AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan Traveller Reviews

Reviews of K2 Base Camp in Pakistan

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 10
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 10
Reviews Accepted: 10
Reviews Rejected: 0
10 reviews
Sort by:
K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Bernal, 1 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

I totally enjoyed my trip to K2 Base Camp. The Mountain Company with on-site support from Hunza Guides in Pakistan make sure the trip went without a hitch from booking until our return to Islamabad for the return home. Our western leader, Robert, was extremely helpful and well-liked by all the trekkers. Our Pakistani guides were also very helpful and friendly. Even the weather cooperated to have magnificent views of K2, Broad Peak, Trango ...

I totally enjoyed my trip to K2 Base Camp. The Mountain Company with on-site support from Hunza Guides in Pakistan make sure the trip went without a hitch from booking until our return to Islamabad for the return home. Our western leader, Robert, was extremely helpful and well-liked by all the trekkers. Our Pakistani guides were also very helpful and friendly. Even the weather cooperated to have magnificent views of K2, Broad Peak, Trango Towers and neighboring peaks. I won’t hesitate to book another trip with Mountain Company in the near future.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by HOS, 30 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

K2 & Concordia

An amazing Trek in a stunningly beautiful remote location. The isolation and scale of the Karakoram range are very humbling and make you feel very privileged to be there and really appreciative of the Universe we live in

An amazing Trek in a stunningly beautiful remote location. The isolation and scale of the Karakoram range are very humbling and make you feel very privileged to be there and really appreciative of the Universe we live in

Rating for tour operator:

The mountain company is very organized feel very well looked after from the minute I picked up the phone to Roland to enquire about the trip

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Jeannette Gravett, 15 Dec 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Great Privilege walking amongst Massive Mountains!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Wild and Ab Fab!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Co. Is the way to go When you want a trek with some substance. You'll enjoy the grub In the mountain hub Of Karakoram's paths of great distance. The staff is hard-working with much to do - Yet they know how to care for a Motley Crew! They watch out for your safety; For your comfort - that's key. These leaders are tho-rough And they look out for ya! Karakoram's a BEAUTY - Hard to put into words; A place for adventurers And even for nerds! You'll be out in the bundu And should trouble pursue The crew is well-trained, You will not be disdained! Contact with London is maintained throughout, Of the personal touch there is no doubt. Itinerary's well-planned; Lotsa rocks and some sand; Good giggles with fellow trekkers, That's the life! we say as back packers. If you want a great trip - this is the place to be, Just don't hesitate - choose TMC! Consider these thoughts I've penned down here, So, to you, a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Himalaya junkie!, 20 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Well Organised and Managed 3 week trek to Concordia and K2 Base Camp

A 3 week trek in the Gilgit Baltistan Region of Pakistan to Concordia and K2 Base Camp, reaching an altitude of c. 5200m. This was a ‘self sufficient ‘ 3 week trek with no settlements , using tents and camp sites , with all equipment and food portered. The arduous trek included c. 75 miles walking/camping on glaciers. The trip went well, largely due to the excellent pre trek planning, trek leadership, in country organisation and management ...

A 3 week trek in the Gilgit Baltistan Region of Pakistan to Concordia and K2 Base Camp, reaching an altitude of c. 5200m. This was a ‘self sufficient ‘ 3 week trek with no settlements , using tents and camp sites , with all equipment and food portered. The arduous trek included c. 75 miles walking/camping on glaciers. The trip went well, largely due to the excellent pre trek planning, trek leadership, in country organisation and management by The Mountain Company. Their attention to detail , particularly in respect of safety and well being was exemplary. The trek was the experience of a life time!

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were an excellent trekking tour company, differentiatied by their attention to detail and providing an experienced UK trek leader, ably supported by the leading in country operator ( Hunza Guides)

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by UKTrekker, 22 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience trekking to K2 base camp

Great experience, well managed by the Mountain Company both in the UK and in Pakistan. The Guides and support staff were very amazing.

Great experience, well managed by the Mountain Company both in the UK and in Pakistan. The Guides and support staff were very amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is an experienced and knowledgeable operator, who are very well managed. The information and guidance prior to our departure was very good and ensured everyone was well prepared for the trek. The Mountain Company's Pakistan based support staff and guides were amazing, very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area, often going out of their way to meet our needs. The food whilst very nutritional, could be improved upon, with a bit more variety for lunches and evening meals. All in all an amazing experience, in a country not known for tourism, we felt safe and well looked after, I would highly recommend the Mountain Company.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Johnny, 26 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

K2 Base Camp Trek.

A 220 kms return walk up the Baltoro Glacier to Concordia then Broad Peak Base Camp, lastly it was on to the base of K2. A challenging hike that was constantly rewarded with stunning rock and ice scenery akin to being in a different world. You won't see anything like this anywhere in this World.

A 220 kms return walk up the Baltoro Glacier to Concordia then Broad Peak Base Camp, lastly it was on to the base of K2. A challenging hike that was constantly rewarded with stunning rock and ice scenery akin to being in a different world. You won't see anything like this anywhere in this World.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company: A UK based company with excellent and very trust worthy locally based staff in Pakistan.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Karakoram Conqueror!, 21 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hard but rewarding 3 week trek to Concordia and K2 Base Camp

A challenging 18 day trek from Askole to Concordia and K2 Base Camp with a 5 day walk out back down the Baltoro Glacier. A completely self sufficient and remote camping trek that involves c. 10 days of glacier walking. The itinerary takes c 9 days to reach Concordia but it is worth the effort; the views with good weather are simply astounding with 21 7000m peaks within a 360 panorama with the unparalleled K2 standing alone at the head of the ...

A challenging 18 day trek from Askole to Concordia and K2 Base Camp with a 5 day walk out back down the Baltoro Glacier. A completely self sufficient and remote camping trek that involves c. 10 days of glacier walking. The itinerary takes c 9 days to reach Concordia but it is worth the effort; the views with good weather are simply astounding with 21 7000m peaks within a 360 panorama with the unparalleled K2 standing alone at the head of the Godwin Austen Glacier. The Mountain Company and their local operator worked extremely hard to ensure the trip ran smoothly and their detailed and experienced approach worked well, in particular, having a Mountain Company UK leader working with the local operator.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company have a very detailed and methodical approach that ensures everything is well planned. The logistics on arrival in Pakistan, flights to Skardu, jeeps to Askole and the return journey went without problem. Their relationship with the local operator was excellent. Their approach to safety was the best I’ve seen with satellite phones, GPS plotter and an extremely comprehensive medical kit + Gammow Bag ( for emergency AMS ). I’d highly recommend The Mountain Company for future treks.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by MichelleM, 19 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

K2 Base Camp Magic

The Mountain Company organised our amazing Trek to K2 Base Camp, Pakistan. The trek is tough over glacial moraine but the spectacular scenery made every step worthwhile. Travelling in Pakistan is remarkably easy and felt quite safe.

The Mountain Company organised our amazing Trek to K2 Base Camp, Pakistan. The trek is tough over glacial moraine but the spectacular scenery made every step worthwhile. Travelling in Pakistan is remarkably easy and felt quite safe.

Rating for tour operator:

Both the Western Leader (Jo) and the local leader (Zahid) were exceptional with a strong focus on quality and safety ..... and having great time! They were well supported by amazing local men. The Mountain Company is the most organised trekking company I have been with. Pre-trek communication is excellent, all questions are answered promptly, service and facilities during the trek are exemplary and safety is a high priority including satellite phones, comprehensive medical kits, a Gamow bag, clear leadership and good support from the UK when out on the trek. The ability of the family at home to track our trek was also really positive.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by nikkyb, 17 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional trek

It was a long, hot trek. The sun was brutal and the water was a light shade of brown. But I would have had it any other way. Trekking in the Karakoram up the Baltoro Glacier to K2 base camp is a challenge that is rewarded daily by spectacular scenery. But if it wasn't also a test of mental strength and endurance it would not have been nearly as much fun.

It was a long, hot trek. The sun was brutal and the water was a light shade of brown. But I would have had it any other way. Trekking in the Karakoram up the Baltoro Glacier to K2 base camp is a challenge that is rewarded daily by spectacular scenery. But if it wasn't also a test of mental strength and endurance it would not have been nearly as much fun.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is a small UK-based specialized tour operator that arranges interesting high altitude and mountain journeys in great locations. Regional / trekking / outdoor expertise is high, and the feeling that you are part of a large commercial trek is non-existent. Highly recommended.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Trekker Phil, 4 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Best trek for superb mountain views

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter ...

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter peaks than most any place in the world. The timing of the trip length was excellent to help with acclimatization. The whole package from start to finish makes this group and this trek one of the best treks on the planet.

Rating for tour operator:

As above The Mountain Company UK is very well organized with an excellent website and good documents to provide all the necessary information you need for details, supplies, and data for the trek. Communication about issues or questions is quick and complete. Attention to detail and support is excellent.