AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Veloso Tours

Veloso Tours Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Veloso Tours

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 50
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 51
Reviews Accepted: 51
Reviews Rejected: 0
51 reviews
Sort by:
Chile's Desert, Glaciers & Lakes by Mort, 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A 4 centre holiday to Chile

The strength of this holiday was not just the quality of the organisation and hospitality received but the amazing contrasts between the 4 places visited. We had the extraordinary geology and ecology of the Atacama; the completely different geography of Torres del Paine with superb vistas and walking; the yet again different experience on the cruise around the southern patagonian fiords and glaciers; and finally the contrasting wine tour, rodeo ...

The strength of this holiday was not just the quality of the organisation and hospitality received but the amazing contrasts between the 4 places visited. We had the extraordinary geology and ecology of the Atacama; the completely different geography of Torres del Paine with superb vistas and walking; the yet again different experience on the cruise around the southern patagonian fiords and glaciers; and finally the contrasting wine tour, rodeo and polo at Casa Silva hotel

Rating for tour operator:

Responded perfectly to our bespoke needs so providing a holiday where all arrangements went without hitch

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 19 Dec 2018:

We are delighted that you enjoyed and took full advantage of the diversity that Chile has to offer, and we have passed on your comments to the hotels and our local partners.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 19 Dec 2018:

We are so glad that you found everything ran smoothly with your trip. It was a pleasure to arrange your bespoke holiday to Chile, and we hope you decide to travel to Latin America again in the future.

Veloso Tours by Angela, 10 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Chile

Atacama Desert, Torres del Paine Skorpios Glacier Cruise

Atacama Desert, Torres del Paine Skorpios Glacier Cruise

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 11 Dec 2018:

We are very glad that you enjoyed visiting these wonderful destinations!

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 11 Dec 2018:

We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and we hope you will choose to travel with us again.

Galapagos, Ecuador & Peru by Debs22, 28 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

An amazing trip

We visited Lima, Cusco, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the Galapagos. The trip of a lifetime and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everything was perfectly arranged and the standard of the guides and drivers was excellent. Every little detail had been sorted to perfection.

We visited Lima, Cusco, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the Galapagos. The trip of a lifetime and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everything was perfectly arranged and the standard of the guides and drivers was excellent. Every little detail had been sorted to perfection.

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso-tours really do know South America. They booked everything with the benefit of true inside knowledge, down to the right tickets on the train to Machu Picchu. Invaluable experience that meant we got the utmost out of our tour.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

Many thanks for your feedback ! We are glad to hear that you had an amazing time in Peru and Galapagos Islands with your family!

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

It was our pleasure to help you plan your ideal holiday. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to helping you plan your next trip to Latin America!

Veloso Tours by Professor I M Wright, 3 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Real Value Added from a Bespoke, Private Tour Operator

We thoroughly enjoyed Mexico and felt that we saw the right sights and attractions in and around our chosen location, without overdoing it. The upmarket hotel was in a good area, convenient for excursions, as well as the bars and restaurants of Central Mexico City. By the end of our holiday we were already discussing whereabouts in Mexico we would go for our next holiday.

We thoroughly enjoyed Mexico and felt that we saw the right sights and attractions in and around our chosen location, without overdoing it. The upmarket hotel was in a good area, convenient for excursions, as well as the bars and restaurants of Central Mexico City. By the end of our holiday we were already discussing whereabouts in Mexico we would go for our next holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Veloso added real value to our proposed trip. They came up with a first class itinerary and suggested a number of excellent trips and excursions, with THE most wonderful guide. Top, top man. All transfers were also included and this complete package came in at a lower price than a well-known online web-site wanted for just a flight and hotel. Highly Recommended.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 03 Nov 2018:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Mexico City and were able to take advantage of so many of the excursions we have on offer. We do hope that we can arrange your next trip to Mexico!

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 03 Nov 2018:

We put a lot of emphasis on the quality of our guides, so we are glad that you got on so well with Juan. Many thanks again.

Inca Heartland & Amazon Lodge by Fergandmo, 1 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing experience in Peru

We had a wonderful holiday in Peru, starting with five nights in the Amazon which was amazing. We then spent four nights in the Sacred Valley followed by two days in Manchu Pinchuk on the Vistadrome train. Then on to Cusco taking in all the Inca sights. A truly amazing experience helped by excellent guides and hotels all provided by Veloso.

We had a wonderful holiday in Peru, starting with five nights in the Amazon which was amazing. We then spent four nights in the Sacred Valley followed by two days in Manchu Pinchuk on the Vistadrome train. Then on to Cusco taking in all the Inca sights. A truly amazing experience helped by excellent guides and hotels all provided by Veloso.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent Veloso once again.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 02 Nov 2018:

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Peru and that you appreciated our hand picked local guides.

Inca Heartland, Cities & Condors by cock of the north, 31 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A truly memorable visit to Peru

Visited Peru for three weeks during September, somewhat apprehensive regarding possible problems with altitude. However, fortunately we did not experience any problems, we even attained a maximum altitude of virtually 5,000mtrs! The holiday was very well organised, generally the hotels were of a very good standard, delicious food and we were blessed with good weather. The organisation on the ground was fautless, guides and vehicles always on ...

Visited Peru for three weeks during September, somewhat apprehensive regarding possible problems with altitude. However, fortunately we did not experience any problems, we even attained a maximum altitude of virtually 5,000mtrs! The holiday was very well organised, generally the hotels were of a very good standard, delicious food and we were blessed with good weather. The organisation on the ground was fautless, guides and vehicles always on time, caring and interesting guides. Presently considering another visit to South America and we shall certainly avail ourselves of the excellent service provided by Veloso.

Rating for tour operator:

I believe that the above reflects our views of the tour operator

Veloso Tours by Minnie, 16 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous experience in every regard

A blend of adventure: zip wire; big game fishing and white water rafting; bird and wildlife spotting; and trekking to explore the environment, We were accommodated in lodges as well as hotels of the very highest standard offering very comfortable facilities and excellent service throughout. All of the Costa Ricans we met were absolutely charming and rightly proud to show us their beautiful country.

A blend of adventure: zip wire; big game fishing and white water rafting; bird and wildlife spotting; and trekking to explore the environment, We were accommodated in lodges as well as hotels of the very highest standard offering very comfortable facilities and excellent service throughout. All of the Costa Ricans we met were absolutely charming and rightly proud to show us their beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

Whilst in the UK Veloso thoroughly and professionally supported us in our tour planning. They proved unstintingly patient as we changed our minds and itinerary! When in Costa Rica every transfer arrived on time; every pre-booked trip was delivered on time and met our expectations. It was reassuring periodically to have a telephone call to check our satisfaction/comfort but pleasingly we had no concerns to report. We had not previously used Veloso but are already planning to use them again for our next adventure. Recommended without reservation

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

We are delighted that you enjoyed all of the experiences that Costa Rica has to offer.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

We are very pleased that you valued our service at the planning stage and while you were away. We look forward to arranging your next adventure!

Galapagos Cruise holiday by B, 22 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Magical Galapagos

We had an amazing time in the Galapagos. Snorkelling with sea lions, turtles and a shark has to be the absolute highlight. But all was magical, seeing the wonderful wildlife, birds, lava formations, flora, etc. Our guide in Quito, Gina, was well informed and good company and the naturalists, Samuel and Gustavo, on the boat were super knowledgeable. As for the crew, I have no comparison, but they have now set the standard! We had lovely fellow ...

We had an amazing time in the Galapagos. Snorkelling with sea lions, turtles and a shark has to be the absolute highlight. But all was magical, seeing the wonderful wildlife, birds, lava formations, flora, etc. Our guide in Quito, Gina, was well informed and good company and the naturalists, Samuel and Gustavo, on the boat were super knowledgeable. As for the crew, I have no comparison, but they have now set the standard! We had lovely fellow travellers, too. So all in all another wonderfully fun, successful, busy, yet relaxing and enchanting trip.

Rating for tour operator:

As always everything worked seamlessly, lovely accommodation (both hotel and boat), great guides and everyone and everything on time. We never cease to be amazed how well everything is organised from half way round the globe.

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in the Galapagos Islands and got on well with our local guide in Quito. We will pass on all of your praise to them!

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 16 Aug 2018:

We put a lot of emphasis on making sure that everything runs smoothly and that you have an enjoyable holiday, so we are delighted to receive your excellent feedback.

Veloso Tours by Roger G, 8 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Veloso Sombrero Tour of Cuba

We travelled to Cuba with Veloso visiting Havana, Cienfuegos and Trinidad. The accommodation was of a good standard, we particularly liked the Case Vivian in Trinidad. 
All the transfers were on spot on time and efficient.
 The guides all spoke good English and were able to change their walking tours to suit your interests.

We travelled to Cuba with Veloso visiting Havana, Cienfuegos and Trinidad. The accommodation was of a good standard, we particularly liked the Case Vivian in Trinidad. 
All the transfers were on spot on time and efficient.
 The guides all spoke good English and were able to change their walking tours to suit your interests.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled to South America before with Veloso and our second trip was just as good as the first and we would have no hesitation in recommending Veloso for a Latin American holiday

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 09 Jul 2018:

Thanks for sharing your experiences in Cuba, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the company of our guides and our favourite casa particular in Trinidad!

Veloso Tours by Peaches , 8 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday for the Discerning Traveller

We visited Guatemala, Belize and Honduras. The main attraction was to visit cultural and heritage sites such as Tikal and Copan and these did not disappoint. We also stayed in some very nice hotels which were a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing. All three countries were different and all very interesting in different ways. A thoroughly enjoyable trip.

We visited Guatemala, Belize and Honduras. The main attraction was to visit cultural and heritage sites such as Tikal and Copan and these did not disappoint. We also stayed in some very nice hotels which were a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing. All three countries were different and all very interesting in different ways. A thoroughly enjoyable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We went with Veloso Tours and can highly recommend them. Right from the beginning, planning the itinerary, through to operations on the ground, we cannot fault this company. Nothing was too much trouble, they changed the itinerary to suit our requirements and the entire trip went according to plan, except for one small problem at the beginning when the driver was late in collecting us, but this was not his fault as there were restrictions on airport parking at that time. All of the hotels were good, and all of the staff we encountered were unfailingly polite and helpful. We were amazed that we could actually drink the water provided by almost all of the hotels as they ensured that water given to guests is purified bottled water, including jugs of water at meal times, which gives you peace of mind and completely avoids any potential tummy upsets. The only point I would make is that prior to departure we were given a questionnaire to complete asking for likes and dislikes in terms of activities and places to visit on the trip. We filled this in, but it did not seem to get passed on to those on the ground as no-one we spoke to had been given this information. It is a very good idea, but if it is not forwarded to the people who need it, it is a waste of our time and yours. Otherwise we can find no fault with anything. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in three of the more unusual holiday destinations and we would recommend Veloso without reservation. (PS I tried to rate Veloso as a 10 but the website wouldn't record it, so had to put 9, but please read as 10 !)

Veloso Tours responded to this review on 09 Jul 2018:

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your cultural travel through Central America and thank you for your kind words. We do indeed place great value on understanding your interests before you travel and are disappointed to hear they did not reach the guide, it is of course vital this happens so we will certainly look into it!