AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising to Ephesus Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising to Ephesus

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 17
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 17
Reviews Accepted: 17
Reviews Rejected: 0
17 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to Ephesus by Robert, 21 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus

My trip cruising up the coast of Turkey visiting the ancient ruins was an amazing experience. I had wanted to make this trip for over 20 years so my expectations were high -- and the trip exceeded all my expectations. We had an archeologist on board who brought such enthusiasm and knowledge to our excursions, and his passion was contagious. The cruise was the perfect mix of adventure, relaxation, and learning. This vacation was truly transformative...

My trip cruising up the coast of Turkey visiting the ancient ruins was an amazing experience. I had wanted to make this trip for over 20 years so my expectations were high -- and the trip exceeded all my expectations. We had an archeologist on board who brought such enthusiasm and knowledge to our excursions, and his passion was contagious. The cruise was the perfect mix of adventure, relaxation, and learning. This vacation was truly transformative.

Rating for tour operator:

Every aspect of the trip was perfect. The staff at Peter Sommer are truly committed to providing you with a wonderful experience from the moment you book your trip to the moment you leave the boat. The staff anticipated every need and was always first-rate. And the food on the trip was incredible, taking into consideration the specific dietary requirements of each person. I will definitely be planning another trip with them in the near future.

Cruising to Ephesus by Bob, 19 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus - Lots to learn in a great way

We visited 7 ancient cities in as many days. They fed our minds and our body's with joy and passion beyond compare. We walked away with plenty to read and think about and we are definitely thinking about when to do it again.

We visited 7 ancient cities in as many days. They fed our minds and our body's with joy and passion beyond compare. We walked away with plenty to read and think about and we are definitely thinking about when to do it again.

Rating for tour operator:

Each step was provided with great skill and enthusiasm, from Peter's and Julie's introduction, to Ugur's welcome and guidance, to Olivier's knowledge about archeology. (uploading images failed)

Cruising to Ephesus by szk, 16 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus

We were thrilled and intellectually stimulated by the ancient sites we visited. The boat was comfortable and relaxing. The meals were excellent.

We were thrilled and intellectually stimulated by the ancient sites we visited. The boat was comfortable and relaxing. The meals were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Tours are extremely well run. Everything that was promised was delivered. The tour guide was excellent, as was the rest of the staff and the crew of the boat.

Cruising to Ephesus by JanT, 5 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Holiday of a life time

It was just the best thing ever. My husband has a terminal illness and this holiday was a chance for us to make great memories and share precious time in fabulous surroundings with our children and close friends.

It was just the best thing ever. My husband has a terminal illness and this holiday was a chance for us to make great memories and share precious time in fabulous surroundings with our children and close friends.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers were great from initial enquiry to the end of the holiday. We would highly recommend them.

Cruising to Ephesus by Crunch, 18 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Peter Somers Cruising to Ephesus

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Week long gullet cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus featuring archaeological tours each day. Guides included native Turk for cultural interpretation and a PhD archaeologist specializing in the history of the region. Four native crew were wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Somers had done good research on the route, boat crew, cultural activities, cuisine to ensure a pleasant, relaxing and educational trip.

Cruising to Ephesus by fifer, 3 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxation and archeology in Turkey

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide ...

This was our second gulet cruise with Peter Sommer Travels. Complete relaxation on board the gulet with comfortable accommodation, very attentive crew, good freshly prepared local food, swimming in secluded bays and the company of a small group of interesting international travellers. But what makes a Peter Sommer holiday stand out is the opportunity to visit both well known and little visited archeological sites with a knowledgeable local guide and an enthusiastic historian.

Rating for tour operator:

The tours are well planned and organised and as this is a small family business we received personal attention both before and after the holiday.

Cruising to Ephesus by Titch, 9 Oct 2015
Holiday Rating:

Way above my expectation

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

I really went for the archaeological experience but was thrilled to find that we were given plenty of time to enjoy the boat experience as well. The crew of four ran the boat like a well-oiled machine and the food was nothing short of fantastic. Olivier Henry was passionate about his subject and Cem was very professional, knowledgable and fun. He is a real gem for the company to have.

Rating for tour operator:

I found Julie to be very proactive and friendly and any questions were answered by return.

Cruising to Ephesus by FANTASTIC experience , 24 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

The experience was "over the top"

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

The Peter Sommer Travel experience was excellent. I had always wanted to go up the Coast of Turkey visiting the incredible ruins. This was every bit what I wanted and then some.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travel was VERY professional by all standards.

Cruising to Ephesus by Charlies, 21 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

History, fun and food

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

A brilliant gulet cruise where nothing could be faulted. Excellent organisation, superb food, an expert guide who was happy to impart information in an engaging and interesting way. An experience we would repeat

Rating for tour operator:

So well organised that we did not need to worry about a thing

Cruising to Ephesus by Kathy, 16 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

The perfect trip. To have a real scholar with such charm and ease as a guide to the archeological sites was a true gift.

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by ...

The combination of our beautiful gleaming gullet, a totally professional crew, a talented chef producing exquisite yet simple dishes, our lovely tour operator Cem and our scholar guide Olivier Henri who led us into the magic of the ancient world with his charm and humour was a rare privilege. An archeologist Olivier has his own dig at Labraunda which we visited. It was a very special day indeed. We were offered a table of food prepared by the caretakers wife from their own produce, delicious. Cem took us to deserted bays to swim every day, when there was wind the sails went up and we gently sailed along the beautiful coastline. Once we stopped at a conservation site and watched the wild horses coming down to the beach. All the sites were fascinating, Priene the pretty ancient Greek town on a ledge in the Meander valley, the temple at Didyma, and so much more ending of course at Ephesus, a jewel indeed. Every night one's head was reeling with what wone had seen and heard. What more can I say? I shall never forget it. I may do a degree in the classical world.

Rating for tour operator:

Cem was a brilliant tour operator. He was quietly efficient, everything was organised seamlessly, you never noticed he was working. Cem is a charming, helpful, lovely man. A diplomat, intelligent and good company a great person to have around. He inspired everyone with confidence, we were in safe hands. Thanks Cem.