alaska this July/August. It was a real delight to organise such a complex and action-packed itinerary.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are looking forward to your India tiger safari in 2020!

Grizzly bears Vancouver Island by ChrisPugh , 29 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Canadian adventure

We had a two week holiday on Vancouver Island.. we went on a whale watching tour and saw Orcas, Humpbacks, Dahl porpoises, white striped Dolphins, seals and Sea lions. We then did a Grizzly bear tour and saw lots of Grizzlies as well as loads of Black Bears. The highlight of the holiday was a three day kayaking trip which was fantastic. Kayaking with Orcas and Humpback whales was incredible

We had a two week holiday on Vancouver Island.. we went on a whale watching tour and saw Orcas, Humpbacks, Dahl porpoises, white striped Dolphins, seals and Sea lions. We then did a Grizzly bear tour and saw lots of Grizzlies as well as loads of Black Bears. The highlight of the holiday was a three day kayaking trip which was fantastic. Kayaking with Orcas and Humpback whales was incredible

Rating for tour operator:

Our holiday was completely organised by Wildlife Trails, and I can’t recommend them highly enough.. everything was planned to perfection and they made the entire holiday exactly what we asked for

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

The experience you had with the Orcas on your kayaking tour, is one you will never forget.

Wildlife Trails responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

It was our pleasure to organise that wonderful mixture of wildlife and adventure that certainly lived up to its billing.