AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
On Foot Holidays

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat Traveller Reviews

Reviews of On Foot Holidays - El Priorat

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 19
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 19
Reviews Accepted: 19
Reviews Rejected: 0
19 reviews
Sort by:
On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Aussiewalker, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A true away from the crowds walking and culinary experience

4 and 1/2 days walking in the hills of Catalonia following very detailed instructions. Luggage was transported by OnFootHolidays. Accommodation was in character filled, scenic little towns/villages in lovely bed and breakfasts. Whilst some of the walking was quite challenging, the scenery was amazing. Dinners were also arranged either in the b&b or nearby restaurants. Most food was excellent and reflected the local cooking. OnFootHolidays also ...

4 and 1/2 days walking in the hills of Catalonia following very detailed instructions. Luggage was transported by OnFootHolidays. Accommodation was in character filled, scenic little towns/villages in lovely bed and breakfasts. Whilst some of the walking was quite challenging, the scenery was amazing. Dinners were also arranged either in the b&b or nearby restaurants. Most food was excellent and reflected the local cooking. OnFootHolidays also provided a good insight to the history of the area. Hosts in the b&B s were great. Wildflowers along the paths were prolific and colourful. All in all a wonderful experience in a country we had not visited before.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided detailed instructions of the walks, great accommodation and luggage transportation. Lots of advice and local knowledge. Always answered any queries we had.

Reviewer's images:
On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Itchhiker, 25 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

5 Days of Hiking in the Catalonian Mountains from Montblanc to La Morera

After conference in Madrid, hopped on a plan to Barcelona, then train to Montblanc, and had 5 days of brilliant hiking from one beautiful overnight stop to another. All arrange per Onfootwalking, UK, so worked like clockwork. They transfer the luggage. Excellent notes and supplied GPS and a person to contact (ex-Brit) if emergency had occurred. Breathtaking scenery and restful solitude - passed less than half a dozen other walkers in 5 days ...

After conference in Madrid, hopped on a plan to Barcelona, then train to Montblanc, and had 5 days of brilliant hiking from one beautiful overnight stop to another. All arrange per Onfootwalking, UK, so worked like clockwork. They transfer the luggage. Excellent notes and supplied GPS and a person to contact (ex-Brit) if emergency had occurred. Breathtaking scenery and restful solitude - passed less than half a dozen other walkers in 5 days (other than at villages). Excellent historical notes, recommendation regarding places worth seeing, must try food and food outlets.

Rating for tour operator:

I have walked with their guidance in many countries in Europe and Wales (subsidiary). Warm, friendly, patient, knowledgeable and very reliable. Personal handing of each client, I suspect - certainly me and others I have "sent" to them. I would not go with anyone else, not because of loyalty, just because I could not want more than they regulary offer. Most of the agents one deal with have done the actual walks too. I am 63 and cannot do the Mount Everests any more, and I find their guidance regarding which trips and how best to tailor them to my comfort zone very helpful.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Iain&Stella, 23 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

A challenging experience and a lot of friendly faces

We walked the Priorat 7-day "Monastery & Vineyard" route. Some challenging steep climbs and (and drops!) in stunning scenery. A very friendly welcome at every accommodation. Still very warm in mid September.

We walked the Priorat 7-day "Monastery & Vineyard" route. Some challenging steep climbs and (and drops!) in stunning scenery. A very friendly welcome at every accommodation. Still very warm in mid September.

Rating for tour operator:

Very informative and helpful

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Aussie Al, 10 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great walking in spectacular scenery

A self-guided walking holiday in the Priorat region of Spain. We undertook the five day route which was perfectly designed and characterised by great variety - monasteries, vineyards, cliff edges quaint villages and cosy and unique accommodation. Very picturesque and most days we were the only ones on the trail (we walked in July so potentially it was a case of mad dogs and Englishmen ....). Highlights were the spectacular scenery and a chance ...

A self-guided walking holiday in the Priorat region of Spain. We undertook the five day route which was perfectly designed and characterised by great variety - monasteries, vineyards, cliff edges quaint villages and cosy and unique accommodation. Very picturesque and most days we were the only ones on the trail (we walked in July so potentially it was a case of mad dogs and Englishmen ....). Highlights were the spectacular scenery and a chance to really get off the beaten track, just an hour and a half from Barcelona. And lovely hosts.

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot holidays provided great support - the map notes were terrific (including all the travel and accommodation notes) and made us completely self-sufficient, however there was also an on-the-ground rep who contacted us and was available in emergency. We are based in Australia but this caused no difficulties in booking or managing the holiday arrangements.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Pippa, 12 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great fun

We walked, and walked away from civilization and were challenged and delighted with our adventure.

We walked, and walked away from civilization and were challenged and delighted with our adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

Responded quickly and efficiently making great suggestions and giving invaluable advice

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Ishbel, 27 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

A challenging but immensely satisfying walk in El Priorat, Catalonia.

We did a 10 day self guided walked from Montblanc to Porrera. This is a little visited area of Spain and we were almost alone on the trails in spectacular scenery. While more challenging that I expected, the weather was good, the wild flowers in bloom, and it was a wonderful holiday. We spent an extra day at the end to do some wine tasting at the excellent Cal Pla Cellar.

We did a 10 day self guided walked from Montblanc to Porrera. This is a little visited area of Spain and we were almost alone on the trails in spectacular scenery. While more challenging that I expected, the weather was good, the wild flowers in bloom, and it was a wonderful holiday. We spent an extra day at the end to do some wine tasting at the excellent Cal Pla Cellar.

Rating for tour operator:

This is my second On Foot holiday and again I was very impressed by the level of support they gave us. Their selection of accommodation is also very good. I will certainly use them again.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Foxbrock, 17 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very enjoyable made possible by the excellent On-Foot attention to detail.

On Foot offer a complete service for walkers who don't wish to carry a large rucksack between accommodation on a one way walking trajectory. We have consistently found, having now had three On-Foot holidays, that they provide an excellent service including detailed pre-holiday information to prepare yourself for the walking and a complete guidance package for when on the walk. Also they vet and arrange for the accommodation en-route. It is difficult ...

On Foot offer a complete service for walkers who don't wish to carry a large rucksack between accommodation on a one way walking trajectory. We have consistently found, having now had three On-Foot holidays, that they provide an excellent service including detailed pre-holiday information to prepare yourself for the walking and a complete guidance package for when on the walk. Also they vet and arrange for the accommodation en-route. It is difficult to find fault with their service which includes an excellent team working out of their Salisbury office who respond very quickly to any questions that you may have. I believe that we well travelled walkers, who have hiked all over the globe in numerous countries, so we understand the needs of hikers in foreign locations. As we have become older On-Foot save us the many hours of preparation for such foreign hiking excursions and above all arrange for our kit to be transported between accommodations, something very helpful at our age.

Rating for tour operator:

An excellent organisation with very responsive individuals within their team. Organising foreign hiking holidays can be quite time consuming and On-Foot offer a very good alternative to doing iy yourself. It is however key that the company is highly responsive at the time when you are making the decision for a trip and between then and actually going on the holiday. On both counts On-Foot score highly. The On Foot team appear to be very well trained, are personable and react very well to any small issues that you may raise.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Seasoned walkers, 24 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant walking holiday in the Priorat region of Catalonia

Self guided walking on good but quite challenging paths through the beautiful but little known Montsant and Priorat region.All the arrangements worked like clockwork with good notes and a helpful contact in case of problems.We stayed in interesting and comfortable accommodation in small towns and villages with exceptional food and wine throughout.Perfect weather, spectacular flowers and interesting visits to monasteries and cellars made this ...

Self guided walking on good but quite challenging paths through the beautiful but little known Montsant and Priorat region.All the arrangements worked like clockwork with good notes and a helpful contact in case of problems.We stayed in interesting and comfortable accommodation in small towns and villages with exceptional food and wine throughout.Perfect weather, spectacular flowers and interesting visits to monasteries and cellars made this our best walking holiday ever.

Rating for tour operator:

On foot provides a very efficient but personal and friendly service. Nothing is too much trouble. We have travelled with them several times before and will do so in the future.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Happy hikers, 16 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Delightful Catalonian hill walking

A very well organised and delightful holiday in a part of Spain that is rarely visited by foreigners

A very well organised and delightful holiday in a part of Spain that is rarely visited by foreigners

Rating for tour operator:

On Foot is a small firm that specialises in self-guided walking holidays to unspoilt destinations. We can tell that the owners and staff of the company know the paths, the accommodation and restaurants well, and that everything about the trips they plan feels very personal.

On Foot Holidays - El Priorat by Spanish traveler, 20 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Priorat Spain Adventure

Daily walks through lovely area of Catalonia.

Daily walks through lovely area of Catalonia.

Rating for tour operator:

Wonderfully organized and responsive to all inquiries.