AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 28
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 28
Reviews Accepted: 28
Reviews Rejected: 0
28 reviews
Sort by:
Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by PTW, 28 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Cruising the Lycian Shore

Gulet cruise around southern Turkey with day hikes to explore ancient cities.

Gulet cruise around southern Turkey with day hikes to explore ancient cities.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels did and absolutely amazing job in every aspect of this holiday.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Nellz1958, 17 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Turkey Walking and Cruising the Lycian Way

Our trip was unusual in that it was during the covid pandemic and so our group was very small and it was the first trip in some time. This did not diminish the experience at all. The crew and guides were warm and welcoming. We had a wonderful trip from beginning to end. We were well taken care of: from being greeted at the airport and transported to the beautiful gulet, to the amazing meals, the guided hikes, and the more than comfortable ...

Our trip was unusual in that it was during the covid pandemic and so our group was very small and it was the first trip in some time. This did not diminish the experience at all. The crew and guides were warm and welcoming. We had a wonderful trip from beginning to end. We were well taken care of: from being greeted at the airport and transported to the beautiful gulet, to the amazing meals, the guided hikes, and the more than comfortable accommodations. The gulet crew was top notch . Peter and Cem ( the Turkish guide) were so enthusiastic about each day's journey and genuinely concerned for each guest's experience. Peter has so much knowledge and experience and is able to distill it down to something lay people can appreciate. Each day was so different from the other and we learned so much. No question was silly or stupid and Peter and Cem tried to answer all of them. The hikes were all do-able. Coming back to the gulet each day was so nice where we'd have a swim, a cocktail and wonderful dinner. All the good was fresh and healthy as well as delicious.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel was very responsive as we had many questions regarding the trip itself and the covid situation. We had several phone calls as well as email conversations. The trip itself was very well organized and everything was taken care of. They communicated well with the group so we all knew what to expect and there were no surprises.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Mr. H G 20, 17 Dec 2021
Holiday Rating:

Turkey Walking and Cruising the Lycian Coast

Wonderfull time on the boat. Everything from our cabin, to the walking tours, to the food was great. Almost everyday after having a great breakfast on board we would hike to hidden archeological sites. Come back to the boat, swim in the warm Mediterranean Sea, have tea and them have relaxing time before a fabulous dinner.

Wonderfull time on the boat. Everything from our cabin, to the walking tours, to the food was great. Almost everyday after having a great breakfast on board we would hike to hidden archeological sites. Come back to the boat, swim in the warm Mediterranean Sea, have tea and them have relaxing time before a fabulous dinner.

Rating for tour operator:

The operator was excellent. He took care of everything from our accommodations to the meals (which were excellent) to the actual tours. Peter is an excellent archeologist who was able to find hidden treasure and explain in detail what we were seeing and all the history concerning our findings. We hope in the next year to take another of Peter's tours through the Greek islands. .

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by ShawnM., 2 Nov 2021
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Experience Walking and Cruising in Turkey

This trip combined history, beautiful landscapes, hiking, and great food. It was an enriching experience that left me inspired. Traveling on the gulet was quite unique, and I would recommend it to anyone.

This trip combined history, beautiful landscapes, hiking, and great food. It was an enriching experience that left me inspired. Traveling on the gulet was quite unique, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his team clearly love what they do. They all worked hard to make our experience enjoyable and combined the perfect amount of physical challenge and luxury. I felt safe traveling as a solo female in a new land. And I learned quite a lot about Turkey. I now have more appreciation for this country and its contributions around the world thanks to Peter and Çem's genuine love of sharing knowledge.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Larry L, 18 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking and Crusing the Lycian Shore

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of ...

The holiday was a fifteen day trip on a Turkish gullet, a thirty metre sailboat, along the south west coast of Turkey. There were twelve days of hiking to historic sites in Turkey where we were accompanied by an extremely knowledgeable Archeologist that would provide detailed information on what we were seeing. The information provided us historic context that was educational and fascinating. We also enjoyed incredibly beautiful vistas of the Aegean coast and as well as many oppourtunities to swim in the Mediterranean. All meals were included and the food was delicious and well prepared. The crew on our sailboat were hardworking, capable and handled all of their duties handily. Our experience was fantastic and we highly recommend that anyone considering this trip book it now since there are only seven cabins on the gullet.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels dealt with all of the details efficiently and easily. The gullet was very well outfitted and had cabins that exceeded expectations. Transfers were in high quality vehicles and were always on time. We received all details of our trip about a month prior to the start of the trip. Questions prior to the trip were responded to in a timely manner. Peter put considerable effort in preparing for his mini lectures and they were informative and interesting.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by jim, 31 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

perfect

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have ...

we were on a 14 day gullet trip on the Turkish coast with Peter Sommer as our guide. Every day Peter planned a different walk. Some were long and some short but in very walk we learned about ancient civilizations, their tombs, their theatres and how they lived 2000 years ago or more. I spent three enjoyable days just staying on the gullet . Each day a new secret cove was found for swimming and relaxing. Or we could just sit on the deck , have a beer and have time to read a few books that I brought with me. It was a great experience and we fond the people of Turkey to be wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter and his pal organized each day to perfection. Everything went smoothly, right on time and I think the 14 passengers on board all raved about our tour operator as world class.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Chris H, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A trip to be remembered

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of ...

Swimming in crystal clear warm water, kayaking in beautiful bays, hiking on a variety of terrains with stunning valley and ocean views. Meeting the local people and learning about their way of life, culture and wonderful cuisine. Our guides Peter and Cem were extremely knowledgeable in the history, archaeology of the area and the gulet crew were very competent and hard working. Every member of the team worked well together and went out of their way to make our trip a wonderful experience. The gulet was beautifully maintained and the food on board was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were extremely thorough, efficient, knowledgeable and helpful in organizing our travel plans.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Patsy , 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very polished and extremely informative and in parts relaxing experience

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Loved walking and cruising the Lycian Shore . Walking somewhat limited for me due to very dodgy knees however Peter Sommers allayed my initial fears and I joined them on the easier walks. Peter and Cem his right hand man looked after me superbly. Life on the Gulet was very comfortable and every care taken to give us the best holiday . I didn’t want the holiday to end .

Rating for tour operator:

We first came across Peter Sommers Travel in The Oldie publication and in The Daily Telegraph newspaper. This is the second holiday with them and I hope plenty more. As a company they are outstanding.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Ancient Mariner, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

The cruise of a lifetime. Everything was without doubt the best managed, best planned and executed holiday I have ever had

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his ...

The cruise and walk along the Lycian Shore was everything and more that I had come to expect from Peter Somer and his outstanding team. The gulet was very good indeed and the food, served with unfailing cheerfulness by the highly efficient crew beyond praise. The itinerary was very well planned and the walks and places we visited conducted by Peter Somer himself was brilliantly explained by someone who clearly knew and was passionate about his subject. He was very ably supported by a hugely knowledgeable colleague who dealt with all the admin totally effectively. In short - the perfect way to visit such an amazing country.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somer Travel are exceedingly efficient, their administration outstanding and their brochure and Pré-trip brief just what was required to enable clients to get the most out of their unique experience. Sadly my wife had a knee problem which meant that she could not do some of the more challenging walks however that did not faze the team at all and they made sure she was able to enjoy herself to the full which she certainly did. We cannot rate them highly enough and we are already planning what will be our third trip with Peter and his team.

Walking & Cruising Lycian Shore by Rob & Chris, 21 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A really memorable travel experience

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

A wonderful trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. The tour leader and guide were extremely professional, knowledgeable, helpful and full of infectious enthusiasm. Food was outstanding and a great example of local cuisine. The gulet crew were very hard working, helpful and their experience and knowledge of local conditions made for a very comfortable voyage.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels were very professional and extremely helpful. Their organisational skills were excellent and replies always prompt with helpful advice and information.