AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Eastravel

North to South Vietnam tour Traveller Reviews

Reviews of North to South Vietnam tour

Overall Holiday Rating
98%
Excellent 12
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 13
Reviews Accepted: 13
Reviews Rejected: 0
13 reviews
Sort by:
North to South Vietnam tour by Russ, 8 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip

We enjoyed every minute of a very well organised trip which gave us plenty of sightseeing and also time to sit and enjoy the great hotels and pools. So much to see with good guides explaining it all . All transfers were prompt.

We enjoyed every minute of a very well organised trip which gave us plenty of sightseeing and also time to sit and enjoy the great hotels and pools. So much to see with good guides explaining it all . All transfers were prompt.

Rating for tour operator:

Trip was organised so well by Cathy of East Travel who listened to what we wanted and arranged it all very well. She told all the hotels that the trip was for our Golden Wedding and there all gave us roses on the bed, champagne and cakes!!!

Eastravel responded to this review on 08 Mar 2019:

We are pleased to hear that you had such a lovely holiday celebrating your anniversary. Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to helping you plan your next holiday. It's always a pleasure!

North to South Vietnam tour by normandtez, 7 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Very busy, jam packed, but saw a lot of memorable places

Went to Thailand and Vietnam saw a lot of places did lots of travelling exactly what we asked for.

Went to Thailand and Vietnam saw a lot of places did lots of travelling exactly what we asked for.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second holiday arranged by East Travel who was recommended to us from a friend who is also a returning customer

North to South Vietnam tour by odva, 4 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Vietnam and Cambodia

Vietnam - all the h’s - Halong Bay, Hanoi, Hue, Hoian, Ho Chi Minh. Variety of lovely hotels, from international chain to family run old French colonial and couldn’t fault any of them. Well informed English speaking tour guides and local drivers at all locations booked for us by Eastravel and provided by Indochina Services Cambodia - Siem Reap.. Finished on a high at Viroths - a truly amazing hotel where nothing was too much trouble. Dining ...

Vietnam - all the h’s - Halong Bay, Hanoi, Hue, Hoian, Ho Chi Minh. Variety of lovely hotels, from international chain to family run old French colonial and couldn’t fault any of them. Well informed English speaking tour guides and local drivers at all locations booked for us by Eastravel and provided by Indochina Services Cambodia - Siem Reap.. Finished on a high at Viroths - a truly amazing hotel where nothing was too much trouble. Dining at their off site restaurant was a wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Eastravel, Ipswich. On the ball from the get go with loads of suggestions for our itinerary.. Accommodated our various requests for tweeks (and even managed to organise a fantastic Vietnamese cookery lesson). Their suggested hotels were all amazing, with Viroths in Siem Reap being the best of a truly good bunch. See attached photos.

Eastravel responded to this review on 04 Dec 2018:

Thank you for your feedback.

North to South Vietnam tour by Eastravel, 14 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

“Vietnam North to South”

Once again we were delighted with our arrangements organised for us to Vietnam and the experiences of the sights, sounds, smells and of course the food. We started in Hanoi and our fantastic guide arranged a test for us, strange we thought on our first day in this country. He would not leave us until we had passed it.....yes you guessed it ....we had to cross the road without his help and then we were free to explore the rest of the city in ...

Once again we were delighted with our arrangements organised for us to Vietnam and the experiences of the sights, sounds, smells and of course the food. We started in Hanoi and our fantastic guide arranged a test for us, strange we thought on our first day in this country. He would not leave us until we had passed it.....yes you guessed it ....we had to cross the road without his help and then we were free to explore the rest of the city in the evening 😀 Thankfully he taught us well and we had an incredible time visiting the narrow lanes and traditional shop houses. Our visit to the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum was quite thought provoking and an understanding of why he was so revered. Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple and the Tortoise Pagoda, were just opposite our hotel, and in the evening had a completely different complexity to during the day. We even joined in with the Tai Chi exercises along the bank of the river. Our trip to Halong Bay and the islets was magical. At night all the boats anchored near to each other and all that could be seen was the twinkling lights from the boats, and the sounds of the bay lapping against the boat. The views were tremendous, the cruise boat was lovely and we were spoiled with the fabulous food on board. We then flew into Danang a vibrant city which seems to have embraced the western culture with great aplomb. We then travelled to Hoi An with it’s incredible night market and bustling village. Having only stayed 2 nights, however arriving late only allowing one day to see the sights, so we will definitely return as this was a hidden jewel on our trip, However in one day we took a cycle ride, found the beautiful coastline and beach, shopped in the day market, ate street food, went back at night for the brilliant night market which goes on forever, and again ate fabulous food and experienced Iced Spring Rolls . Yummy !! Upon arriving at Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) we were immediately faced with the hustle and bustle and so glad we had passed the test in Hanoi !! Our guide took us Dong Khoi Street, City Hall, the old Opera House, Notre Dame Cathedral and the Central Post Office. The French influences are evident everywhere and our guide explained the knacks they had had during their occupancy. Again thought provoking. Next was the History Museum, the Le Van Duyet General Tomb, and the Ba Chieu Market. Cholon (Chinatown) and the Chinese Medicine Street was a test of reactions dodging bikes, mopeds and cars. Crazy but exciting. Then more culture of the Thien Hau Pagoda to finish our tour of the day. The next day was our trip to the Cu Chi a Vietcong base during the American War. Stretching over 200 km, this incredible underground network. This was incredible and a fete of tenacity shown by the Vietcong . We even went into the tunnels, and were amazed at just how small the spaces actually were. Not recommended for the claustrophobic!!! However totally worth trying. Vietnam certainly made us think how history has made such an impression upon others and how this has had a massive impact socially and culturally and not always for the best!! Vietnam humbled us in many ways, made us think about how actions can do so much damage, BUT this country has a big beating heart that delights in showing how they have overcome oppression, still trying to deal with elements of it, especially in relation to the depravity, but has some of the most beautiful history to share with us all . A visit is a must 😀

Rating for tour operator:

Eastravel in Ipswich Suffolk, are the BEST !! Cannot fault the ladies and their exuberance and professionalism that they use, to ensure that holiday is perfect in every way they possibly can. Would recommend them in a heartbeat 💕

Eastravel responded to this review on 15 Oct 2018:

Thank you for giving us such a lovely feedback.

North to South Vietnam tour by Memorable Vietnam, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Memorable Vietnam

Travelled to Hanoi, Mai Chau, Cuc Phuong National Park, Ninh Binh, Hue and Hoi An. It was a wonderful experience full of delightful people, great food and many different things to do and see.

Travelled to Hanoi, Mai Chau, Cuc Phuong National Park, Ninh Binh, Hue and Hoi An. It was a wonderful experience full of delightful people, great food and many different things to do and see.

Rating for tour operator:

Our guide Huan Nguyen Duc was very knowledgeable, pleasant and professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and would request him if we were to return. Our transfer guide from Hoi An to Danang Airport was very good, as we left some luggage behind in the car and we went and checked in. We then realised we had something missing. We were sure we would never see it again, but within half an hour he had returned to the airport and got our missing luggage back to us. We are extremely grateful to him and were really impressed with this level of service.

Eastravel responded to this review on 03 May 2018:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed Vietnam so much and we are pleased to hear that the level of service exceeded your expectations! We look forward to helping you again soon with your next trip abroad.

North to South Vietnam tour by Tracy H, 8 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing and even better than we imagined

From the time we arrived in Hanoi until the time we had to return home the holiday was amazing. The quality of the hotels was first class and all the staff treated us like royalty.We were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday while we were away and a birthday cake was arranged for him in both Vietnam & Thailand which was a lovely gesture. I can't rate the tour guides highly enough and we didn't realise that we would have our own private transport ...

From the time we arrived in Hanoi until the time we had to return home the holiday was amazing. The quality of the hotels was first class and all the staff treated us like royalty.We were celebrating my husbands 50th birthday while we were away and a birthday cake was arranged for him in both Vietnam & Thailand which was a lovely gesture. I can't rate the tour guides highly enough and we didn't realise that we would have our own private transport and guide for all of our sightseeing during the holiday. it was fab and I even felt a little emotional when we had to say goodbye to Mi in Vietnam as we had spent the longest time with her. Having private guides allowed us to avoid the crowds and gave us a really good understanding of the history and the culture from the people that lived there. Our 3 week holiday certainly exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be returning to visit other countries in Asia.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything organised by the tour operator was spot on, from the time we booked until returning home. We did and saw everything we wanted to and everything was in fact better than we expected. I usually organise my own trips away myself but it was so nice to have everything done for us without the worry of things perhaps not quite going according to plan.

North to South Vietnam tour by Mo in Málaga, 25 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Vietnam/Istanbul starting from Spain

We began our experience through friends from England who recommended Eastravel for a holiday in Vietnam with a guide at each port of call. It worked out incredibly well and we were so lucky to have our wonderful guide Tuy when I had a minor stroke and had to be hospitalised in Halong for 24 hours. Tuy took us to a very well appointed international hospital with an excellent doctor who spoke English, and he stayed in the area and took care of ...

We began our experience through friends from England who recommended Eastravel for a holiday in Vietnam with a guide at each port of call. It worked out incredibly well and we were so lucky to have our wonderful guide Tuy when I had a minor stroke and had to be hospitalised in Halong for 24 hours. Tuy took us to a very well appointed international hospital with an excellent doctor who spoke English, and he stayed in the area and took care of our ongoing travel. Once back on the road the next day the holiday had to be slightly rearranged but it was very ralaxed and we didn't miss anything so we were delighted. Since we travelled from Málaga with Turkish Airlines we stopped over for 3 days in Istanbul on our way back, this time without a guide but also a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Dorothy Heng from Eastravel dealt with our requirements extremely well at all stages of the journey and without any pressure beforehand even when we made some important readjustments, for example deciding a month before not to visit Laos and Cambodia as originally planned, but to stop over in Istanbul. We were very happy with the very little extra cost involved as a result of the changes to our itinerary after my hospital stay. We were also very happy with the local operator ICS who provided 4 excellent guides at the different stages of our time in Vietnam. Two in particular, Tuy in the north and Vinh in the south, went to considerable personal trouble and expense for us. Further general comments:- 1. No decent maps provided, nor easily obtained, even in Tourist Information offices. Our Saigon guide Vinh kindly brought us one and would not accept payment for it. 2. No Botanic Gardens anywhere apparently! Tourist Information people looked totally perplexed when asked! 3. Personal security: we never felt the least bit threatened anywhere. 4. Tips: always a traveller's nightmare - I believe the Tour Operator should take care of this entirely (guides, drivers and hotel staff) and include it in the tour price, to save the very uncomfortable problem of scrabbling around for suitable bank notes all the time, a real pain. 5. Currency exchange: travellers to Vietnam should be warned they cannot change their remaining dongs once they start their return trip.

Eastravel responded to this review on 26 Mar 2018:

Dear Maureen,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience.
Tipping is voluntary and is entirely up to the individual based on the service you have received. We are very glad that you were able to continue and enjoy your holiday as planned. Thank you from Dorothy.

North to South Vietnam tour by Sandy Cadiz-Smith, 17 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

A fabulous experience perfectly organised

We visited Phan Thiet and Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam and Khao Lak in Phuket. Eastravel recommended all three of the areas and the hotels which were all fantastic. The transfers in Vietnam were included and worked perfectly, which made it totally hassle-free. We had a wonderful time exploring these two beautiful countries.

We visited Phan Thiet and Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam and Khao Lak in Phuket. Eastravel recommended all three of the areas and the hotels which were all fantastic. The transfers in Vietnam were included and worked perfectly, which made it totally hassle-free. We had a wonderful time exploring these two beautiful countries.

Rating for tour operator:

Eastravel recommended three areas and hotels in Thailand and Vietnam. There choices were all fantastic and made for a great holiday. In the planning stages they discussed options with us at length to make sure we were getting exactly what we were looking for, which we did. A pleasure to deal with, I will certainly be booking my next holiday East with them.

North to South Vietnam tour by Cazza, 6 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A thoroughly enjoyable experience

2 weeks touring Vietnam from north to south then 1 week in Thailand

2 weeks touring Vietnam from north to south then 1 week in Thailand

Rating for tour operator:

We knew very little of the countries we intended to visit so relied solely on our adviser at Eastravel in Ipswich to put together an itinerary based around our stated preferences. We couldn't have wished for a better experience which enabled us to see all the major tourist and historic sights in Vietnam and then include our wishes of a visit to the River Kwai Bridge and culminating in a relaxing beach resort for our final few days. All tours and accommodation fully met our expectations.

North to South Vietnam tour by Sarah T, 3 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Vietnam - an Interesting country

Although a communist country it certainly doesn't feel like it. People are lovely and there are many places to visit. Don't miss out on the wonderful markets. Downside was the rubbish in the sea and rivers. Hotels excellent. Roads and traffic are as you would expect in a third world country. Crossing the road was interesting to say the least! We visited three cities - all very different but interesting in their own way. (Hanoi, Hue and ...

Although a communist country it certainly doesn't feel like it. People are lovely and there are many places to visit. Don't miss out on the wonderful markets. Downside was the rubbish in the sea and rivers. Hotels excellent. Roads and traffic are as you would expect in a third world country. Crossing the road was interesting to say the least! We visited three cities - all very different but interesting in their own way. (Hanoi, Hue and Hoi An)

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderful service and holiday tailor made for us. We could not have asked for more. Itinerary was interesting and varied; and everything ran smoothly. We had our own private driver and guide for each part of the trip and they were all very helpful and informative, Information and helpful tips were given to us before we went. Thank you.