AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Peter Sommer Travels

Cruising to Ephesus Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cruising to Ephesus

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 45
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 45
Reviews Accepted: 45
Reviews Rejected: 0
45 reviews
Sort by:
Cruising to Ephesus by Roly, 5 Jul 2024
Holiday Rating:

Cruising to Ephesus

This was our second Peter Sommers holiday and I know it won’t be our last. Having been slightly concerned that there would be an overload of archeology, we couldn’t have been more wrong and loved every moment. The whole week was perfectly balanced, with time to enjoy the boat and the sense of freedom and adventure it offered. The sites were of course amazing, but we secretly knew that they would be, and having Peter Sommers as our guide was ...

This was our second Peter Sommers holiday and I know it won’t be our last. Having been slightly concerned that there would be an overload of archeology, we couldn’t have been more wrong and loved every moment. The whole week was perfectly balanced, with time to enjoy the boat and the sense of freedom and adventure it offered. The sites were of course amazing, but we secretly knew that they would be, and having Peter Sommers as our guide was an added bonus. He has an amazing knack of judging the pace and providing just the right amount of background information. The weather was exceptionally hot for the beginning of June, but we were looked after perfectly with plentiful chances to swim and relax, and we all became addicted to the continuous supply of raisons, nuts and water designed to keep us going on site. This was a very special week indeed.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers Travel

Cruising to Ephesus by Sara, 29 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous trip cruising to Ephesus

This was my second gulet tour with Peter Sommer Travels and it met all expectations and more. Sailing on a gulet is one of the best ways to visit the many and wonderful ancient sites of western Turkey. Peter was our guide and his enthusiasm and encyclopaedic knowledge made the trip an enthralling and memorable experience. The crew were all very professional, pleasant and helpful and our chef produced the most delicious meals. We were able ...

This was my second gulet tour with Peter Sommer Travels and it met all expectations and more. Sailing on a gulet is one of the best ways to visit the many and wonderful ancient sites of western Turkey. Peter was our guide and his enthusiasm and encyclopaedic knowledge made the trip an enthralling and memorable experience. The crew were all very professional, pleasant and helpful and our chef produced the most delicious meals. We were able to swim before breakfast and after a hot day visiting one of the sights in the turquoise waters of a well chosen bay, or just totally relax on the beautiful boat. In all, a really super week.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and well organised.

Cruising to Ephesus by Callie, 20 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional

Cruising on a gulet in Turkey with an expert guide on board to lead you at the ancient sites visited, bringing their histoy and stories to life. Time to relax on board, to swim, snorkel, paddleboard, kyak or even float on a pink flamingo in the clear waters of the Aegean sea. Delicious meals prepared with fresh local ingredients, meals shared together around a table on the aft deck. This has to be the best way to visit these ancient sites, ...

Cruising on a gulet in Turkey with an expert guide on board to lead you at the ancient sites visited, bringing their histoy and stories to life. Time to relax on board, to swim, snorkel, paddleboard, kyak or even float on a pink flamingo in the clear waters of the Aegean sea. Delicious meals prepared with fresh local ingredients, meals shared together around a table on the aft deck. This has to be the best way to visit these ancient sites, some well known, some not so, all remarkable.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised, great attention to detail ensuring the enjoyement of all of the group.

Cruising to Ephesus by Maryel L., 15 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Gulet Cruise from Bodrum to Ephesus

Hours of cruising along the turquoise coast of Turkey interspersed with guided tours of unforgettable archeological sites. The highlight was Ephesus but others along the way were important in their own right. Our expert guides contributed a wealth of knowledge and personal insights.

Hours of cruising along the turquoise coast of Turkey interspersed with guided tours of unforgettable archeological sites. The highlight was Ephesus but others along the way were important in their own right. Our expert guides contributed a wealth of knowledge and personal insights.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer Travels provides a 5 star experience. My travel companions were experienced travelers and shared my interest in learning about ancient history and culture. Our guides exceeded our expectations.

Cruising to Ephesus by Lotta, 14 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

A perfect balance of living history, sun and bathing - 'Cruising to Ephesus'

We were 6 girlfriends who sat sail on a 'Peter Sommers Travel' gullet trip on the 2nd June 2024 from Bodrum, Turkey. A wonderful voyage following the Bodrum peninsula with stops at ancient sites to learn about the powerful history going back thousands of years. What made it absolutely perfect was Peter Sommer's talks about the sites we visited, he really made history come alive. Plus that in between we could swim and sunbathe - a perfect combina...

We were 6 girlfriends who sat sail on a 'Peter Sommers Travel' gullet trip on the 2nd June 2024 from Bodrum, Turkey. A wonderful voyage following the Bodrum peninsula with stops at ancient sites to learn about the powerful history going back thousands of years. What made it absolutely perfect was Peter Sommer's talks about the sites we visited, he really made history come alive. Plus that in between we could swim and sunbathe - a perfect combination!

Rating for tour operator:

Very organised, professional and accommodating. The knowledge from both our guides and their helpfulness made it one of my best holidays.

Cruising to Ephesus by bruval, 8 Nov 2023
Holiday Rating:

A delight throughout

Wonderful combination of guided visits, excellent food and cruising along beautiful coastline.

Wonderful combination of guided visits, excellent food and cruising along beautiful coastline.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer attend to every detail

Cruising to Ephesus by Johnny W, 26 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A cruise through history

A relaxed cruise between Bodrum and Ephesus, with trips ashore to look at the many well-preserved remains of ancient Greek and Roman cities, with their theatres and temples. All this interspersed with stops in remote anchorages with crystal-clear water inviting one to have a swim.

A relaxed cruise between Bodrum and Ephesus, with trips ashore to look at the many well-preserved remains of ancient Greek and Roman cities, with their theatres and temples. All this interspersed with stops in remote anchorages with crystal-clear water inviting one to have a swim.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommers provided us with a knowledgeable tour guide and went to some trouble to help us with arrangements for our onward journey.

Cruising to Ephesus by Kelly , 21 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Far exceeded expectations!

Very well organized. Professional staff, knowledgeable, friendly, connected. Food was excellent, boat was it top condition. The historical itinerary was fascinating! The pace was perfect. Time enough to appreciate the historical sites and time enough to relax and enjoy the sailing, swimming, great conversations with our guides, the crew and our interesting fellow guests.

Very well organized. Professional staff, knowledgeable, friendly, connected. Food was excellent, boat was it top condition. The historical itinerary was fascinating! The pace was perfect. Time enough to appreciate the historical sites and time enough to relax and enjoy the sailing, swimming, great conversations with our guides, the crew and our interesting fellow guests.

Rating for tour operator:

Could not have been any better organized or any more professional. A terrific experience.

Cruising to Ephesus by Ella, 21 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A very memorable holiday much enjoyed

We were so well looked after on the gulet. The crew were helpful and served delicious meals. The trips ashore to see the sights were well organised and informative with our enthusiastic Tour guide. The Classics guide was very interesting and thoughtful. It had been very hot week and the swimming was a lovely bonus.

We were so well looked after on the gulet. The crew were helpful and served delicious meals. The trips ashore to see the sights were well organised and informative with our enthusiastic Tour guide. The Classics guide was very interesting and thoughtful. It had been very hot week and the swimming was a lovely bonus.

Rating for tour operator:

Details sent to us were informative and the office were very helpful

Cruising to Ephesus by PG2023, 15 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

A Truly Memorable Cruise Exploring the Ancient Sites of Turkey

I knew that Peter Sommer's tours have attracted excellent reviews but the experience more than matched my high expectations. Each day was a delightful blend of cruising along the beautiful Turkish coast, fascinating excursions to visit amazing ancient sites, swimming in sheltered bays and long evenings around the table with excellent food, wine and new found friends. Everything was arranged at a relaxed and comfortable pace. Our trips ashore ...

I knew that Peter Sommer's tours have attracted excellent reviews but the experience more than matched my high expectations. Each day was a delightful blend of cruising along the beautiful Turkish coast, fascinating excursions to visit amazing ancient sites, swimming in sheltered bays and long evenings around the table with excellent food, wine and new found friends. Everything was arranged at a relaxed and comfortable pace. Our trips ashore visited a series of increasingly spectacular ancient cities which were brought to life by our enthusiastic and very knowledgeable expert guide. It was a perfect holiday and many thanks must go to the crew of our lovely boat, our hardworking chef, our entertaining local guide Suleyman and our expert guide Dr. Michael. Having recently suffered a bereavement I had hoped that this cruise would lift my spirits. In fact, for me, it turned out to be a life affirming experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Peter Sommer tours have an excellent reputation and this tour was exceptional. The experience for me and my shipmates was a very relaxing, comfortable and entertaining tour but what was hidden from us was all the organisation and logistics that must be necessary to achieve this seamless and faultless performance. Peter Sommer have honed their their craft in delivering memorable holidays with exceptional results.