AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising to Ephesus Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising to Ephesus

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 14
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 14
Reviews Accepted: 14
Reviews Rejected: 0
14 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to Ephesus by JanT, 5 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Holiday of a life time

It was just the best thing ever. My husband has a terminal illness and this holiday was a chance for us to make great memories and share precious time in fabulous surroundings with our children and close friends.

It was just the best thing ever. My husband has a terminal illness and this holiday was a chance for us to make great memories and share precious time in fabulous surroundings with our children and close friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers were great from initial enquiry to the end of the holiday. We would highly recommend them.

Cruising to Ephesus by Crunch, 18 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Peter Somers Cruising to Ephesus

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somers had done good research on the route, boat crew, cultural activities, cuisine to ensure a pleasant, relaxing and educational trip.

Cruising to Ephesus by fifer, 3 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxation and archeology in Turkey

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide ...

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide and an enthusiastic historian.

Rating for tour operator:

The tours are well planned and organised and as this is a small family business we received personal attention both before and after the holiday.

Cruising to Ephesus by Titch, 9 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Way above my expectation

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

Rating for tour operator:

I found Julie to be very proactive and friendly and any questions were answered by return.

Cruising to Ephesus by FANTASTIC experience , 24 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

The experience was "over the top"

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel was VERY professional by all standards.

Cruising to Ephesus by Charlies, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

History, fun and food

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

Rating for tour operator:

So well organised that we did not need to worry about a thing

Cruising to Ephesus by Kathy, 16 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

The perfect trip. To have a real scholar with such charm and ease as a guide to the archeological sites was a true gift.

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by ...

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by the caretakers wife from their own produce, delicious. Cem took us to deserted bays to swim every day, when there was wind the sails went up and we gently sailed along the beautiful coastline. Once we stopped at a conservation site and watched the wild horses coming down to the beach. All the sites were fascinating, Priene the pretty ancient Greek town on a ledge in the Meander valley, the temple at Didyma, and so much more ending of course at Ephesus, a jewel indeed. Every night one's head was reeling with what wone had seen and heard. What more can I say? I shall never forget it. I may do a degree in the classical world.

Rating for tour operator:

Cem was a brilliant tour operator. He was quietly efficient, everything was organised seamlessly, you never noticed he was working. Cem is a charming, helpful, lovely man. A diplomat, intelligent and good company a great person to have around. He inspired everyone with confidence, we were in safe hands. Thanks Cem.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ronw, 29 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great sailing trip encompassing visitng archealogical sites, good food, and good company.

We travelled with Peter Sommers from Bodrum to Ephesus stopping off on the way to visit places like Priene, Labraunda, and Melitas. The entire trip was brilliantly managed with a lecturer who is in fact in charge of the dig at Labraunda. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area which he was only too happy to share. All questions were answered with full explanations. Nothing was too much trouble. The crew of the gulet were quietly efficient ...

We travelled with Peter Sommers from Bodrum to Ephesus stopping off on the way to visit places like Priene, Labraunda, and Melitas. The entire trip was brilliantly managed with a lecturer who is in fact in charge of the dig at Labraunda. He had a wealth of knowledge about the area which he was only too happy to share. All questions were answered with full explanations. Nothing was too much trouble. The crew of the gulet were quietly efficient in maintaining a clean and comfortable boat. The cook, we should call him chef such are his skills, provided many various and tasty meals for us. The trip is worth the food alone. Stopping at quiet anchorages for the night allowing for late afternoon and early morning swims, breaks up the day allowing time to rest and refresh yourself before or after visitjng the fascinating sites. You don't have to be a history buff to enjoy the trip. Just being someone interested in the world at large is all you need.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, pleasant, ready to help and change itineraries. Peter Sommers' staff are a pleasure to deal with. The tours are of excellent quality, with helpful staff always to hand.

Cruising to Ephesus by Sals, 21 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

the holiday of a lieftime

this holiday was a sailing holiday around the coast of Turkey, stopping off every day to go ashore and look at archaeological sites from ancient Greece and Rome. For anyone who loves ancient history and also loves the sea, it is the perfect combination. the sail boat was very comfortable with en suite cabins, three freshly cooked meals every day and excellent support from the crew. The professional archaeologist who showed us the sites had fantastic ...

this holiday was a sailing holiday around the coast of Turkey, stopping off every day to go ashore and look at archaeological sites from ancient Greece and Rome. For anyone who loves ancient history and also loves the sea, it is the perfect combination. the sail boat was very comfortable with en suite cabins, three freshly cooked meals every day and excellent support from the crew. The professional archaeologist who showed us the sites had fantastic knowledge, communicated in a personable and informative way.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers had every element of the trip organised well and efficiently. The tour manager was available at all times for questions and was very helpful.

Cruising to Ephesus by V. Satisfied., 19 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

a most memorable holiday

The holiday was a perfect balance of rest & relaxation and stimulating and passionate archeology. I had very high expectations for this holiday and I would have to say that not only were those expectations met but they were exceeded. Everything was of the highest quality - the food, the boat and the itinerary - It has given us one of the most unforgettable holidays we have had in many years and many memories to treasure. We will certainly ...

The holiday was a perfect balance of rest & relaxation and stimulating and passionate archeology. I had very high expectations for this holiday and I would have to say that not only were those expectations met but they were exceeded. Everything was of the highest quality - the food, the boat and the itinerary - It has given us one of the most unforgettable holidays we have had in many years and many memories to treasure. We will certainly be back. It was clear that considerable thought, care and attention to detail went into the planning and delivery of the holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Great attention to detail- nothing too much trouble- very much appreciated.