AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Dales Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dales Way

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 21
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 22
Reviews Accepted: 22
Reviews Rejected: 0
22 reviews
Sort by:
Dales Way by Tony C, 10 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great walking holiday

We walked the Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness on Windemere over seven days. This was all arranged through Mickledore who booked all our overnight accommodation, provided luggage transit between accommodation sites and ensured we had packed lunches provided each day. Nothing let us down so we could concentrate on the walking and taking in the sites.

We walked the Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness on Windemere over seven days. This was all arranged through Mickledore who booked all our overnight accommodation, provided luggage transit between accommodation sites and ensured we had packed lunches provided each day. Nothing let us down so we could concentrate on the walking and taking in the sites.

Rating for tour operator:

We have now used Mickledore on two occasions for our walking holidays. On both occasions every thing was meticulously and went to plan. Even the accommodation sites we stayed at were very positive about Mickledore.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Sep 2020:

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments for us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we booked for you.
We hope to welcome you back for further adventures in the future.
Sue

Dales Way by Mike F, 6 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way Aug/Sep 19

My friend Tom and myself walked the Dales Way and it was a most enjoyable experience , helped by the excellent accommodation and efficient baggage transfer provided by the Company.. At all the places we stayed, the breakfasts and packed lunches provided were both of good quality and a fair choice.

My friend Tom and myself walked the Dales Way and it was a most enjoyable experience , helped by the excellent accommodation and efficient baggage transfer provided by the Company.. At all the places we stayed, the breakfasts and packed lunches provided were both of good quality and a fair choice.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Door Travel , an organisation that we have used twice and on both occasions provided an excellent service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your lovely feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk. We do try to find the best accommodations along our routes and it is always a pleasure to hear that you liked our choices.
Sue

Dales Way by baabear, 21 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Adventure

Walking The Dales Way was an amazing experience. Wonderful countryside, something special. Went astray a few times but got there in the end.

Walking The Dales Way was an amazing experience. Wonderful countryside, something special. Went astray a few times but got there in the end.

Rating for tour operator:

Perfect in every way - highly recommend.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Aug 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walk. We would be happy to arrange another adventure for you in future.
Sue

Dales Way by Jonni, 22 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way. Highly recommend Mickledore's organisation of this holiday for the three of us who participated.

My wife, daughter and myself booked with Mickledore to walk the Dales Way. The whole experience was excellent. Mickledore provided everything we could have possibly needed, e.g. maps, overnight accomodation, places of interest on route, places to eat, luggage awaited us on arrival every day. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

My wife, daughter and myself booked with Mickledore to walk the Dales Way. The whole experience was excellent. Mickledore provided everything we could have possibly needed, e.g. maps, overnight accomodation, places of interest on route, places to eat, luggage awaited us on arrival every day. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This was the 4th holiday we have booked with Mickledore and we have been happy each time with their organisational skills. we wouldn't dream of using anyone else.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thanks for such kind feedback.It is always lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday and have been happy with the arrangements we made for you. We will be very happy to arrange another walk for you in the future.
Sue

Dales Way by ras7001, 17 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional Walk Experience on Dales Way

I walked the Dales Way solo in late May 2019. The weather was far from perfect which just made the experience more exciting in that I had to work with the rain and cold at times and felt all the more justified in enjoying cream tea, heroic for making my goal each day, and superbly rewarded by a hot bath at the end of the days where such a thing was available. It was a top journey that I won't forget. More remote and exciting than I had imagined...

I walked the Dales Way solo in late May 2019. The weather was far from perfect which just made the experience more exciting in that I had to work with the rain and cold at times and felt all the more justified in enjoying cream tea, heroic for making my goal each day, and superbly rewarded by a hot bath at the end of the days where such a thing was available. It was a top journey that I won't forget. More remote and exciting than I had imagined. Highly recommend the route and Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was friendly and helpful from beginning to end. Website is well organized and easy to navigate and understand. They were flexible and helped with questions I know were out of the ordinary. I would highly recommend them.

Reviewer's images:
Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

Thanks for leaving us your holiday feedback and including such beautiful photographs. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk and that the information we provided was helpful for you.
Sue

Dales Way by Frances, 30 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Idyllic Spring ramble in Upper Wharfedale

We are two senior Aussies whose vision of a Yorkshire idyll was fulfilled by this walk through woodland and across moors. Drifts of bluebells and buttercups, pungent fragrance of wild garlic, fat lambs and green as far as the eye could see. Not to mention cosy pubs and hearty Yorkshire food.

We are two senior Aussies whose vision of a Yorkshire idyll was fulfilled by this walk through woodland and across moors. Drifts of bluebells and buttercups, pungent fragrance of wild garlic, fat lambs and green as far as the eye could see. Not to mention cosy pubs and hearty Yorkshire food.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore made the experience personal with individual itineraries and attention to detail to meet our requirements. They set a clear standard for accommodation and provided us with comprehensive information and maps. Communication was excellent and they were very responsive and helpful.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your walk in the Yorkshire Dales. Thanks for your kind words about the customer service of our team.
Sue

Dales Way by Kitohiker, 28 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking perfection

A perfect weeks adventure walking the Dales Way. Wonderful scenery and welcoming hospitality, all without leaving the trail.

A perfect weeks adventure walking the Dales Way. Wonderful scenery and welcoming hospitality, all without leaving the trail.

Rating for tour operator:

Professionally organised trip, and Mickledore obviously have a great working relationship with the BnB’s on route.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Jun 2019:

Such lovely comments. Thank you. We do work hard to pick the best accommodations and hosts for our holidays. It is great to hear that you found them so welcoming.
Sue

Dales Way by pixel, 24 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

The Dales Way in July

Everything went to plan : the weather (amazing), the landscape (varied, full of English charm) and the organization of the holiday by Mickledore.

Everything went to plan : the weather (amazing), the landscape (varied, full of English charm) and the organization of the holiday by Mickledore.

Rating for tour operator:

Great accommodations perfectly located, all of them right on the walk or less than 10 minutes away, with welcoming hosts, perfect timing of the only taxi transfer I had on this walk with a nice and accommodating taxi driver. The walk was cleverly divided in stages long enough to enjoy the walk and short enough to enjoy everything else too. Every question I had has been answered to very quickly and with consideration. It was my 5th walk with Mickledore and definitely not my last. There is great comfort for a solo walker to walk with them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2018:

Thank you for the review of your walk and the kind comments about our team. It is lovely that you returned to us for your holiday. We put a lot of effort into selecting accommodations and it is great that you enjoyed your stays at the ones we chose for you.
Sue

Dales Way by Freda, 30 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A very special and varied Yorkshire long distance walk

Loved the variety of accommodation, terrain and scenery and the locals we met on the Dales Way and in the pubs and restaurants at night.

Loved the variety of accommodation, terrain and scenery and the locals we met on the Dales Way and in the pubs and restaurants at night.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore was very organised and responded quickly to all our needs and changes.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 10 Jul 2018:

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is lovely that you enjoyed your walk, the accommodations and the overall experience of the Dales.
Sue

Dales Way by blogmeister, 22 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Dales Way

Five of us, walked the Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, averaging 14 miles a day and staying mostly in remote BnBs

Five of us, walked the Dales Way from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, averaging 14 miles a day and staying mostly in remote BnBs

Rating for tour operator:

We used Mickledore , a company based in Keswick, who specialise in organising walking holidays in the UK. Mickledore organise accommodation and the transporting of luggage from one hotel to the next. We walk. We have used this company several time over the past few years. They have planned accommodation for us on the West Highland Way, Coast to Coast and the Rob Roy Way as well as this year's holiday. They are an excellent firm to deal with, by phone or email. Not only do they plan the accommodation and transport but they supply us with maps and guides for the walk, full notes on the places we are staying, advice on local restaurants and transport to start/end points. In a word they are brilliant.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 28 Jun 2018:

Thank you for leaving us such lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we booked for you. I am pleased that you found the information in your holiday pack useful. We would be very happy to arrange another walk for you when you plan your next adventure.
Sue