AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Veloso Tours

Veloso Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Veloso Tours

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 42
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 43
Reviews Accepted: 43
Reviews Rejected: 0
43 reviews
Sort by:
Veloso Tours by Roger G, 8 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Veloso Sombrero Tour of Cuba

We travelled to Cuba with Veloso visiting Havana, Cienfuegos and Trinidad. The accommodation was of a good standard, we particularly liked the Case Vivian in Trinidad. 
All the transfers were on spot on time and efficient.
 The guides all spoke good English and were able to change their walking tours to suit your interests.

We travelled to Cuba with Veloso visiting Havana, Cienfuegos and Trinidad. The accommodation was of a good standard, we particularly liked the Case Vivian in Trinidad. 
All the transfers were on spot on time and efficient.
 The guides all spoke good English and were able to change their walking tours to suit your interests.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled to South America before with Veloso and our second trip was just as good as the first and we would have no hesitation in recommending Veloso for a Latin American holiday

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 09 Jul 2018:

Thanks for sharing your experiences in Cuba, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the company of our guides and our favourite casa particular in Trinidad!

Veloso Tours by Peaches , 8 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday for the Discerning Traveller

We visited Guatemala, Belize and Honduras. The main attraction was to visit cultural and heritage sites such as Tikal and Copan and these did not disappoint. We also stayed in some very nice hotels which were a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing. All three countries were different and all very interesting in different ways. A thoroughly enjoyable trip.

We visited Guatemala, Belize and Honduras. The main attraction was to visit cultural and heritage sites such as Tikal and Copan and these did not disappoint. We also stayed in some very nice hotels which were a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing. All three countries were different and all very interesting in different ways. A thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We went with Veloso Tours and can highly recommend them. Right from the beginning, planning the itinerary, through to operations on the ground, we cannot fault this company. Nothing was too much trouble, they changed the itinerary to suit our requirements and the entire trip went according to plan, except for one small problem at the beginning when the driver was late in collecting us, but this was not his fault as there were restrictions on airport parking at that time. All of the hotels were good, and all of the staff we encountered were unfailingly polite and helpful. We were amazed that we could actually drink the water provided by almost all of the hotels as they ensured that water given to guests is purified bottled water, including jugs of water at meal times, which gives you peace of mind and completely avoids any potential tummy upsets. The only point I would make is that prior to departure we were given a questionnaire to complete asking for likes and dislikes in terms of activities and places to visit on the trip. We filled this in, but it did not seem to get passed on to those on the ground as no-one we spoke to had been given this information. It is a very good idea, but if it is not forwarded to the people who need it, it is a waste of our time and yours. Otherwise we can find no fault with anything. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in three of the more unusual holiday destinations and we would recommend Veloso without reservation. (PS I tried to rate Veloso as a 10 but the website wouldn't record it, so had to put 9, but please read as 10 !)

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 09 Jul 2018:

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your cultural travel through Central America and thank you for your kind words. We do indeed place great value on understanding your interests before you travel and are disappointed to hear they did not reach the guide, it is of course vital this happens so we will certainly look into it!

Veloso Tours by Herbie, 25 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

It exceeded our expectations and was a very colourful and diverse country

We spent a week travelling from Quito to Quayaquil and then went on a 7 night cruise in the Galapagos Islands

We spent a week travelling from Quito to Quayaquil and then went on a 7 night cruise in the Galapagos Islands

Rating for tour operator:

WE went to our local travel agent Newells in Saltash and booked a tailor made holiday with Veloso. We have previously travelled to Costa Rica with Veloso

Veloso Tours by Herbie, 25 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

It exceeded our expectations and was a very colourful and diverse country

We spent a week travelling from Quito to Quayaquil and then went on a 7 night cruise in the Galapagos Islands

We spent a week travelling from Quito to Quayaquil and then went on a 7 night cruise in the Galapagos Islands

Rating for tour operator:

WE went to our local travel agent Newells in Saltash and booked a tailor made holiday with Veloso. We have previously travelled to Costa Rica with Veloso

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 25 Jun 2018:

Thanks for coming back to us via your local travel agents and we are delighted you had another great trip to Latin America!

Veloso Tours by Mike, 17 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing and informative 3 week tour of Argentina and Brazil

We toured Argentina and Brazil and visited major cities including Buenos Aires,Rio & Salvador. The Veloso guides were excelent, also we visited the Iguazu Falls which was stunning ,the old colonial town of Parati and completing our holiday in the beach resort of Buzios. A well balanced tour over 3 weeks.

We toured Argentina and Brazil and visited major cities including Buenos Aires,Rio & Salvador. The Veloso guides were excelent, also we visited the Iguazu Falls which was stunning ,the old colonial town of Parati and completing our holiday in the beach resort of Buzios. A well balanced tour over 3 weeks.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful puting the itinerary togather. Excelent tour guides with knowledge of the areas visited. They made us feel safe. We would certainly and indeed have recommend VELOS as an excelent tour operator

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 17 Jun 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your adventures in Brazil and Argentina. It was our pleasure to plan your trip with you and are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it and how well you were looked after by our guides!

Veloso Tours by Jane, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Chile Bottom to Top and some in the Middle!

A trip to Chile, a 70th celebration for me, combining photographic elements in Patagonia and The Atacama involved a plan to include Santiago and a Skorpios cruise in The Lake District of Chile, concluding with a few days in Valparaiso. This was all put together with all the flights by Veloso. It was an amazing trip.

A trip to Chile, a 70th celebration for me, combining photographic elements in Patagonia and The Atacama involved a plan to include Santiago and a Skorpios cruise in The Lake District of Chile, concluding with a few days in Valparaiso. This was all put together with all the flights by Veloso. It was an amazing trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso went above and beyond all expectations. LATAM, the main air carrier for South America were on strike for the whole time we were away. We had 5 internal flights with LATAM booked. We were kept informed of the flight changes. Three of them Veloso re-booked us on SKY and the other two happened even if times changed.. and we made all our transfers on the right days and with the combined efforts of Pro Tours and their superb guides and drivers in Chile, everything happened on the right day and we were so grateful that we weren't trying to do the checking and changing ourselves. That would have been very stressful.. we were kept almost stress free..! Thank you Veloso and Pro Tours.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 15 Jun 2018:

Thank you very much for sharing you thoughts on what was certainly an adventurous, memorable (and eventful) trip to Chile! We were only too happy to help out and keep the disruption to a minimum to allow you to concentrate on exploring these wonderful places with our guides.

Veloso Tours by Sue, 13 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A week to remember in Cuba

We spent seven nights in Cuba with Veloso Tours, staying in welcoming homestays and being shown around by three excellent guides. We had a wonderful time with Mirbel in Havana combining the best of the old town with some of its lesser visited areas. We feel we really gained a deep understanding of the city and its people. We went by car to Cienfuegos, a real gem of a city and something of a surprise. The architecture is stunning and the sunset ...

We spent seven nights in Cuba with Veloso Tours, staying in welcoming homestays and being shown around by three excellent guides. We had a wonderful time with Mirbel in Havana combining the best of the old town with some of its lesser visited areas. We feel we really gained a deep understanding of the city and its people. We went by car to Cienfuegos, a real gem of a city and something of a surprise. The architecture is stunning and the sunset views were memorable. Then we visited a lagoon early to see the flamingos en-route to Trinidad, where we met Alain. He shared his beautiful city with us, taking us into two great museums and some small and unique galleries. From here we also explored the Sugar Valley and went hiking in the mountains to a huge waterfall and swam in natural pools. On the return to Havan we visited Santa Clara to learn about Che Guevara.

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso Tours was excellent from start to finish. We had a really tight schedule as we wanted to pack a lot in following their suggestions and ideas, but everything ran like clockwork and we never felt rushed or that we needed a break. It was a pleasure taking to them and hearing their first hand experience. We really enjoyed the homestays and are glad we chose these over the hotels and the guides were wonderful. We will definitely be back when we are planning our next big trip!

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 14 May 2018:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on a wonderful trip to Cuba! We were more than happy to plan the perfect trip for you and are always delighted to hear our travellers singing the praises of our guides - they are a real source of pride for us. We look forward to arranging another trip for you in the near future.

Veloso Tours by Jane, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Natural Wonders of Costa Rica

A wonderful mix of the natural world in all its glory, combined with an excellent combination of fine hotels in this extremely friendly and welcoming country. Experiencing close encounters with some of the worlds most fabulous wildlife....everything from vibrant coloured amphibians to highly vocal howler monkeys, from colourful macaws and toucans to lugubrious tree sloths. Balanced against the volcanos, inland waterways, jungles, and historic ...

A wonderful mix of the natural world in all its glory, combined with an excellent combination of fine hotels in this extremely friendly and welcoming country. Experiencing close encounters with some of the worlds most fabulous wildlife....everything from vibrant coloured amphibians to highly vocal howler monkeys, from colourful macaws and toucans to lugubrious tree sloths. Balanced against the volcanos, inland waterways, jungles, and historic settlements, this trip included just the right mix of relaxation and wonder.

Rating for tour operator:

The excellent holiday itinerary was delivered without a hitch, and this meant we quickly learned to have complete confidence in the tour operator thus further enhancing a completely stress free experience. The local representatives of Travel Excellence were all extremely friendly, punctual and efficient. At no time did we have cause for any concern or complaint.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 07 May 2018:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on a wonderful trip to Costa Rica. It is indeed the perfect place to explore the natural world in all its glory and it was our pleasure to share it with you

Veloso Tours by Malesh, 2 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Wonderful Experience!

We spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica, visiting Caribbean rainforests, Pacific rainforests and a cloud forest which enabled us to see such a variety of wildlife. Scarlet macaws, quetzels, potoo and anhingas were the highlight as were 2 and 3 toed sloths, frogs and monkeys Veloso's itinerary was well structured with very experienced guides throughout, which helped us to make the most of our surroundings. The hotels were all different but of a high ...

We spent 3 weeks in Costa Rica, visiting Caribbean rainforests, Pacific rainforests and a cloud forest which enabled us to see such a variety of wildlife. Scarlet macaws, quetzels, potoo and anhingas were the highlight as were 2 and 3 toed sloths, frogs and monkeys Veloso's itinerary was well structured with very experienced guides throughout, which helped us to make the most of our surroundings. The hotels were all different but of a high quality with delightful staff who are so passionate about their surroundings. This was definitely one of the best holidays we have had.

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso's local tour operator was Excellence and we could not fault them. Their drivers and guides were always prompt, courteous and friendly with a wealth of knowledge on fauna and flora. They were always on the lookout for anything of interest and never seemed to take time out, even on 3 hour car journeys

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 07 May 2018:

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Costa Rica and how well you were looked after by our local partners. Thank you for taking the time to share these thoughts and for choosing Veloso Tours

Veloso Tours by Mrs J W 18, 29 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beyond expectations

Fantastic wildlife, excellent hotels with two upgrades. Coffee was brilliant and everyone did there best to make the holiday special

Fantastic wildlife, excellent hotels with two upgrades. Coffee was brilliant and everyone did there best to make the holiday special

Rating for tour operator:

All transport arrived on time and was comfortable . Guides were knowledgeable and extremely friendly and helpful. A lovely ambience wherever you went. Arrangements were all well organised . Admin was good

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 29 Apr 2018:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on a wonderful trip to Costa Rica and we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the company of our guides