AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Great Glen Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Great Glen Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 20
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 21
Reviews Accepted: 21
Reviews Rejected: 0
21 reviews
Sort by:
Great Glen Way by JerBear, 17 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

It was a great walking holiday the people at Mickledore went over and above with their selections of our accommodation Even when accommodation were booked away from the trail the found us transportation to and from the trail

It was a great walking holiday the people at Mickledore went over and above with their selections of our accommodation Even when accommodation were booked away from the trail the found us transportation to and from the trail

Rating for tour operator:

Always friendly and always helpful

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations along the way.
Sue

Great Glen Way by LindaE, 19 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent organization and support on the Great Glen Way

A family group of cousins decided to hike the Great Glen Way from fort William to Inverness. We are in our 60’s and 70’s so a premium was placed on comfortable lodging and “slack packing” with our luggage taken from place to place. We choose Mickledore to arrange the holiday. The trail is so well marked and so spectacular, particularly between FortAugustus and Inverness, and our trip information was comprehensive bath before and during ...

A family group of cousins decided to hike the Great Glen Way from fort William to Inverness. We are in our 60’s and 70’s so a premium was placed on comfortable lodging and “slack packing” with our luggage taken from place to place. We choose Mickledore to arrange the holiday. The trail is so well marked and so spectacular, particularly between FortAugustus and Inverness, and our trip information was comprehensive bath before and during the trip. Since we were a large group of 9, I was impressed with the ability of Mickledore to accommodate us along the way in the same lodging or in nearby B&Bs. All transfers were well planned and the taxi companies accommodating. The prehike information allowed me to easily prebook dinners as well, which was useful. We were all thoroughly delighted with the hike, even with some snow, rain and sun. For those doing the Great Glen, the surface is hard for a lot of the trail - plan accordingly with footwear. Coming down from the high section walks along the Loch Ness are very steep - poles are a must if you have any knee issues, and are a good idea for everyone else. Breaking up the last day of 20 miles is also a great idea ( 2 10 mile segments). We were extremely please with Mickledore! Thanks to them for the expert planning which added so much to this wonderful family holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was terrific. Very organised and met the needs of our larger than normal family group of older hikers. Great accommodations and excellent support with luggage transfers etc. I will use them again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Apr 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments. It sounds like you had a bit of everything weather-wise and it is great that you all enjoyed your walk. It is always nice to hear that our accommodations were comfortable and our arrangements worked well. We look forward to welcoming you back for another walk in the future.
Sue

Great Glen Way by MOH, 8 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great Glen Way

This was my second time booking with Mickledore and the maps and guidebooks were great for learning where to go and about the places along the way. I truly trust Mickledore when booking my walking holidays with details and devotion to assisting along the way. I plan to walk the Speyside Way next and will definately be contacting your organization.

This was my second time booking with Mickledore and the maps and guidebooks were great for learning where to go and about the places along the way. I truly trust Mickledore when booking my walking holidays with details and devotion to assisting along the way. I plan to walk the Speyside Way next and will definately be contacting your organization.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore took care of all the details to allow me to enjoy my holiday. I trust this company to ensure that I can enjoy my hiking experiences in Scotland.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Jan 2018:

Thanks for your lovely feedback. It is great that our arrangements and support allow you to just get on and enjoy your walks. We will be happy to arrange your next trip, the Speyside Way is another fabulous route in Scotland.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Strolling70, 9 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

Self guided walk of Great Glen Way.6 Days in September.

Self guided walk of Great Glen Way.6 Days in September.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledoor Travel - Excellent service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Oct 2017:

I am pleased that you enjoyed your walk along the Great Glen Way. The route does pass through some magnificent scenery. Thanks for your kind mention of the good service you received from our team.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Beanie, 12 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wow round every corner!

We had a superb time walking the Great Glen Waywith Mickledore. Everything was organised for us so all we had to do was walk! Each b&b was lovely and we were well looked after and fed at each one. The walk itself had something for everyone with the usual, the low and the high routes. The views were simply stunning and the area round Loch Ness is certainly atmospheric it's hard to choose the best point - there certainly wasn't any bad points! ...

We had a superb time walking the Great Glen Waywith Mickledore. Everything was organised for us so all we had to do was walk! Each b&b was lovely and we were well looked after and fed at each one. The walk itself had something for everyone with the usual, the low and the high routes. The views were simply stunning and the area round Loch Ness is certainly atmospheric it's hard to choose the best point - there certainly wasn't any bad points! Would thoroughly recommend both the route and Mickledore

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are superb, everything is thought about and organised for you there's nothing left for you to do except enjoy the walking!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Its great to hear that you enjoyed you walk and the accommodation we organised for you. We put a lot of effort into sourcing the best places to stay and organising everything so that you can concentrate on walking.
I hope you will be back for another walk soon.
Tara

Great Glen Way by Ruthnona, 6 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore 5 star

This was our fifth holiday with Mickledore and the standard was as high as its always been! Love the accommodation, the prior information and their flexibility in adapting to requests.

This was our fifth holiday with Mickledore and the standard was as high as its always been! Love the accommodation, the prior information and their flexibility in adapting to requests.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's organising and breadth of experience in organising walking holidays has always provided a first class holiday for us. Pre -planning, information, accommodation, luggage transportation is all expertly carried out. The only thing you have to think about is the walking. We always get back and start looking at where we'll go with them next time.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Jul 2017:

Thank you for your very kind feedback. We're delighted you've enjoyed yet another Mickledore holiday and we look forward to organising the next one. Your continued support really is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Tara

Great Glen Way by Kea Kernow, 29 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A truly professional service with attention to detail which made our holiday wonderful.

A group of 4 walked the Great Glen Way with totally comprehensive arrangements made by Mickeldore. Anything we wanted to know was in the information they provided.

A group of 4 walked the Great Glen Way with totally comprehensive arrangements made by Mickeldore. Anything we wanted to know was in the information they provided.

Rating for tour operator:

I have done several long distance path holidays over the years with different companies and in my opinion Mickeldore have been the best.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2017:

I'm pleased to hear that your Great Glen Way Holiday was a success, its a lovely walk and I'm glad that we provided all that you needed for a great holiday.
Tara

Great Glen Way by Conwy Chris, 9 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

An efficiently organised and delightful walking holiday..

For our first ever walking holiday we decided upon The Great Glen Way. We chose early May as we thought that the weather would be fair and the wild flowers in bloom. We were not wrong. I never put my coat on for the whole 5 day walk! We beat the midges and were heralded every day by cuckoos and sun shine. The Great Glen Way is well sign posted, has great footpaths and views and provides a variety of interesting things to see along the route...

For our first ever walking holiday we decided upon The Great Glen Way. We chose early May as we thought that the weather would be fair and the wild flowers in bloom. We were not wrong. I never put my coat on for the whole 5 day walk! We beat the midges and were heralded every day by cuckoos and sun shine. The Great Glen Way is well sign posted, has great footpaths and views and provides a variety of interesting things to see along the route. We enjoyed every single minute of it.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were very helpful and friendly.They met all our requirements with expertise efficiency. The accommodation, luggage transfers, packed lunches and information pack were of a very high standard. We would use the again without hesitation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Jun 2017:

Thank you for your feedback, it sounds like you had a great time with fabulous spring-like weather. I'm pleased to hear that you found all our arrangements were good and I look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Tara

Great Glen Way by outdoorfan, 3 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great views, accommodation and very refreshing

Walking holiday on the Great Glen Way

Walking holiday on the Great Glen Way

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore very professional, take care of every detail, easy to contact and included everything needed for a walking holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Oct 2016:

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and we look forward to working with you again soon.
Tara

Great Glen Way by Leedslass, 4 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fort William to Inverness walking trail

I booked with Mickledore who made all the arrangements for accommodation and luggage transport. They included a very comprehensive information pack for the walking holiday which was very helpful for things like booking evening meals and where to find the nearest chemist as well as good quality maps. We were mainly fortunate with the weather in Scotland, which always helps of course, but we were very impressed with the quality of the B and Bs ...

I booked with Mickledore who made all the arrangements for accommodation and luggage transport. They included a very comprehensive information pack for the walking holiday which was very helpful for things like booking evening meals and where to find the nearest chemist as well as good quality maps. We were mainly fortunate with the weather in Scotland, which always helps of course, but we were very impressed with the quality of the B and Bs and luggage service. All the restaurants recommended were good which was a relief to me as I was booking not just for us but for 8 German friends who had booked with a different company. It was a very good holiday. The only downside was blisters mainly caused by long stretches of hard flat canal paths and it might be that trainers are better for those sections of the walk rather than walking boots.

Rating for tour operator:

See above. Very efficient and comprehensive service. Very professional and helpful at the end of the phone. Can't imagine a better service. An American solo traveller who had also booked with Mickledore for the same holiday said they were endlessly patient with her as she had perhaps more queries than a British person would have.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 06 Sep 2016:

Thank you for your lovely feedback, its great to hear that the information in the holiday pack was so useful for you and your companions and helped with your arrangements. Its also great to hear that you received excellent service by telephone when you needed to contact us. We always try to answer calls quickly and give as much help as we can.
I hope that you will be back to do another walk soon.