AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel)

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel)

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 88
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 92
Reviews Accepted: 92
Reviews Rejected: 0
92 reviews
Sort by:
Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by ROM , 17 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Family trip to S Africa

Starting in Cape Town, enjoyed Netball World Cup and Cape Town sights and sounds. Onwards to Hermanus, amazing whale watching. Then Plettenburg Bay area and finally Kwandwe Ecca Lodge for an exceptional safari experience.

Starting in Cape Town, enjoyed Netball World Cup and Cape Town sights and sounds. Onwards to Hermanus, amazing whale watching. Then Plettenburg Bay area and finally Kwandwe Ecca Lodge for an exceptional safari experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful, flexible and proactive, Jono was always available during the weeks of planning. We were not very 'in advance' in planning the trip but that was not a problem. We had one small hiccup re car hire and Jono was immediately on hand to resolve it super quickly.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by Diana, 16 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Family Trip to Kenya

We spent 2 weeks in Kenya - 1st week on safari at 2 different camps - Mugie Ekorians and Karen Blixen. Our family group was x2 grandparents, x3 children and in laws, x4 grandchildren boys - 8 and and girls 12 and 14. Both camps were wonderful and perfect for children too. Mugie was smaller, 6 really comfortable tents, swimming pool, trampoline, wonderful food and very personal. The guides were so knowledgeable and kind. We could sit on ...

We spent 2 weeks in Kenya - 1st week on safari at 2 different camps - Mugie Ekorians and Karen Blixen. Our family group was x2 grandparents, x3 children and in laws, x4 grandchildren boys - 8 and and girls 12 and 14. Both camps were wonderful and perfect for children too. Mugie was smaller, 6 really comfortable tents, swimming pool, trampoline, wonderful food and very personal. The guides were so knowledgeable and kind. We could sit on the rooves of the 2 Landcruisers which gave a wonderful view. We kayaked in a lake; saw how Bloodhounds were trained to catch poachers had bush breakfast followed by a camel ride back to the camp, bush lunch and bush sundowners! The food was all freshly cooked and delicious. There were fires lit outside and inside which were wonderful; for the slightly chilly evenings - also hot water bottles in the bed. We also visited the local school on our way back to the airstrip (where several men have to keep the runway clear of Zebra and gazelle) We were made very elcome and the children had an improptu game of soccer as it was break time. The football was something bound up in what looked like a sock. Lovely children and all learning English - the ones that lived further away boarded at quite a young age. The staff at Mugie had all worked there for a long time and were incredibly professional - 6am wake up call for dawn safaris came with a thermos of tea, coffee or hot chocolate left outside your tent. The owners, Donna and Josh were extremely helpful We loved the relaxed family atmosphere in a wonderful setting - weavers nests, hammerkop nest, and endless bird- song. Giraffes by the beehives, Elephants looking at the swimming pool - from a distance. Karen Blixen camp was slightly larger but still very welcoming, comfortable (amazing outdoor showers!) and great food. It is situated on the Mara River and a hippo pool. Seats are on a bank overlooking the pool and it was wonderful to watch the hippos either sleeping in the sun and then plopping into the water to cool off. Elephants, Giraffes. buffalo would also visit the hole. The guides were again wonderful and kept us constantly informed andn took great pains to ensure that we saw leopards as well as Cheetahs. We did a day trip into the `Mara Conservancy and saw the thousands and thousands of Wildebeest that were making the annual migration - we went right up to the Tanzania border and there were animals as far as the eye could see! We also visited a Masai village which was fascinating, just disappointing to be expected to buy beads etc at rather exorbitant prices, but we were very unprepared for haggling! The whole area is more developed and the vehicles were not made for roof-sitting - still really comfortable and we were traveling further and at at higher speeds than at Mugie. Our second week was spent at Diani Beach at The Sands at Nomad Hotel. The Hotel is right by the white sandy beach with lovely blue Indian Ocean , set in a tropical garden with palm trees and lush vegetation Our rooms were very comfortable and the service in the. hotel was excellent. The Beach Bar had a huge breakfast and also a superb choice of food for Dinner. included in our half board rate. We also ate at the Teppenyaki and Grill restaurants, both excellent. Meals were made more interesting by the monkeys who would steal food from your plate if given. half a chance- a waiter usually stood guard during the day with a catapult to keep them away The swimming pool was a great hit with the grandchildren. They all tried Scuba Diving in the pool which has a 5m deep area. 4 of the family went on very enjoyable dives. There were great waves for boogie boarding and gentle surfing. One could take a Kayak or a glass bottom boat out to a sandbank at low tide for snorkelling, - or enjoy the sun and just walk on the beach - baby turtles hatched while we were there and everyone is encouraged to beachcomb for plastic waste. Plastics bags are forbidden in Kenya and the hotels all used refillable glass bottles in the bedrooms. We did 4 internal flights which were all very interesting and efficient. We can only give praise for every aspect of our family trip of a lifetime

Rating for tour operator:

We were very well advised on our itinerary, taking into consideration the varied ages of our party. Nothing ever seemed to be trouble, even when we had to change all the original planned dates and re-arrange whee we stayed. All bookings were taken care of. The meeting and greetings at all the different airports were faultless. Cannot think of anything that could be improved!

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) responded to this review on 16 Aug 2023:

Thank you for detailed feedback. We loved following your progress and were with you in spirt.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by vbb, 15 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Kenya safari/beach holiday

Fantastic! Ekorian camp was small, friendly, great food and a very relaxing place to be, can't ask anymore Plenty of birds as well as game. Guides and staff extremely knowledgeable and lovely to be around. Karen Blixen Camp -great location, very comfortable tents, nice pool, plenty of wildlife. Food ok. Sands at Nomad , Diana Beach- beautiful beach, lovely hotel with good food. All put together brilliantly by Jono at Nomadic Thoughts ...

Fantastic! Ekorian camp was small, friendly, great food and a very relaxing place to be, can't ask anymore Plenty of birds as well as game. Guides and staff extremely knowledgeable and lovely to be around. Karen Blixen Camp -great location, very comfortable tents, nice pool, plenty of wildlife. Food ok. Sands at Nomad , Diana Beach- beautiful beach, lovely hotel with good food. All put together brilliantly by Jono at Nomadic Thoughts - all transfers etc seamless without any problems, really well organised and balanced trip

Rating for tour operator:

Jono listened to families requests and all put together really well. Great advice and balance/variety of places which were recommended. All transfers/hotel booking were extremely well organised without any problems whatsoever ever. Great attention to detail.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) responded to this review on 15 Aug 2023:

Thank you - we are thrilled you have had such a successful multi-generational trip.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by JT, 13 Jul 2023
Holiday Rating:

Amazing tour of Georgia

Mix of mountains and culture

Mix of mountains and culture

Rating for tour operator:

Knowledgeable Responsive Value for money Good advice

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by Bren, 27 Apr 2023
Holiday Rating:

Bhutan Travels

A 16 day tour of Bhutan complete with all the requisite travel arrangements, guides, accommodation and meals (which is the usual Bhutanese way of things). All ran like clockwork, hotels selected were excellent and in great locations. But the bonus were the guides who really seemed to care about the country and sharing their enthusiasm and knowledge with us - its an amazing place, an amazement only enhanced by those guides.

A 16 day tour of Bhutan complete with all the requisite travel arrangements, guides, accommodation and meals (which is the usual Bhutanese way of things). All ran like clockwork, hotels selected were excellent and in great locations. But the bonus were the guides who really seemed to care about the country and sharing their enthusiasm and knowledge with us - its an amazing place, an amazement only enhanced by those guides.

Rating for tour operator:

Nomadic thoughts are easy to deal with, super efficient and extremely knowledgeable in the holidays they sell - they clearly work to select the right international partners in order to ensure the smooth running of trips

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by Exile from Main Street , 13 Mar 2023
Holiday Rating:

Sublime

We travelled extensively though the historic isle of Cuba, the uncensored nature of the arranged english speaking guides, provided an unparalleled insight into the political, social and economic reality of this sovereign state. Following this, our sublime adventure continued as we then embarked on the second leg of our adventure. Independently travelling though the Yucutan peninsula, the accommodation was scheduled in a series of boutique ...

We travelled extensively though the historic isle of Cuba, the uncensored nature of the arranged english speaking guides, provided an unparalleled insight into the political, social and economic reality of this sovereign state. Following this, our sublime adventure continued as we then embarked on the second leg of our adventure. Independently travelling though the Yucutan peninsula, the accommodation was scheduled in a series of boutique hotels, who offered a welcoming, yet very discrete, discerning service.

Rating for tour operator:

Personable, amazing planning, detailed information on destinations using hand picked accommodation, offering value for money -:highly recommended We have previously used ' Nomadic Thoughts' to travel to Cambodia, Thailand and Vietnam, we are delighted to report that our latest adventure in Cuba and Mexico exceeded our hopes though the painstaking research undertaken by Nomadic Thoughts, who know their audience and venues We have no hesitation in endorsement the professionalism of Nomadic Thoughts.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) responded to this review on 13 Mar 2023:

Thank you … we are thrilled you have had such a good trip.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by CM, 27 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Kerala and Tamil Nadu

From Fort Cochin we travelled to the Kerala Backwaters, Munnar, Madurai (by car) and then flew to Chennai (Madras). We had the same driver throughout (he drove to Chennai) and at each stop we had excellent guides. Nothing to complain about! A wonderful and exciting trip.

From Fort Cochin we travelled to the Kerala Backwaters, Munnar, Madurai (by car) and then flew to Chennai (Madras). We had the same driver throughout (he drove to Chennai) and at each stop we had excellent guides. Nothing to complain about! A wonderful and exciting trip.

Rating for tour operator:

All our visits were well thought out and provided points of interest along the way. Hotels were all different styles but of a high standard. We made a few tweaks to our itinerary - we were provided with plenty of Indian information - their booking system worked a treat. Everything on Vamoos was helpful. Ten out of ten!

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by Arty Traveller, 24 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Shangrila

Beautiful Sri Lanka does not disappoint.As an artist I was overwhelmed by the wildlife the scents and the sounds of our very rural holiday

Beautiful Sri Lanka does not disappoint.As an artist I was overwhelmed by the wildlife the scents and the sounds of our very rural holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Nomadic Thoughts works hard to tailor the holiday to our interests ,enthusiasms and capabilities, and succeeds.

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by BB, 20 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

Two weeks in paradise with friendly wonderful hospitality and attention to detail interesting and exciting itinerary all in all a holiday of a life time

Two weeks in paradise with friendly wonderful hospitality and attention to detail interesting and exciting itinerary all in all a holiday of a life time

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and reassuring our guide for two weeks was outstanding really looked after us very pleasant and helpful .

Nomadic Thoughts (Worldwide Travel) by JTG, 16 Feb 2023
Holiday Rating:

Faultless

Fantistic and varied tour of Rajasthan

Fantistic and varied tour of Rajasthan

Rating for tour operator:

Organised everything very quickly and professionally. They have superb knowledge and experience. Their local 'on the ground' partners were excellent and very attentive.