AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 24
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 24
Reviews Accepted: 24
Reviews Rejected: 0
24 reviews
Sort by:
Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Larry L, 18 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Crusing the Lycian Shore

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of ...

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of the Aegean coast and as well as many oppourtunities to swim in the Mediterranean. All meals were included and the food was delicious and well prepared. The crew on our sailboat were hardworking, capable and handled all of their duties handily. Our experience was fantastic and we highly recommend that anyone considering this trip book it now since there are only seven cabins on the gullet.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels dealt with all of the details efficiently and easily. The gullet was very well outfitted and had cabins that exceeded expectations. Transfers were in high quality vehicles and were always on time. We received all details of our trip about a month prior to the start of the trip. Questions prior to the trip were responded to in a timely manner. Peter put considerable effort in preparing for his mini lectures and they were informative and interesting.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by jim, 31 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

perfect

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have ...

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have a beer and have time to read a few books that I brought with me. It was a great experience and we fond the people of Turkey to be wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his pal organized each day to perfection. Everything went smoothly, right on time and I think the 14 passengers on board all raved about our tour operator as world class.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Chris H, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip to be remembered

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of ...

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of their way to make our trip a wonderful experience. The gulet was beautifully maintained and the food on board was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were extremely thorough, efficient, knowledgeable and helpful in organizing our travel plans.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Patsy , 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very polished and extremely informative and in parts relaxing experience

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Rating for tour operator:

We first came across Peter Sommers Travel in The Oldie publication and in The Daily Telegraph newspaper. This is the second holiday with them and I hope plenty more. As a company they are outstanding.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Ancient Mariner, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The cruise of a lifetime. Everything was without doubt the best managed, best planned and executed holiday I have ever had

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his ...

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his subject. He was very ably supported by a hugely knowledgeable colleague who dealt with all the admin totally effectively. In short - the perfect way to visit such an amazing country.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somer Travel are exceedingly efficient, their administration outstanding and their brochure and Pré-trip brief just what was required to enable clients to get the most out of their unique experience. Sadly my wife had a knee problem which meant that she could not do some of the more challenging walks however that did not faze the team at all and they made sure she was able to enjoy herself to the full which she certainly did. We cannot rate them highly enough and we are already planning what will be our third trip with Peter and his team.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Rob & Chris, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable travel experience

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were very professional and extremely helpful. Their organisational skills were excellent and replies always prompt with helpful advice and information.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by J.T.S., 3 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lycia and Sunworld IX Revisited

Wonderful second trip to Lycia! A joy to sail again on the lovely gulet Sunworld IX, to savour the creations of Birdal our ingenious cook, to swim in the translucent waters of intimate creeks. All these reward the amateur archeologist who seeks to touch the remote traces of once-thriving ancient settlements, the remains of daring hydraulic engineering or sophisticated urban planning. Pinara and its honeycomb of rock-hewn tombs, Delikkemer ...

Wonderful second trip to Lycia! A joy to sail again on the lovely gulet Sunworld IX, to savour the creations of Birdal our ingenious cook, to swim in the translucent waters of intimate creeks. All these reward the amateur archeologist who seeks to touch the remote traces of once-thriving ancient settlements, the remains of daring hydraulic engineering or sophisticated urban planning. Pinara and its honeycomb of rock-hewn tombs, Delikkemer and its cyclopean syphon, the sunken city of Dolichiste and many more: names, images, a treasure of memories never to be forgotten.

Rating for tour operator:

To appreciate this ancient Lycian civilization, one needs expert guidance. We had the best. Peter Sommer is not only a very efficient tour operator, he is an archeologist who explored and combed the Lycian territory for over two decades and still today approaches its history as a passion. Besides his erudition, Peter is also an excellent guide in the full sense of the term, prudent, attentive to the safety of his charges yet encouraging and inspiring. So much so that, at the end of the trip, one cannot but start plotting the next adventure in his company.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Happy traveller, 14 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an amazing two week adventure.

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was my first trip with Peter Sommer Travels. I definitely hope to holiday with this company again in the future. The two guides were inspirational with their enthusiastic knowledge of the area and its history. During our daily trips ashore they showed us interesting places and stunning views that we would never have found if travelling alone. The efficient crew of the gullet provided the guests with wonderful ...

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was my first trip with Peter Sommer Travels. I definitely hope to holiday with this company again in the future. The two guides were inspirational with their enthusiastic knowledge of the area and its history. During our daily trips ashore they showed us interesting places and stunning views that we would never have found if travelling alone. The efficient crew of the gullet provided the guests with wonderful sailing and delicious gastronomical experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organisation! I appreciate the individual care and attention provided for the small number of guests who were able to share a very special holiday on a very special boat.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Oenone, 9 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

gulet based walking and archaeology in Turkey

great mix of walking to ancient sites well off the beaten track, archaeological expertise, goood company and relaxation when back on board the gulet after the day's outing. Food and comfort on board both excellent and scenery stunning whether on board or on land.Will definitely travel with Peter Sommer again.

great mix of walking to ancient sites well off the beaten track, archaeological expertise, goood company and relaxation when back on board the gulet after the day's outing. Food and comfort on board both excellent and scenery stunning whether on board or on land.Will definitely travel with Peter Sommer again.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - Peter Sommer knows his subject inside out and entertains as well as educates about the history and sites en route. Organisation was faultless with great attention to detail.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Theresa, 7 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful combination of exercise and relaxation, archaeology and Turkey’s beautiful southwest coastline

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an excellent tour all around. Every aspect was well planned and organised. We had wonderful guides (tour leader Peter, and local tour manager Cem), walks that often followed the Lycian Way and took us to remote and stunning archaeological sites, as well as superb food. The boat, a traditional gulet, was spotless and its crew always agreeable and quietly efficient. This was my first experience of a Peter ...

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an excellent tour all around. Every aspect was well planned and organised. We had wonderful guides (tour leader Peter, and local tour manager Cem), walks that often followed the Lycian Way and took us to remote and stunning archaeological sites, as well as superb food. The boat, a traditional gulet, was spotless and its crew always agreeable and quietly efficient. This was my first experience of a Peter Sommer holiday, and I would love to be able to repeat it.

Rating for tour operator:

Terrific organisation from start to finish. From the office's help with advice and arrangements, to Peter's enthusiasm for his subject and the easygoing efficiency of leaders and crew, it was simply unbeatable.