AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Great Glen Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Great Glen Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 19
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 20
Reviews Accepted: 20
Reviews Rejected: 0
20 reviews
Sort by:
Great Glen Way by Rubygold, 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Seven Days Walking on the Great Glen Way ... the perfect holiday

The opportunity to walk from Fort William to Inverness along the Great Glen has been a treasure of an experience. The journey takes you along the tow paths of the Caledonian Canal, the forest paths, woodlands, moorlands and highlands surrounding the lakes it connects. And, what a treat to be welcomed at the end of the day with the warm hospitality of the lovely B&B's chosen for us.. After a good night sleep and an excellent breakfast, ...

The opportunity to walk from Fort William to Inverness along the Great Glen has been a treasure of an experience. The journey takes you along the tow paths of the Caledonian Canal, the forest paths, woodlands, moorlands and highlands surrounding the lakes it connects. And, what a treat to be welcomed at the end of the day with the warm hospitality of the lovely B&B's chosen for us.. After a good night sleep and an excellent breakfast, we were off again to our next destination knowing our bags would be waiting! We enjoyed meeting people on our journey, but appreciated the opportunity as a couple to be with each in such a beautiful natural environment.

Rating for tour operator:

As we found in our travels, there are so many organizations offering walking/ hiking holidays. We feel we are fortunate to have found Mickeldore. Great Glen Way is our second holiday with them , the first being an equally fabulous Hadrian's Wall Walk! The quality of their holiday package (maps, books, pre-trip information) all help prepare us for the adventure. And, make no mistake about it, covering 80 miles in 7 days on foot is an adventure. Mickeldore gave us the tools on our walking journey to knowledgeably enjoy the thrill of discovering Scotland in a very personal way. It can be difficult, especially coming from the US, to establish good lines of communication before and during a walking holiday adventure .... especially a self guided one... to make it a safe experience. It is especially important to get a good “match”. Mickeldore has done that twice for us. We are already thinking about our next walk!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 11 Jul 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments and great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you had another great experience and we will be very happy to arrange your next UK walking adventure for you.
Sue

Great Glen Way by JSteZ , 12 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Mickledore three days Great Glenn way, beautiful scenery walk, absolute recommendation

With 5 men, around 40 years old, we went to the beautiful last three days of the Great Glenn way. Accomodations were beautiful, picturesque. Very kind people, ambiance was good and the walks absolutely fantastic

With 5 men, around 40 years old, we went to the beautiful last three days of the Great Glenn way. Accomodations were beautiful, picturesque. Very kind people, ambiance was good and the walks absolutely fantastic

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore made the reservations. First we were split over 2 accomodations at multiple locations, but when we asked to change it only the first night we had to split up. A problem with the luggage labels was handled quickly.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

Thanks for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and found our customer service responsive and efficient.
Sue

Great Glen Way by KJ from TO, 15 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Glen Way

We did a 7 day Great Glen Way walk thru Mickledore Travel and had a great experience. Everything was to our expectation and the trip happened without any challenges. The self guide hike was well detailed and the accommodations were conveniently located and well appointed.

We did a 7 day Great Glen Way walk thru Mickledore Travel and had a great experience. Everything was to our expectation and the trip happened without any challenges. The self guide hike was well detailed and the accommodations were conveniently located and well appointed.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel provided the maps, hiking notes, all reservations and luggage transfer. Everything was well managed.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 May 2019:

It's great to her that you had a lovely walk and that you enjoyed staying at the accommodations we chose for you. Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Waterloo Boy, 15 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

First time hiker

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

I hiked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness from September 16 - 23. I took a rest day in Drumnadrochit. I appreciated the combination of history and natural beauty that the trail offered.

Rating for tour operator:

I worked with Mickeldore Travel to plan and organize the trip. I couldn’t have been more satisfied with their work. This was my first long hike in the UK and as a 74 year old solo hiker I was concerned that I select a trail that was appropriate for me. I received excellent advice. They were timely in their responses. In addition, I appreciated the flexibility I had in organizing the trip to fit my time and skill level. The accommodations were first rate and the baggage transfers went off without a hitch. I recommend Mickeldore without reservation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback.It is lovely to hear that the arrangements we made and the information we provided helped you to have an enjoyable adventure on your first long distance walking path.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Nana03, 27 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hiked Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness

We walked the Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness. We took high roads and low roads, walked through forests and meadows and along canals. Following the entire length of Loch Ness, with beauty surrounding us everywhere. We had lots of sun, lots of clouds, lots of light rain. And we had really terrific food and hospitality.

We walked the Great Glen Way in Scotland from Fort William to Inverness. We took high roads and low roads, walked through forests and meadows and along canals. Following the entire length of Loch Ness, with beauty surrounding us everywhere. We had lots of sun, lots of clouds, lots of light rain. And we had really terrific food and hospitality.

Rating for tour operator:

We are very happy to have used Mickeldore Travel. We live in the US and were able to make arrangements primarily by email. The staff was very prompt, courteous, and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and your holiday. It is great that you enjoyed the scenery, and the variety of weather during your walk.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Pugsley, 20 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A good walk

A walking holiday from Fort William to Inverness. Excellent B&Bs and wonderful scenery.

A walking holiday from Fort William to Inverness. Excellent B&Bs and wonderful scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore - very well organised and very professional

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2018:

It is lovely that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we chose for you. Thank you for leaving us your feedback.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Mark F., 6 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent experience with Mickledore on the Great Glen Way

We walked the Great Glen Way in August, 2018 over the course of 6 days. With such diverse sections as dense pine forests with waterfalls, open fields and scenic ridges over looking the lochs we thoroughly enjoyed every mile (even when some rain and hail showed up). The towns we stopped at where wonderful and the friendly Scottish people made the trip that much more memorable.

We walked the Great Glen Way in August, 2018 over the course of 6 days. With such diverse sections as dense pine forests with waterfalls, open fields and scenic ridges over looking the lochs we thoroughly enjoyed every mile (even when some rain and hail showed up). The towns we stopped at where wonderful and the friendly Scottish people made the trip that much more memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

From start to finish our experience with Mickledore Travel was outstanding! We booked our holiday for the Great Glen Way and all communications, informational materials and arrangements (especially BnB's) were wonderful. We were in good hands all the way which meant a lot when coming over from the US and walking through Scottish Highlands. Our next trip will be through Mickledore again without a doubt.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback about your walk, the information in your holiday pack and the work of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back on another walk in the future.
Sue

Great Glen Way by AliCore, 18 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous experience, well organised and excellent accomodation

We walked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness over 7 days. At the end of each day we stayed in a local B&B and where this was not possible we were taxied to and from suitable accommodation.

We walked the Great Glen Way from Fort William to Inverness over 7 days. At the end of each day we stayed in a local B&B and where this was not possible we were taxied to and from suitable accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Walking Holidays organised the whole thing: Planned the route; booked the B&Bs;arranged for luggage to transferred from B&B to B&B; booked taxi transfers where necessary; arranged packed lunches and car parking; provided a very clear and detailed itinerary, maps and a guide book. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very flexible as to our route. The standard of all the accommodation was excellent with very friendly and helpful hosts. Everything went smoothly-I can't fault the company. We will definitely use them again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and found the information in your holiday pack to be helpful. We would be happy to arrange your next walking adventure for you and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sue

Great Glen Way by Old hiker, 29 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Great Walking Holiday

After a very successful Mickedore organised walking holiday on Hadrian's Wall in 2017 my wife and I booked the Great Glen Way Walk though the same company this year. The route follows the Caledonian Canal from Fort William to Fort Augustus and then through more challenging country to Inverness over. Overall the path is about 127 Kilometres long and we took 7 days to walk with one rest day at Fort Augustus. Walking is a great pleasure for us ...

After a very successful Mickedore organised walking holiday on Hadrian's Wall in 2017 my wife and I booked the Great Glen Way Walk though the same company this year. The route follows the Caledonian Canal from Fort William to Fort Augustus and then through more challenging country to Inverness over. Overall the path is about 127 Kilometres long and we took 7 days to walk with one rest day at Fort Augustus. Walking is a great pleasure for us as - we like walking - it enables a more intimate experience with the countryside than in a vehicle. Its easy to stop, rest, and enjoy the view. There was plenty of magnificent scenery along our route. Especially on the track high above Loch Ness. Away from the sweeping views the track takes you through some pretty special forests and moorlands. Signposting was very good and there is no way to get lost. It was nice having our luggage transported and that there was a comfortable room and hot shower at the end of a sweaty day (it was a Scottish heatwave), and the promise of a cool ale. It was hard work overall but worth every step.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore did an excellent job of arranging the walk and providing easy to read and understand information. Our previous good experience with this company gave us confidence that everything would be arranged and that we were prepared for the walk. There was one hitch at Invermoriston where the transport operator got a little confused about where he was to take us but this was quickly sorted by Mickledore. We have found that if there are any problems on the trail Mickledore sort these out quickly and with a minimum of fuss. Very happy to keep dealing with this company.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for such great feedback. It is lovely that you have enjoyed your walk and the fabulous views along the way. We hope to welcome you back for your next walking adventure soon.
Sue

Great Glen Way by JerBear, 17 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

It was a great walking holiday the people at Mickledore went over and above with their selections of our accommodation Even when accommodation were booked away from the trail the found us transportation to and from the trail

It was a great walking holiday the people at Mickledore went over and above with their selections of our accommodation Even when accommodation were booked away from the trail the found us transportation to and from the trail

Rating for tour operator:

Always friendly and always helpful

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations along the way.
Sue