AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Hadrian's Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Hadrian's Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 31
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 31
Reviews Accepted: 31
Reviews Rejected: 0
31 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Romanist, 6 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Informative, expert, thoroughly enjoyable

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Rating for tour operator:

Specialist, hands-on, attention to detail

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Gwen, 1 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Bespoke tour of Hadrian's Wall

It was fantastic. The historical expert was extremely knowledgeable and the driver and guide arranged everything perfectly. After beautiful, informative walks through the countryside and/or through historical sites, we would stop for a delicious meal at a carefully-selected nearby inn. My questions were quickly answered, the pace was just right for the experience to be both relaxing and stimulating, and there were no delays or disappointments...

It was fantastic. The historical expert was extremely knowledgeable and the driver and guide arranged everything perfectly. After beautiful, informative walks through the countryside and/or through historical sites, we would stop for a delicious meal at a carefully-selected nearby inn. My questions were quickly answered, the pace was just right for the experience to be both relaxing and stimulating, and there were no delays or disappointments. It was exactly the experience that I had been hoping for. I left with a very positive impression of the whole area, as well as with a far deeper understanding and appreciation of the history of the area than I could possibly have gotten from traveling on my own. In addition to giving me an appreciation for the Roman period, the tour gave me an understanding and appreciation for the architecture and history of the dark ages, and of the border wars. I would very much like to go to the region again, and I would certainly be interested in travel again using Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged beautifully. It was wonderful to know that the arrangements were in good hands, and I could relax and focus on enjoying the beautiful countryside. Every stage of the trip was planned, so that there was always food and rest right when it was wanted, and we were ushered past every line and barrier without hassle or delay. Also, everyone was extremely courteous and pleasant. They did a wonderful job, and they made it look quite easy and fun, although I am sure it must have been a lot of work making everything go so smoothly.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Jo, 8 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

A guided tour of Hadrian's wall

Amazing time, wonderful trip, well organized, lovely hotel, great food and walks along the wall and through museums that were spectacular. a week's trip, staying in one hotel which was very nice, a real home base. Daily trips to walk various sections of the Wall, see ruins of the forts, visit museums to get a real sense of Roman Britain.

Amazing time, wonderful trip, well organized, lovely hotel, great food and walks along the wall and through museums that were spectacular. a week's trip, staying in one hotel which was very nice, a real home base. Daily trips to walk various sections of the Wall, see ruins of the forts, visit museums to get a real sense of Roman Britain.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided an excellent trip. Very well organized,every detail was thought out, taking care that we were well looked after every step of the way. Great choices for meals, we went places we would not have found on our own. Highly recommended.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Pam, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience both in culture and experience

We had a wonderful break in the north of England learning Roman history amongst fabulous Roman remains of Hadrians Wall surrounded by sweeping landscapes .The tour was welll prepared and fun

We had a wonderful break in the north of England learning Roman history amongst fabulous Roman remains of Hadrians Wall surrounded by sweeping landscapes .The tour was welll prepared and fun

Rating for tour operator:

Very experienced and knowledgable.The two tour leaders were a delight to be with and very informative We loved this trip

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Craig, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

terrific trip led by real professionals who truly understand the importance of an historical understanding of England

Peter Sommers tours for us are really an adventure back in time. It is one thing to walk Hadrian's Wall as we did....it is a totally different experience to have true professionals sharing their knowledge and experience as to the many thousands of years of history which underpin where we are today.

Peter Sommers tours for us are really an adventure back in time. It is one thing to walk Hadrian's Wall as we did....it is a totally different experience to have true professionals sharing their knowledge and experience as to the many thousands of years of history which underpin where we are today.

Rating for tour operator:

We travel 3 months or so a year, mostly on guided tours. This is our second adventure with Peter Sommers...."just the best" in terms of quality and service...

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Mary, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall History Walk

One week of lectures on the history of Hadrians' Wall at various sites along the wall.

One week of lectures on the history of Hadrians' Wall at various sites along the wall.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers is the consummate organizer and pays close attention to all logistic details and individual needs of his clients. With this seamless attention of organization, the clients/travelers can just immerse themselves in the surroundings and lectures of the historian's presentations.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Lew, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall

The Romans built Hadrian’s Wall across the width of England just below the current Scottish border. The Peter Sommer tour focused on the remains of the wall and the Roman forts that supported the defenders of the northern frontier. The tour also visited a number of museums containing artefacts discovered along Hadrian's Wall, as well as other historic buildings in northern England. Additionally, there were several opportunities to hike along ...

The Romans built Hadrian’s Wall across the width of England just below the current Scottish border. The Peter Sommer tour focused on the remains of the wall and the Roman forts that supported the defenders of the northern frontier. The tour also visited a number of museums containing artefacts discovered along Hadrian's Wall, as well as other historic buildings in northern England. Additionally, there were several opportunities to hike along the remains of the wall. One memorable highlight was seeing a 2000 year old Roman shoe pulled from the mud by archaeologists during an ongoing excavation at Vindolanda. Other highlights were the beautiful English countryside and the trip to Bamburgh Castle on the North Sea.

Rating for tour operator:

Our Hadrian’s Wall tour was the inaugural run, and we are pleased to report it seemed like they had been doing it for years. The company must have taken great care in planning the itinerary, the lodging, the meals and the transportation so the participants would think it was a well traveled path. Peter Sommer acted as one of the guides and impressed everyone with his friendliness, attention to detail and amazing energy. He has assembled an amazing team, and we are delighted to give them all an unqualified "excellent" rating. Every one we worked with, from office staff to tour guides, exceeded expectations and helped make our trip memorable.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Cheri, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall

This tour visited the remains of several Roman forts and museums along Hadrian's Wall in northern England, from the most western to most eastern terminus of the Wall. We also visited castles, a priory and an Abbey and learned their connection to the history of the area. Hiking along the Wall at various locations was exciting (a bit of rain made us feel we truly were in England) and gave us a chance to enjoy the lovely green countryside. A ...

This tour visited the remains of several Roman forts and museums along Hadrian's Wall in northern England, from the most western to most eastern terminus of the Wall. We also visited castles, a priory and an Abbey and learned their connection to the history of the area. Hiking along the Wall at various locations was exciting (a bit of rain made us feel we truly were in England) and gave us a chance to enjoy the lovely green countryside. A particular highlight of this tour was seeing the ongoing archaeological excavation at Vindolanda and witnessing a 2000 year old Roman shoe pulled minutes earlier from the anaerobic mud that had preserved it all those years.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second experience with Peter Sommer Travels, following directly on their Wessex tour. As with the Wessex tour, we are delighted to give Peter Sommer Travels an unqualified "excellent" rating on this tour. From initial contact, to booking, to superb coordination by the tour organizers, the excellent knowledge and wonderful humor of our guides, and the selection of tour sites, the trip was organized and run smoothly and with the interests and comfort of the participants always kept in mind. They are by far the best tour operator we have traveled with.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Exeter Nh travels, 24 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels- Exploring Hadrian's wall

This one week tour with my husband toured the 80 miles of Hadrian's Wall from coast to coast.

This one week tour with my husband toured the 80 miles of Hadrian's Wall from coast to coast.

Rating for tour operator:

This one week tour provided by Peter Sommer Travels was exceptional in its content, the itinerary, and all of the support; hotels, meals, tour guides and transportation. Peter Sommer Travels is an excellent tour company which places the care, comfort and safety of its clients at the forefront. The tour was well organized following an engaging itinerary which was guided by professional and knowledgeable guides. We recommend Peter Sommer Travels and this tour, Exploring Hadrian's Wall, without reservation.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Exeter NH Traveler, 24 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Peter Sommer Travels - Exploring Hadrian's Wall

This was our second tour with Peter Sommer Travels. The tour itinerary included a week of exploring Hadrian's Wall from coast to coast in early July.

This was our second tour with Peter Sommer Travels. The tour itinerary included a week of exploring Hadrian's Wall from coast to coast in early July.

Rating for tour operator:

We were most pleased with all aspects of the tour which was well organized around a historical itinerary. The daily agenda, hotel arrangements, dining experiences and professional tour guides all exceeded our expectations. The care, comfort and safety of the client are the first priorities for Peter Sommer Travels We can most heartily recommend Peter Sommer Travels and specifically their Exploring Hadrian's Wall without reservation.