AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Exploring Hadrian's Wall Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Exploring Hadrian's Wall

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 25
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 25
Reviews Accepted: 25
Reviews Rejected: 0
25 reviews
Sort by:
Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Marie I., 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall

This was an extremely well organized tour of Hadrian's Wall, its forts and related museums, and of the later cultural history of the Borders. The tour was comprehensive but conducted at a relaxed pace that allowed us to appreciate the spectacular landscapes and historic settings of northern England. The unique accommodations at our castle hotel were very comfortable and we particularly appreciated the convenience of staying there for the entire ...

This was an extremely well organized tour of Hadrian's Wall, its forts and related museums, and of the later cultural history of the Borders. The tour was comprehensive but conducted at a relaxed pace that allowed us to appreciate the spectacular landscapes and historic settings of northern England. The unique accommodations at our castle hotel were very comfortable and we particularly appreciated the convenience of staying there for the entire tour. The pubs and inns chosen for our dining venues were also superb. A great deal of our enjoyment of this tour must be attributed to the congenial company of the expert guide (Paul Beston) and the tour manager (Peter Sommer) who generously shared with us their passion for the Wall country. As someone who’s always wanted to see the Wall, I can’t imagine a better experience and it was worth waiting many years to do this tour with Paul and Peter.

Rating for tour operator:

Exploring Hadrian’s Wall was our third tour with Peter Sommer Travels and again it was a wonderful experience. Their small group tours are led by extremely knowledgeable guides and impeccably organized by their equally congenial tour managers. Accommodations are very comfortable, often unique, and the dining venues always interesting, with excellent food and beverages. When you travel with the Peter Sommer company, you feel part of a family in which the office manager, the expert guides, the tour managers, and Peter Sommer himself work together to ensure your comfort and enjoyment and to provide you with the best possible travel experience. Peter Sommer Travels is by far the best tour company we’ve travelled with and we give them our highest recommendation.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Bill I., 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian's Wall

Our holiday consisted of a Peter Sommer walking tour in northern England along Hadrian's Wall and through the lovely estates, towns and countryside in the area. This was a tour replete with historical and archaeological perspectives on the Romans in Britain, the Border Reivers and the more recent Romantic period. The hikes and walks through the archaeological sites and around the spectacular estates and castles of the area were just enough ...

Our holiday consisted of a Peter Sommer walking tour in northern England along Hadrian's Wall and through the lovely estates, towns and countryside in the area. This was a tour replete with historical and archaeological perspectives on the Romans in Britain, the Border Reivers and the more recent Romantic period. The hikes and walks through the archaeological sites and around the spectacular estates and castles of the area were just enough to help work off some of the extra calories from the excellent food and beverages provided during the tour. The weather was excellent....warm and sunny every day. The pace of the tour was relaxed and the accommodations (at Langley Castle) were outstanding. Our expert guide, Paul Beston, had an incredible breadth of historical and archaeological knowledge and was very congenial and remarkably capable of making the story of this part of England's history both colourful and coherent. Our Tour Organizer, Peter Sommer, as well as being a very kind and considerate host for the tour, did an outstanding job of scheduling the various archaeological site visits, museum visits and estate visits. Also very much appreciated were the unique and interesting drinking and dining venues provided during the tour. All in all, the holiday couldn't have been better.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with many tour operators over many years and have now travelled on three different Peter Sommer tours---one in Crete and two in England. All three of these Peter Sommer tours have been outstanding, head and shoulders above any of other tours from other companies. The attention to detail and the accommodation of the guests has been superb in all Peter Sommer tours. The expert guides have always been remarkably well informed about their subject, they have always been congenial and have always gone out of their way to make the trip enjoyable and informative. I cannot recommend Peter Sommer Tours highly enough.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Mr R B 18, 20 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Hadrian Wall and surrounds

An incredible tour of Hadrian Wall with outstanding accommodation and visits to local pubs for a terrific holiday.

An incredible tour of Hadrian Wall with outstanding accommodation and visits to local pubs for a terrific holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble and was presented in a very friendly manner.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Pottel, 9 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

What have the Romans ever done for us?

Well, Peter and Paul took us to a great selection of important Roman sites along Hadrian’s Wall and give us a deep insight into Roman culture and history. Paul’s extraordinary historical knowledge (essentially aWikipedia on legs) and his ability to bring alive not only well known archeological sites but also lesser known sites where surviving details are sparse. A well thought out tour delivered by experts whose enthusiasm for their subject ...

Well, Peter and Paul took us to a great selection of important Roman sites along Hadrian’s Wall and give us a deep insight into Roman culture and history. Paul’s extraordinary historical knowledge (essentially aWikipedia on legs) and his ability to bring alive not only well known archeological sites but also lesser known sites where surviving details are sparse. A well thought out tour delivered by experts whose enthusiasm for their subject was infectious.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer impressed us from the start when we booked the tour last year. During the tour Peter ensured that nothing was left to chance and made sure that there were no delays in getting on to sites etc. A perfect tour organiser and host.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Romanist, 6 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Informative, expert, thoroughly enjoyable

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Expert led guiding of the Hadrian’s Wall system & related collections

Rating for tour operator:

Specialist, hands-on, attention to detail

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Gwen, 1 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Bespoke tour of Hadrian's Wall

It was fantastic. The historical expert was extremely knowledgeable and the driver and guide arranged everything perfectly. After beautiful, informative walks through the countryside and/or through historical sites, we would stop for a delicious meal at a carefully-selected nearby inn. My questions were quickly answered, the pace was just right for the experience to be both relaxing and stimulating, and there were no delays or disappointments...

It was fantastic. The historical expert was extremely knowledgeable and the driver and guide arranged everything perfectly. After beautiful, informative walks through the countryside and/or through historical sites, we would stop for a delicious meal at a carefully-selected nearby inn. My questions were quickly answered, the pace was just right for the experience to be both relaxing and stimulating, and there were no delays or disappointments. It was exactly the experience that I had been hoping for. I left with a very positive impression of the whole area, as well as with a far deeper understanding and appreciation of the history of the area than I could possibly have gotten from traveling on my own. In addition to giving me an appreciation for the Roman period, the tour gave me an understanding and appreciation for the architecture and history of the dark ages, and of the border wars. I would very much like to go to the region again, and I would certainly be interested in travel again using Peter Sommer Travels.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged beautifully. It was wonderful to know that the arrangements were in good hands, and I could relax and focus on enjoying the beautiful countryside. Every stage of the trip was planned, so that there was always food and rest right when it was wanted, and we were ushered past every line and barrier without hassle or delay. Also, everyone was extremely courteous and pleasant. They did a wonderful job, and they made it look quite easy and fun, although I am sure it must have been a lot of work making everything go so smoothly.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Jo, 8 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

A guided tour of Hadrian's wall

Amazing time, wonderful trip, well organized, lovely hotel, great food and walks along the wall and through museums that were spectacular. a week's trip, staying in one hotel which was very nice, a real home base. Daily trips to walk various sections of the Wall, see ruins of the forts, visit museums to get a real sense of Roman Britain.

Amazing time, wonderful trip, well organized, lovely hotel, great food and walks along the wall and through museums that were spectacular. a week's trip, staying in one hotel which was very nice, a real home base. Daily trips to walk various sections of the Wall, see ruins of the forts, visit museums to get a real sense of Roman Britain.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provided an excellent trip. Very well organized,every detail was thought out, taking care that we were well looked after every step of the way. Great choices for meals, we went places we would not have found on our own. Highly recommended.

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Pam, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful experience both in culture and experience

We had a wonderful break in the north of England learning Roman history amongst fabulous Roman remains of Hadrians Wall surrounded by sweeping landscapes .The tour was welll prepared and fun

We had a wonderful break in the north of England learning Roman history amongst fabulous Roman remains of Hadrians Wall surrounded by sweeping landscapes .The tour was welll prepared and fun

Rating for tour operator:

Very experienced and knowledgable.The two tour leaders were a delight to be with and very informative We loved this trip

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Craig, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

terrific trip led by real professionals who truly understand the importance of an historical understanding of England

Peter Sommers tours for us are really an adventure back in time. It is one thing to walk Hadrian's Wall as we did....it is a totally different experience to have true professionals sharing their knowledge and experience as to the many thousands of years of history which underpin where we are today.

Peter Sommers tours for us are really an adventure back in time. It is one thing to walk Hadrian's Wall as we did....it is a totally different experience to have true professionals sharing their knowledge and experience as to the many thousands of years of history which underpin where we are today.

Rating for tour operator:

We travel 3 months or so a year, mostly on guided tours. This is our second adventure with Peter Sommers...."just the best" in terms of quality and service...

Exploring Hadrian's Wall by Mary, 25 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall History Walk

One week of lectures on the history of Hadrians' Wall at various sites along the wall.

One week of lectures on the history of Hadrians' Wall at various sites along the wall.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers is the consummate organizer and pays close attention to all logistic details and individual needs of his clients. With this seamless attention of organization, the clients/travelers can just immerse themselves in the surroundings and lectures of the historian's presentations.