AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Dales Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dales Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 21
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 22
Reviews Accepted: 22
Reviews Rejected: 0
22 reviews
Sort by:
Dales Way by Grumpy, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Dales Way

Excellent holiday walking the Dales Way. All parts well organised. Information supplied was excellent. All accommodation was excellent with hosts very friendly and informative.

Excellent holiday walking the Dales Way. All parts well organised. Information supplied was excellent. All accommodation was excellent with hosts very friendly and informative.

Rating for tour operator:

First time we have used Mickledore and all our hosts said they were the best of this type of company to work with.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for your great feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and the accommodations that we had chosen for you. We hope to welcome you back for another walking adventure soon.
Sue

Dales Way by BillK, 6 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

The Dalesway Walk

This was the second walking holiday we booked through Mickledore. Both have been first class. The holiday consisted of walking the 81 miles from Ilkley in West Yorkshire through Upper Wharfedale before crossing the crown of the country and making our way via Ribblehaed, Dent and Sedbergh to Lake Windermere. We chose to do the walk over 7 days. There are 6 and 8 day options depending on your level of fitness and how much you want to stop and ...

This was the second walking holiday we booked through Mickledore. Both have been first class. The holiday consisted of walking the 81 miles from Ilkley in West Yorkshire through Upper Wharfedale before crossing the crown of the country and making our way via Ribblehaed, Dent and Sedbergh to Lake Windermere. We chose to do the walk over 7 days. There are 6 and 8 day options depending on your level of fitness and how much you want to stop and take in the stunning countryside and observe the wildlife. We are both in our mid 60s and are very fit and I think the timescale was the right one for us. The first two days of our walk involved sticking pretty close to the upper reaches of the River Wharfe. It is mostly relatively easy walking although there are some moderately steep climbs to be negotiated. The landscape is lush and green and the rolling hills are criss crossed by the archetypal dry stone walls. We passed through the magnificent Bolton Abbey, skirting Appletreewick and had tea and a scone in the picturesque village of Burnsall before stopping for our first nights accommodation in Grassington. A magnificent sunny morning greeted us, as we climbed out of Grassington continuing northwards. A cool northerly breeze took the edge off the warm late May sunshine and made for almost perfect walking conditions. The descent towards Kettlewell was stunning and we enjoyed lunch by the river in the village. The afternoon took us back close to the track of the Wharfe and we made our way on through Buckden to our next stop in a lovely farmhouse called Low Raisgill in the hamlet of Yockenthwaite. Another hearty breakfast fuelled us for the next leg of our journey towards Ribblehead.. We continued our journey to the source of the Wharfe before traversing Oughtershaw Moor. This was our first stretch of real Pennine moorland. Even in the dry conditions there were still some boggy stretches. Walking boots are a must for this section of the trip. After straddling the Pennine Way for a short distance we crossed the watershed of England and before too long the imposing Ribblehead Viaduct was visible in the distance. Our next night was spent in the splendidly remote but very comfortable "Shepherd's Cottage," about 2 kilometres away from the viaduct. The cottage is right on the Dalesway and the route rises steeply up Blea Moor over a short boggy stretch before finding a track descending down into Dental going towards the village of Cowgill. The cool northerly of the first 2 days had now gone and the continuing sunshine meant the temperature was rising into the low 20s. With Whernside to the south and Aye Gill Pike to the north and the westward flowing River Dee at our side, we made our way through the beautiful valley resplendent in the warm, late spring sunshine. Dent is one of those picture postcard Pennine villages and it was lovely to reach our next stop and have a cool drink. Day 4 took us on via the Dee. The call of the cuckoo punctuated our journey westward towards the pretty village of Millthrop. From there the Dalesway loops souh of Sedbergh before meeting up with the River Lune. Our next accommodation was at Ash-hining Farm. Our guest house proprietor host drove us into Sebergh for our evening meal as is the practice at several of the more remote locations on the route. The warm sun had now become a permanent fixture on our walk and the next day was no exception. The jagged hills of the Lake District were now visible on the horizon and we made our way towards and across the M6 cutting a furrow between the Dales to the east and the Lake District. Soon afterwards we crossed the main west coast railway line and continued through very pleasant countryside and finished our day in the village of Burneside. A taxi was waiting to take us to our accommodation in nearby Kendall. Our last day was one of the shorter stretches, which I think is psychologically good. The odd ache and pain didn't seem too bad on this last morning. We even permitted ourselves a diversion up to Brant fell to enjoy the views over Windermere before descending into Bowness and our finish. Bowness did seem manic after the peace and serenity of the past week but it was great to finish. We made sure we went to register our walk at the Hawkshead shop in the town so that a donation goes to the upkeep of the Dalesway. The sunshine had been with us since lunch time on Day 1!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore have been excellent. They clearly have walkers designing their programmes. The accommodation has been very good or excellent and the luggage transportation service has been top class. The information they send out in advance is good and they respond promptly to any queries. We will definitely book with them again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your walk. It is great that you allowed some time in your itinerary to enjoy the changing scenery along the way. We will be very happy to arrange another adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Dales Way by Active pensioner ! , 1 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

walking holiday with Mickledore Travel

Lovely holiday - bed and breakfast venues were located in beautiful surroundings and a good standard of accommodation. The walks were delightful, despite the wet weather. I would certainly book another holiday in the future.

Lovely holiday - bed and breakfast venues were located in beautiful surroundings and a good standard of accommodation. The walks were delightful, despite the wet weather. I would certainly book another holiday in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good. Helpful and timely.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2017:

Thanks for your great Dales Way review. We put a lot of effort into finding the best accommodations along a route so it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stays with them. We would be pleased to arrange your next walking holiday for you.
Sue

Dales Way by Chrissie Walks, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Dales Way with Mickledore

We walked the 80+ miles of the Dales Way, our first long distance trail, over the summer solstice and mainly in sunshine. The scenery was lovely, the B&B's welcoming and comfortable and we met friendly fellow walkers along the way who cheered us on our arrival at the pub at the end.

We walked the 80+ miles of the Dales Way, our first long distance trail, over the summer solstice and mainly in sunshine. The scenery was lovely, the B&B's welcoming and comfortable and we met friendly fellow walkers along the way who cheered us on our arrival at the pub at the end.

Rating for tour operator:

We liked not having to book the accommodation and transfers ourselves and felt safe leaving the arrangements to Mickledore as they had come with very good recommendations from other walkers. Mickledore took into account the distance we had requested to walk each day and the grade of accommodation we had chosen. Once we had paid the balance of our holiday and received their final planning there was nothing to worry about except our fitness to walk the distance.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Aug 2017:

Its great to hear that we came with good recommendations and that we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback and congratulations on completing your walk. We look forward to arranging the next one for you.

Dales Way by Wilko1954, 1 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday- Dalesway

We had a fantastic time waking the eighty one miles of the Dalesway, staying at accommodation organised by Mickledore, and with daily luggage transfer. Everything worked to plan, the accommodation was consistently good, and the walk itself is very pretty. The directions provided by Mickledore were all spot on.

We had a fantastic time waking the eighty one miles of the Dalesway, staying at accommodation organised by Mickledore, and with daily luggage transfer. Everything worked to plan, the accommodation was consistently good, and the walk itself is very pretty. The directions provided by Mickledore were all spot on.

Rating for tour operator:

I would thoroughly recommend Micledore and would definitely use them again .

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Aug 2017:

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the walk, the accommodation choices and our organisation. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and please do get in touch again when you are ready for your next walk.
Tara .

Dales Way by The tamalous, 15 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A great walking holiday

A group of 6 of us have just walked the Dales Way on a holiday organised by Mickledore. We walked from Ilkley to Windermere over the course a week, through hay meadows full of early summer flowers in Upper Wharfedale and on to the edge of the Lake District, often staying in country inns with good food and a choice of real ales.

A group of 6 of us have just walked the Dales Way on a holiday organised by Mickledore. We walked from Ilkley to Windermere over the course a week, through hay meadows full of early summer flowers in Upper Wharfedale and on to the edge of the Lake District, often staying in country inns with good food and a choice of real ales.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore booked splendid accommodation for each night, arranged luggage transfers, and provided an excellent information pack. Their staff were friendly and helpful, and easy to contact via phone and email.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk and of course the real ales on offer.
I hope that you will allow us to book another trip for you in the future.
Tara

Dales Way by John Duncan, 26 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk

We walked the Dales Way, from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, over a period of 7 days. The route and the scenery were wonderful, and we stayed in some terrific B&Bs - which had been selected by our tour operator. Our luggage was transported for us each day, leaving us free to enjoy our holiday with only a day-sack to carry.

We walked the Dales Way, from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, over a period of 7 days. The route and the scenery were wonderful, and we stayed in some terrific B&Bs - which had been selected by our tour operator. Our luggage was transported for us each day, leaving us free to enjoy our holiday with only a day-sack to carry.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore made all the arrangements including B&Bs, luggage transfers and a taxi transfer where necessary. It all worked seamlessly. They provided excellent route instructions and detailed maps. All contact we had with them was professional and effective. We would use them again without hesitation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback. The Dales Way is a beautiful route and I'm glad that we were able to take care of everything for you. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are ready for the next walk!
Tara

Dales Way by Mr P, 7 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Dales Way

The entire walk was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There was wonderful varied scenery virtually every mile of the way. We met interesting people - walkers and locals - and enjoyed good food. The accommodation overall was excellent. Pity the latter half of the walk was marred by rain. Thoroughly recommended.

The entire walk was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There was wonderful varied scenery virtually every mile of the way. We met interesting people - walkers and locals - and enjoyed good food. The accommodation overall was excellent. Pity the latter half of the walk was marred by rain. Thoroughly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 6th walking holiday arranged by Mickledore. As ever,they provide a first class, prompt service. Pleased to see that they have recently added a further 2 walking holidays to their list.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Dec 2016:

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we are pleased to have provided your 6th holiday and we are very happy that you had a great time again. It really is a beautiful walk.
We still have plenty more holidays for you to choose from and I hope you find the two news ones- Herriot Way and the Peddars Way & North Norfolk Coast-of interest. We look forward to arranging your next trip very soon.
Tara

Dales Way by Mr K B 16, 31 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Walked the dales with friends all aspects organised by mickledore to a very high standard

Walked the dales with friends all aspects organised by mickledore to a very high standard

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable and very helpful and very efficient in dealing with any queries we had

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2016:

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and I hope that you will be back to try another walk with us in the future.
Tara

Dales Way by christiana, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

A Great Walk

A three day walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales orgainsied by Mickledore. All of the fun of walking with good information supported by luggage transfers and all the bookings needed. Great information and maps, lovely accomodation. All we had to do was enjoy the walking.

A three day walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales orgainsied by Mickledore. All of the fun of walking with good information supported by luggage transfers and all the bookings needed. Great information and maps, lovely accomodation. All we had to do was enjoy the walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Great web site, lots of choice, very speedy and pertinent responses. Would use them again and happy to recommend them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2016:

We are pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the walking knowing that we had done everything else ! We put a lot of effort into making sure your holiday runs smoothly, so thank you for your kind words. We hope to be able to arrange another walk for you very soon.
Lucy