AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 18
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 18
Reviews Accepted: 18
Reviews Rejected: 0
18 reviews
Sort by:
Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by J.T.S., 3 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Lycia and Sunworld IX Revisited

Wonderful second trip to Lycia! A joy to sail again on the lovely gulet Sunworld IX, to savour the creations of Birdal our ingenious cook, to swim in the translucent waters of intimate creeks. All these reward the amateur archeologist who seeks to touch the remote traces of once-thriving ancient settlements, the remains of daring hydraulic engineering or sophisticated urban planning. Pinara and its honeycomb of rock-hewn tombs, Delikkemer ...

Wonderful second trip to Lycia! A joy to sail again on the lovely gulet Sunworld IX, to savour the creations of Birdal our ingenious cook, to swim in the translucent waters of intimate creeks. All these reward the amateur archeologist who seeks to touch the remote traces of once-thriving ancient settlements, the remains of daring hydraulic engineering or sophisticated urban planning. Pinara and its honeycomb of rock-hewn tombs, Delikkemer and its cyclopean syphon, the sunken city of Dolichiste and many more: names, images, a treasure of memories never to be forgotten.

Rating for tour operator:

To appreciate this ancient Lycian civilization, one needs expert guidance. We had the best. Peter Sommer is not only a very efficient tour operator, he is an archeologist who explored and combed the Lycian territory for over two decades and still today approaches its history as a passion. Besides his erudition, Peter is also an excellent guide in the full sense of the term, prudent, attentive to the safety of his charges yet encouraging and inspiring. So much so that, at the end of the trip, one cannot but start plotting the next adventure in his company.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Happy traveller, 14 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an amazing two week adventure.

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was my first trip with Peter Sommer Travels. I definitely hope to holiday with this company again in the future. The two guides were inspirational with their enthusiastic knowledge of the area and its history. During our daily trips ashore they showed us interesting places and stunning views that we would never have found if travelling alone. The efficient crew of the gullet provided the guests with wonderful ...

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was my first trip with Peter Sommer Travels. I definitely hope to holiday with this company again in the future. The two guides were inspirational with their enthusiastic knowledge of the area and its history. During our daily trips ashore they showed us interesting places and stunning views that we would never have found if travelling alone. The efficient crew of the gullet provided the guests with wonderful sailing and delicious gastronomical experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant organisation! I appreciate the individual care and attention provided for the small number of guests who were able to share a very special holiday on a very special boat.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Oenone, 9 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

gulet based walking and archaeology in Turkey

great mix of walking to ancient sites well off the beaten track, archaeological expertise, goood company and relaxation when back on board the gulet after the day's outing. Food and comfort on board both excellent and scenery stunning whether on board or on land.Will definitely travel with Peter Sommer again.

great mix of walking to ancient sites well off the beaten track, archaeological expertise, goood company and relaxation when back on board the gulet after the day's outing. Food and comfort on board both excellent and scenery stunning whether on board or on land.Will definitely travel with Peter Sommer again.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - Peter Sommer knows his subject inside out and entertains as well as educates about the history and sites en route. Organisation was faultless with great attention to detail.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Theresa, 7 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful combination of exercise and relaxation, archaeology and Turkey’s beautiful southwest coastline

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an excellent tour all around. Every aspect was well planned and organised. We had wonderful guides (tour leader Peter, and local tour manager Cem), walks that often followed the Lycian Way and took us to remote and stunning archaeological sites, as well as superb food. The boat, a traditional gulet, was spotless and its crew always agreeable and quietly efficient. This was my first experience of a Peter ...

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore was an excellent tour all around. Every aspect was well planned and organised. We had wonderful guides (tour leader Peter, and local tour manager Cem), walks that often followed the Lycian Way and took us to remote and stunning archaeological sites, as well as superb food. The boat, a traditional gulet, was spotless and its crew always agreeable and quietly efficient. This was my first experience of a Peter Sommer holiday, and I would love to be able to repeat it.

Rating for tour operator:

Terrific organisation from start to finish. From the office's help with advice and arrangements, to Peter's enthusiasm for his subject and the easygoing efficiency of leaders and crew, it was simply unbeatable.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by David R, 31 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Walking & cruising the Lycian shore in Turkey, October 2017

A two-week extravaganza of Turkish food, culture & archaeology. A perfect combination of relaxation, education and walking adventures back in time. Superb food from start to finish and a first-rate guide in the shape of Peter Sommer and local tour manager Cem Yucesoy. The accommodation on board the gulet was excellent and the crew were quietly efficient and brilliant. Local hospitality everywhere was fantastic.

A two-week extravaganza of Turkish food, culture & archaeology. A perfect combination of relaxation, education and walking adventures back in time. Superb food from start to finish and a first-rate guide in the shape of Peter Sommer and local tour manager Cem Yucesoy. The accommodation on board the gulet was excellent and the crew were quietly efficient and brilliant. Local hospitality everywhere was fantastic.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my fourth tour with Peter Sommer Travels and I keep coming back because the quality of the holidays cannot be beaten. The organisation from the office to the boat is faultless and the tireless support of the tour manager made things run as smoothly as they could possibly have been. It was a very easy holiday to enjoy but this was made possible only by the sheer dedication & commitment of Peter's entire team from start to finish.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Stephen, 21 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

"Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore": an unforgettable experience

The holiday was an excellent mix of exercise, intellectual interest and relaxation - fine walks on and around sections of the Lycian Way, visiting often remote but fascinating archaeological sites, yet with ample time to enjoy the comfort, company and excellent cuisine on board the boat and the swimming from the boat. The trip had been thought through with care and was brilliantly organised. This part of Turkey is a peaceful and beautiful ...

The holiday was an excellent mix of exercise, intellectual interest and relaxation - fine walks on and around sections of the Lycian Way, visiting often remote but fascinating archaeological sites, yet with ample time to enjoy the comfort, company and excellent cuisine on board the boat and the swimming from the boat. The trip had been thought through with care and was brilliantly organised. This part of Turkey is a peaceful and beautiful gem, far removed from the troubles of the world, and the locals are delightfully friendly and hospitable. Strongly recommended.

Rating for tour operator:

First rate planning and organisation, offering holidays that fully meet the description in the brochure. We have holidayed with the company before and will do so again.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Lucy, 19 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful combination of walking, archaeology & relaxing on the boat

This was our third holiday with Peter Sommer and as good as ever. A wonderful combination of walking, archaeology & relaxing on the boat. The food was excellent, as were the leader, local guide and crew. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

This was our third holiday with Peter Sommer and as good as ever. A wonderful combination of walking, archaeology & relaxing on the boat. The food was excellent, as were the leader, local guide and crew. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient organisation of the trip. Very helpful with advice and booking arrangements and extremely smooth running of the holiday itself.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Tots, 24 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Creative programme in Turkey

Not a second to be bored during 2 weeks onboard a gulet. Peter has all the details figured out and imagination for all the excursions. He is na extremely attentive and thorough person, knows his trade and is a walking encyclopedia ! Apart from that, his partner is also the most careful guide and takes care of every whim that anybody could have. A pleasure to have them as chapperones for a trip so exquisite in na área that must be more explored...

Not a second to be bored during 2 weeks onboard a gulet. Peter has all the details figured out and imagination for all the excursions. He is na extremely attentive and thorough person, knows his trade and is a walking encyclopedia ! Apart from that, his partner is also the most careful guide and takes care of every whim that anybody could have. A pleasure to have them as chapperones for a trip so exquisite in na área that must be more explored. Beautiful settings and fantastic historic sites. And the walks are memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

Only positive comments about Peter and Cem. We were pampered and taken care of, Always sharing our concerns and we´d be briefed with details and all information. It´s a very good organization and the customers are their priority. We were really impressed.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by The Lovely Betty, 31 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

An Unforgettable Holiday Walking & Cruising The Lycian Shore - We Ate, Sailed, Swam, Walked, and Learned!

Our excellent archaeology, history and local culture guides, Peter and Cem, were extremely knowledgable, well prepared, energetic, entertaining, understanding and flexible. They, as well as the cruise crew of four, took care of our every need in a very professional manner to ensure we had a safe and enjoyable time.

Our excellent archaeology, history and local culture guides, Peter and Cem, were extremely knowledgable, well prepared, energetic, entertaining, understanding and flexible. They, as well as the cruise crew of four, took care of our every need in a very professional manner to ensure we had a safe and enjoyable time.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels is a very experienced company and it shows as everything involved with the delivery of this tour was well planned and organized.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Dave, 28 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore

If you like sailing the south-western coast of Turkey on a beautiful gulet, eating well prepared traditional Turkish food, swimming in crystal clear turquoise water, walking through the countryside to explore ancient rarely visited sites, and learning about the archeology of these sites as well as local Turkish customs from excellent and entertaining guides, then this trip if for you. Highly recommended.

If you like sailing the south-western coast of Turkey on a beautiful gulet, eating well prepared traditional Turkish food, swimming in crystal clear turquoise water, walking through the countryside to explore ancient rarely visited sites, and learning about the archeology of these sites as well as local Turkish customs from excellent and entertaining guides, then this trip if for you. Highly recommended.