AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Pettitts  Travel

Pettitts Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Pettitts Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 30
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 30
Reviews Accepted: 30
Reviews Rejected: 0
30 reviews
Sort by:
Pettitts Travel by The Happy Travellers, 4 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best holiday ever

6 weeks in northern and central India, the most colourful, friendly and amazing country we have ever visited. A true assault on all the senses ( in a good way) excellent range of varied accommodation and superb food.

6 weeks in northern and central India, the most colourful, friendly and amazing country we have ever visited. A true assault on all the senses ( in a good way) excellent range of varied accommodation and superb food.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre planning and on the ground management of our entire trip was faultless, every detail carefully thought out to suit us and every representative of Pettitts from local guides to drivers were helpful, friendly and totally professional - they all made our trip an absolute joy.

Pettitts Travel by Pye, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Chile

Chile really is an amazing country. We've been to India a number of times (about 15) and now having just been to Chile, India has fierce competition. We're going back to Chile next year - there's a lot more to explore! It was a perfect way to celebrate a 75th birthday. I just fell in love with Atacama - the colours of the desert are beautiful with snow capped mountains and volcanoes. Patagonia has great walks - both short and ...

Chile really is an amazing country. We've been to India a number of times (about 15) and now having just been to Chile, India has fierce competition. We're going back to Chile next year - there's a lot more to explore! It was a perfect way to celebrate a 75th birthday. I just fell in love with Atacama - the colours of the desert are beautiful with snow capped mountains and volcanoes. Patagonia has great walks - both short and longer - and the countryside there is stunning too. We finished on a 3 full day cruise around Cape Horn which we thoroughly enjoyed in every way - our first cruise as we've never thought ourselves "cruise" people! The people everywhere are so very friendly and helpful, the accommodation is excellent and the food is great. Chile was not at all what we expected but far, far better. So, thank you Pettitts for yet another fantastic holiday - everything worked like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been using Pettitts for a very long time now and they know exactly what we want. Every holiday is perfect - as holidays are expensive it's good to know that Pettitts won't let us down.

Pettitts Travel by Mr S G 18, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantasic tailor made tour organised by Pettitts

I was lucky enough to be given a three month career break and wanted to do some extensive travelling in Asia. I emailed a number of travel companies with a request to prepare a tailor made tour across certain specific dates. Pettitts were the first to reply and from that moment on provided a superb service. Initially there were a number of changes requested to the itinerary, but they were able to accommodate all changes and flex the programme ...

I was lucky enough to be given a three month career break and wanted to do some extensive travelling in Asia. I emailed a number of travel companies with a request to prepare a tailor made tour across certain specific dates. Pettitts were the first to reply and from that moment on provided a superb service. Initially there were a number of changes requested to the itinerary, but they were able to accommodate all changes and flex the programme according to our needs. The countries visited were China, Mongolia, South Korea, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Nepal and Bhutan. Pettitts have clearly identified high quality international partners given that we were impressed with all travel guides in each country. Pettitts assisted with all questions we had during the planning of the trip and were very quick to get in touch with us on the one occasion they needed to during the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts were excellent and I cannot recommend them highly enough. There service was first class and I would be more than happy to use their services again.

Pettitts Travel by Bryan and Diana, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip

After attending a conference in Delhi, we flew to Amritsar and then travelled by car in the Himalayan foothills, visiting Dharamsala, Progpur and Shimla, from where we took the toy train down to Kalka. We returned to Delhi by express train from Chandigarh. Pettitts’ organisation of the itinerary , the driver. ,local guides and pickups was faultless.

After attending a conference in Delhi, we flew to Amritsar and then travelled by car in the Himalayan foothills, visiting Dharamsala, Progpur and Shimla, from where we took the toy train down to Kalka. We returned to Delhi by express train from Chandigarh. Pettitts’ organisation of the itinerary , the driver. ,local guides and pickups was faultless.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial enquiry, Pettitts were very helpful and flexible in helping us to organise the trip. They always responded rapidly to our queries.in a constructive and knowledgeable way. They seemed to know what would suit us! They organised a very interesting itinerary, with excellent accommodation, guides and driver. We have used them before!

Pettitts Travel by Pye, 8 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another fantastic trip to India

We started in Hyderabad where we just relaxed after a long flight and got used to the heat. We then visited Nagarhole and Corbett National Parks where we saw a great number of birds - and we were lucky to see a tiger and jungle cats too. It is great to see a tiger but all the birds and mammals are great too - and the scenery is stunning in places. We then had a tour around Rajasthan which was amazing and we ended up in Mumbai for a few ...

We started in Hyderabad where we just relaxed after a long flight and got used to the heat. We then visited Nagarhole and Corbett National Parks where we saw a great number of birds - and we were lucky to see a tiger and jungle cats too. It is great to see a tiger but all the birds and mammals are great too - and the scenery is stunning in places. We then had a tour around Rajasthan which was amazing and we ended up in Mumbai for a few days as usual. Everywhere we went was wonderful. and we enjoyed the places we'd been to a second time just as much as the first time. India is just full of colour and all the people are so friendly and have such a warmth towards us.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts as usual planned our holiday perfectly - we have used Pettitts many times and they know exactly what we like to do. While at Nagarhole National Park I had a minor accident in the Park. Pettitts excelled with all the support they gave me - from the Delhi office staff, the local Pettitts staff to the Pettitts drivers who took us to various parts of India. There was always someone looking after me. When away from home this makes all the difference to a holiday.

Pettitts Travel by Rod & Nuala, 30 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Gujurat - off the usual tourist trail

Our seventh trip to India. Three weeks, mainly in Gujurat, but starting in Hyderabad and finishing in Amritsar. Excellent variety with the usual temples forts and step wells, complemented by parks (lions, leopards, etc together with salt lagoons). Also village life up close! Fascinating to compare Indian with British history over the last 1000 years.

Our seventh trip to India. Three weeks, mainly in Gujurat, but starting in Hyderabad and finishing in Amritsar. Excellent variety with the usual temples forts and step wells, complemented by parks (lions, leopards, etc together with salt lagoons). Also village life up close! Fascinating to compare Indian with British history over the last 1000 years.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts with their detailed expertise on India in particular, know how to personalise a holiday to your specific needs.

Pettitts Travel by Selgor, 29 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

INDIA - a single view: a thousand pictures!

Rural Rajasthan Our 12th visit to India. Flying into Udaipur from Delhi we travelled north by road staying in characterful homestays and heritage hotels enjoying rural hospitality,local foods and flavours -and stunning sights and scenery. From local markets and colourful Rajasthani dress and turbans to magnificent forts commanding the heights. Magical sights, spices and smells - unforgettable memories.....

Rural Rajasthan Our 12th visit to India. Flying into Udaipur from Delhi we travelled north by road staying in characterful homestays and heritage hotels enjoying rural hospitality,local foods and flavours -and stunning sights and scenery. From local markets and colourful Rajasthani dress and turbans to magnificent forts commanding the heights. Magical sights, spices and smells - unforgettable memories.....

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts is primarily a family tour operator able to respond to the travellers' ideas and deliver an imaginative, customised and fulfilling experience. With their own offices in India(2) and China (as opposed to relying on local agents) one can have every confidence in relying on the detailed itineraries. Importantly, they can provide the detailed backup in case of any difficulties or emergencies - as I can affirm from my own experience of a heart attack in India. And that was eight years ago!

Pettitts Travel by Sue, 28 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous holiday in southern India organised by Pettitts

Pettitts booked our holiday for just over three weeks travelling from Kochi to Chennai by road and rail and then from Chennai back to Kochi by Car. Everything worked perfectly, we had two excellent drivers, all our guides who met us on the way were first class and the itinerary covered so many interesting places. Our accommodation varied between homestay and high end Taj hotels. We would recommend this trip as a perfect way of exploring southern ...

Pettitts booked our holiday for just over three weeks travelling from Kochi to Chennai by road and rail and then from Chennai back to Kochi by Car. Everything worked perfectly, we had two excellent drivers, all our guides who met us on the way were first class and the itinerary covered so many interesting places. Our accommodation varied between homestay and high end Taj hotels. We would recommend this trip as a perfect way of exploring southern India. We would always recommend Pettitts as an excellent tour company.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Pettitts before when we toured northern India several years ago, so naturally we used them again for our trip in March 2018. They are very easy and extremely helpful to deal with and their service feels very personal.

Pettitts Travel by Aloo Aloo, 18 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Indian Magic

This was our first trip to India. It had been long anticipated and didn't fail to disappoint. We flew into Delhi and spent a day touring the old and the new. From there we travelled to Udaipur. A fairy tale city with marble palaces and lakes, surrounded by a ring of hills. Our heritage hotel was fabulous and we were almost reluctant to leave. It was in Udaipur that we met with our driver who was to stay with us for two weeks and take us ...

This was our first trip to India. It had been long anticipated and didn't fail to disappoint. We flew into Delhi and spent a day touring the old and the new. From there we travelled to Udaipur. A fairy tale city with marble palaces and lakes, surrounded by a ring of hills. Our heritage hotel was fabulous and we were almost reluctant to leave. It was in Udaipur that we met with our driver who was to stay with us for two weeks and take us on our onward journey through Rajasthan and into Uttar Pradesh. He was the consummate professional with heart. Unfailingly kind and generous, he was pleasure to spend our days with, and apart form his skilful driving offered us interesting local information and provided us with a continual supply of cold drinks, fruit and biscuits. Our onward journey took us to Jaipur, the pink city, a labyrinth of fascinating bazaars , palaces and incredible sights. The streets were mad. Motorcycles jostling for places along with cattle, dogs and the occasional camel. We loved it! We travelled on through the Aravalli Hills, the oldest in India, and spent time in the rural areas of Rajasthan. Narlai, Dev Shree, Chatra Sagar and Orcha. Go to all of them if you can. We saw intricately carved temples, villages and farms and palaces. We stayed in magnificent, lakeside tents on the edge of a wildlife sanctuary and we spotted bee eaters, kingfishers and herons amongst other birds. Finally we arrived in Agra to see the famed Taj Mahal and Fort. Go to the Taj early in the morning and beat the crowds, as we did. It was breathtaking and all I had dreamed - perfect proportions and exquisite workmanship - a vision. What could equal this? ...The temples at Khjuraho. A magnificent complex of temples built between the 9th and 10th centuries. Sculptures of goddesses, dancers, beasts and warriors cover the temples and of course the erotic scenes for which they are famous - a celebration of life. It was at Khajuraho that we said good bye to our driver and the very next morning we flew to Varanasi. Varanasi, India's holiest city, situated on the sacred Ganges. Riverside ghats, narrow crowded lanes, bazaars, holy men in saffron robes and sacred cows, sunset and dawn boat rides. The mix was almost overwhelming and totally unforgettable. After two nights we returned to Delhi in order to fly home. So many memories to store and replay.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitt's Travel had been recommended to us and from the moment I walked into Steve Pettitt's office I knew we had struck gold. His knowledge of India is unsurpassed, and, from personal experience. We had known roughly where we wanted to go and what we wanted to see. Steve listened and was able to suggest other places we might like to visit, that I am sure few people will know about. The hotels he booked for us were comfortable and often luxurious to the extreme. Places like the homestead in Dev Shree, off the beaten track, but with such a welcome from the owners. Fabulous food and even an invitation to a wedding taking place there the next day with full Indian dress supplied by the owners when we accepted. The organisation was seamless and we felt secure knowing that every journey we took was monitored and that someone would be waiting for us at the end of each journey be it at airports or train stations. As I mentioned above the Pettitt's driver assigned to us was exceptional and every Pettitt's employee we encountered was friendly, supportive and knowledgeable. All our guides without exception were informative and interesting and gave us insights into India that we could never have read in books. There aren't enough superlatives but I suppose the biggest recommendation I can give, is that we are planning the next one already!

Pettitts Travel by Happybunny , 15 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Buenos Aires & Chile

A superbly organised multi-centre holiday with not a single hitch: airline seats, airport pick-ups, hotels, route, guided tours - all fantastic’

A superbly organised multi-centre holiday with not a single hitch: airline seats, airport pick-ups, hotels, route, guided tours - all fantastic’

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second holiday I’ve done with Pettitts & I have nothing but praise. The firm’s suggestions are always good, but if you want to adjust something they are always willing & helpful. Not cheap, but extrey good value for the money you spend - & genius at nosing out the most fabulous & interesting hotels.