AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Pettitts  Travel

Pettitts Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Pettitts Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 32
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 32
Reviews Accepted: 32
Reviews Rejected: 0
32 reviews
Sort by:
Pettitts Travel by Charley52, 16 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

Karnataka Touring Holiday

A mix of coastal, highland and city locations in Karnataka with an excellent driver/guide who could not do enough to help us along the way as we experienced our first vacation in India. The coast at Neeleshwar is delightful, empty sweeping beaches and a great resort - Hermitage. Following a brief visit to the Coorg Region we experienced the city of Mysore which was charming.

A mix of coastal, highland and city locations in Karnataka with an excellent driver/guide who could not do enough to help us along the way as we experienced our first vacation in India. The coast at Neeleshwar is delightful, empty sweeping beaches and a great resort - Hermitage. Following a brief visit to the Coorg Region we experienced the city of Mysore which was charming.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitt's Travel made our arrangements; everything happened on time - transfers / flight arrangements. The local driver/guide had great local knowledge; hotel recommendations worked for us as well. Responsive to our needs before and during our visit. Highly recommend to other travellers who value reliability and attention to detail.

Pettitts Travel by Helen, 8 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

A thorough immersion in Indian life

We were very impressed that Pettits talked to us in detail about our interests and preferences so that they could propose a suitable tour of Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan. They were clearly very knowledgeable about the area and came up with a fantastic itinerary which was enjoyable from start to finish. As well as seeing the well known historic highlights, we were pleased to get off the beaten track with food tasting walks, crafts and countryside stays...

We were very impressed that Pettits talked to us in detail about our interests and preferences so that they could propose a suitable tour of Delhi, Agra and Rajasthan. They were clearly very knowledgeable about the area and came up with a fantastic itinerary which was enjoyable from start to finish. As well as seeing the well known historic highlights, we were pleased to get off the beaten track with food tasting walks, crafts and countryside stays. We found all our hosts hospitable and good company. Our driver was safe, reliable and friendly.

Rating for tour operator:

We received excellent information and advice from Pettitts. All the arrangements went smoothly.

Pettitts Travel by The Happy Travellers, 4 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best holiday ever

6 weeks in northern and central India, the most colourful, friendly and amazing country we have ever visited. A true assault on all the senses ( in a good way) excellent range of varied accommodation and superb food.

6 weeks in northern and central India, the most colourful, friendly and amazing country we have ever visited. A true assault on all the senses ( in a good way) excellent range of varied accommodation and superb food.

Rating for tour operator:

The pre planning and on the ground management of our entire trip was faultless, every detail carefully thought out to suit us and every representative of Pettitts from local guides to drivers were helpful, friendly and totally professional - they all made our trip an absolute joy.

Pettitts Travel by Pye, 6 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Chile

Chile really is an amazing country. We've been to India a number of times (about 15) and now having just been to Chile, India has fierce competition. We're going back to Chile next year - there's a lot more to explore! It was a perfect way to celebrate a 75th birthday. I just fell in love with Atacama - the colours of the desert are beautiful with snow capped mountains and volcanoes. Patagonia has great walks - both short and ...

Chile really is an amazing country. We've been to India a number of times (about 15) and now having just been to Chile, India has fierce competition. We're going back to Chile next year - there's a lot more to explore! It was a perfect way to celebrate a 75th birthday. I just fell in love with Atacama - the colours of the desert are beautiful with snow capped mountains and volcanoes. Patagonia has great walks - both short and longer - and the countryside there is stunning too. We finished on a 3 full day cruise around Cape Horn which we thoroughly enjoyed in every way - our first cruise as we've never thought ourselves "cruise" people! The people everywhere are so very friendly and helpful, the accommodation is excellent and the food is great. Chile was not at all what we expected but far, far better. So, thank you Pettitts for yet another fantastic holiday - everything worked like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator:

We've been using Pettitts for a very long time now and they know exactly what we want. Every holiday is perfect - as holidays are expensive it's good to know that Pettitts won't let us down.

Pettitts Travel by Mr S G 18, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantasic tailor made tour organised by Pettitts

I was lucky enough to be given a three month career break and wanted to do some extensive travelling in Asia. I emailed a number of travel companies with a request to prepare a tailor made tour across certain specific dates. Pettitts were the first to reply and from that moment on provided a superb service. Initially there were a number of changes requested to the itinerary, but they were able to accommodate all changes and flex the programme ...

I was lucky enough to be given a three month career break and wanted to do some extensive travelling in Asia. I emailed a number of travel companies with a request to prepare a tailor made tour across certain specific dates. Pettitts were the first to reply and from that moment on provided a superb service. Initially there were a number of changes requested to the itinerary, but they were able to accommodate all changes and flex the programme according to our needs. The countries visited were China, Mongolia, South Korea, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Nepal and Bhutan. Pettitts have clearly identified high quality international partners given that we were impressed with all travel guides in each country. Pettitts assisted with all questions we had during the planning of the trip and were very quick to get in touch with us on the one occasion they needed to during the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts were excellent and I cannot recommend them highly enough. There service was first class and I would be more than happy to use their services again.

Pettitts Travel by Bryan and Diana, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip

After attending a conference in Delhi, we flew to Amritsar and then travelled by car in the Himalayan foothills, visiting Dharamsala, Progpur and Shimla, from where we took the toy train down to Kalka. We returned to Delhi by express train from Chandigarh. Pettitts’ organisation of the itinerary , the driver. ,local guides and pickups was faultless.

After attending a conference in Delhi, we flew to Amritsar and then travelled by car in the Himalayan foothills, visiting Dharamsala, Progpur and Shimla, from where we took the toy train down to Kalka. We returned to Delhi by express train from Chandigarh. Pettitts’ organisation of the itinerary , the driver. ,local guides and pickups was faultless.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial enquiry, Pettitts were very helpful and flexible in helping us to organise the trip. They always responded rapidly to our queries.in a constructive and knowledgeable way. They seemed to know what would suit us! They organised a very interesting itinerary, with excellent accommodation, guides and driver. We have used them before!

Pettitts Travel by Pye, 8 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Another fantastic trip to India

We started in Hyderabad where we just relaxed after a long flight and got used to the heat. We then visited Nagarhole and Corbett National Parks where we saw a great number of birds - and we were lucky to see a tiger and jungle cats too. It is great to see a tiger but all the birds and mammals are great too - and the scenery is stunning in places. We then had a tour around Rajasthan which was amazing and we ended up in Mumbai for a few ...

We started in Hyderabad where we just relaxed after a long flight and got used to the heat. We then visited Nagarhole and Corbett National Parks where we saw a great number of birds - and we were lucky to see a tiger and jungle cats too. It is great to see a tiger but all the birds and mammals are great too - and the scenery is stunning in places. We then had a tour around Rajasthan which was amazing and we ended up in Mumbai for a few days as usual. Everywhere we went was wonderful. and we enjoyed the places we'd been to a second time just as much as the first time. India is just full of colour and all the people are so friendly and have such a warmth towards us.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts as usual planned our holiday perfectly - we have used Pettitts many times and they know exactly what we like to do. While at Nagarhole National Park I had a minor accident in the Park. Pettitts excelled with all the support they gave me - from the Delhi office staff, the local Pettitts staff to the Pettitts drivers who took us to various parts of India. There was always someone looking after me. When away from home this makes all the difference to a holiday.

Pettitts Travel by Rod & Nuala, 30 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Gujurat - off the usual tourist trail

Our seventh trip to India. Three weeks, mainly in Gujurat, but starting in Hyderabad and finishing in Amritsar. Excellent variety with the usual temples forts and step wells, complemented by parks (lions, leopards, etc together with salt lagoons). Also village life up close! Fascinating to compare Indian with British history over the last 1000 years.

Our seventh trip to India. Three weeks, mainly in Gujurat, but starting in Hyderabad and finishing in Amritsar. Excellent variety with the usual temples forts and step wells, complemented by parks (lions, leopards, etc together with salt lagoons). Also village life up close! Fascinating to compare Indian with British history over the last 1000 years.

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts with their detailed expertise on India in particular, know how to personalise a holiday to your specific needs.

Pettitts Travel by Selgor, 29 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

INDIA - a single view: a thousand pictures!

Rural Rajasthan Our 12th visit to India. Flying into Udaipur from Delhi we travelled north by road staying in characterful homestays and heritage hotels enjoying rural hospitality,local foods and flavours -and stunning sights and scenery. From local markets and colourful Rajasthani dress and turbans to magnificent forts commanding the heights. Magical sights, spices and smells - unforgettable memories.....

Rural Rajasthan Our 12th visit to India. Flying into Udaipur from Delhi we travelled north by road staying in characterful homestays and heritage hotels enjoying rural hospitality,local foods and flavours -and stunning sights and scenery. From local markets and colourful Rajasthani dress and turbans to magnificent forts commanding the heights. Magical sights, spices and smells - unforgettable memories.....

Rating for tour operator:

Pettitts is primarily a family tour operator able to respond to the travellers' ideas and deliver an imaginative, customised and fulfilling experience. With their own offices in India(2) and China (as opposed to relying on local agents) one can have every confidence in relying on the detailed itineraries. Importantly, they can provide the detailed backup in case of any difficulties or emergencies - as I can affirm from my own experience of a heart attack in India. And that was eight years ago!

Pettitts Travel by Sue, 28 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous holiday in southern India organised by Pettitts

Pettitts booked our holiday for just over three weeks travelling from Kochi to Chennai by road and rail and then from Chennai back to Kochi by Car. Everything worked perfectly, we had two excellent drivers, all our guides who met us on the way were first class and the itinerary covered so many interesting places. Our accommodation varied between homestay and high end Taj hotels. We would recommend this trip as a perfect way of exploring southern ...

Pettitts booked our holiday for just over three weeks travelling from Kochi to Chennai by road and rail and then from Chennai back to Kochi by Car. Everything worked perfectly, we had two excellent drivers, all our guides who met us on the way were first class and the itinerary covered so many interesting places. Our accommodation varied between homestay and high end Taj hotels. We would recommend this trip as a perfect way of exploring southern India. We would always recommend Pettitts as an excellent tour company.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Pettitts before when we toured northern India several years ago, so naturally we used them again for our trip in March 2018. They are very easy and extremely helpful to deal with and their service feels very personal.