AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Dales Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Dales Way

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 10
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
Dales Way by Active pensioner ! , 1 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

walking holiday with Mickledore Travel

Lovely holiday - bed and breakfast venues were located in beautiful surroundings and a good standard of accommodation. The walks were delightful, despite the wet weather. I would certainly book another holiday in the future.

Lovely holiday - bed and breakfast venues were located in beautiful surroundings and a good standard of accommodation. The walks were delightful, despite the wet weather. I would certainly book another holiday in the future.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good. Helpful and timely.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Oct 2017:

Thanks for your great Dales Way review. We put a lot of effort into finding the best accommodations along a route so it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stays with them. We would be pleased to arrange your next walking holiday for you.
Sue

Dales Way by Chrissie Walks, 2 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Dales Way with Mickledore

We walked the 80+ miles of the Dales Way, our first long distance trail, over the summer solstice and mainly in sunshine. The scenery was lovely, the B&B's welcoming and comfortable and we met friendly fellow walkers along the way who cheered us on our arrival at the pub at the end.

We walked the 80+ miles of the Dales Way, our first long distance trail, over the summer solstice and mainly in sunshine. The scenery was lovely, the B&B's welcoming and comfortable and we met friendly fellow walkers along the way who cheered us on our arrival at the pub at the end.

Rating for tour operator:

We liked not having to book the accommodation and transfers ourselves and felt safe leaving the arrangements to Mickledore as they had come with very good recommendations from other walkers. Mickledore took into account the distance we had requested to walk each day and the grade of accommodation we had chosen. Once we had paid the balance of our holiday and received their final planning there was nothing to worry about except our fitness to walk the distance.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 03 Aug 2017:

Its great to hear that we came with good recommendations and that we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback and congratulations on completing your walk. We look forward to arranging the next one for you.

Dales Way by Wilko1954, 1 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking holiday- Dalesway

We had a fantastic time waking the eighty one miles of the Dalesway, staying at accommodation organised by Mickledore, and with daily luggage transfer. Everything worked to plan, the accommodation was consistently good, and the walk itself is very pretty. The directions provided by Mickledore were all spot on.

We had a fantastic time waking the eighty one miles of the Dalesway, staying at accommodation organised by Mickledore, and with daily luggage transfer. Everything worked to plan, the accommodation was consistently good, and the walk itself is very pretty. The directions provided by Mickledore were all spot on.

Rating for tour operator:

I would thoroughly recommend Micledore and would definitely use them again .

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 02 Aug 2017:

Its great to hear that you enjoyed the walk, the accommodation choices and our organisation. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and please do get in touch again when you are ready for your next walk.
Tara .

Dales Way by The tamalous, 15 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A great walking holiday

A group of 6 of us have just walked the Dales Way on a holiday organised by Mickledore. We walked from Ilkley to Windermere over the course a week, through hay meadows full of early summer flowers in Upper Wharfedale and on to the edge of the Lake District, often staying in country inns with good food and a choice of real ales.

A group of 6 of us have just walked the Dales Way on a holiday organised by Mickledore. We walked from Ilkley to Windermere over the course a week, through hay meadows full of early summer flowers in Upper Wharfedale and on to the edge of the Lake District, often staying in country inns with good food and a choice of real ales.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore booked splendid accommodation for each night, arranged luggage transfers, and provided an excellent information pack. Their staff were friendly and helpful, and easy to contact via phone and email.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk and of course the real ales on offer.
I hope that you will allow us to book another trip for you in the future.
Tara

Dales Way by John Duncan, 26 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walk

We walked the Dales Way, from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, over a period of 7 days. The route and the scenery were wonderful, and we stayed in some terrific B&Bs - which had been selected by our tour operator. Our luggage was transported for us each day, leaving us free to enjoy our holiday with only a day-sack to carry.

We walked the Dales Way, from Ilkley to Bowness on Windermere, over a period of 7 days. The route and the scenery were wonderful, and we stayed in some terrific B&Bs - which had been selected by our tour operator. Our luggage was transported for us each day, leaving us free to enjoy our holiday with only a day-sack to carry.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore made all the arrangements including B&Bs, luggage transfers and a taxi transfer where necessary. It all worked seamlessly. They provided excellent route instructions and detailed maps. All contact we had with them was professional and effective. We would use them again without hesitation.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback. The Dales Way is a beautiful route and I'm glad that we were able to take care of everything for you. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are ready for the next walk!
Tara

Dales Way by Mr P, 7 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Dales Way

The entire walk was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There was wonderful varied scenery virtually every mile of the way. We met interesting people - walkers and locals - and enjoyed good food. The accommodation overall was excellent. Pity the latter half of the walk was marred by rain. Thoroughly recommended.

The entire walk was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There was wonderful varied scenery virtually every mile of the way. We met interesting people - walkers and locals - and enjoyed good food. The accommodation overall was excellent. Pity the latter half of the walk was marred by rain. Thoroughly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

This was my 6th walking holiday arranged by Mickledore. As ever,they provide a first class, prompt service. Pleased to see that they have recently added a further 2 walking holidays to their list.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Dec 2016:

Thank you for your very kind feedback, we are pleased to have provided your 6th holiday and we are very happy that you had a great time again. It really is a beautiful walk.
We still have plenty more holidays for you to choose from and I hope you find the two news ones- Herriot Way and the Peddars Way & North Norfolk Coast-of interest. We look forward to arranging your next trip very soon.
Tara

Dales Way by Mr K B 16, 31 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Walked the dales with friends all aspects organised by mickledore to a very high standard

Walked the dales with friends all aspects organised by mickledore to a very high standard

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable and very helpful and very efficient in dealing with any queries we had

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2016:

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you were happy with our service and I hope that you will be back to try another walk with us in the future.
Tara

Dales Way by christiana, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

A Great Walk

A three day walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales orgainsied by Mickledore. All of the fun of walking with good information supported by luggage transfers and all the bookings needed. Great information and maps, lovely accomodation. All we had to do was enjoy the walking.

A three day walking holiday in the Yorkshire Dales orgainsied by Mickledore. All of the fun of walking with good information supported by luggage transfers and all the bookings needed. Great information and maps, lovely accomodation. All we had to do was enjoy the walking.

Rating for tour operator:

Great web site, lots of choice, very speedy and pertinent responses. Would use them again and happy to recommend them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 22 Sep 2016:

We are pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the walking knowing that we had done everything else ! We put a lot of effort into making sure your holiday runs smoothly, so thank you for your kind words. We hope to be able to arrange another walk for you very soon.
Lucy

Dales Way by FellwalkerBob, 19 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Couldn't have wished for more.

I walked the Dales Way and by using Mickledore Travel to arrange the overnight accommodation and baggage transfer enabled me to fully enjoy the walk which i did. I had holidayed on the Yorkshire coast before but never in the dales. The walk took me through the Dales and into Cumbria. Fantastic scenery and very hospitable people all the way.

I walked the Dales Way and by using Mickledore Travel to arrange the overnight accommodation and baggage transfer enabled me to fully enjoy the walk which i did. I had holidayed on the Yorkshire coast before but never in the dales. The walk took me through the Dales and into Cumbria. Fantastic scenery and very hospitable people all the way.

Rating for tour operator:

I went into the Mickledore Travel office in Keswick when i was on holiday there and had a chat to Tara about walking the Dales Way. She was very knowledgeable as were all the staff i spoke to. After booking the holiday and a few weeks before i was due to start my walk i was sent a pack with all the info, maps etc to guide me along the way. Very professional and friendly people. Would highly recommend.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 21 Sep 2016:

Thank you for your feedback, it was great to talk to you in the office when you were in the area and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your walk on the Dales Way. The scenery is certainly spectacular. I hope that it wont be too long before you book another walk with us.
Tara

Dales Way by StephW, 24 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

The Dales Way walking holiday to remember!

We had a fantastic holiday walking the Dales Way and experiencing such stunning and varied scenery. Lots of great holiday memories that will never leave us.

We had a fantastic holiday walking the Dales Way and experiencing such stunning and varied scenery. Lots of great holiday memories that will never leave us.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore provided excellent service from start to finish. It was a pleasure dealing with you. The accommodation was varied and well selected, the information and maps, etc were detailed and very useful. The quality of service does justify the cost. Thank you Mickledore for a great holiday.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 Aug 2016:

Thank you for such great feedback. We are pleased that you had a good time, the Dales way is truly beautiful and the photos you sent us are stunning. We do our best to provide excellent customer service and we are really pleased that you found this to be the case. We look forward to arranging another holiday for you in the future! Tara