AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 29
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 29
Reviews Accepted: 29
Reviews Rejected: 0
29 reviews
Sort by:
Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Mrs S P 19, 3 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

A great combination of walking and the sea

Well organised, experienced guide, a variety of walks which could be altered according to the weather. Expeditions to the islands enabled us to witness the sea life. Comfortable accommodation, fabulous food.

Well organised, experienced guide, a variety of walks which could be altered according to the weather. Expeditions to the islands enabled us to witness the sea life. Comfortable accommodation, fabulous food.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised. Clear information about the trip and essential kit required. Replies to any questions quickly.

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Tiacat , 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Knoydart Walking Holiday

One week hiking on the Knoydart peninsula and the surrounding islands

One week hiking on the Knoydart peninsula and the surrounding islands

Rating for tour operator:

Simply booking procedures and knowledgeable and friendly staff

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Siúlsiúl, 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

The best holiday ever!

This was the best walking holiday I ever had and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The Wilderness Lodge at Knoydart is an uncommonly wonderful place and it felt like a real privilege to spend time there. There was a very special joy in beginning the day by watching wild red deer grazing at the window in the half-light. All of the team at the lodge were delightful - relaxed, friendly and keen to help us enjoy ourselves in every way possible...

This was the best walking holiday I ever had and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The Wilderness Lodge at Knoydart is an uncommonly wonderful place and it felt like a real privilege to spend time there. There was a very special joy in beginning the day by watching wild red deer grazing at the window in the half-light. All of the team at the lodge were delightful - relaxed, friendly and keen to help us enjoy ourselves in every way possible. Liz is an exceptionally creative chef and truthfully, we were often as excited to learn what would be on the menu when returning from our walks in the evening as we were to embark on them in the morning! I got the impression that she is constantly innovating and experimenting with fresh homegrown and local produce. At every meal, we had new and delectable taste experiences from what one of our group called the "amazingly hot jams" at breakfast to the warm root vegetable dishes, succulent roasts, colorful, supremely fresh seafood, delicately-accented salads and fabulous, even baroque, deserts which were especially good after an energetic day. I need a gluten-free diet and have never been so well fed on holidays or enjoyed my food so much. For example, in addition to the wonderful roast meat and homemade artisan cheese sandwich fillings (among others), I had twelve different kinds of nutritious and delicious, healthy treats cooked from scratch in my lunch in just six days! Thanks, Liz and team 😊 As for our guide, I have done a number of walking holidays in Scotland and Ireland now with various different companies and enjoyed them all immensely but Al was easily the best guide I ever walked with. He has a lovely gentle manner and was attentive to every individual in our group, often anticipating our concerns or questions before we actually brought them to him. He is highly knowledgeable about the Knoydart region, never sentimental but clearly passionate and a real pleasure to listen to. As a teacher, I very much appreciated his informed and accessible introductions to the animals, land and history we encountered as well as the various management and conservation practices in this relatively unspoiled and precious part of the world. I found it especially enjoyable to have a guide who had not just learned off a few facts but was willing to answer my questions and happy and interested to engage in detailed conversations about what we saw. His account of the volcanos and different geological processes that led to the diverse rock formations and geology of the mountains made our modest climbs and the views underfoot all the more meaningful and exciting. He has a great sense of humour too and we had brilliant fun sharing our various travel and adventure stories. I was massively impressed by his and Andy's negotiation of the weather to ensure we had so many pleasant boat trips and clear views in the Sound of Sleat. Being on open ground or sea is always good for the soul but there was no masochism on this trip (!) - these two seemed to work wonders with the rain clouds and drive them away from our island destinations! Then there was the young minke whale and the basking shark who appeared within minutes of each other on the warmest evening...what can I say? So many things to be grateful for but not enough time to ennumerate them all so I will just need to end by sending deep appreciation and enthusiastic thanks to everyone on the Wilderness Scotland team for such an enjoyable vacation. I have lots of beautiful photographs and memories to share with family and friends and will most certainly vacation with you again.

Rating for tour operator:

Best holiday ever!

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Colorado hiker, 20 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Exhilarating wilderness hiking experience!

Hiked the Knoydart peninsula of the Scottish Highlands as well as hiked the Cullen area of Skye, and islands of Rum and Eigg.

Hiked the Knoydart peninsula of the Scottish Highlands as well as hiked the Cullen area of Skye, and islands of Rum and Eigg.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland has a great variety of trips, at different difficulties and dates. Very knowledgeable, helpful and safety conscious guided!

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Mike., 7 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

It does what it says on the tin.

Good walking, good accommodation ,good company, good weather. Plenty of wild life to see, could,nt be bettered .

Good walking, good accommodation ,good company, good weather. Plenty of wild life to see, could,nt be bettered .

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged according to plan.

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Nojnoj, 5 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great trip

Visit to Knoydart, Eigg, Rum, Skye, wild remote Scotland, stunning scenery beyond wirds

Visit to Knoydart, Eigg, Rum, Skye, wild remote Scotland, stunning scenery beyond wirds

Rating for tour operator:

Personal attention and good service

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Pennwhit , 14 May 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

A fabulous wilderness walking holiday based on Knoydart.

A fabulous wilderness walking holiday based on Knoydart.

Rating for tour operator:

Always there to help and advise you

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by prawn, 23 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

adventure in remote beautiful north west scotland

Lead walking in places I would not otherwise have been able to access

Lead walking in places I would not otherwise have been able to access

Rating for tour operator:

Competent, thoughtful good manner with the group

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by L, 27 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wilderness Scotland Knoydart Walking holiday

A remote walking experience, in stunning terrain. Well organised, well led and well catered.

A remote walking experience, in stunning terrain. Well organised, well led and well catered.

Rating for tour operator:

No question is too small for them to deal with

Walking - The Knoydart Peninsula by Mary, 21 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Unique experience at Doune Knoydart

One week in August at Doune Knoydart, which is one of the most spectacular locations I've ever experienced. The opportunities we had to see wildlife in a natural habitat was unprecedented. Along with the beautiful walks and exquisite food, we saw a pod of about 100 dolphins alongside our boat, otters and seals, birds, a wild mountain goat, and to top it all we had stags come down to graze right outside the door of our lodge in the evening ...

One week in August at Doune Knoydart, which is one of the most spectacular locations I've ever experienced. The opportunities we had to see wildlife in a natural habitat was unprecedented. Along with the beautiful walks and exquisite food, we saw a pod of about 100 dolphins alongside our boat, otters and seals, birds, a wild mountain goat, and to top it all we had stags come down to graze right outside the door of our lodge in the evening and morning. They were quite shy but on the last night they just didn't seem bothered and just wanted to keep eating. I've never been in a situation where I've seen so much wildlife up close in such a stunning location. Doune exceeded my expectations with the quality of the food and we were treated like kings with local, freshly produced, organic, mouthwatering food. The walks were challenging but the whole group enjoyed them and although the weather (wind and rain) made them tough, we got through them.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland makes everything run like clockwork and always replied to my email queries efficiently and promptly.